Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Dangerous Power - G3 Spec-r Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Dangerous Power
Evoventures, Inc.
4030 Valley Blvd. Suite 109
Walnut, CA 91789

Email: service@dangerouspower.com
Website: http://www.dangerouspower.com
newest version of G3 at the end of 2009 and beginning of 2010.
 Manual: Download the manual for Dangerous Power Download
 Release Date: 2009
 MSRP: $449.99
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.0/5 stars.
 Reviews: 24
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  17%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  67%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  8%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  8%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  0%
 Link:
Dangerous Power - G3 Spec-r Reviews
Dangerous Power G3 Spec-r I picked up this gun with the intent of finding a gun for a friend. After finding this used and playing with it for a bit, I decided I liked this gun better than some of my old guns, and sell my...
Report this review to a moderator   #22925
Racso
It R go good w/ Pizza
Racso's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: The Nati
Racso has been a member for 10 years
Racso owns a Planet Eclipse Lv1
Racso is Legendary
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $250.00
Pros: Appearance, Performance, Upgrades, Price
Cons: Reliability
I picked up this gun with the intent of finding a gun for a friend. After finding this used and playing with it for a bit, I decided I liked this gun better than some of my old guns, and sell my friend one of those instead.

I used this gun in a good mix of rec-ball (relaxed play), team practices (competitive play), and tournaments (full-on play), so I was able to get a good feel of how it works for me in all styles of play.

Appearance (5)

Currently, the trend with paintball guns is to make them as small and light as possible. While this is generally a good idea, the process of making a gun smaller and lighter tends to make the gun look boring as excess metal is shaved off to save weight. The G3 Spec R, however, is able to make a very small, and very light gun without sacrificing sculpting. While many other spool valve guns trend toward looking like a paper-towel roll with a barrel, reg, and trigger frame sticking out of them, the G3 Spec R stands out with very pleasing aesthetics. Milling continues into the frame from the body to help blend the two together, which enhances the appearance of the gun. The snatch grip on the back of the body also helps to distinguish the G3 Spec R from other spools, and attempts to make the gun look more like a stacked tube, rather than a normal flat-backed spool.

Performance (5)

The biggest factor in any gun is the performance, and the G3 Spec R not only performs well, but stands out. The gun has no problem reaching over 20 BPS, and at these cycle rates will not have an issue with any reasonable speed used in active play. There is very little kick to this gun as the bolt is very small and very light. Many owners upgrade to the TechT bolt engine with this gun, which reduces the already low kick even more.

As with many spool valve guns, consistency can be a little issue, however with some tinkering and a good barrel/paint match, +/- 8 or less can be easily achieved.

The gun does well with most paint, not being too harsh. There can be some slight issues with brittle paint in cold conditions, but nothing that most guns wouldn't have problems with as well.

Air usage is on par with most spool valves; doesn't really stand out in any regard. The TechT bolt engine increases the air efficiency to lower-poppit levels, and is something to consider.

Size/Weight (4)

Most likely one of the biggest stand out features of this gun is the size and weight. The G3 Spec R is a very small gun. In fact, some might find it too small to be comfortable with. The weight is also very low; at the time of its release, the G3 Spec R is the lightest gun on the market. This, however, may not be as big a benefit as some would think. After getting used to heavier guns, the G3 Spec R can feel awkwardly light, and may take some getting used to before being completely comfortable with it.

Parts (4)

Another area of interest to many is the low-rise feedneck. Possibly the lowest stock feedneck on the market, it rises very little from the body. There is some concern as to the gripping style of the feedneck, as after time, the lateral "teeth" can wear into a hopper, and allow it to spin, but still holding it onto the gun.

The regulator is a stacked-ring time-tested design that works great. Easy to maintain, and effective and consistent, they regulator was smartly built.

The board is one of the biggest drawbacks to the gun, severely limiting it. The options on the board are not very customizable, and most will end up upgrading to the APE board in a very short time.

Reliability (3)

Dangerous Power has an incorrect belief that their lube is any good. It is recommended that anyone who buys any DP gun immediately remove all DP-40 lube, and relube with most any other popular lube. Once this is done, most issues with DP guns go away.

With that being said, this gun does require a little more maintenance than some people may be used to, however it is not out of the realm of routine maintenance. With proper care, this gun will last as long as any other gun can, with very few (if any) repairs needed to be done.

Upgrades (5)

The G3 Spec R has a good assortment of upgrades available to it. It accepts autococker threaded barrels, which has almost become the standard for paintball. The board can be replaced with an APE Technologies board, which is a superb board that will allow for any setting that someone would like to set. TechT also provides a lot of support for Dangerous Power, and has a bolt AND bolt engine available for the G3 Spec R (it is recommended to step up to the full bolt engine). The frame has a dovetail mount, so it will accept most ASAs, and the regulator is standard threading. The feedneck is Ion threaded, so there are a good amount of options out there.

Price (5)

For $450 new, this gun was priced quite well. For the price that these can be picked up used, it is a gun that no one should overlook. The G3 Spec R can perform great as a primary gun, or as an emergency backup, and anything in between.

Overall (31/35)
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Dangerous Power G3 Spec-r I've been using this gun for about 3 months now and it has performed flawlessly. It is so light, it shoots ropes, I've never had a bolt stick or chop or anything of the sort. Luckily I got an amazing...
Report this review to a moderator   #9183
sharpshooter314
 
sharpshooter314's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: New York
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $200.00
Pros: Shoots amazing, doesn't chop, easy to manage
Cons: Don't like the stock trigger so much
I've been using this gun for about 3 months now and it has performed flawlessly. It is so light, it shoots ropes, I've never had a bolt stick or chop or anything of the sort. Luckily I got an amazing deal (G3 Spec-R with Velocity JR, Planet Eclipse Jersey and Mask for $200 all together) and I really got more than what I paid for. Go out and buy this gun, you can't go wrong with it.

ALTHOUGH: I personally don't like the trigger itself. The adjustment technology is amazing but the stock trigger itself feels extremely light and I don't like the feel of it, the performance is amazing though. I am probably going to upgrade to the new switchblade trigger .

GET THIS GUN
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Dangerous Power G3 Spec-r Got my Spec R in a trade and here's what I think of it. Pros: Love the looks of the gun. The milling and anno are flawless. Mine is black/yellow and I have yet to find an imperfection. The 2 pc bbl...
Report this review to a moderator   #9973
Bigfatts
 
Bigfatts's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: the Swamp
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $250.00
Pros: Light, easy maintenance, looks good, accurate, etc
Cons: bad macro fittings, trigger's hard to adjust
Got my Spec R in a trade and here's what I think of it.

Pros:
Love the looks of the gun. The milling and anno are flawless. Mine is black/yellow and I have yet to find an imperfection. The 2 pc bbl is great quality and shoots just as well as my Dye UL. I have shot nearly 5k rounds through it without a single hiccup. No chops, breaks, jams, etc. I shoot either Premium, Formula 13 or All Stars and run a Halo Too. The RAPS ASA is the best I've ever used. The board is easy to navigate and get where you want it. Maintenance is very easy and only takes about 2 minutes. The factory reg seems pretty consistant (+/- 5 fps or so).

Cons:
The macro fittings are not that great. One of mine failed so I replaced both of them. The trigger can be a pain to get where you want it but once you do it's fine. The factory grips feel a little cheesy to me.

Overall:
I was looking at an Etek 3. I got the Spec R instead and couldn't be happier. It shoots at least as well as the two Eteks I've shot (3AM and a Star framed 2) maybe better, and for less. With a TechT bolt engine and an Ape OLED board this gun will shoot with just about anything out there.

PS- For those of you saying you have to lube the bolt too often, get a better lube or thin your's down. TechT Gun Sav is what I use and I've never had to re-lube during a day of use.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Dangerous Power G3 Spec-r i have three markers, a spec-r a spyder mr-1 and a trracer. i have two 68/4500 carbon tanks, one a ninja the other a crossfire. invert halo too APE OLED board i have used all sorts of paint. evil...
Report this review to a moderator   #8427
wintermutt
 
wintermutt's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: folsom, california
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $450.00
Pros: EZ maintenance, fast, accurate, light,EZ on paint, looks good,
Cons: fussy with bolt lube choices, efficiency, macroline fittings,need to lube every 4 hours
i have three markers, a spec-r a spyder mr-1 and a trracer.
i have two 68/4500 carbon tanks, one a ninja the other a crossfire.
invert halo too
APE OLED board
i have used all sorts of paint. evil ultra has been working well for me lately.
i have two barrel sets, an edge and an empire. i like the edge better.

the Good.(spec r)
lightest marker on the market. great stock barrel. very EZ on paint, you will never break a ball in the breech or barrel with the stock barrel. it is a spoolie which means easy to maintain and not much kick.
accuracy is very good WITH GOOD (ROUND) PAINT. maintenance (routine) is shockingly easy and simple. i use dow 33 (sleek) or hater sauce. adjustable trigger. light recoil especially considering how light it is. accurate - i can one ball target shoot by lining up the end of the barrel with the indentation in the hopper neck when aiming. above average regulator. nice manual. comes in a nice box. i like the trigger, it is adjustable to suit your style. out of the box mine had a hair trigger. it is a good looking marker i get lots of + comments. i use the APE grips that came with my APE OLED because they have a little window to see the OLED. custom grips are easy to find. (just do a google search for custom pb grips). the stock grips are really comfortable and grip well. there is a nice parts kit for 60 dollars that you should purchase if you plan to use the marker regularly, it really is a good deal and unless you have a back up marker you will wish you had it someday...
if you have no money at least buy an o ring kit, all o rings look the same (to me anyway) but you need the correct size. the only o ring i have had to replace is the little one on the tip of the back cap (AKA the plug) (the one that slides in the bolt). very easy to access that one.

the Bad.
macroline fittings are a struggle to get loosened.many people replace them. try using a wrench (same size as fitting) and hold down the macroline fitting with the wrench then pull the tubing back. you need to lube the bolt just before shooting for the day (this takes 3 minutes) and every 4 hours of shooting (lately i have been going all day only lubing in the morning using hater sauce). the type of lube is important. dow 33 works well (AKA sleek) hater sauce works and is green. do NOT use DP40 lube on the bolt. you will get bolt stick if you use the wrong lube.
if you take a paintball hit to the trigger your marker may become inoperative until you clean the inside of the gun.
(this has only happened once).
it uses more air than poppet type guns. you need to really get that back cap tight before using (it comes with a set of allen wrenches). you may have to re-tighten the back cap during the day of shooting. if this happens a lot you might need to replace an o ring on the plug, or put less or no lube on the last o-ring on the plug, also make sure no lube on the plug threads. the plug is the large piece that screws in the back of the marker.
with cheap paint that is not round you will not shoot straight with the stock barrel. if you must shoot cheap paint then i suggest you get a barrel set and under bore. cheap paint will shoot straight if you under bore. but in my opinion you are better off with expensive paint and the stock barrel (.689) at least when you are getting started.I PAID 450 dollars for mine . now they sell new for 399. to change an interior o ring will need a (dental type) pick. i have had the marker over a year and have not needed to change an interior o ring. (by interior i mean they are deep in the breech). the marker is light because it is aluminum, if you put too much torque on the screws you could strip them, this has never happened to me but i have heard about it. i tighten screws finger tight then 1/4 or 1/2 turn more. go over that and you are tightening too much. consider blue or violet locktite on the screws if you are worried.


troubleshooting
having problems? try this.
1. change the battery. anything less than 80% charge won't work.
2. relube the bolt with dow 33. it is very unusual to need to service the noid or the regulator, so don't mess with those yet. when you lube the bolt, spin it a little in the barrel so nothing is missed.
3. make sure the back cap is on tight.
4. clean your barrels with soap and water.
5. change the battery in your hopper.
6. if it is cold, buy winter paint (shells are thicker).
7. change the o-rings on the plug if they look stiff/hard.
these simple checks will fix 99% of your problems. if they don't, check out the dangerous power forum at Pb Nation.
8. i have never needed to maintain the solenoid but this is how you do it
http://dangerouspower.com/Support_maintenance-video-guide.php
9. a guide to complete teardown/rebuild is here
http://www.pbnation.com/showthread.php?t=3457681


SUMMARY
putting expensive brittle paint exactly where you want it without the paint breaking in your marker is the spec-r's best feature. the marker is light and reliable and fast. i am really glad i bought it. but do not expect it to perform if you use cheap paint. there is not much downside to this marker. if you are looking to buy a G3 spec-r i would also look at the DP G4 which is very similar and sells for less money. if i were looking for a new marker and it was between a G3 spec-r or a DP G4 given the price difference it would be a tough choice. i am sold on spoolies so i personally would not consider a DP FX (which is a poppet type marker) but if the type of marker is unimportant to you then you should also look at the DP FX which is more money but comes with an OLED board (which you will have to add on to the G4 and spec-r ) and is more air efficient than spoolies. poppets are harder on paint and more difficult to maintain which is why i prefer spoolies. Good Hunting!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Dangerous Power G3 Spec-r When i first bought this gun, i didnt know much about it except how accurate and durable the spec r is. I had bought it used and when i got it home and aired it up, shot off some decent paint, i was...
Report this review to a moderator   #31662
evil balla 21
Bay State Rebels
evil balla 21's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: MASS
evil balla 21 plays in the APPA D5 division
evil balla 21 is one of the top 1000 posters on PbNation
evil balla 21 supports DLX Technology
evil balla 21 supports Empire
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $200.00
Pros: price, accuracy, raps asa
Cons: air efficiency
When i first bought this gun, i didnt know much about it except how accurate and durable the spec r is. I had bought it used and when i got it home and aired it up, shot off some decent paint, i was amazed at how accurate and quick this gun was, but the downfall to this gun...as is with many spoolies is the air efficiency was horrible...then i read about the techt bolt engine aka the L7 bolt...how its supposed to help air effiency, well it does to a point, but my favorite feature is the flip lever asa aka raps...great idea by dp. So while many people crap on the dp name and call them low end guns, other than air effiency this gun can keep up with the so called high end guns...the board is easy to program as well...u can get these guns fairly cheap..so my advice would to be pick one up...u will be glad u did...just dnt listen to the dp haters out there...
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Dangerous Power G3 Spec-r I was iffy about this gun when I bought it, but my friends said it shot nice. My first impression was WOW, it looked really nice. I loved the milling on it. The trigger felt amazing and the...
Report this review to a moderator   #13913
916baller
I love dehr.
916baller's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: sacramento, cali
916baller is one of the top 250 posters on PbNation
916baller supports DLX Technology
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $400.00
Pros: see below
Cons: see below
I was iffy about this gun when I bought it, but my friends said it shot nice.

My first impression was WOW, it looked really nice. I loved the milling on it. The trigger felt amazing and the ergonomics of it felt really good.

After shooting about 10 cases through it I ran into very little problems. Maybe a little more consistent would be nice?

The trigger is a hit or miss, I like it but it's not the easiest to tune to perfection. I don't like the bolt system and having the orings on the inside, makes it such a hassle and ****. But good for DP if they think it works.

A lot of people say reliability is a big issue. But I honestly haven't had this thing go down on me mid-game for over a year. Never chops, never just suddenly bursts air down the barrel, etc. And I see lots of high-end guns go down. So I smile a bit inside.

I have upgraded a lot of parts now. UL barrel, CP ASA and Inline Reg, plan on getting a Violent trigger soon. upgrades aren't needed, but it's what I like. I will never sell this gun, ever lol. I like it a lot for the price I paid and I don't mind paying for upgrades. I recommend replacing the ASA because I hate the RAPS but that is my opinion.

It doesn't shoot like a clone, or a geo or DM, but It shoots nice for the price.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Dangerous Power G3 Spec-r Great gun, was shooting better than my friends ego, and had three people offering to buy it. Feed neck and RAPS ASA are both amazing, and i love how light weight it is. (1.8 pounds with barrel and...
Report this review to a moderator   #10283
BEARtoe25
 
BEARtoe25's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2011
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $350.00
Pros: everything
Cons: reg and location of macro line
Great gun, was shooting better than my friends ego, and had three people offering to buy it. Feed neck and RAPS ASA are both amazing, and i love how light weight it is. (1.8 pounds with barrel and battery)
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Dangerous Power G3 Spec-r In depth of pros/cons PROs I love the stock features of this gun; the feedneck, flip asa, lightness and of course the bolt system(brilliant idea). I honestly think Dangerous Power is a great company...
Report this review to a moderator   #8708
paintballhick
Team Akkadian
paintballhick's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Minnesota
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $355.00
Pros: lightness, stock barrel, bolt system
Cons: lubing bolt all the time
In depth of pros/cons
PROs
I love the stock features of this gun; the feedneck, flip asa, lightness and of course the bolt system(brilliant idea). I honestly think Dangerous Power is a great company that builds great guns for a good cost(besides constant lubing this gun is fantastic). They always fix problems by making the next marker different. There have been 4(I think) different models of the original G3 marker(not counting new G4). All of them in my opinion have been better than the one before itself.

CONs
The worst part about this gun for me is the maintenance of the bolt system. It doesn't have nearly as many o-rings as any other marker created but it needs to be lubed as I see every time I take the marker out of the case to shoot. if it doesn't shoot then the air goes through the grip frame which I do not like at all. Also a problem I see with the marker is the trigger system, WAY to much leeway in trigger pull. it is very hard to adjust the trigger to your standards. the g4 looks like it had this problem fixed which is why I am looking into one of those.

OVERALL
The Spec R is definitely an upgrade from the last G3. But there are those few problems that become big problems which is wear in the bolt if you don't lube it enough and the trigger pull but again overall it is a very good buy if you keep up the bolt maintenance and set the trigger to a withstand able setting.
Rating of a 7 out of 10
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.5/5 stars.
Dangerous Power G3 Spec-r the gun is great the acuracy is great the air efficiency is good.overall decent gun
Report this review to a moderator   #9545
earlydemise
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Price paid: $400.00
Pros: accuracy
Cons:
the gun is great the acuracy is great the air efficiency is good.overall decent gun
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Dangerous Power G3 Spec-r This gun can be great and not great sometimes. If you adjust the trigger too far, it will fail. The trigger doesn't feel very great and the air efficiency isn't the best. But the gun is a great gun...
Report this review to a moderator   #28693
eggwhite6
don't small towns suck?
eggwhite6's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: BC, Canada
eggwhite6 supports Team VICIOUS
eggwhite6 is for the Gunfight
eggwhite6 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $350.00
Pros: Light
Cons: Bad trigger
This gun can be great and not great sometimes. If you adjust the trigger too far, it will fail. The trigger doesn't feel very great and the air efficiency isn't the best. But the gun is a great gun for the price i wouldn't say it is as good as a mini but thats my opinion.Another problem is this gun may be too lightweight for some people, it weighs about a pound and a half.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review