Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Proto Paintball - PMR 10 (Proto Rail 10) Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Proto Paintball
10637 Scripps Summit Court
San Diego, CA 92131

Fax: (858) 536-5191
Email: customerservice@protopaintball.com
Website: http://www.protopaintball.com
2010 Proto Matrix Rail
 Manual: Download the manual for Proto Paintball Download
 Release Date: 2010
 MSRP: $449.00
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.4/5 stars.
 Reviews: 19
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  42%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  42%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  11%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  5%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  0%
 Link:
Proto Paintball - PMR 10 (Proto Rail 10) Reviews
Proto Paintball PMR 10 (Proto Rail 10) This is definitely a great gun for the price. I use it as a backup and sometimes play with it just because it shoots so well. It's small and light (but what 08 or newer gun isn't now?). Comes with...
Report this review to a moderator   #8915
InDy_Baller
 
InDy_Baller's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Indiana
InDy_Baller plays in the PSP
InDy_Baller owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
InDy_Baller supports our troops
InDy_Baller plays in the APPA D2 division
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $450.00
Pros: Light, Reliable, Easy Maintenance, Accurate
Cons: Air Efficiency, bolt orings, stock feedneck
This is definitely a great gun for the price. I use it as a backup and sometimes play with it just because it shoots so well. It's small and light (but what 08 or newer gun isn't now?). Comes with a nice on/off ASA. Regular maintenance is simple, just take the bolt out, check for cracked orings, wipe old lube off, and relube. I have not had one chop yet in the 5-6 cases I've shot through it. I keep up on the field with D2/D3 players just fine with this marker. I constantly brag about how good it shoots for how cheap it is.

The only couple downfalls of the 2010 PMR are efficiency (like most spoolies), and the feedneck. I only get A hopper and maybe 5 pods from a 50/4500. If you are a back player you will definitely need a 68 ci tank at least. Also, like stated before, the stock feedneck isn't the best. My hopper has never fallen off but the clamping feednecks are a lot nicer and come stock on most guns now.

I picked this gun up to have as a nice clean backup and, though my main gun hasn't broken down on me in a tournament, I know this thing would do fine in any situation.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Proto Paintball PMR 10 (Proto Rail 10) I bought a PMR 07 off craigslist as an upgrade from my Tippmann 98. As soon as i played with the 07 i fell in love with the marker. As soon as i saved up the money, i looked for a better PMR and...
Report this review to a moderator   #9686
Killak19
 
Killak19's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Monroe WA, San Diego CA
Killak19 supports Team VICIOUS
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $436.00
Pros: Light weight, smooth firing, easy operation
Cons: Maintenence is difficult, eats lube
I bought a PMR 07 off craigslist as an upgrade from my Tippmann 98. As soon as i played with the 07 i fell in love with the marker. As soon as i saved up the money, i looked for a better PMR and bought the PMR 10. i have played rec ball and speed ball with it and it is VERY efficient on the field. for anyone looking for a gun that plays both rec and speed ball, i suggest this gun. its efficient enough and accuurate enough in the woods and high grass and fast enough and accurate for speed ball. I had the 07 and i knew the maintenence was hard enough on the 07 and so i KNEW the 10 was going to be harder. alot of guns you can test fire with no paint to see how it operates, but not this gun. if you test fire this gun with no paint, kinda just to see how it fires other then semi mode, you WILL blow your orings. orings for this marker are especially a pain to change. if you dont do it right then you can mess it up. you need to keep the PMR lubed as well. i lube my PMR every other time i play because i dont like taking it apart. its almost worth paying the 20$ to have the guys at the pro shop do it for you. but for the Price i paid for hte gun i have YET to be disappointed in its performance for me on the field. i have gone against ION's, EGO's, INVERT MINI's and other high end markers and have out gunned them almost everytime. the only time i have been out gunned was by players with more years on the field then me and by markers of 500$ or more in value (retail).
For anyone looking for a good gun with lots of good reviews and the truth about the bad stuff (like any marker out there) then i suggest a PMR 08 or 09 before moving up to the best PMR on the market, The Proto Matrix rail 2010.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Proto Paintball PMR 10 (Proto Rail 10)
Report this review to a moderator   #38006
Lilly 888
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $200.00
Pros: Good Accuracy
Cons: Nonee
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Proto Paintball PMR 10 (Proto Rail 10) Bought this gun b/c i heard it was an awesome gun and had nice features to make it worth the 450+tax. I was not dissapointed. (kinda was long story; First ordered this gun online off of...
Report this review to a moderator   #9050
Mike838
 
Mike838's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2010
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $480.00
Pros: fast, light, good value
Cons: air consumption
Bought this gun b/c i heard it was an awesome gun and had nice features to make it worth the 450+tax. I was not dissapointed. (kinda was long story; First ordered this gun online off of dicksportinggoods and when it arrived at my house put in my airtank and air was leaking out the frame. was really pissed and tried everything in the manuel to fix it but nothing worked. I knew i was returning the gun, so i took it all apart so i knew what i was doing on my new one. DSG took the gun back no problem and gave me my money back. then i went to a PROSHOP and bought a new one there.) always buy from a proshop so they will fix your gun if something is wrong with it. So bought an airforce 2010 pmr from the proshop and had no trouble with it. Went to play the next day and eveything worked fine. The only thing that would sometimes happen, is if i havent used the pmr in a while and air it up, sometimes it takes 3 or4 trigger pulls b4 the bolt breaks free, usaully the ABS works well.

Pros;
-nice rate of fire
-not too much kick
-stock eyes and board work well
-battery life is good
-2 piece 14in barrel (my barrel bore was 686, even though the manual said 690, Know its a 686 b/c have a pair of calipers)
-nice on/off asa
-nice grips
-nice stock psp style trigger
-fairly easy maintnence; bolt is really tight when brand new, becareful of the O rings when taking out or putting your bolt back in-you have to be gentle so you dont tear them on the sharp threads and when you are pushing the middle O ring in, i find that it helps to push the bolt up as much as you can, just to keep the threads from hurting that middle O ring (the one on its side and all by itself). dont forget to line up the bottom screw on your backcap with the little indentation in your frame or your gun will not work. once you do it a few times its super easy for all this stuff
-lots of upgrades
-boost forward is the best

cons;
-a bit pricy for some but get over the price its a great gun
-air consumption is not the best (for a 68/4500, i get about 200 balls for 500 psi)
-loud for some people, but with a better barrel its quiter
-scares new people (what good gun doesnt though)


overall;
-love this gun and will always buy dye/proto for my markers again (for the most part)
-feel its the best low priced true turnament marker on the market, besides the new G3, maybe the MINI, and one or two more
-love this gun and as long as you keep it in good shape it will make you proud on the field, especially for the price
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Proto Paintball PMR 10 (Proto Rail 10) A little bit of a gas hog, but overall a very good marker. Could use a new feedneck. The stock feedneck doesnt lock my Rotor in the way I wish it would.
Report this review to a moderator   #15375
PaintballTechIowa
Certified Timmy Tech
PaintballTechIowa's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: North Liberty, IA
PaintballTechIowa owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
PaintballTechIowa supports Team VICIOUS
PaintballTechIowa has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
PaintballTechIowa is attending Decay of Nations VI
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $350.00
Pros: Light, reliable
Cons: Efficiency, feedneck
A little bit of a gas hog, but overall a very good marker. Could use a new feedneck. The stock feedneck doesnt lock my Rotor in the way I wish it would.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Proto Paintball PMR 10 (Proto Rail 10) Played a tournament with this gun. Looks cool and played great. Worth the money.
Report this review to a moderator   #20217
PBkiller73
Deuce
PBkiller73's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: KC
PBkiller73 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
PBkiller73 has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
PBkiller73 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $450.00
Pros: accurate, fast
Cons:
Played a tournament with this gun. Looks cool and played great. Worth the money.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Proto Paintball PMR 10 (Proto Rail 10) Ok it is my first spool gun, it's a good gun right out of the boxs. As for preformance thier is no up grades required,it has everything i need ,not what i want,i have onle had one problem with this...
Report this review to a moderator   #24789
richardrussell
 
richardrussell's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: englewood florida
richardrussell has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
richardrussell has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $449.00
Pros: no up grades required
Cons:
Ok it is my first spool gun, it's a good gun right out of the boxs. As for preformance thier is no up grades required,it has everything i need ,not what i want,i have onle had one problem with this gun after 2 yrs of use i decided to change o-rings on bolt prevented maintenance i ran out of lube and the only thing the field had was hater sauce (dont use with this gun) i started having problems with bolt sticking forward and loosing air had to change o-rings 3 times and get dye lube then , when i put rotor on this gun i had problem with breaking paint i had to lower tensioner on rotor and this took care of it have had no more problems with this gun
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Proto Paintball PMR 10 (Proto Rail 10) I have had mine for a while and shot probably 20 cases through it. I love the way it shoots and I recently bought the TechT L7 bolt for it and I like the way it shoots even more. It has a smooth...
Report this review to a moderator   #26633
soccer72727
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
soccer72727 is an NCPA player
soccer72727 plays in the APPA D4 division
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $300.00
Pros: smooth shot, shoots well out of the box
Cons: bad trigger for walking, bad feedneck, air hog
I have had mine for a while and shot probably 20 cases through it. I love the way it shoots and I recently bought the TechT L7 bolt for it and I like the way it shoots even more. It has a smooth shot and does well with brittle paint. it has never malfunctioned and it has served me well.

about the price i paid, i only got that because of a deal i struck with my employer but if i had to, i would have paid the full 450 for this gun.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Proto Paintball PMR 10 (Proto Rail 10) I primarily play recball about 2-3 times a month. I have put at least 15 cases through it since I've owned it. The only things I don't care much for are: 1. the battery terminals are weak and...
Report this review to a moderator   #20848
victimhere
 
victimhere's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Salem IN
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $400.00
Pros: Its never broke down while using it
Cons: Battery hog and battery terminals are weak
I primarily play recball about 2-3 times a month. I have put at least 15 cases through it since I've owned it.


The only things I don't care much for are:

1. the battery terminals are weak and break off easily
2. it really uses alot of air compared to my other markers
and
3. the biggest thing I don't like is the yellow o-ring on the bottom that is a real pain to get back in after you disassemble it to clean and lube.

Other than those issues I really like the marker overall and would probably purchase a new one down the road.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review