Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
SLY LLC - Profit Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
SLY LLC
3305 E. Miraloma Avenue
Suite 179
Anaheim, CA 92806

Fax: (714) 398-8159
Email: info@slyequipment.com
Website: http://www.slyequipment.com
Sly's first entry into the paintball mask marketplace.
 Manual: Download the manual for SLY LLC Download
 Release Date: 2010
 MSRP: $89.95
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
 Reviews: 314
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  40%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  47%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  7%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  4%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  2%
 Link:
Photos
There are 9 photos of this product, click on a thumbnail to browse the gallery.
SLY LLC - Profit Reviews
SLY LLC Profit the sly profits are very comfy except they have bad communication, get really hot and breathing can be hard. but if you get over that stuff they are really good and you can cut more holes in the mask...
Report this review to a moderator   #28886
eggwhite6
don't small towns suck?
eggwhite6's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: BC, Canada
eggwhite6 supports Team VICIOUS
eggwhite6 is for the Gunfight
eggwhite6 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $120.00
Pros: two straps
Cons: breathing
the sly profits are very comfy except they have bad communication, get really hot and breathing can be hard. but if you get over that stuff they are really good and you can cut more holes in the mask to breath.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
SLY LLC Profit
Report this review to a moderator   #37431
AMuseXD
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $120.00
Pros: Amazing!
Cons: Nothing
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
SLY LLC Profit I love this mask played for hours!!!No fog glue fine no problems so far.I Can hear fine i don't know what people think saying they cant hear.
Report this review to a moderator   #9621
avery army
all day long
avery army's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: carrollton TX.
avery army posts videos on PbNation
avery army plays in the APPA D5 division
avery army has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
avery army has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $
Pros: soft ears,large lens,small tight fit
Cons: none
I love this mask played for hours!!!No fog glue fine no problems so far.I Can hear fine i don't know what people think saying they cant hear.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
SLY LLC Profit i wear glasses and these worked best with me being able to keep my glasses on and not having them bend. and it was easy to see out of.
Report this review to a moderator   #12138
becca.sue
and they said i couldn't
becca.sue's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: winners circle
becca.sue is Legendary
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $50.00
Pros: worked with glasses
Cons: smelly
i wear glasses and these worked best with me being able to keep my glasses on and not having them bend. and it was easy to see out of.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
SLY LLC Profit Ive been using this goggle system for a while and have had no major complaints. they have been reliable and not given me any problems.
Report this review to a moderator   #20658
kevbot
 
kevbot's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: New Jersey
kevbot is for the Gunfight
kevbot supports Pev's Paintball
kevbot plays in the APPA beginner division
kevbot has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $99.95
Pros: appearance, never fog, well padded
Cons: ear room, paint chipped
Ive been using this goggle system for a while and have had no major complaints. they have been reliable and not given me any problems.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
SLY LLC Profit I saw the Sly Profit mask at Doodlebug Sportz Pro Shop in Everett, WA about a year ago when I was looking to acquire a new mask. Up until then, I was using old masks borrowed from my paintball...
Report this review to a moderator   #10929
magilla66
Magilla Gorilla
magilla66's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2010
magilla66 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
magilla66 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
magilla66 has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
magilla66 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $89.99
Pros: Comfort, FOV, Looks
Cons: Occasionally fogs up
I saw the Sly Profit mask at Doodlebug Sportz Pro Shop in Everett, WA about a year ago when I was looking to acquire a new mask. Up until then, I was using old masks borrowed from my paintball buddies (just about everything I started out with was borrowed).

DBS carries most of the popular brands: Dye, Empire, JT, Sly, V-force, to name a few. After trying on some of the higher-end masks (Dye I4, Empire E-Vents, JT ProFlex), and coming up empty - with most of the masks I lost coverage around my chin/neck line, which I definitely didn't like. My experience with the old JT ProFlex I was borrowing allowed too much cheek-slapping fun (fun for those shooting at me, not for me). I had also tried a SavePhace Warlord mask on for a few games and did not find it to my liking, either (same reason, only the hard shell didn't cover about 1/4 inch below the edge of the mask, exposing my chin/neck area. Scratch two high-end masks off the list. Wasn't crazy about the fit/look of the E-vents or the V-force Grills. My options kept moving me higher and higher up the price ladder as I eliminated one mask after the other.

I tried on the Profits last; since I must either wear glasses or contacts to correct my vision, I was rather pleasantly surprised that I could put on this mask while still wearing my glasses. A nice bonus, for sure. I couldn't be sure that I wouldn't get fogged out while wearing glasses (do the glasses fog, does the mask fog, do they both fog). Talk about comfort! Yeah, the reviewer who said the earpieces were so soft, it was like wearing pillows is absolutely spot-on. Most people grouse about the decreased auditory levels from the earpieces, but I wouldn't blame the mask entirely - yes, it is true that what you hear while wearing the Profit is not as sharp or distinct as others, but I would hardly say that other players are unintelligible/hard to hear. Dual-straps fit my noggin pretty well, too; occasionally the mask slips up/down a bit, but that's mostly just a fitting issue on my part. Of the 5 different masks I tried on that night, the Sly Profit was the best choice in the $90-$120 range, so I plunked down my card and bought them, in the Digi-Camo color scheme.

Some Profit owners have mentioned that the colors have peeled off, which I can attest that it does (not mine, but others that have colors like Red, Blue, White, Gold, Neon green). Probably just poor quality control on Sly's part. I purchased a second Profit (Black) this past March, and gave my old ones to my son as an upgrade from the used Empire E-vents I had given him at Christmas (part of his paintball starter kit). In the year that I had been playing paintball with my original (and now second) Profit, I experienced the fogging during the colder months here in Washington state - anti-fog wipes did the trick, though. Last weekend I also got some foggola going on, mostly due to condensation and sweat dripping off me. Once I was cooled down and a little drier, they ceased fogging the rest of the day.

Cleanup of the Profit is a snap, literally. Two turns of the safety locks and then two snaps of the strap restraints, and the lens pops right out the front. I also can concur with one reviewer who has had paint seep in between the lens and the lens housing from a direct hit around the lens area (not due to dripping, mind you). This is but a minor issue, since it happens so rarely. I doubt that any mask keeps ALL paint out.

My Rating Categories:
  1. Styling - of 5 - might look similar to a Proto (I guess?) but the Profit cuts a rather dashing figure (but not as dashing as the Angels)
  2. Fit - of 5 - my son's head/face is thinner/smaller than mine, but they fit him just as well as it did for me
  3. Finish - of 5 - No problems with the foam lining the mask where it meets your face/cheeks, unlike others who have had the foam separate very quickly after first use; minor blemishes here and there, but all-black hides most things that don't get covered by paint
  4. Use - of 5 - The ear liners tend to soak up sweat like a sponge (ambient temperature approximately 70-75 degrees Fahrenheit), which I think contributes to the fogging issues noted by some reviewers (humidity); mask surface produces a lot of bounces (I like), but I collect a few melon busters just above the top edge of the mask - I might need to rig up a forehead shield or something like that in the future.

Overall Rating - of 5 (intangibles bump it up to 5 from about 3.75).

When it comes to paintball masks, it's not "One size fits all", but "One size fits most". I don't think there will ever be a mask that completely satisfies everyone's needs or budget. What I like about the Profit may be the very things another person might hate about it. Bottom line - try before you buy.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
SLY LLC Profit I do not recommend this really, especially the first generation ones. The ear pieces were ridiculous since they were so padded. That would be good for the winter I guess to keep your ears warm. You...
Report this review to a moderator   #13014
ThePinkMonster
Rise To The Top
ThePinkMonster's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: 7oh3
ThePinkMonster plays in the USPL
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 2.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Price paid: $60.00
Pros: can't think of any
Cons: lookks, breathing, vibrations, and more
I do not recommend this really, especially the first generation ones. The ear pieces were ridiculous since they were so padded. That would be good for the winter I guess to keep your ears warm. You can't really hear anything and when you yell it vibrates like crazy and no one can hear you. The breathing restriction isn't good either. Just not a good mask, at least the first generation one.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
SLY LLC Profit appearance: got a lot of comments on how good it looks performance: amazing lenses and the double strap is super helpful when paint balling so it doesn't go down reliability: they are awesome and...
Report this review to a moderator   #9590
xi invertmini ix
 
xi invertmini ix's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2011
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $85.00
Pros: everything
Cons: no forehead protection
appearance: got a lot of comments on how good it looks
performance: amazing lenses and the double strap is super helpful when paint balling so it doesn't go down
reliability: they are awesome and the taking apart design is super good and easy but get a small and thin metal object which makes the stripping really good
value: overall its really good and i didn't find anything wrong with it other than forehead protection

So i would highly recommend it and i hope you like it if you buy it that and one thing to remember is that depending on the paint and what not they can get oily and the microfiber case it comes with is only good for on the field cleaning but get a wet rag with warm water and no soap or anything and wipe it down then get a really good microfiber rag/towel and it should have a nice finish and take the lens out to make sure you get a good clean but what ever you do don't soak the lenses in water just wipe it down.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
SLY LLC Profit These masks look great, but they are hard to breathe in. Also, they do echo when you scream,which sucks if you're playing, but most times I wore this while shooting photos and with earbuds in, so I...
Report this review to a moderator   #14703
1stGenRex
Easily Amused
1stGenRex's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: DERPghanistan
1stGenRex is a Paintball photographer
1stGenRex supports Cereal Killerz 2
1stGenRex donated to help Peyton Trent
1stGenRex helped look for balloons
1stGenRex is one of the top 25 posters on PbNation
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $90.00
Pros: They look great and are comfortable
Cons: Like sticking your head in an oven. Hard to breath
These masks look great, but they are hard to breathe in. Also, they do echo when you scream,which sucks if you're playing, but most times I wore this while shooting photos and with earbuds in, so I hardly noticed the echo.

Field of view is great.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
SLY LLC Profit Double strap is awesome def a great idea..coming out with alot of new colors and lens that look awesome only con for me was took a little while to get used to the breathing on them..
Report this review to a moderator   #28681
2ez4me
Hardcore Supremacy
2ez4me's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Staten Island
2ez4me plays in the PSP
2ez4me owns a Planet Eclipse GSL
2ez4me is Legendary
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $90.00
Pros: Looks
Cons: Breathing
Double strap is awesome def a great idea..coming out with alot of new colors and lens that look awesome only con for me was took a little while to get used to the breathing on them..
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review