Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
SLY LLC - Profit Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
SLY LLC
3305 E. Miraloma Avenue
Suite 179
Anaheim, CA 92806

Fax: (714) 398-8159
Email: info@slyequipment.com
Website: http://www.slyequipment.com
Sly's first entry into the paintball mask marketplace.
 Manual: Download the manual for SLY LLC Download
 Release Date: 2010
 MSRP: $89.95
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
 Reviews: 323
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  40%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  47%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  7%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  4%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  2%
 Link:
Photos
There are 9 photos of this product, click on a thumbnail to browse the gallery.
SLY LLC - Profit Reviews
SLY LLC Profit Other then the hard of hearing with this mask, It's a great mask. I love the ease of the lens removal, the style, color choices, dual strap, comfort, and the field of view.
Report this review to a moderator   #11125
azpbaddict
 
azpbaddict's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2010
azpbaddict owns a Planet Eclipse Lv1
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $90.00
Pros: lens removal, dual straps
Cons: Hearing
Other then the hard of hearing with this mask, It's a great mask. I love the ease of the lens removal, the style, color choices, dual strap, comfort, and the field of view.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
SLY LLC Profit i wear glasses and these worked best with me being able to keep my glasses on and not having them bend. and it was easy to see out of.
Report this review to a moderator   #12138
becca.sue
and they said i couldn't
becca.sue's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: winners circle
becca.sue has been a member for 10 years
becca.sue is Legendary
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $50.00
Pros: worked with glasses
Cons: smelly
i wear glasses and these worked best with me being able to keep my glasses on and not having them bend. and it was easy to see out of.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
SLY LLC Profit Great mask. Played with it twice now once on a bright day and the second time was while it was humid and raining slightly. On both days the mask never fogged up and I didn't overheat. This is my...
Report this review to a moderator   #8311
ckbrown
 
ckbrown's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2010
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $89.00
Pros: Love the lens and ear padding
Cons:
Great mask. Played with it twice now once on a bright day and the second time was while it was humid and raining slightly. On both days the mask never fogged up and I didn't overheat. This is my first upper price range mask and I have no complaints on the amount that I spent.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
SLY LLC Profit Loved this mask until I got tired of it fogging n bought a i4
Report this review to a moderator   #33650
dezz-nutz
i Get TrIgGeR HaPpY!
dezz-nutz's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: B-more, MD.21237
dezz-nutz owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
dezz-nutz posts videos on PbNation
dezz-nutz has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $80.00
Pros: Looks awsome
Cons: FOGGING
Loved this mask until I got tired of it fogging n bought a i4
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
SLY LLC Profit ok lets start out with the good the good - very nice mask -fits well with your face -double strap -durable the bad -fogging!!!! -cant hear anything -people cant hear you
Report this review to a moderator   #27359
DMplayer91
speedball team needed!!!!
DMplayer91's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Edmond , Ok
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $98.00
Pros: very nice mask
Cons: fogging,muffled hearing
ok lets start out with the good
the good
- very nice mask
-fits well with your face
-double strap
-durable
the bad
-fogging!!!!
-cant hear anything
-people cant hear you
- echoing
-price
-did i mention fogging?
..... this is without a dout a good mask but it needs alot of improvement on alot of things i would recommend to other people but id definately warn them 3/5 stars
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
SLY LLC Profit I own two pair, both V1s. The original ear foam can be fairly constricting and make it hard to hear. There were also some manufacturing issues where the mouth area has too much rubber, which sealed...
Report this review to a moderator   #14666
General Cole
NLD Paintball
General Cole's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: SoCo, NM
General Cole plays in the PSP
General Cole posts videos on PbNation
General Cole is an NCPA player
General Cole is one of the top 250 posters on PbNation
General Cole is Boss
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $90.00
Pros: Worked well, looks good
Cons: Issues with V1s
I own two pair, both V1s. The original ear foam can be fairly constricting and make it hard to hear. There were also some manufacturing issues where the mouth area has too much rubber, which sealed up some of the holes on the side of the players face. Overall, they're a good mask with good coverage and look good. If you don't get a V3 (new ears) look into getting the new ears to increase your hearing.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
SLY LLC Profit i love the prophits i have had no problems what so ever they are my favorite gogles on the market
Report this review to a moderator   #8956
KEAkillers
 
KEAkillers's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Mass
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $99.00
Pros: execlent padding and confotabilty
Cons: cant hear well since so much padding
i love the prophits i have had no problems what so ever they are my favorite gogles on the market
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
SLY LLC Profit I saw the Sly Profit mask at Doodlebug Sportz Pro Shop in Everett, WA about a year ago when I was looking to acquire a new mask. Up until then, I was using old masks borrowed from my paintball...
Report this review to a moderator   #10929
magilla66
Magilla Gorilla
magilla66's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2010
magilla66 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
magilla66 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
magilla66 has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
magilla66 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $89.99
Pros: Comfort, FOV, Looks
Cons: Occasionally fogs up
I saw the Sly Profit mask at Doodlebug Sportz Pro Shop in Everett, WA about a year ago when I was looking to acquire a new mask. Up until then, I was using old masks borrowed from my paintball buddies (just about everything I started out with was borrowed).

DBS carries most of the popular brands: Dye, Empire, JT, Sly, V-force, to name a few. After trying on some of the higher-end masks (Dye I4, Empire E-Vents, JT ProFlex), and coming up empty - with most of the masks I lost coverage around my chin/neck line, which I definitely didn't like. My experience with the old JT ProFlex I was borrowing allowed too much cheek-slapping fun (fun for those shooting at me, not for me). I had also tried a SavePhace Warlord mask on for a few games and did not find it to my liking, either (same reason, only the hard shell didn't cover about 1/4 inch below the edge of the mask, exposing my chin/neck area. Scratch two high-end masks off the list. Wasn't crazy about the fit/look of the E-vents or the V-force Grills. My options kept moving me higher and higher up the price ladder as I eliminated one mask after the other.

I tried on the Profits last; since I must either wear glasses or contacts to correct my vision, I was rather pleasantly surprised that I could put on this mask while still wearing my glasses. A nice bonus, for sure. I couldn't be sure that I wouldn't get fogged out while wearing glasses (do the glasses fog, does the mask fog, do they both fog). Talk about comfort! Yeah, the reviewer who said the earpieces were so soft, it was like wearing pillows is absolutely spot-on. Most people grouse about the decreased auditory levels from the earpieces, but I wouldn't blame the mask entirely - yes, it is true that what you hear while wearing the Profit is not as sharp or distinct as others, but I would hardly say that other players are unintelligible/hard to hear. Dual-straps fit my noggin pretty well, too; occasionally the mask slips up/down a bit, but that's mostly just a fitting issue on my part. Of the 5 different masks I tried on that night, the Sly Profit was the best choice in the $90-$120 range, so I plunked down my card and bought them, in the Digi-Camo color scheme.

Some Profit owners have mentioned that the colors have peeled off, which I can attest that it does (not mine, but others that have colors like Red, Blue, White, Gold, Neon green). Probably just poor quality control on Sly's part. I purchased a second Profit (Black) this past March, and gave my old ones to my son as an upgrade from the used Empire E-vents I had given him at Christmas (part of his paintball starter kit). In the year that I had been playing paintball with my original (and now second) Profit, I experienced the fogging during the colder months here in Washington state - anti-fog wipes did the trick, though. Last weekend I also got some foggola going on, mostly due to condensation and sweat dripping off me. Once I was cooled down and a little drier, they ceased fogging the rest of the day.

Cleanup of the Profit is a snap, literally. Two turns of the safety locks and then two snaps of the strap restraints, and the lens pops right out the front. I also can concur with one reviewer who has had paint seep in between the lens and the lens housing from a direct hit around the lens area (not due to dripping, mind you). This is but a minor issue, since it happens so rarely. I doubt that any mask keeps ALL paint out.

My Rating Categories:
  1. Styling - of 5 - might look similar to a Proto (I guess?) but the Profit cuts a rather dashing figure (but not as dashing as the Angels)
  2. Fit - of 5 - my son's head/face is thinner/smaller than mine, but they fit him just as well as it did for me
  3. Finish - of 5 - No problems with the foam lining the mask where it meets your face/cheeks, unlike others who have had the foam separate very quickly after first use; minor blemishes here and there, but all-black hides most things that don't get covered by paint
  4. Use - of 5 - The ear liners tend to soak up sweat like a sponge (ambient temperature approximately 70-75 degrees Fahrenheit), which I think contributes to the fogging issues noted by some reviewers (humidity); mask surface produces a lot of bounces (I like), but I collect a few melon busters just above the top edge of the mask - I might need to rig up a forehead shield or something like that in the future.

Overall Rating - of 5 (intangibles bump it up to 5 from about 3.75).

When it comes to paintball masks, it's not "One size fits all", but "One size fits most". I don't think there will ever be a mask that completely satisfies everyone's needs or budget. What I like about the Profit may be the very things another person might hate about it. Bottom line - try before you buy.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
SLY LLC Profit Great mask but i only kept it 6 months or so due to the fact that people couldn't hear me yelling through the mask during games. Also it was hard to hear people. There are few masks that you can...
Report this review to a moderator   #25301
ridebmx211
RC ARMY
ridebmx211's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: **703**
ridebmx211 is a founding member
ridebmx211 plays in the PSP
ridebmx211 supports Pev's Paintball
ridebmx211 is Legendary
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $90.00
Pros: comfortable
Cons: communication is hard
Great mask but i only kept it 6 months or so due to the fact that people couldn't hear me yelling through the mask during games. Also it was hard to hear people.

There are few masks that you can wear for 8 hours with out removing them, this is one of them
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
SLY LLC Profit my profits were extremely comfortable except i could breath or hear well in them. they were very hot to wear, but had great coverage. i ended up selling them as they just werent for me
Report this review to a moderator   #12467
straptrams91
PunishersPB Tech
straptrams91's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
straptrams91 plays in the PSP
straptrams91 supports Team VICIOUS
straptrams91 is an NCPA player
straptrams91 supports Pev's Paintball
straptrams91 is Legendary
straptrams91 supports Empire
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $90.00
Pros: well made, good coverage
Cons: hard to breath, hot, cant hear
my profits were extremely comfortable except i could breath or hear well in them. they were very hot to wear, but had great coverage. i ended up selling them as they just werent for me
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Add New Review