Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Lurker Paintball - Eigenbarrel Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Lurker Paintball
529 Stenning Drive
Hockessin, DE 19707

Email: Lurker27@aol.com
Website: http://www.LurkerPaintball.com
•Continuous (non-stepped) 0.678" underbore for optimum consistency and efficiency with today's smaller paints. •14" total length; 9.5" unported length
 Manual: Submit a manual
 Release Date: 2010
 MSRP: $39.00
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.7/5 stars.
 Reviews: 49
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  65%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  35%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  0%
 Link:
Lurker Paintball - Eigenbarrel Reviews
Lurker Paintball Eigenbarrel I have now bought two different Eigenbarrels. Anyways, I have the .684 and .678 - I decided I will just overbore for semi and underbore for pump. They are both good barrels and have a nice quiet...
Report this review to a moderator   #38440
Bob Bobbity
Bobbitay
Bob Bobbity's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Oregon
Bob Bobbity has been a member for 10 years
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $40.00
Pros: Lightweight, long control bore, simple styling
Cons: cosmetic and finishing details
I have now bought two different Eigenbarrels. Anyways, I have the .684 and .678 - I decided I will just overbore for semi and underbore for pump. They are both good barrels and have a nice quiet shot. I wouldn't hesitate with the purchase of one or both of the barrels.

There are a couple things that bother me. One is the finish between my two barrels. The .684 is slightly glossier and actually matches my gloss black gun, but the .678 doesn't quite match. The turning marks from the lathe are still fairly visible on my .678. Internally they both look mirror so I know nothing is impacted as far as performance goes.

Also, I am CNC machinist by trade (noob, but still) and I have measured both ends with a couple of my tools (Mitutoyu Micrometers w/ Starrett Telescoping Gage & a Brown & Sharpe ("Tesa" Copy) Digital Caliper. They both measure closely to the listed bore at the threaded ends. (.678) & (.684) However, they seem to not have much of a step to them. I got .678 on the porting end of the .678 and .686 on the porting end of the .684. You can see the step in the mirror finish internally so I am pretty sure the step is in there somewhere.I am assuming that those dirty/rough chamfers on the ends are what is mucking up my measurements. They need to run a little scotch-bright or something across those chamfers before anno to ensure there are no burrs, in my opinion. This is a minor finish detail that I believe would make these the absolute best barrel value you can get.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Lurker Paintball Eigenbarrel I sprang for a Lurker barrel for my CiP V2 Mini-Sniper right when they came out. To be perfectly frank, it may have been some of the best money I've spent in paintball. This barrel is everything...
Report this review to a moderator   #19630
Coenen
K-K-k-k-YEAH!
Coenen's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Cumming
Coenen has been a member for 10 years
Coenen supports Cereal Killerz 2
Coenen supports Team VICIOUS
Coenen plays in the APPA D4 division
Coenen has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $39.99
Pros: Light, accurate, quiet
Cons: Can't shoot through a break
I sprang for a Lurker barrel for my CiP V2 Mini-Sniper right when they came out. To be perfectly frank, it may have been some of the best money I've spent in paintball.

This barrel is everything it's supposed to be and nothing it's not. Perfect for pump or closed bolt markers, it has eliminated roll-outs on my Sniper and Cocker. It is also very accurate when matched with quality paint and not horribly picky, mine has shot very well with any number of brands, and types of paint. It has [obviously] been best with the higher quality stuff, but it hasn't batted an eye lash to shoot with field grade paint either.

If you don't have a Sniper or a Cocker, fear not! This thing shoots money on regular markers as well. Obviously it should, since the marker doesn't have much to do with whether or not the barrel's any good, but hey, let's not pigeonhole a good product!

Only 2 sort of cons for me. First, the look is a little plain, not bad, but a bit plain. I will say, that I'd rather have a plain looking piece of equipment than something that looks completely insane and silly. You're paying for the performance anyway, and the performance is good.

Con number two, if you break a ball, you MUST swab or squeegee. You. MUST. Swab or Squeegee. I'm given to the occasional brain fart and double pump or short stroke, if the paint breaks, you will be in a world of hurt until this thing is clean again.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Lurker Paintball Eigenbarrel I test this barrel wih triax .680 draxxus gold .682 and evil .682-.683 paintballs Tested markers: Marq 6 protege ETEK Quest F8 prostock pump
Report this review to a moderator   #7795
juit
CHEECH IS G@I
juit's avatar
Join Date: May 2008
Location: mission
juit supports Team VICIOUS
juit is for the Gunfight
juit posts videos on PbNation
juit has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
juit has perfected Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $29.00
Pros: underbore
Cons: cant shot after ball break
I test this barrel wih triax .680 draxxus gold .682 and evil .682-.683 paintballs

Tested markers:
Marq 6
protege
ETEK
Quest
F8
prostock pump

PROS:
Nice finish
I got great boost FPS "30-35" in all markers exept the protege F8 and ETEK because it has a bolt tip that goes inside the barrel when shooting but still got a 15 FPS boost
great for pumps
great price
weights like a carbonfiber barrel
Improved sound signature
GREAT GREAT BARREL FOR PUMP I will leave it in my prostock no barrel roll out

VS a empire 681 got almost same results but had bad sound signature
Cons:
If you shoot over a barrel break every single ball you shoot over will break again and again, so you need to clean it in order to shoot again

Ramping over 13-15 BPS I started to see some barrel breaks

only 2 colors

Ill make more tests this weekend:

I fixed this issue with a honing machine and added some liquid car wax & if I break a ball I just unscrew the barrel whip it and shoot over it and it will clean

Im testing with a new one

Test with triax paintballs are awesome
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Lurker Paintball Eigenbarrel When it comes to upgrades, the barrel is perhaps the easiest and most influential part you can change. No other part of the gun affects so many different things, nor as dramatically, as the barrel....
Report this review to a moderator   #33711
Racso
It R go good w/ Pizza
Racso's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: The Nati
Racso is playing at Living Legends V
Racso is playing at Living Legends VI
Racso is playing at Living Legends VII
Racso is Legendary
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $30.00
Pros: Shoots & Sounds Great
Cons: Anno/Exterior Design
When it comes to upgrades, the barrel is perhaps the easiest and most influential part you can change. No other part of the gun affects so many different things, nor as dramatically, as the barrel. It is then no wonder why the market is saturated with so many different types of barrels. Add in the debates of under-boring vs. over-boring vs. bore-matching, barrel length, and porting, the numbers of products to choose from only grows. With the Eigenbarrel, Lurker has decided to take a simple stand on all three debates; under-bore, 14” length, and good porting.

14” must have been an easy decision since it has become the standard for barrel lengths on most barrels, stock or aftermarket. It is a great length for most styles of play; not too long, not too short. It allows for a good control bore length, and room for porting.

Going into porting; Lurker has come out with a design that diffuses the sound signature of the gun substantially. It not only lowers the perceived volume of the shot, but changes the type of sound as well. For example, many poppets have a “bang” type of shot, but the Eigenbarrel will change the sound to more of a “plop,” but this obviously differs from gun to gun.

As for the bore size, Lurker believes in under-boring. While the jury is still out on the accuracy of under-boring vs. bore-matching vs. over-boring, and you can choose what to believe about it as you wish, there are some known facts about under-boring. First is efficiency; under-boring allows for higher efficiency. Second self-cleaning; while no barrel can truly and completely self clean, under-bored barrels do self-clean much better than over-bored barrels. Finally, for closed bolt guns (such as autocockers and guns based off the autococker design), under-bored barrels prevent roll-out.

Functionally, Lurker has designed a great barrel. Cosmetically, some may wish for more. The anodizing leaves one wanting for more: gloss anodized barrels reportedly have issues in the anodizing. These issue don’t seem to carry over the dust however, so this may be something to consider for those who take form seriously. Additionally, the exterior design of the barrel really emphasizes how Lurker cares about function over form.

Overall, the Lurker Eigenbarrel takes something that for many is pretty complicated, makes it ultimately simple, and does a great job. There are 2 versions of the Eigenbarrel, the 0.679 bore and 0.684 bore. If you shoot many different types of paint, I’d recommend picking up both, which will cover most types of paint there are out there. If you find something really large that the 0.684 can’t handle, then you most likely have a fairly large bore stock barrel as backup.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Lurker Paintball Eigenbarrel This barrel is streamlined well ported. Small 678 bore, spotless gloss black anodizing Accuracy is amazing,ball on ball. Barrels porting makes it nice and quiet
Report this review to a moderator   #28608
rudz
SPOOL VALVED VICTORY
rudz's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Southern California
rudz has achieved Level 5 in PbNation Pursuit
rudz is one of the top 500 posters on PbNation
rudz is Legendary
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $40.00
Pros: Small bore
Cons: none yet
This barrel is streamlined well ported. Small 678 bore, spotless gloss black anodizing

Accuracy is amazing,ball on ball. Barrels porting makes it nice and quiet
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Lurker Paintball Eigenbarrel The Lurker Eigenbarrel is something that not many people know of yet. I have used this barrel since last June, and have yet to find another barrel I would rather use for underboring. This barrel is...
Report this review to a moderator   #14199
specopsdeath2
(ノò_ó)ノ_
specopsdeath2's avatar
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Jersey/CT
specopsdeath2 plays in the PSP
specopsdeath2 is an NCPA player
specopsdeath2 plays in the APPA D3 division
specopsdeath2 is Legendary
specopsdeath2 supports DLX Technology
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $30.00
Pros: See Below
Cons: See Below
The Lurker Eigenbarrel is something that not many people know of yet. I have used this barrel since last June, and have yet to find another barrel I would rather use for underboring.

This barrel is one of the best underboring systems out there. The interior and exterior finish is phenomenal, the lightness of the barrel surprises me every time I pick it up. I have never had any barrel breaks, and if i have ever gotten a chop, in about 2 shots the barrel is cleared.

The only Con i see with this barrel is that the exterior is fairly mute in appearance, and there are minimal colors to choose from (dust black or gloss black).
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Lurker Paintball Eigenbarrel I just got one of these for my shocker and they are great. I like have the one piece barrel with the control bore instead of messing around with freak inserts. I have not had a problem with any other...
Report this review to a moderator   #13685
paintballer35
^XBL^
paintballer35's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: IL
paintballer35 has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
paintballer35 has perfected Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
paintballer35 has perfected Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
paintballer35 has perfected Level 4 in PbNation Pursuit
paintballer35 has perfected Level 5 in PbNation Pursuit
paintballer35 is one of the top 100 posters on PbNation
paintballer35 is Immortal
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $36.00
Pros: Excellent Quality
Cons:
I just got one of these for my shocker and they are great. I like have the one piece barrel with the control bore instead of messing around with freak inserts. I have not had a problem with any other lurker product and I don't see anything happening with this either.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.4/5 stars.
Lurker Paintball Eigenbarrel This is by far the best barrel I have ever used. The underbore makes the shot very accurate, and it allows me to lower my operating pressure, as well as, which results in increased efficiency. The...
Report this review to a moderator   #24165
Dimitrio
Look at dat Geo d'ough
Dimitrio's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Toronto, Canada
Dimitrio owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Dimitrio has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $40.00
Pros: Underbore
Cons: Not aesthetically appealing
This is by far the best barrel I have ever used. The underbore makes the shot very accurate, and it allows me to lower my operating pressure, as well as, which results in increased efficiency. The price is the true selling point, though. For $40, this is a must have upgrade to any marker.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Lurker Paintball Eigenbarrel Lurker makes good products and there eigenbarrel is no exception. Its a very smooth bored barrel with a fair amount of porting. Shoots nice and strait andhave only had one barrel break. Only cons...
Report this review to a moderator   #21538
knis2me
Nice2me
knis2me's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Yuma AZ
knis2me owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
knis2me supports Team VICIOUS
knis2me posts videos on PbNation
knis2me has achieved Level 4 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $40.00
Pros: Smooth Bore, Fair Amount of Porting
Cons: Easy to Scratch
Lurker makes good products and there eigenbarrel is no exception. Its a very smooth bored barrel with a fair amount of porting. Shoots nice and strait andhave only had one barrel break. Only cons would be the fact that you can scratch the barrel VERY easy and its a little loud. Other than that I would give it a 4 out of 5 star rating.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Lurker Paintball Eigenbarrel This barrel shots excellent with todays small paint. I have shot some 4month old paint without any issues. If you happen to get a barrel break, it cleans itself out in 2-3shots.
Report this review to a moderator   #17408
dvader
 
dvader's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: 859
dvader supports Team VICIOUS
dvader posts videos on PbNation
dvader is Legendary
dvader supports DLX Technology
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $30.00
Pros: Consistent and Quiet
Cons:
This barrel shots excellent with todays small paint. I have shot some 4month old paint without any issues. If you happen to get a barrel break, it cleans itself out in 2-3shots.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Add New Review