Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Planet Eclipse - Planet Eclipse - SL94 Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Planet Eclipse
84 Cutler Street
Suite 4
Warren, RI 02885

Phone: (401) 247-9061
Fax: (401) 247-0931
Email: info@planeteclipse.com
Website: http://www.planeteclipse.com
The 2009 SL vision of the Ego9.
 Manual: Download the manual for Planet Eclipse Download
 Release Date: 2009
 MSRP: $1,795.00
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.7/5 stars.
 Reviews: 14
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  71%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  29%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  0%
 Link:
Planet Eclipse - Planet Eclipse - SL94 Reviews
Planet Eclipse Planet Eclipse - SL94 I decided to transition to high-end markers after completing my first year of paintball using only Invert Minis (and a CCI Phantom). I chose the SL94 based upon the following: For a high-end marker...
Report this review to a moderator   #11052
magilla66
Magilla Gorilla
magilla66's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2010
magilla66 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
magilla66 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
magilla66 has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
magilla66 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $875.00
Pros: See below
Cons: See below
I decided to transition to high-end markers after completing my first year of paintball using only Invert Minis (and a CCI Phantom). I chose the SL94 based upon the following:
  • For a high-end marker that was sold as used, you get ALL the good stuff for about half the original cost
  • The SL94 represented the penultimate offering from Planet Eclipse going into the 2010 season
  • Design & aesthetics of the SL94 compared to a stock 2009 Ego
  • Light weight (as light or lighter than the Invert Mini) considering the physical size of the marker
  • Legendary PE tech support
  • No need to install expensive upgrades right out of the box
  • Holds its value quite well; I know that if I needed to sell my SL94, I could get at least 60-80% of what I paid for it, which isn't bad considering you see a lot of used markers selling for 50% or more of their retail price.

As with most expensive items, depreciation costs hit the original owner hardest; even two years later, the SL94 can still command nearly 50% of its original value ($1,800 or so). Because I'm not a pro tournament player (yet, if ever - ha!), the chances of me EVER buying an $1,800 paintball gun brand new are slim to none. So now I own a pricey, pro-style marker for a lot less! I've since grown accustomed to having a macro line, which I'm sure would only snag in a freak situation.

Like with any luxury item, the maintenance costs can be quite ridiculous - some of that is bound to proprietary PE parts, some is due to economic issues (supply/demand), but honestly, unless you have a catastrophic failure your maintenance costs will reflect how well you routinely clean and lubricate your marker.

Some of the negatives I've encountered so far:
  • Reverse-thread barrel tips - for those who aren't used to this oddity, you can easily over-tighten the barrel tip, making it extremely difficult to unscrew.
  • Feedneck clamp has a tendency to droop even when tightened
  • Haven't chopped any balls yet, but I do get the occasional paint residue in the barrel tip somehow
  • Rubber grips are slowly disintegrating (used, I know, but two years of playing shouldn't cause this)

Once I delve into fine-tuning the SL94's performance, I'll update my review of the marker.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Planet Eclipse - SL94 I picked up my SL in a trade a while back. I was very surprised it was fairly smooth for an ego was once i put the LP valve in it. It was upgraded with a Zick2 and shot ball on ball. for the price I...
Report this review to a moderator   #12301
straptrams91
PRESIDENT
straptrams91's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
straptrams91 plays in the PSP
straptrams91 is playing at Living Legends V
straptrams91 is playing at Living Legends VI
straptrams91 supports Team VICIOUS
straptrams91 is an NCPA player
straptrams91 is Legendary
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Price paid: $700.00
Pros: light, smooth for an ego
Cons: loud, thin frame
I picked up my SL in a trade a while back. I was very surprised it was fairly smooth for an ego was once i put the LP valve in it. It was upgraded with a Zick2 and shot ball on ball. for the price I would pick an SL94 up before an ego10. The Sl has an extra trigger, a full SL barrel kit, as well as a HP and LP valve.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Planet Eclipse - SL94 I got an Black/Silver SL94 off eBay, and it was amazing. In my opinion the best looking (electronic) marker Planet Eclipse has ever produced. One of the lightest, too. I really like the fact that it...
Report this review to a moderator   #38958
Cracker_35
Saltine or Graham?
Cracker_35's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Georgia
Cracker_35 has achieved Level 5 in PbNation Pursuit
Cracker_35 is Legendary
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $500.00
Pros: Sexy milling, barrel kit, reliabilty
Cons: Kick? Noise?
I got an Black/Silver SL94 off eBay, and it was amazing.
In my opinion the best looking (electronic) marker Planet Eclipse has ever produced. One of the lightest, too. I really like the fact that it has SL94 milled into it and has no badge.

When you get it, it comes with a full barrel kit with 3 backs and 2 tips. This is a HUGE +. Also comes with the other SL extra like 2 triggers, LPR caps, and valves.

Like any Ego, the simplicity of this gun makes it incredibly reliable. Every time you air it up, you know it's going to work.

Complaints might be the amount of kick, and the 'pop' in makes, but that really didn't bother me. It's a poppet, from 2009. What do you expect?
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Planet Eclipse - SL94 this marker is so good this is all i need in any tournament or scenario games. comes with a barrel kit and man oh man thats nice..
Report this review to a moderator   #28694
damongligaw13
you know this couch....
damongligaw13's avatar
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Hinesville, GA
damongligaw13 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
damongligaw13 is for the Gunfight
damongligaw13 plays in the APPA beginner division
damongligaw13 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Price paid: $800.00
Pros: accurate
Cons: expensive
this marker is so good this is all i need in any tournament or scenario games. comes with a barrel kit and man oh man thats nice..
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Planet Eclipse - SL94 I decided to move up from my ego 08 to a new gun. I didn't look at all my options before I bought the sl94 because I figured since my 08 was so good that this SL should be REALLY good, turns out I...
Report this review to a moderator   #9479
Bubba101
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $119.50
Pros: Light, looks good
Cons: Kicks, loud, barrel rise, not
I decided to move up from my ego 08 to a new gun. I didn't look at all my options before I bought the sl94 because I figured since my 08 was so good that this SL should be REALLY good, turns out I was wrong. It's a piece of sh*t. It kicks more than the 08 and isn't even more accurate. I already have 50,000 shots through it and it still shoots like crap. I guess my 08 shot so well cause it had 300k . Any ways I would not recommend this gun to anybody . For those who paid 1800 for it I feel for ya.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Planet Eclipse - SL94 Still slightly noisy......but with a cure3+ or cure4 this is the best ego ever, the lightest, i have had 4 and none have ever let me down
Report this review to a moderator   #17578
galatijx
Don't Wipe, :P
galatijx's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South Jersey
galatijx plays in the PSP
galatijx owns a Planet Eclipse CSL
galatijx owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
galatijx plays in the APPA D4 division
galatijx is Legendary
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $900.00
Pros: Best ego ever!!
Cons: Best ego ever!!
Still slightly noisy......but with a cure3+ or cure4 this is the best ego ever, the lightest, i have had 4 and none have ever let me down
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Planet Eclipse - SL94 excellent gun, i own a dm6. ego 8, ego 9 and this. so thats what im comparing it to. it has a good feel and will out perform any of these guns. has little kick and feels really good for snapping . it...
Report this review to a moderator   #8471
i-gotta-big-d*ck
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $11.95
Pros: reliable, accurate, light, excellent feel,
Cons: drops in value alot, price
excellent gun, i own a dm6. ego 8, ego 9 and this. so thats what im comparing it to. it has a good feel and will out perform any of these guns. has little kick and feels really good for snapping . it shoots the same as a ego 09 with zick 2 and cure 3 . and it just comes with alot of accesories.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Planet Eclipse - SL94 great shooting gun, easy maintenance, but the price point new in box is high. Does come with all the bells and whistles though
Report this review to a moderator   #27930
joffre7392
Thats like ur opinion man
joffre7392's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: 305 till i die
joffre7392 is playing at Living Legends VI
joffre7392 owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
joffre7392 supports Team VICIOUS
joffre7392 is for the Gunfight
joffre7392 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
joffre7392 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
joffre7392 has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $800.00
Pros: great shooter
Cons: costs alot
great shooting gun, easy maintenance, but the price point new in box is high. Does come with all the bells and whistles though
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Planet Eclipse - SL94 the love gun by far my fav and ive shot a lot. pros: shoots streams like no others,light,has a great feel, good with snapping, air effiecent i get abt 11 pods threw with 4000 air cons: loud, trigger
Report this review to a moderator   #8295
krum171
 
krum171's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2009
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $900.00
Pros: a lot
Cons: a few
the love gun by far my fav and ive shot a lot. pros: shoots streams like no others,light,has a great feel, good with snapping, air effiecent i get abt 11 pods threw with 4000 air

cons: loud, trigger
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Planet Eclipse - SL94 Spectacular gun just a bit too loud and such. It was smooth and very consistant, with a great color scheme!
Report this review to a moderator   #22471
SouljaboyRI
Keep Calm and Flex On
SouljaboyRI's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: 401
SouljaboyRI plays in the PSP
SouljaboyRI owns a Planet Eclipse CSL
SouljaboyRI owns a Planet Eclipse GSL
SouljaboyRI plays in the APPA D4 division
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $800.00
Pros: Light
Cons: Really Loud
Spectacular gun just a bit too loud and such. It was smooth and very consistant, with a great color scheme!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review