Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Planet Eclipse - Etek3 AM Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Planet Eclipse
84 Cutler Street
Suite 4
Warren, RI 02885

Phone: (401) 247-9061
Fax: (401) 247-0931
Email: info@planeteclipse.com
Website: http://www.planeteclipse.com
The Planet Eclipse Etek3 AM Paintball Gun is intrinsically identical to the Etek3 LT, but has an All Metal construction. The Etek3 AM also has the option of adding the Emortal LCD circuit board.
 Manual: Download the manual for Planet Eclipse Download
 Release Date: 2009
 MSRP: $595.00
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.7/5 stars.
 Reviews: 61
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  72%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  28%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  0%
 Link:
Planet Eclipse - Etek3 AM Reviews
Planet Eclipse Etek3 AM I recently bought the Forest Digi Etek3 AM to use as more of a dedicated bushball marker. I love paintball and try to get out as often as I can and thought I would add this to the stable because hey,...
Report this review to a moderator   #32251
Clippy
 
Clippy's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Perth, Australia
Clippy owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
Clippy owns a Planet Eclipse GSL
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $459.00
Pros: Planet Eclipse reliability
Cons: None that I can see
I recently bought the Forest Digi Etek3 AM to use as more of a dedicated bushball marker. I love paintball and try to get out as often as I can and thought I would add this to the stable because hey, I didn't really see it any different to buying cams to wear in the bush as opposed to my tourney gear and thought it matched the clothes better than my Luxe.

These things are a beast full stop. I don't buy into the whole loud and kicky argument. My Luxe kicks. Albeit not as much but it kicks. Yes it makes a noise when it shoots. So does my Luxe. I maintain however that the sound of paintballs hitting your cover when you are being shot at are louder than the Etek will ever be. I use a freak barrel kit and have heaps of cocker barrels so this helps somewhat.

I got this on special at $459 AUD but think I could have been sold on one of these at the original $730.

I've enjoyed using the Etek3 so much I bought an Ego11 and now prefer them over my Luxe. Overall, solid gun that you can beat up on for days.

PE <3
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Etek3 AM As fast and light as other "superguns" out there but for a fraction of the price. Reminds me of the old Alias Intimidator in how it feels while shooting.
Report this review to a moderator   #23120
Dayspring
Automags.org Overlord
Dayspring's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Greenwood, IN
Dayspring is a founding member
Dayspring is playing at Living Legends VII
Dayspring owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
Dayspring owns a Planet Eclipse Etek
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $482.00
Pros: Consistent, fast, light
Cons: Limited number of stock colors.
As fast and light as other "superguns" out there but for a fraction of the price.

Reminds me of the old Alias Intimidator in how it feels while shooting.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Etek3 AM The Etek 3 AM is a great marker for entering the tourney scene. The board has plenty of options and is easy to set. The Bolt is easy to remove and clean, as is the ram and housing. My only problems...
Report this review to a moderator   #32091
Dedloc
That guy.
Dedloc's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Tennessee
Dedloc is BST Legit
Dedloc is reppin' sidebar 4 life
Dedloc is Legendary
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $300.00
Pros: Fast, Reliable, Light
Cons: Some Kick, Loud
The Etek 3 AM is a great marker for entering the tourney scene. The board has plenty of options and is easy to set. The Bolt is easy to remove and clean, as is the ram and housing.

My only problems were with the ping associated with the ram and the amount of kick over the spoolies i normally use. Other than that, this is a great marker.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Etek3 AM I love this gun. Hands down. But that doesn't mean I wouldn't upgrade to something better. This gun is super reliable. I've used this gun for the past 2 years and have not had any problems with...
Report this review to a moderator   #24203
DiveFreak
 
DiveFreak's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Houston, TX
DiveFreak owns a Planet Eclipse Etek
DiveFreak has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $400.00
Pros: very reliable
Cons: loud loud
I love this gun. Hands down. But that doesn't mean I wouldn't upgrade to something better. This gun is super reliable. I've used this gun for the past 2 years and have not had any problems with it. I've upgraded to the emortal board which is nice, but there is a learning curve to the new board. Chrono has been pretty constant throughout the past 2 years and I only have to re chrono about every 5 - 6 field visits. That's pretty good for me since I only get to play every other weekend or so. The only real problem I have with it is that the gun is a cannon.... there is no hiding on the field when you're shooting this thing. Bolt is stock and I'm not sure if upgrading it would help.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Etek3 AM Performance: This is actually my first popet gun, and I am very happy with it. I will probably keep this gun for as long as I play. it shoots well with the stock cure bolt, but sounds like a...
Report this review to a moderator   #41467
DRAXX
www.muddhillspaintball.tk
DRAXX's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Arizona
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $300.00
Pros: Shoots well, air efficient, backed by eclipse
Cons: Loud with stock cure bolt.
Performance:

This is actually my first popet gun, and I am very happy with it. I will probably keep this gun for as long as I play. it shoots well with the stock cure bolt, but sounds like a cannon. I personally love the cannon sound except for the fact that everyone knows where you are because it's a constant Guh Guh Guh Guh Guh!!! This sound actually rocks when you're out in the woods because it sounds manlier than most other mil-sim guns (no-joke) but it's not exactly stealth quality on the air ball field. I was averaging around 9 pods before I put a TechT Kush bolt in. It quieted the gun down a bit, and increased the efficiency for me to over 11 pods - going into 12.

Looks:

It gets 2 thumbs up for sexiness.

Features:

I'm ok with most of the features on it; however, the trigger and board could be done better. The trigger is ok for what it is, but a lot of lower-end guns have nicer triggers than this. You can achieve high rates of fire, but it's not exactly smooth. The board's LED's are pretty darn bright and you can see them well in direct sun-light which is a big deal considering no one else generally does that. The stock board is a little easier to program than most non-OLED screen boards, but it's still annoying. If you pay 600.00 for a gun (MSRP) it should freakin come stock with an OLED or LCD board FFS >_>. Stock barrel is ....well.... it's a stock barrel. Other than the fact that it matches the gun, it stinks.

Recommended upgrades:

I recommend a better board, a TechT Hush or Kush bolt, and if you want - the Zick2 kit. You won't see as much of a difference in performance of the zick2 in the Etek3 because the rammer housing is specific to the Zick1 kit. In the Etek4, the top metal part of the gun is milled out differently, and specifically made to perform with the Zick2 so we see a significant difference in the 4, but not so much in the 3. I would personally try to get ahold of an emortal board if you can find them given that all the other OLED board upgrades have pretty ugly grips.

Complaints:

I ended up buying an AM because the LT felt like utter garbage in your hand. I don't care what eclipse says about their reenforced nylon composite frames, they still feel like plastic. Everything on it feels cheep. The AM is a much more solid feeling marker. And like I said, the stock board and trigger are ok, but not at par for what a 600 dollar marker should be.

Competition: the DP fusion FX - feature for feature - outdoes the Etek3; however, PE's company rep and customer service - if you read all the reviews - is a butt ton better than DP. In the end, being backed by a company that is consistent and will stand by it's markers is a good compromise between a few more bells and whistles on another marker.


Overall:

Planet Eclipse successfully made a huge profit off of reselling all their old technology. Why did they get away with it? Well.... because all and all, their old technology still kicks the crap out of most of their competition in guns in the 4-600 dollar range. They can afford to do whatever- at least for now.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Etek3 AM Its a nice gun and the gun is not to expensive
Report this review to a moderator   #21034
Ego10slg
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Ego10slg has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Ego10slg has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $500.00
Pros: Nice gun
Cons: no cons at all
Its a nice gun and the gun is not to expensive
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Etek3 AM Overall, a great gun for the price. The kick and air efficiency are bad compared to other high end guns. Durability is the strong point. Packaging is excellent as with all PE products. Trigger is...
Report this review to a moderator   #41959
Flyin Like a G6R
HHHHH!
Flyin Like a G6R's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: kansas
Flyin Like a G6R owns a Planet Eclipse Etek
Flyin Like a G6R supports Team VICIOUS
Flyin Like a G6R has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Flyin Like a G6R has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $300.00
Pros: Durability
Cons: Kick, Air Efficiency, Noise
Overall, a great gun for the price. The kick and air efficiency are bad compared to other high end guns. Durability is the strong point. Packaging is excellent as with all PE products. Trigger is smooth and easy to get on, fairly light, and the board has all the modes and settings you could need.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Etek3 AM I've had this gun for a couple months now so i figured i'd review it Appearance- First off i think the gun is awesome looking but you have to be into something like this. Just looks real nice and...
Report this review to a moderator   #39662
happykillmore19
 
happykillmore19's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: indiana
happykillmore19 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
happykillmore19 supports Empire
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $300.00
Pros: Everything
Cons: Pretty Loud Barrel is .693
I've had this gun for a couple months now so i figured i'd review it

Appearance- First off i think the gun is awesome looking but you have to be into something like this. Just looks real nice and feels like its made of quality materials

Performance- Zero barrel breaks so far with the Cure bolt it comes with. The board is more then capable of doing whatever you have in mind. Mine is set to 15.4 bps semi and it is real efficient on air.

Reliability- Stout, like i said i've had zero issues. maintenance with any eclipse marker is relatively easy for even the rookie users

Value-doesn't get any better then this. The marker still hangs with the big boys and you can pick them up for around the 300's. The new Etek 4 is 100 or so more but i've played with both and i you wouldn't miss the Etek 4 if you had to give it back and play with the 3

Cons- The barrel is .693 which is huge but its a 14in 2 peice barrel and works just fine. Use the marker for a year and decided whether a new barrel is in the works for you, also the marker is pretty loud. a barrel and some dwell workings could net a quiet signature, doesn't bother me tho
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Etek3 AM Alright. I am a noob. This gun is definitely worth every penny, though. It is cheaper than an ego, but almost just as good. I chose this over protos and axes because it felt better. It's pretty loud...
Report this review to a moderator   #28510
HelloItsKT
 
HelloItsKT's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2011
HelloItsKT owns a Planet Eclipse Etek
HelloItsKT has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
HelloItsKT has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
HelloItsKT has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $600.00
Pros: Simple to use, Light, Shoots pretty well
Cons: No LED
Alright. I am a noob. This gun is definitely worth every penny, though. It is cheaper than an ego, but almost just as good. I chose this over protos and axes because it felt better. It's pretty loud and I noticed more kick to this than other guns, but for the price, it was definitely worth it. My biggest problem is that I changed some settings around and it stopped working until I reset back to factory. Without the LED board, it made setting up a little harder to get through, but it was simple enough to understand. If that makes any sense.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Etek3 AM this is a good gun to have,its worked wonderful ever since i got it and its very reliable. its the perfect poor tournament players gun frrl haha.
Report this review to a moderator   #29168
hosscat5511
 
hosscat5511's avatar
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Salvisa, Kentucky
hosscat5511 plays in the APPA D4 division
hosscat5511 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
hosscat5511 has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $350.00
Pros: light, strong, trustworthy, consistent!
Cons: resell value haha :/
this is a good gun to have,its worked wonderful ever since i got it and its very reliable. its the perfect poor tournament players gun frrl haha.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review