Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Smart Parts - Impulse 09 Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Smart Parts
100 Station Street
Loyalhanna, PA 15661

Phone: (800) 992-2147
Fax: (724) 539-2298
Email: customersvceast@smartparts.com
Website: http://www.smartparts.com
Smart Parts high end open bolt marker.
 Manual: Download the manual for Smart Parts Download
 Release Date: 2009
 MSRP: $999.00
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.4/5 stars.
 Reviews: 10
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  50%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  40%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  10%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  0%
 Link:
Smart Parts - Impulse 09 Reviews
Smart Parts Impulse 09 pros: -smooth poppit -decent on air -rechargable like the luxe cons: -parts are scarce -leaky valve -feedneck is a bad design
Report this review to a moderator   #19189
bignasty sns
Addison Winstead
bignasty sns's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Central Ohio
bignasty sns plays in the PSP
bignasty sns owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
bignasty sns supports Team VICIOUS
bignasty sns is an NCPA player
bignasty sns plays in the APPA D4 division
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $300.00
Pros: smooth poppit
Cons: review
pros:
-smooth poppit
-decent on air
-rechargable like the luxe

cons:
-parts are scarce
-leaky valve
-feedneck is a bad design
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Smart Parts Impulse 09 This gun is AMAZING! The first day i used it i had borrowed it from a friend and i knew i HAD to have this gun! it is incredibly smooth, i mean if you tune it right you wouldnt know it was a poppet...
Report this review to a moderator   #8986
TheMiddleMan12
Spartan 21
TheMiddleMan12's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Cache, Oklhoma
TheMiddleMan12 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $700.00
Pros: fast, light, smooth, looks cool
Cons: idk? smart parts went under...thats it
This gun is AMAZING! The first day i used it i had borrowed it from a friend and i knew i HAD to have this gun! it is incredibly smooth, i mean if you tune it right you wouldnt know it was a poppet valve, shots as smooth as a hot knife cuts thru butter. Its really light to, lighter than egos atleast. Adjust the trigger right and it is soo easy to get this thing rollin you wont belive it. Its relativly simple to, the regs can easily be taken out and throughly cleand in just a few minutes. The only downside to this gun is Smart Parts went under so if you screw it up its hard to get parts for, however i havent had any problems with it other than a busted oring which wasnt hard cause people other then Smart Parts make orings.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Smart Parts Impulse 09 I owned and shot a new impulse for a while. Let me just say, they are nothing like the old ones. Chopped paint and broke down on me multiple times, causing me to get rid of if very quickly. Overall...
Report this review to a moderator   #15487
venom357
Toasted.
venom357's avatar
Join Date: May 2007
Location: ****gers
venom357 owns a Planet Eclipse CSL
venom357 owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
venom357 is an NCPA player
venom357 is Boss
venom357 supports DLX Technology
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 2.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Price paid: $500.00
Pros: Decent gun for the money overall
Cons: Not reliable, breaks down often
I owned and shot a new impulse for a while. Let me just say, they are nothing like the old ones. Chopped paint and broke down on me multiple times, causing me to get rid of if very quickly. Overall had a pretty bad experience with the gun. Would not buy another
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Smart Parts Impulse 09 The gun is the best But after some games the gun was broken - the old problem, the leaking valvehousing. Before i bought the gun, i�m allready tested it. First time shootimg the impulse and then:...
Report this review to a moderator   #8533
Idontknowmyusername
 
Idontknowmyusername's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Nrnberg/Germany
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $950.00
Pros: the whole gun
Cons: some probs
The gun is the best
But after some games the gun was broken - the old problem, the leaking valvehousing.
Before i bought the gun, i�m allready tested it. First time shootimg the impulse and then: wohhhh, where is the kick?
Now i have the over gun^^
who needs a lcd/oled? just kids, i want to shoot and don�t play with the settings


a few weeks later the problem was fixed and the gun works better than on the first day.
If you want an amazing gun, don�t buy an ego, buy the impulse
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Smart Parts Impulse 09 Let me start this off by saying I'm a fan of my 09 Impulse. It is one of my favorites, and I use it as much as I can. The two issues I have is with the feedneck and the overly complicated (in my...
Report this review to a moderator   #27011
AndrewTheWookie
Disciple of the dark side
AndrewTheWookie's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Central Coast, CA
AndrewTheWookie is playing at Living Legends V
AndrewTheWookie is playing at Living Legends VI
AndrewTheWookie is playing at Living Legends VII
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $450.00
Pros: Smoothness (for a poppet), efficiency, ergonomics
Cons: feedneck (I'll elaborate), lots of pressure seals
Let me start this off by saying I'm a fan of my 09 Impulse. It is one of my favorites, and I use it as much as I can. The two issues I have is with the feedneck and the overly complicated (in my opinion) way they go about transferring the air through the gun.

The feedneck attaches with two tabs down in the body, and two little set screws hold the feedneck in place. After a while, they loosen, and the feedneck starts to wobble in the body. Another issue with this design is that the feedneck is not as strong as it should be.

My other gripe is with the way they transferred the air through out the body. There's seals on the bottom of the lower tube, seals in between the two body tubes, seals everywhere. It can make troubleshooting a leak that much more annoying.

Now that that's all out of the way, I still love my Impy. You just have to not do any crazy dives, and it'll be a great gun.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Impulse 09 Its a shame more of these weren't made. Its a great gun with some nice features and innovations. I'm glad I bought it, it'll be my go to gun for a long time.
Report this review to a moderator   #22617
greenvertboy
 
greenvertboy's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: IUP
greenvertboy owns a Planet Eclipse Etek
greenvertboy is reppin' sidebar 4 life
greenvertboy has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
greenvertboy has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $375.00
Pros: hpr and lpr in grip frame, trigger, smooth
Cons: feedneck, parts availability
Its a shame more of these weren't made. Its a great gun with some nice features and innovations. I'm glad I bought it, it'll be my go to gun for a long time.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Impulse 09 I have been shooting a 2009 Impulse since the first run of them went out of the factory. Originally, I paid the market price of around $1000 for this marker and was not a bit disappointed. Now that...
Report this review to a moderator   #31164
GrimRealism
Bury Your Dead
GrimRealism's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Youngstown, Oh.
GrimRealism donated to help Peyton Trent
GrimRealism supports Team VICIOUS
GrimRealism supports Sherwood Forest
GrimRealism has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $450.00
Pros: Performance, Looks, Consistency
Cons: Off the Market, Tedious at Times, Feedneck
I have been shooting a 2009 Impulse since the first run of them went out of the factory. Originally, I paid the market price of around $1000 for this marker and was not a bit disappointed. Now that it is 3 years later...I am still shooting an 09 over any other poppet gun on the market. This is for a variety of reasons:

1- Price: You can get these guns for under $500 right now. For that price, there simply isnt anything that can compete with it.

2- Performance: They are crazy consistent. Mine shoots a steady +/- 5. The shoots are smooth, and with the right tuning, the efficiency and kick cant be beat on a poppet valve gun.

3- Looks: Being a Smart Parts guy, this gun is for me. No macro line, a nice touch of color (but not too much flair), and a slick style freak barrel gets an A+ in my book.

You need to be careful when buying an Imp, however. It seems that these markers were either good or bad: meaning that if you got a bad one, you were in for some serious stress and trouble. The good ones, however, are worth every penny. You also need to be careful if your gun has broken parts...I know that GOG has some repair parts, but not all of them are manufactured any longer. Some people also gripe about not getting a OLED board (though this does not matter to me). Some players will also experience a loose feedneck due to the factory welds/glue breaking. This can be easily fixed, however.

Overall - I would say this is perhaps the best poppet valve gun I have ever shot. And for the price, you cant beat it. If you are an experienced player and serious about the sport - buy an 09 (if you can find one!)
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Impulse 09 I've had this marker since the day it came out, I like its abilities, although its leaky.
Report this review to a moderator   #41804
Shanie Wanie
The Original Shane Wanie
Shanie Wanie's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Southern In.
Shanie Wanie supports Team VICIOUS
Shanie Wanie supports Bob Gurnsey
Shanie Wanie has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Shanie Wanie has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $999.99
Pros: Fast, Smooth, Accurate.
Cons: Leaky.
I've had this marker since the day it came out, I like its abilities, although its leaky.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Impulse 09 I have always been a huge smart parts and impulse fan so when I saw this thing I snatched it up. It shoots smooth as butter but leaks from time to time and parts or knowledge are hard to come by for...
Report this review to a moderator   #38243
tgibson12
TGFOTO
tgibson12's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: The Great Plains!
tgibson12 is a Paintball photographer
tgibson12 supports Team VICIOUS
tgibson12 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
tgibson12 has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
tgibson12 is one of the top 1000 posters on PbNation
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $300.00
Pros: Smooth Shot
Cons: Parts
I have always been a huge smart parts and impulse fan so when I saw this thing I snatched it up. It shoots smooth as butter but leaks from time to time and parts or knowledge are hard to come by for this thing.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Impulse 09 This gun is virtually perfect. The only flaw is the feedneck. They tend to get loose and its a poor design. Other than that, awesome gun!
Report this review to a moderator   #24806
wangchow21
Zach Holmes #1 Fan
wangchow21's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: OH-IO
wangchow21 plays in the APPA D5 division
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $400.00
Pros: Smooth, Accurate, Light and Efficient
Cons: Feedneck
This gun is virtually perfect. The only flaw is the feedneck. They tend to get loose and its a poor design. Other than that, awesome gun!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review