Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Bob Long Technologies - Vice Intimidator Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Bob Long Technologies
11669 Highway 26
Mokelumne Hill, CA 95245

Phone: (209) 293-4440
Fax: (209) 293-4420
Email: techsupport@boblongdirect.com
Website: http://www.boblongdirect.com
Bob Long's Fifth Generation Intimidator.
 Manual: Download the manual for Bob Long Technologies Download
 Release Date: 2007
 MSRP: $749.00
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
 Reviews: 90
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  80%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  18%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  2%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  0%
 Link:
Bob Long Technologies - Vice Intimidator Reviews
Bob Long Technologies Vice Intimidator I didnt have this gun for long but when i shot it, it was amazing, and the air efficiency was incredible, but i do not regret trading it, but i would buy another if it came along.
Report this review to a moderator   #31675
evil balla 21
Bay State Rebels
evil balla 21's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: MASS
evil balla 21 is BST Legit
evil balla 21 plays in the APPA D5 division
evil balla 21 is one of the top 1000 posters on PbNation
evil balla 21 supports DLX Technology
evil balla 21 supports Empire
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $150.00
Pros: durability, looks, air efficiency
Cons: none
I didnt have this gun for long but when i shot it, it was amazing, and the air efficiency was incredible, but i do not regret trading it, but i would buy another if it came along.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.7/5 stars.
Bob Long Technologies Vice Intimidator I have owned 4 vices (2 at one time when i was going NYPL and NCPA events and this was my event gun). I must have shot at least 100 cases through this gun. Also for its 750$ new price tag or 500$...
Report this review to a moderator   #19050
yuik
Mr Diet Coke on the Rocks
yuik's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2004
yuik is playing at Living Legends V
yuik is playing at Living Legends VI
yuik is an NCPA player
yuik plays in the APPA D5 division
yuik is one of the top 250 posters on PbNation
yuik is Legendary
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $500.00
Pros: fast light cheaper then competion, efficient
Cons: the trigger (read review) maybe asa
I have owned 4 vices (2 at one time when i was going NYPL and NCPA events and this was my event gun). I must have shot at least 100 cases through this gun. Also for its 750$ new price tag or 500$ used price tag at the time you could compete with the more expensive guns and half the time outperform them.

This gun is very light (lighter then an ego 8 or the closer). Another benefit is its insanely efficient i used a little 48ci tank and could shoot 7+ pods and a hopper (thats all i carried in my pack so I'm not sure if i could shoot more, but i could shoot that with no problem) . also if you use a smaller tank your setup weighs less.

reliable: this thing was a tank. I used to play on weds (weds night lights at topgun), and then i would work a halfday on friday and do drills at an indoor on friday night, play recball on saturday and then practice on sundays. I must have did this schedule for 8 weeks in a row without doing any maintenance to my red vice and it never gave me a problem and always shot great. Also to maintain it all you would do is lube the ram with dow 55, and put some oil in the ASA.

Speed/Kick: This gun had a great balance and was very smooth to keep on target . It wasn't spool valve smooth or quiet , but it wasn't as loud as say an etek. It felt and shot like a high end poppet gun for a fraction of the price. Also this thing could really shoot fast with the tadao board and 4c eyes, on breakout mode you could easily get up to 24-28 bps. also the trigger was a very good semi auto trigger, i.e. i could really get on it with left handed and right handed shooting.

The frame felt great imop, and the feed neck performed really well! The only thing i didn't like was where the asa fitting was on the hpr but thats personal opinion.

possible upgrades some people put an on off asa on these. I used them with and without. Its nice to have it but not 100% necessary. For example at an event or practice i would almost always leave my gun aired up anyway. There was a LP poppit that bob long made which lowered the lpr pressure a little, i had these in 2 of my guns but i didn't notice much. Also the pillow bolt was an upgrade I had this in 3 out of my 4 vices. They all shot great and i never had an issue with chopping paint. The lurker ram was pretty neat, i bought this and had an issue getting my gun set to 280fps. reason being is you had to use the HP poppit , after getting things sorted out i noticed a softer shot signature of my vice and marginally better efficiency.

also the trigger was only 2 way adjustable. there were magnetic kits on ebay to make it better and I think you could put a closer roller bearing trigger in this gun. I honestly had no problem with the vice trigger until i owned my 4th vice while also owning a closer and i could compare the two and i liked the closer trigger more.

This is a great gun for a beginner because its so easy to maintain and you can still be competitive in 2012 with these. THe boards go from 8-30 bps , with psp ramping semi , full auto act so there is no reason you couldn't use it in todays play.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.6/5 stars.
Bob Long Technologies Vice Intimidator First of all, I have to tell you the story behind me getting the Vice by accident and that will show how I went from a non-believer to a believer. I got this gun in Feburary of this year and it's my...
Report this review to a moderator   #4006
jeremyr
SandBox Killer 88
jeremyr's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2006
jeremyr plays in the PSP
jeremyr donated to help Peyton Trent
jeremyr supports our troops
jeremyr supports DLX Technology
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $650.00
Pros: Too many to list
Cons: Very Few, if any....
First of all, I have to tell you the story behind me getting the Vice by accident and that will show how I went from a non-believer to a believer. I got this gun in Feburary of this year and it's my first ever Bob Long gun. I have always been skeptical about any of Bob's guns mainly because everyone I know that has had one has always had problems. Now I know many will think that I'm judging solely on just what people think in my city, but I do research and I have seen how many people love his guns without problems from the posts I read online.

The team I used to play for didn't have a sponsor for guns, so I looked into the Vice when it was released. I have several markers from all the big names and was looking for something else to add to my arsenal. I thought the Vice looked unbelievably sexy and so much like an ego(weight). Plus what really drew me in was the efficiency I heard it was getting. But, after a while I started looking to the DM8, SL8r, and Droid instead. All are good guns, but I already have a DM, Ego, and my friend has a Droid. On top of that, eventhough I have the money, I didn't want to spend an arm and a leg for those. So I decided on not getting a gun for a while.

I started to have problems with my team and was planning on leaving, but just not right away. The other three teams in my town had gun sponsors and I needed to get either an Angel or Bob Long gun(2 teams use them). My friend, from my new team, said he was selling a brand new Vice and that the team was going to shoot Protege's and get a BL sponsorship. No one had wanted the Vice and I thought might as well try it and see how it is. Once I held it I knew this is what I want. So here is my Review below:

Balance and Feel: It feels very light, about the same as an 08 Ego/SL74. It feels nice in both hands and with a full set up is very comfortable and well balanced with any loader.

Trigger: Probably the best stock/spring trigger I have ever felt and pulled. It was so good I didn't even mess with the settings on it. And after this long of using it, the trigger pull is still the same and in fact I think the more I use it the better it gets.

Regulator: I love this reg because it bleeds automatically when you remove your air system and it's easy to break down and clean. The consistency rivals the best in the business.

Feedneck: Very strong feedneck and will hold all the loaders without fuss. I like the idea of it clamping onto the body. Makes it very reliable and sturdy for the superman dives.

Barrel: The Barrel is actually pretty good. It's 14" one peice barrel with a .691 bore size. It's quite accurate and I have had no problems with it. Of course, if you need adjust to your paint size, you need to get a different size barrel. I've used a freak front/AA back and a UL and both worked very well.

ASA: Very Good, streamlined and small. I was fairly easy to screw in my tank, but I changed it out for a Gear Drive ASA. I love it and the adjustibility of moving your ASA back or forward is a good feature. It also has a rail so you can add any asa you want.

Electronics: I love the fact it comes with a Tadao board. There's no need to buy another board. I really don't have to review the Tadao board, we all know it's a great board with tons of settings and modes. It's easy to adjust and to turn on or off with gloves is a breeze, if you use gloves. I love the option of using 2 or 4 eyes. Now the gun comes with 2 eyes stock and they work totally fine without incident. I upgraded to the 4 eyes because my team plays NPPL and I've heard from Bob Long's tent that the 4 eyes gives you greater reliability and smoother streams of paint. This is totally true. In semi, I can get excellent streams when I'm laning and there are no gaps inbetween. The one thing you have to remember and do is clean your eyes after everytime you play and after everytime you break paint. I've heard people breaking paint and not cleaning them and all of a sudden the eyes don't work any more. So remember to clean your eyes.

Bolt: It's a very smooth and excellent looking bolt. The pillow bolt is hands down one of the best bolts I've ever used and owned. The only bad thing is you can't dry fire the gun or else the pillow will fly out. I've heard people losing there's. So don't dry fire. My bolt came with urethane orings and when you put oil on them they tend to swell, so I changed them out for buna's and nothing but excellence from my gun.

Pros: There are so many pros that I really can't find anything wrong with this marker. This is hand's down one of the best, if not the best, marker's out there. From all the timmies I have fired, I would say this is the best timmy. Everything on this marker is great: the trigger, barrel, reg, board, weight, and especially the price, $750. I've even heard these markers are in high demand and selling out quick. Plus cleaning and maintaining is a breeze and BL made it so you don't have to maintanence it alot.

Cons: There really aren't any cons when you buy this gun. The only things I changed were the ASA and eyes, everything else is stock. I know you'd think since it's a higher end Protege, it should've come with the 4 eyes and on/off asa, but Bob Long is just showing you the gun works perfectly in stock form. If you want to adjust the LPR, you have to buy an LPR tester. I know some people would think the adjustments of the HPR and LPR are cons because you have to buy a tester to adjust them but when you think about it you're setting up the gun to operate at peak performance which it does. Buying an LPR tester is totally worth it and I've only had to use it once. Funny thing is my LPR was set perfectly at 70 psi and didn't need adjusting.

Overall, I give this gun a 10/10 because Bob Long knew what he was doing when he brought this gun out. The fact it's better and cheaper then all the other high ends out on the market proves that Bob still is the best. I hardly buy new guns, most I get used, but for this being my first Bob Long gun, it was totally worth buying this one new. Kudos to a job well done.
J
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.4/5 stars.
Bob Long Technologies Vice Intimidator Vice! My Second Intimidator. I think I'm in LOVE! ***** Pros: THERE ARE TOO MANY to name. VALUE/PRICE- Want a marker that performs and shoots as well as an 08 Ego or a DM8. The Vice is your...
Report this review to a moderator   #1978
kingbacuraflip22
Fking ANIMAL
kingbacuraflip22's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Manhattan~ New York City
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $725.00
Pros: PRICE, 4C, LOOKS, Quiet, Efficnt, Tadao, Wght,
Cons: Colors, My trigger=loctitted
Vice! My Second Intimidator. I think I'm in LOVE!


*****
Pros: THERE ARE TOO MANY to name.

VALUE/PRICE- Want a marker that performs and shoots as well as an 08 Ego or a DM8. The Vice is your marker! About $750-$800 if you get the 4c eyes

Fast- What marker isn't. Supposedly shoots like a dm8/ego8.
4c eyes- compatible. $50 more and you can shoot faster and more consistent!!!

Tadao board!- Do I even have to describe it? It has SOOO many modes. There's even a testing mode where it'll tell you approx. how fast you're shooting even without air.

Quiet- Once you have the LPR tuned and set right (68psi) and have the marker broken in, its VERY VERY VERY Quiet. No lie, I thought my Vice wasn't fully cycling because it was soooooo quiet.
*ANYONE that will say that the Vice is LOUD probably has their LPR untuned or high (passed 75psi+). Again, my Vice at about 68psi is basically as quiet as quiet gets IMO. You can get a lucky un1tech (like i have) or Dye UL and it'll be even MORE quiet.

Pillow Bolt- Works great on soft/brittle paint! NEVER break a ball!

Low Rise Clamping Feedneck- This feedneck is the best i've had.

Looks- Jaw-dropping. I LOVE how it looks in person! So does my field <333

Efficient- 2000+ on a 68/4500 once reg is broken in.

Reliability/Simplicity- This is the simpliest and easiest Intimidator to maintain. If you take it apart, you can see it's very organized and there aren't hoses everywhere.

Kick- Again, once the LPR is tuned and the marker is broken in, there's basically ZERO kick. "Dm8"-Zero-kick. It will shoot SMOOTH. The Vice has less kick than the other generations.
*Anyone that says it has a lot of kick either doesn't have it broken in OR doesn't have their LPR tuned well. (below 75psi)

Weight- Very light. About 1lbs 13oz. without the barrel. Noticeably lighter than the Protege; I have both. This thing is like a feather.

Customer Support- Can't beat their customer support

Cons:
No on/off- I'd rather it come with an on/off, even the cheaper Cam drive which is $40. I bought one.
No manual- Many ppl were *****ing about this but they have stickies on the Timmy forum.
Colors- Only Silver, black, red, blue
TRIGGER- My trigger's activation screw was heavily loctited! (which I was going to adjust to remove bounce) I heated up the trigger for 20+mins, used pliers, everything you can think of! The screw would NOT budge.
I called BLAST and they said they will fix it for me so I'm sending in the trigger.

Suggestions: I'd like to see a color/accent kit for this.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.1/5 stars.
Bob Long Technologies Vice Intimidator the vice was a great gun at a great price point, it wasnt the best on the market but it was at a fair price and worked every well, plenty reliable, the lpr needed a tester and it was a pain to find...
Report this review to a moderator   #21988
TimTaylor
Zombies make me smile.
TimTaylor's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Dos Cinco Tres
TimTaylor owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
TimTaylor is Legendary
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $400.00
Pros: light and fast easy
Cons: lpr was under thought
the vice was a great gun at a great price point, it wasnt the best on the market but it was at a fair price and worked every well, plenty reliable, the lpr needed a tester and it was a pain to find one if you didnt own one
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Bob Long Technologies Vice Intimidator This is easily the best gun Ive ever owned. Its as light as an 08 ego and performs just as good for 500 bucks less. Its the most eficient gun I can think of and it is a headturner on the field. It is...
Report this review to a moderator   #2151
CTOutrage
rockin the vice
CTOutrage's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: CT
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $700.00
Pros: light fast efficient best gun ever
Cons: there are literally no downsides to this gun!!
This is easily the best gun Ive ever owned. Its as light as an 08 ego and performs just as good for 500 bucks less. Its the most eficient gun I can think of and it is a headturner on the field. It is so incredibly small and compact, I cant believe this gun is only 750 brand new. This is an absolute steal, and if u have the cash you must get one. You will not be disappointed.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.9/5 stars.
Bob Long Technologies Vice Intimidator This marker, may very well be the best marker I've shot in terms of feel and overall aesthetic beauty. Performance This thing will shoot paint like no one's business. The added stock pillow bolt...
Report this review to a moderator   #3234
vi3telit3
Pow! Pow! Power Wheels
vi3telit3's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Charlottesville, VA
vi3telit3 helped look for balloons
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $750.00
Pros: Light, Fast, Easy to Use and Maintain
Cons: Lack of Manual
This marker, may very well be the best marker I've shot in terms of feel and overall aesthetic beauty.

Performance
This thing will shoot paint like no one's business. The added stock pillow bolt makes it extremely soft on brittle paint. I just recently got the low pressure poppet upgrade and now the gun will be even softer on paint. But like any other gun, the quality of paint you put in is the quality you get out. If you put in bad paint, even the Vice will mess it up here and there. Feed this thing what it deserves, good fresh paint and it won't let you down.

Efficiency
The Vice is an extremely air efficient gun. For those of you who hate filling up your tanks so often, this gun let's you do that. I used to have a 70/45 and I found myself wondering why I was carrying around all this extra weight and shooting over a case per fill. I dropped to a 45/45 and I probably fill twice for a whole case of paint (@ 4500 fills). Even then, second fill is only because it begins to get tight towards the end of the case.

Maintenance
The only thing you have to do for this gun, like any other poppet type gun, is lube the ram, lube the bolt, and you're good to go for another 10 cases. That's all. Extended maintenance would mean work on the inside of the gun, replacing hoses and cleaning between the body and frame. This gun couldn't be easier to maintain. To set the low pressure regulator pressure (LPR) you need to buy the LPR gauge. A more than worthwhile upgrade for those who want to dial in their gun to an exacting standard.

Ease of Use
If you've ever had to deal with dip switches and stuff on your old gun, forget about it with the Vice. With the stock Tadao board, all the settings are adjustable without ever opening the grips (unless the tournament lock is on). It comes with more settings than a man will ever need.

Upgrades
You don't need to upgrade this gun at all if you don't want. For those who really want to tune their gun to shoot the best at all ranges, you'll want to get the new LP Valve and the 4C system.

Company Support
I developed a leak in my gun a few weeks back and I sent it in. Joe fixed it, sent it back free of charge. It's these little things that make you stay loyal to them for life. Joe is one of the best techs in the industry, if you can't fix it, he'll be able to. Although a formal manual for the gun isn't out yet, it should be slated to release in the new future.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Bob Long Technologies Vice Intimidator I got it about a week ago and i shot about a bag of paint through it.... Oh My God... this is by far the lightest gun i have shot and it almost has zero kick! This gun also comes with Tadao M8, and...
Report this review to a moderator   #1524
paintball_playa8291
OG Mug-bones
paintball_playa8291's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Killa Hills, KY(the 859)
paintball_playa8291 owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
paintball_playa8291 supports Team VICIOUS
paintball_playa8291 supports Sherwood Forest
paintball_playa8291 is an NCPA player
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $660.00
Pros: LIGHT!, Tadao, Pillow Bolt
Cons: No on/off, no 2 piece barrel, button is hard
I got it about a week ago and i shot about a bag of paint through it.... Oh My God... this is by far the lightest gun i have shot and it almost has zero kick! This gun also comes with Tadao M8, and it already has the updates psp software on it (13bps)

The 4 eyes would be a good upgrade for it as well as the on/off. Also yakuza would be nice, but that is a preference upgrade cause it has tadao stock.

all in all, this gun is the ****, and i would not get rid of it for anything out on the market now!
10/10
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Bob Long Technologies Vice Intimidator A gun built on as solid of a design as the original timmies has to be good right? Not always but in this case it's definitely true. When I first opened the Vice box the first thing I said was "Wow,...
Report this review to a moderator   #1907
Kurupt310
Narro Verum
Kurupt310's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Alaska
Kurupt310 is a Supporting Member
Kurupt310 has been a member for 10 years
Kurupt310 owns a Planet Eclipse Lv1
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $750.00
Pros: Tiny, light weight, fast, super air effiecent.
Cons: Doesn't have an On/Off ASA stock.
A gun built on as solid of a design as the original timmies has to be good right? Not always but in this case it's definitely true.

When I first opened the Vice box the first thing I said was "Wow, it's freaking tiny." It's really that small and light weight. The features included stock are also great, how cool is it to not need to get a Virtue or Tadao board, as it comes with a Tadao M8 board from the factory, lever locking feed neck, and pillow bolt. Along with my Vice I ordered the 4C eyes, thin grips, and Gear Drive on/off ASA.

The straight out of the box sound signature can be pretty loud, but that goes away after the gun gets broken in (4-8 cases). After that, drop the dwell to 6ms it has virtually no recoil and is very quiet.

It is extremely fast and has retardedly excellent air effiecency. On a 68ci tank filled to 4000psi I can get around 2000 shots. With further use I ran into a annoying but easily fixable problem, the vibration for shooting the gun makes the LPR adjustment screw back out which will drop your velocity. But if you put a little blue loctite on it it's back to is goodness and won't happen again.

Basically the Vice is a smart man's Ego 8 since you get all the performance at a $500 discount. Go buy one, it's the best gun I have ever owned.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.7/5 stars.
Bob Long Technologies Vice Intimidator First off, let me explain myself before reading this review. I am a player of 9.5 years as of July 2009. I have owned 45+ guns, shot guns not released to the public, tested prototypes here and there,...
Report this review to a moderator   #6431
Rockyboarder
So Long Gay boys....
Rockyboarder's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: San Diego
Rockyboarder owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $475.00
Pros: Light, efficient, comfortable, board, performance.
Cons: Too quiet almost...
First off, let me explain myself before reading this review. I am a player of 9.5 years as of July 2009. I have owned 45+ guns, shot guns not released to the public, tested prototypes here and there, as well as shot every base platform design (spool, blow forward, poppet, sear trip, etc.). Having said that, it is hard to impress me anymore with guns shooting.

This review is a culmination of all the vices I have owned (4 total in the past year).

COMFORT: I am a firm believer in the comfort level of markers. If your gun is not comfortable to you, then it is not worth having. The equivalent of a several hundred dollar paper weight that you can only bare with.
The Vice's comfort is outstanding. The compact structure of the frame / body / regulator spacing and height of the marker itself is outstanding. It being outstanding = outstanding performance / comfort.

RELIABILITY: My vices have never gone down. Reason behind their success in the reliability field is, I know how to clean and tech. on guns. I read manuals and take notes and apply a little bit of knowledge I've had from the past few years working on different guns.

PERFORMANCE: I touched on this in the "Comfort" category. This gun can roll with the big boys (because it is one) in shooting 280 FPS, at least 13 balls per second, consistently and accurately. Keep in mind, most every gun in the price range and marker type can and will do the same thing.

SOUND SIGNATURE: I have personally felt the sound signature of this gun fall between a Threshold and Dye Matrix. It has a clacky "whoomp" sound. The sound is unique to its holder. Sometimes I even start to wonder if I am shooting 280 and not around 200.

ELECTRONICS: A gun that comes stock with Tadao M8 software is a winner in my eyes. If you play PSP and don't have the board reflashed, you might want to get that done. The stock boards values can not reach low enough for the 12.5 rate of fire cap or even lower in the D3 and under divisions.
The board comes with so many settings. Just to name a few, training mode, force / delay shot, shot buffer, cycle percentage filter, along with many different types of firing from PSP to semi to auto response. The combinations available is unfathomable.

REGULATORS: The Bob Long regulators have been proven time and time again in the consistency and lack of weight. This goes for both the Low Pressure Regulator and Torpedo (High Pressure Regulator). There is a high level of reliability with the shims in the Torpedo regulator and the small spring in the LPR itself.
Adjustments are made easily and very precisely with a simple allen key. When it comes to the LPR, you NEED to have a low pressure regulator which is available through BobLongDirect.com. Unlike the previous generations, the vice itself doesn't come with a gauge equipped to the side of the body / front block because of the bulk they bring with them. Precise LPR is necessary to get the Vice to full potential.

BOLT / RAMMER: The stock bolt is a pillow bolt. An amazing bolt to say the least. Very light, gentle on paint, and requires no maintenance.
The rammer is very light and does its job consistently and reliably. This part probably takes the most beating out of the entire gun. Just keep lubed with Dow 55 or 33 (I only use dow 33).

FEEDNECK: Bob Long has done it again with his feedneck. No tools are required to adjust this feedneck at all. I had one problem with my vlocity staying on tight so I wedged an oring between the vlocity feedneck and the Bob Long clamp. Worked perfectly after that. It has had no problems with other vlocity's that I know of, along with halos, magnas, rotors, pinokios, eggs, etc.

ASA / Air Source Adapter: Bob Long does not put an on/off stock on this gun and it is for good reason. Not only is the ASA small and light and puts the macroline fitting in the middle, it also is very adjustable with the way it is mounted.
Everytime a marker is degassed, the springs relax and are uncompressed. Airing up and degassing etc. All of those tiny changed in the spring will offset velocity / consistency so it is better to just leave the gun aired up the whole day. For easy tank removal, put 1 drop of oil in on the threads inside the ASA. Minimal if any at all oil will go in the gun and even so, its not enough to do anything.

UPGRADES: None are necessary. All personal preference. I had the 4 eyes in my 2nd vice which was nice but not necessary. Low pressure poppet in my second vice which again wasn't necessary but did quiet the gun down yet again but only by a fraction. On/off again isn't necessary but some like it. New Barrel (Deady winds whisper) which I recommend though the stock is absurdly light and quiet itself. New Trigger. Stock is fine and easy to get on for high rates of fire but I am partial to critical triggers every now and again. The stock grips are decent but I like see through grips from Dark Seoul. They thing out the frame just that much more for better control.

OVERALL: Overall, this gun is solid as can be. Ease of use, maintenance, reliability, COMFORT (big thing for me), all the way up to the harshest of beating it can take from diving in a snake to taking a swim in a puddle. I beat on my guns when I know it can take it.

This gun is for you. I give this gun a solid 10/10.


There is a reason I didn't judge the packaging. I would be rating the company if I did and Bob Longs Packaging is decent at best. I got extra o-rings, barrel, gun, and Tadao manual. I would like to see barrel sock, lube, allens and gun manual along with board manual.

I encourage rating reviews so please take the 1 second to give it how many stars you think it deserves.

If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to PM me or check out the Bob Long Intimidator Section of Pbnation.com.

Thanks!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.7/5 stars.
Add New Review