Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Dye Precision - NT Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Dye Precision
10637 Scripps Summit Court
San Diego, CA 92131

Phone: (858) 536-5183
Fax: (858) 536-5191
Email: service@dyeprecison.com
Website: http://www.dyeprecision.com
A revolutionary technology break through in air usage efficiency, accuracy performance & stylish design. The NT is not only the most air efficient and accurate paintball gun Dye has ever produced, it is also the lightest and most compact in its catego
 Manual: Download the manual for Dye Precision Download
 Release Date: 2009
 MSRP: $1,600.00
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.1/5 stars.
 Reviews: 122
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  32%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  51%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  7%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  7%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  3%
 Link:
Dye Precision - NT Reviews
Dye Precision NT I got one of the first guns released to the public, and had the first thread up on here. I was not a fan of them when they came out. I liked the smoother feel of the Dm opposed to the more snappy and...
Report this review to a moderator   #13834
laxplayer9352
USMC
laxplayer9352's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Surf City, NC
laxplayer9352 is a Supporting Member
laxplayer9352 is a Paintball photographer
laxplayer9352 supports our troops
laxplayer9352 plays in the APPA D3 division
laxplayer9352 is Boss
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $999.99
Pros: Light, efficient, small
Cons: Reliability, chopping
I got one of the first guns released to the public, and had the first thread up on here. I was not a fan of them when they came out. I liked the smoother feel of the Dm opposed to the more snappy and poppy feel on the NT. After the updates, they got much smoother and are much better with paint now. I got a newer one and liked it much more, but still had problems with brittle/cold paint. I wouldn't recommend for cold weather since it doesn't have an lpr to turn down the bolt speed.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Dye Precision NT http://www.paradisepaintball.fr/fich.../image_preview Cost: $1549.99 Weight: 1.6lbs Ultralight Barrel. .688 bore "Next Gen Spool Valve"
Report this review to a moderator   #7017
VrelicV
 
VrelicV's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2009
VrelicV is BST Trusted
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $154.99
Pros: Light. Comfortable. 1700+ efficient. Smoooothh.
Cons: Maybe its a little pricey?
http://www.paradisepaintball.fr/fich.../image_preview


Cost: $1549.99

Weight: 1.6lbs

Ultralight Barrel. .688 bore

"Next Gen Spool Valve"

"Boost Forward Technology" (controls the speed of the bolt through its cycle)

Auto Valve Shut Off

130psi Operating Pressure

Dye Self Cleaning Eye Pipe

Efficiency: 68ci /4500psi compressed air tank, the NT operating at 290 fps will generate 1500 to 1700 shots, depending on bolt configuration.

Ultralight Re-Designed Airport New for NT

Colored O-Rings to determine o-ring size and position.

Ultralight Reach Trigger

New "2nd Gen" Ultralight Frame

LED Display

Hyper 3 Reg

Cam Lock Feed Neck

Tool-Less Sticky Grips & Contact Pads

NT Specific Programing




I work at a local shop here in ct and have seen/ gone through a lot of markers. To date the NT is my favorite, and it is the one I personally use. Out of the box the weight and milling are the most appealing, but after playing with the gun for a while the cosmetic feature I've come to love the most is the rubber grips that can be found thoughtfully placed at different parts of the marker.

The rubber grip on the top of the frame and on the snatch grip are very handy and make handling the marker easier and much more responsive. The tool-less sticky grip is also rather handy; haven't had any problems with it so far.

The NT is very light, 1.6 lbs, and even with such a low weight the gun STILL has practically no kick. Don't let the NT fool you. When you first shoot it out of the box it seems to have a bit more kick then a typically DM but once the NT breaks in it shoots significantly quieter and smoother then any gun I've had to date. Kick is similar to a luxe, minus the bulky gun that goes along with it (sorry not a fan, used one for a long time).

For efficiency I am getting 1690-1770 shots out of a pure energy 68/4500 @ 280fps. I've been using the blue insert and the efficiency spacer body while getting those.

The gun is also very consistent (+/- 1 or 2 fps once broken in), but thats sort of a given for any marker in this price range (hopefully). Accuracy is also incredible, but again thats much less the gun then it is the conditions, paint, and barrel being used. On that note the stock barrel is very nice. The NT comes stock with an ultra light with a bore size of .688; a very good all around size for todays paint.

Cons?

Needing to break in the gun with a couple cases before it shoots at full potential may be looked at as a con. Most guns just aren't consistent until broken in, but the nt is a little different.

I suppose the biggest con came from when the NT's were first released. The first run of them had some chopping problems due to a bad asa and eye pipe. Dye was very very good about fixing all the guns that had these problems and sending out the updated parts. Once the updates were installed all the guns shot flawlessly, at least the ones I worked on. All the new NT's being released now don't have any of these problems.

All in all... I love this gun. It's going to be my tourney gun for the 2010 season, and maybe even longer... Depends on how anxious I get to buy something new .

IMO, try one... Try someones that has been broken in before making a decision or else you'll get the completely wrong impression about this gun.

It is an amazing marker, and if I had to put a number to it:

9/10
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.6/5 stars.
Dye Precision NT I had my NT for about a year. Very lightweight and a very accurate marker. It was incredibly fast and very easy to maintain. Never had a reliability issues. It wasnt the most efficient marker in the...
Report this review to a moderator   #25208
Dynamicpb
 
Dynamicpb's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2004
Dynamicpb is a Supporting Member
Dynamicpb has been a member for 10 years
Dynamicpb plays in the PSP
Dynamicpb is Boss
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $800.00
Pros: lightweight accurate
Cons: efficiency/battery life
I had my NT for about a year. Very lightweight and a very accurate marker. It was incredibly fast and very easy to maintain. Never had a reliability issues. It wasnt the most efficient marker in the world, like all matrix's. My only complaint was the battery would lose life even while the marker was off because the board would use it power. I think this was fixed with the 2011 NT's. You can also purchase an after market board to stop this problem.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.6/5 stars.
Dye Precision NT i love the colored orings thing the maintenance is tough on this compared to other guns that ive worked on but i LOVED THE ACCURACY! these guns shoot VERY ACCURATE if you are going to buy one id...
Report this review to a moderator   #19047
mIlK_duD
* I do 3rd Party Trades *
mIlK_duD's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Bradenton FL
mIlK_duD plays in the APPA D4 division
mIlK_duD has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
mIlK_duD has perfected Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
mIlK_duD has perfected Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
mIlK_duD supports DLX Technology
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,050.00
Pros: appearance and accuracy
Cons: price and maintenance
i love the colored orings thing

the maintenance is tough on this compared to other guns that ive worked on

but i LOVED THE ACCURACY!

these guns shoot VERY ACCURATE

if you are going to buy one id suggest selling it before they re-release the next years one, since the prices always drop ALOT!!! when that happens
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Dye Precision NT I LOVE my new nt. i havent shot a gun like this ever. it feels smooth every shot and it is very accurate. i havent broken any paint since ive gotten the gun and ive used very brittle paint! i love...
Report this review to a moderator   #31302
minikid19
 
minikid19's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: on the streets
minikid19 plays in the PSP
minikid19 plays in the APPA D2 division
minikid19 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
minikid19 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $700.00
Pros: great for all types of play
Cons: air efficency
I LOVE my new nt. i havent shot a gun like this ever. it feels smooth every shot and it is very accurate. i havent broken any paint since ive gotten the gun and ive used very brittle paint! i love that dye is close to home so i can always get my gun taken care of by the best techs in the industry
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Dye Precision NT I agree with my predecessor, Im coming from a Dm8, with tadao board, BW bolt, virtue eyes, cirtical trigger, and DM9 antichop eye pipe, and believe me Im a little dissapointed with the NT. Im from...
Report this review to a moderator   #6711
Darth Tali
 
Darth Tali's avatar
Join Date: May 2009
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,550.00
Pros: light, small, sexy.
Cons: pricey
I agree with my predecessor, Im coming from a Dm8, with tadao board, BW bolt, virtue eyes, cirtical trigger, and DM9 antichop eye pipe, and believe me Im a little dissapointed with the NT.
Im from Mexico City, and to get this toys is not so easy nor cheap, so I guess my expectations were a little high.

What I dont like: Shootting sound, i tryed it as soon as it arrived and it was just weird, I felt it, like if it wasn�t a spoolie... it wasnt quiet at all, Im trying to solve it with some sleek lube to check if it reduces the noise.

Had some kick, I dont know if the gun parts are just getting fit in to its place or something, because after the first case; it started to shoot just a bit smoother and the sound changed into more dm sound, but not completely at all.

The programing thing is not a nightmare but not comfortable either... just the same as any dm, I expect tadao will do some oled thing to help.

To be honest, the "tooless grips" thing is not so great, I mean its just a nice touch, though its not a big deal, actually and please "Dye guys" dont take me wrong but I think you can do better that tooless thing for a 1550 bucks.

I think I could give it an A+ in comfort, cause the ergonomic is great, I loved it.

Also the accuracy is what I expected, even with the kick thing.

The air eficiency improved a lot.

It defenitly has an awesome look.

The bolt is just impressive, its fulll of holes and orings everywhere, at glance it looks very complicated, but once you just start to disassamble it, things are not so bad, the "colored orings" thing is something to congrat Dye.
I can tell you, that phrase "four years of bolt study" is true, I believe them. The bolt is a real piece of work, unfortunatley all this work should reflect in to a smoother and quieter shooting, but i guess you can't have it all, right?

I really thought The macro line was done deal for this marker generation, but there it is, its not something that bothers me, but its like an old fashion thing I just decided to consider it as a retro stuff.

Things that I would change: Trigger (critical), an oled board (Tadao) a set of backs 0.689 0.692 (carbon fiber boomstick)???

I mean, why is that we are paying the best marker Dye has to offer and we still have to upgrade it ??? may be its a patent problem ??? or do we have to wait for a special edition???

Generally I like the marker, I think Dye guys made a good job at it, and as I said the accuracy is great and the air efficency, but I mean, it is supposed to be THE BEST dye gun ever; thats why im been so picky.

Im concious that I pretend to compare a Dm marker wich is a completely finished line marker, against what is supposed to be the first atempt of a new Dye generation marker, the struggle is not so easy, DM's are a very competitive markers, even with this NT's.

As I said at the begining of this review; Im a Dye fan, and have been since the DM4 (and still am) its just that I feel, that this NT marker is like the first step into a journey that is just begining like the DM4 back in time, and like in those days we will have to expect the upgrades.

However, im still feeling it, and getting used to it.

I hope this review will help you to choose right, I tryed to be as objective as I could; sorry if I misspelled.

September, 2009.

$$$$$$$$$$$$

The next lines were written in november 2009.

I have to say that a couple of weeks ago, we had a tournament in Mexico City, and a Dye tech came and solved most of my problems, here is the story...

He made a little slide cut in the tip of the spool bumper, that is facing to the front of the bolt, this cut was like a small groove (it ended like if it were a plastic screw);

he also changed the spool spring, the one i had, wasnt tight enough to pop up the spool, (Im calling the pieces by the name that is related in the NT manual pgs 13 and 19);

and finally changed my( red ) Bolt flow insert, for another (blue) that had a bigger air hole.

He never hesitated a sec, like if he knew what was wrong with it, before even open it.

The kick improved a lot, the air efficency was just the same, the noise was a little quieter but didnt disappear, accuracy, well, im trying some barrels; so far Im happy with a profit Sly barrel, though im thinking on dye CF barrel.

I think that my gun was one of the very first guns made, and it had some problems, but Dye techs have solved them in a very acceptable way.

I can tell you I'm happy with my gun and will keep it.

Im writting this because I think that I owed it; and not doing it, wouldn't be fair.

Thanks B.W.

Darth Tali, Templarios, Mx.

November 2009.

$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$


As I said before my NT is one of the very first guns made, so it had the issues I described, my local distributor just dindt know what I was talking about, when I mentioned the upgrades for the NT markers (but well Im in Mexico so thats not new) but yesterday I received all the up grades of the NT;

the new spring (red color)
new bumper; (the one with a small groove)
the new eye pipe (the original was a bit smaller)
new Asa (original only worked with throttle tanks, lucky me I had one)
and a virtue board.

I understand that now a days the NT´s are just fine, and that they have all the parts I just described (except the virtue) so I had to pay about $300 extra-bucks, dancing with the FEDEX service and all that, but you know what, it worth it, this gun is just all I expected, it is smooth, much quieter than my DM8, deathly accuracy, and really rips, yesterday I shot a case with no breaks ... so I must confess that I am very, very happy with it.

So this time I will thank to "Ans gear" for shipping me the up grades I asked, lol.

july, 2009.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Dye Precision NT Had one of these for a short time, although I am a fan of dye markers, I was not impressed with the nt10 at all...kept breaking down and leaking on me...could've done a better job with these...
Report this review to a moderator   #39688
evil balla 21
Bay State Rebels
evil balla 21's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: MASS
evil balla 21 is BST Legit
evil balla 21 plays in the APPA D5 division
evil balla 21 is one of the top 1000 posters on PbNation
evil balla 21 supports DLX Technology
evil balla 21 supports Empire
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $300.00
Pros: Accuracy
Cons: Reliability
Had one of these for a short time, although I am a fan of dye markers, I was not impressed with the nt10 at all...kept breaking down and leaking on me...could've done a better job with these...
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Dye Precision NT DYE NT EDIT: 2010 NT COMES WITH: The Gun Case it comes with is compartmentalized, protective, and well designed. It also comes with the Dye Multitool, which is an awesome little thing that has...
Report this review to a moderator   #6707
rjs21
 
rjs21's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NEW to Baton Rouge, LA
rjs21 donated to help Peyton Trent
rjs21 owns a Planet Eclipse GSL
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,600.00
Pros: Light, fast, quiet, Barrel
Cons: Too Complex, removable grips
DYE NT

EDIT: 2010 NT

COMES WITH:
The Gun Case it comes with is compartmentalized, protective, and well designed. It also comes with the Dye Multitool, which is an awesome little thing that has everything possible besides a bottle opener.


Barrel - The UL is the best barrel out period

ASA - The new ASA is light weight but it is hard to turn the on/off valve. The pin that holds it in place also faults and slips easily.

Bolt - This thing is a nightmare to take apart. The gun leaked out of the box and needed an oring to be replaced. Teching this thing is a mind puzzle in its own right even with color coded orings. The tip has a rubber face for the gentle touch.

Trigger
- The trigger is very crisp and responsive. Very adjustable and no side to side play.

Eye Pipe - I still hate the design because of eye placement, yet it is real nice if you chop.

Grips
- Removing them the first time is a learning process. I still do not like them and rather have screws hold them in place

Spacers - There is spacers that you can use (like a top hat mod or tap mod) to increase efficiency.

Efficiency
- 9 pods from a 68/4000 fill

Board - Now has adaptability by decimal point so barely under 10.5 is possible. No need for upgrade board unless you want OLED.

Shooting - Yes it is a new gun, but it is far from being as smooth as the DM9. The gun has a pop sound to it like a Victory.


OVERALL


The truth is this gun does not improve on performance over the DM10; in fact, I regard it as an inferior product. The manual is not as descriptive as needed in more pictures and details to dis assembly are definitely required to understand it easier. The gun does not run on 6ms dwell as advertised. Even at 8ms it has plenty of drop off. It does feel great in your hands with a loader and tank. Balances extremely well.

Sadly, this is a huge disappointment to me as a Dye Fan. Look for SEVERAL Dye NT's to FLOOD the used gun market very soon. If you must have a Dye gun, I still highly recommend the PM8 (best Dye gun ever IMO) and DM9. Save the cash and get a cool laser job, Rotor, Lap Dance, 12 pack of Keystone, new lenses, and still be able to order off the dollar menu.

Chances are you are reading this to decide between High end guns, please rate my review so others can know if it was useful


EDIT: After all the new 2010 upgrades and 40+ CASES .. I AM NOW IMPRESSED. It took me some major fine tuning, but the marker shoots amazing!!! Bye a used one for $600 range if you can!


EDIT 1/18/2012: I am finally selling my NT10 after it has won several tournaments. After I hit the 40 case mark, the NT just performs beautifully. Highly recommend, this marker in the $550 range.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Dye Precision NT I shot this for about 4 months. It was a good shooting gun and it was the Nexus edition. but it didn't like a little dirt or mud. was playing in a tournament that had a rough field that lost most of...
Report this review to a moderator   #12982
KidInfamous
There can only be One
KidInfamous's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Pittsburgh
KidInfamous plays in the PSP
KidInfamous donated to help Peyton Trent
KidInfamous supports Team VICIOUS
KidInfamous posts videos on PbNation
KidInfamous is a top reviewer
KidInfamous is Legendary
KidInfamous is Boss
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $999.99
Pros: good looking shoots well
Cons: doesnt like a little dirt or mud
I shot this for about 4 months. It was a good shooting gun and it was the Nexus edition. but it didn't like a little dirt or mud. was playing in a tournament that had a rough field that lost most of the grass and was replaced with a lot of dirt and it jammed the trigger and caused non stop issues. but on turf and non rained on field performed great. changing out the inserts was a light pain though on the bolt
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.2/5 stars.
Dye Precision NT the only problem I seen with my nt is when i have all the spacers in it, it feels like it does a drop in pressure when you start roping paint. Like it will do a drop like after 10 balls then go back...
Report this review to a moderator   #27387
Apoco 310
Oh Yeah!!
Apoco 310's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Corona
Apoco 310 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Apoco 310 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Apoco 310 supports Team VICIOUS
Apoco 310 supports DLX Technology
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $900.00
Pros: smooth/looks/performance
Cons: the spacers
the only problem I seen with my nt is when i have all the spacers in it, it feels like it does a drop in pressure when you start roping paint. Like it will do a drop like after 10 balls then go back to normal speed. It is flawless with just the body on it. I was using spacers because i would rock my 45/45. Now I just use my 68/45 and have not had any problems with it. I love this marker and have been happy with it ever since i picked it up. FYI, I also have a 08vego an 09ego.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Add New Review