Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Dye Precision - NT Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Dye Precision
10637 Scripps Summit Court
San Diego, CA 92131

Phone: (858) 536-5183
Fax: (858) 536-5191
Email: service@dyeprecison.com
Website: http://www.dyeprecision.com
A revolutionary technology break through in air usage efficiency, accuracy performance & stylish design. The NT is not only the most air efficient and accurate paintball gun Dye has ever produced, it is also the lightest and most compact in its catego
 Manual: Download the manual for Dye Precision Download
 Release Date: 2009
 MSRP: $1,600.00
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.1/5 stars.
 Reviews: 121
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  32%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  50%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  7%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  7%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  3%
 Link:
Dye Precision - NT Reviews
Dye Precision NT http://i47.photobucket.com/albums/f1...7-14155922.jpg Picked up my NT in a 3-4-1. The gun is a very clean design. Aesthetically it is very smooth and pleasing to the eye. There are Dye jewels that...
Report this review to a moderator   #8891
stevebski
< Kris Williams is HOT
stevebski's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: MD
stevebski supports Bob Gurnsey
stevebski supports our troops
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $999.99
Pros: Lightweight, Efficient enough for most styles
Cons: Dye jewels, rear grip frame screw
http://i47.photobucket.com/albums/f1...7-14155922.jpg

Picked up my NT in a 3-4-1. The gun is a very clean design. Aesthetically it is very smooth and pleasing to the eye. There are Dye jewels that stick out from the side of the gun body that tend to get ripped off after play. Having to replace those often would be complaint number 1 on this gun. The grip frame is the most comfortable I have ever held or shot. The screw-less grips are an amazing feature and it's one of those "duh" innovations. Duh, why haven't they done this before? The on problem I'm seeing more than quite a few people having with their NT is the back grip frame screw keeps vibrating loose and they end up taping over it so they don't loose the screw midgame. That would be complaint number 2 for me. Lock washers and properly lengthed screw standard with the gun maybe? The bolt kit for this gun is simple enough to learn the ins and outs of. If you can maintain a FUSE bolt kit, you won't have much of a problem adapting to this. I do recommend properly lubing this kit though. Not gooping on extra lube thinking it'll just make it's way through and out eventually. your NT will shoot like crap if it's overlubed. Not a complaint, just a warning. The eye pipe is an awesome idea and shouldn't go anywhere. The trigger could use some work though. It's a very customizable trigger, but there's side to side play and no roller bearings. Complaint number 3 for me, needs a more solid trigger. The gun came with a 14" standard .688 aluminum 2 piece UL. I understand the price would increase to reflect it, but a 2 tip, 4 back UL kit would be really nice for the most high-end gun Dye makes. If the gun is going for over $1200 brand new and is a "flagship" gun, shouldn't it be refined as such from the start? Don't get me wrong, this gun is a 9/10 in a world where legitimately the scale stops at 7/10. There's definite room for improvement, however tiny those improvements are. I do recommend buying a pressure tester before you really get into cleaning and lubing this gun.

That's all the complaints I'd have for the gun as it comes out of the box (or floppy cd case anyway). The gun performs perfect. 10/10. Out of the box. The hyper reg is extremely consistent and reliable. The user needs to really read and understand the insert/spacer system before dialing in the HPR over a chrono. This allows you to set the gun up for super efficiency or super silence/less kick.

The gun performs better than anything else I have ever shot, hands down. and I've been playing for 16 years and have shot a lot of guns. Having said that I did have those few complaints about this gun, but after all they weren't performance complaints and they were little complaints at that.

The aformentioned problems of chopping and such were related to parts that were recalled later on. It is rare to find an NT now without the updated parts.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Dye Precision NT I owned my Dye NT for a year before writing this review. The gun is definitely a keeper. Dye never fails at producing gorgeous guns year after year. The milling on the NT is very cool. However, the...
Report this review to a moderator   #22900
xmwxpaintballkid
=0
xmwxpaintballkid's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Manhattan, Illinois
xmwxpaintballkid plays in the PSP
xmwxpaintballkid plays in the APPA D3 division
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $800.00
Pros: accuracy, milling, quiet, no kick
Cons: maintenance, chopping, dye gems
I owned my Dye NT for a year before writing this review. The gun is definitely a keeper. Dye never fails at producing gorgeous guns year after year. The milling on the NT is very cool. However, the dye gems fall off very easily which is quite annoying if your picky about your guns looks.

As far as shooting the NT, it shoots great. The gun is very accurate, quiet, with minimal kick. Of course Dye guns will only shoot this way if they are lubed after EVERY day of play. Dye guns are very finicky on maintenance and have to be taken well care of. Another thing, the gun is very comfortable while holding and extremely light.

I have noticed that my NT chops every once in a while even with good paint. All in all I think the NT is definitely a great gun, but could use a little improvement. Also, don't plan on selling your NT back for what you paid for it. They do not hold their value very well on the market.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Dye Precision NT http://www.paradisepaintball.fr/fich.../image_preview Cost: $1549.99 Weight: 1.6lbs Ultralight Barrel. .688 bore "Next Gen Spool Valve"
Report this review to a moderator   #7017
VrelicV
 
VrelicV's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2009
VrelicV is BST Trusted
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $154.99
Pros: Light. Comfortable. 1700+ efficient. Smoooothh.
Cons: Maybe its a little pricey?
http://www.paradisepaintball.fr/fich.../image_preview


Cost: $1549.99

Weight: 1.6lbs

Ultralight Barrel. .688 bore

"Next Gen Spool Valve"

"Boost Forward Technology" (controls the speed of the bolt through its cycle)

Auto Valve Shut Off

130psi Operating Pressure

Dye Self Cleaning Eye Pipe

Efficiency: 68ci /4500psi compressed air tank, the NT operating at 290 fps will generate 1500 to 1700 shots, depending on bolt configuration.

Ultralight Re-Designed Airport New for NT

Colored O-Rings to determine o-ring size and position.

Ultralight Reach Trigger

New "2nd Gen" Ultralight Frame

LED Display

Hyper 3 Reg

Cam Lock Feed Neck

Tool-Less Sticky Grips & Contact Pads

NT Specific Programing




I work at a local shop here in ct and have seen/ gone through a lot of markers. To date the NT is my favorite, and it is the one I personally use. Out of the box the weight and milling are the most appealing, but after playing with the gun for a while the cosmetic feature I've come to love the most is the rubber grips that can be found thoughtfully placed at different parts of the marker.

The rubber grip on the top of the frame and on the snatch grip are very handy and make handling the marker easier and much more responsive. The tool-less sticky grip is also rather handy; haven't had any problems with it so far.

The NT is very light, 1.6 lbs, and even with such a low weight the gun STILL has practically no kick. Don't let the NT fool you. When you first shoot it out of the box it seems to have a bit more kick then a typically DM but once the NT breaks in it shoots significantly quieter and smoother then any gun I've had to date. Kick is similar to a luxe, minus the bulky gun that goes along with it (sorry not a fan, used one for a long time).

For efficiency I am getting 1690-1770 shots out of a pure energy 68/4500 @ 280fps. I've been using the blue insert and the efficiency spacer body while getting those.

The gun is also very consistent (+/- 1 or 2 fps once broken in), but thats sort of a given for any marker in this price range (hopefully). Accuracy is also incredible, but again thats much less the gun then it is the conditions, paint, and barrel being used. On that note the stock barrel is very nice. The NT comes stock with an ultra light with a bore size of .688; a very good all around size for todays paint.

Cons?

Needing to break in the gun with a couple cases before it shoots at full potential may be looked at as a con. Most guns just aren't consistent until broken in, but the nt is a little different.

I suppose the biggest con came from when the NT's were first released. The first run of them had some chopping problems due to a bad asa and eye pipe. Dye was very very good about fixing all the guns that had these problems and sending out the updated parts. Once the updates were installed all the guns shot flawlessly, at least the ones I worked on. All the new NT's being released now don't have any of these problems.

All in all... I love this gun. It's going to be my tourney gun for the 2010 season, and maybe even longer... Depends on how anxious I get to buy something new .

IMO, try one... Try someones that has been broken in before making a decision or else you'll get the completely wrong impression about this gun.

It is an amazing marker, and if I had to put a number to it:

9/10
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.6/5 stars.
Dye Precision NT I had my NT for about a year. Very lightweight and a very accurate marker. It was incredibly fast and very easy to maintain. Never had a reliability issues. It wasnt the most efficient marker in the...
Report this review to a moderator   #25208
Dynamicpb
 
Dynamicpb's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2004
Dynamicpb is a Supporting Member
Dynamicpb has been a member for 10 years
Dynamicpb plays in the PSP
Dynamicpb is playing at Living Legends VII
Dynamicpb is Boss
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $800.00
Pros: lightweight accurate
Cons: efficiency/battery life
I had my NT for about a year. Very lightweight and a very accurate marker. It was incredibly fast and very easy to maintain. Never had a reliability issues. It wasnt the most efficient marker in the world, like all matrix's. My only complaint was the battery would lose life even while the marker was off because the board would use it power. I think this was fixed with the 2011 NT's. You can also purchase an after market board to stop this problem.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.6/5 stars.
Dye Precision NT I agree with my predecessor, Im coming from a Dm8, with tadao board, BW bolt, virtue eyes, cirtical trigger, and DM9 antichop eye pipe, and believe me Im a little dissapointed with the NT. Im from...
Report this review to a moderator   #6711
Darth Tali
 
Darth Tali's avatar
Join Date: May 2009
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,550.00
Pros: light, small, sexy.
Cons: pricey
I agree with my predecessor, Im coming from a Dm8, with tadao board, BW bolt, virtue eyes, cirtical trigger, and DM9 antichop eye pipe, and believe me Im a little dissapointed with the NT.
Im from Mexico City, and to get this toys is not so easy nor cheap, so I guess my expectations were a little high.

What I dont like: Shootting sound, i tryed it as soon as it arrived and it was just weird, I felt it, like if it wasn�t a spoolie... it wasnt quiet at all, Im trying to solve it with some sleek lube to check if it reduces the noise.

Had some kick, I dont know if the gun parts are just getting fit in to its place or something, because after the first case; it started to shoot just a bit smoother and the sound changed into more dm sound, but not completely at all.

The programing thing is not a nightmare but not comfortable either... just the same as any dm, I expect tadao will do some oled thing to help.

To be honest, the "tooless grips" thing is not so great, I mean its just a nice touch, though its not a big deal, actually and please "Dye guys" dont take me wrong but I think you can do better that tooless thing for a 1550 bucks.

I think I could give it an A+ in comfort, cause the ergonomic is great, I loved it.

Also the accuracy is what I expected, even with the kick thing.

The air eficiency improved a lot.

It defenitly has an awesome look.

The bolt is just impressive, its fulll of holes and orings everywhere, at glance it looks very complicated, but once you just start to disassamble it, things are not so bad, the "colored orings" thing is something to congrat Dye.
I can tell you, that phrase "four years of bolt study" is true, I believe them. The bolt is a real piece of work, unfortunatley all this work should reflect in to a smoother and quieter shooting, but i guess you can't have it all, right?

I really thought The macro line was done deal for this marker generation, but there it is, its not something that bothers me, but its like an old fashion thing I just decided to consider it as a retro stuff.

Things that I would change: Trigger (critical), an oled board (Tadao) a set of backs 0.689 0.692 (carbon fiber boomstick)???

I mean, why is that we are paying the best marker Dye has to offer and we still have to upgrade it ??? may be its a patent problem ??? or do we have to wait for a special edition???

Generally I like the marker, I think Dye guys made a good job at it, and as I said the accuracy is great and the air efficency, but I mean, it is supposed to be THE BEST dye gun ever; thats why im been so picky.

Im concious that I pretend to compare a Dm marker wich is a completely finished line marker, against what is supposed to be the first atempt of a new Dye generation marker, the struggle is not so easy, DM's are a very competitive markers, even with this NT's.

As I said at the begining of this review; Im a Dye fan, and have been since the DM4 (and still am) its just that I feel, that this NT marker is like the first step into a journey that is just begining like the DM4 back in time, and like in those days we will have to expect the upgrades.

However, im still feeling it, and getting used to it.

I hope this review will help you to choose right, I tryed to be as objective as I could; sorry if I misspelled.

September, 2009.

$$$$$$$$$$$$

The next lines were written in november 2009.

I have to say that a couple of weeks ago, we had a tournament in Mexico City, and a Dye tech came and solved most of my problems, here is the story...

He made a little slide cut in the tip of the spool bumper, that is facing to the front of the bolt, this cut was like a small groove (it ended like if it were a plastic screw);

he also changed the spool spring, the one i had, wasnt tight enough to pop up the spool, (Im calling the pieces by the name that is related in the NT manual pgs 13 and 19);

and finally changed my( red ) Bolt flow insert, for another (blue) that had a bigger air hole.

He never hesitated a sec, like if he knew what was wrong with it, before even open it.

The kick improved a lot, the air efficency was just the same, the noise was a little quieter but didnt disappear, accuracy, well, im trying some barrels; so far Im happy with a profit Sly barrel, though im thinking on dye CF barrel.

I think that my gun was one of the very first guns made, and it had some problems, but Dye techs have solved them in a very acceptable way.

I can tell you I'm happy with my gun and will keep it.

Im writting this because I think that I owed it; and not doing it, wouldn't be fair.

Thanks B.W.

Darth Tali, Templarios, Mx.

November 2009.

$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$


As I said before my NT is one of the very first guns made, so it had the issues I described, my local distributor just dindt know what I was talking about, when I mentioned the upgrades for the NT markers (but well Im in Mexico so thats not new) but yesterday I received all the up grades of the NT;

the new spring (red color)
new bumper; (the one with a small groove)
the new eye pipe (the original was a bit smaller)
new Asa (original only worked with throttle tanks, lucky me I had one)
and a virtue board.

I understand that now a days the NT´s are just fine, and that they have all the parts I just described (except the virtue) so I had to pay about $300 extra-bucks, dancing with the FEDEX service and all that, but you know what, it worth it, this gun is just all I expected, it is smooth, much quieter than my DM8, deathly accuracy, and really rips, yesterday I shot a case with no breaks ... so I must confess that I am very, very happy with it.

So this time I will thank to "Ans gear" for shipping me the up grades I asked, lol.

july, 2009.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Dye Precision NT Had one of these for a short time, although I am a fan of dye markers, I was not impressed with the nt10 at all...kept breaking down and leaking on me...could've done a better job with these...
Report this review to a moderator   #39688
evil balla 21
Bay State Rebels
evil balla 21's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: MASS
evil balla 21 owns a Planet Eclipse Lv1
evil balla 21 plays in the APPA D5 division
evil balla 21 is one of the top 1000 posters on PbNation
evil balla 21 is Legendary
evil balla 21 supports DLX Technology
evil balla 21 supports Empire
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $300.00
Pros: Accuracy
Cons: Reliability
Had one of these for a short time, although I am a fan of dye markers, I was not impressed with the nt10 at all...kept breaking down and leaking on me...could've done a better job with these...
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Dye Precision NT DYE NT EDIT: 2010 NT COMES WITH: The Gun Case it comes with is compartmentalized, protective, and well designed. It also comes with the Dye Multitool, which is an awesome little thing that has...
Report this review to a moderator   #6707
rjs21
 
rjs21's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NEW to Baton Rouge, LA
rjs21 donated to help Peyton Trent
rjs21 owns a Planet Eclipse GSL
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,600.00
Pros: Light, fast, quiet, Barrel
Cons: Too Complex, removable grips
DYE NT

EDIT: 2010 NT

COMES WITH:
The Gun Case it comes with is compartmentalized, protective, and well designed. It also comes with the Dye Multitool, which is an awesome little thing that has everything possible besides a bottle opener.


Barrel - The UL is the best barrel out period

ASA - The new ASA is light weight but it is hard to turn the on/off valve. The pin that holds it in place also faults and slips easily.

Bolt - This thing is a nightmare to take apart. The gun leaked out of the box and needed an oring to be replaced. Teching this thing is a mind puzzle in its own right even with color coded orings. The tip has a rubber face for the gentle touch.

Trigger
- The trigger is very crisp and responsive. Very adjustable and no side to side play.

Eye Pipe - I still hate the design because of eye placement, yet it is real nice if you chop.

Grips
- Removing them the first time is a learning process. I still do not like them and rather have screws hold them in place

Spacers - There is spacers that you can use (like a top hat mod or tap mod) to increase efficiency.

Efficiency
- 9 pods from a 68/4000 fill

Board - Now has adaptability by decimal point so barely under 10.5 is possible. No need for upgrade board unless you want OLED.

Shooting - Yes it is a new gun, but it is far from being as smooth as the DM9. The gun has a pop sound to it like a Victory.


OVERALL


The truth is this gun does not improve on performance over the DM10; in fact, I regard it as an inferior product. The manual is not as descriptive as needed in more pictures and details to dis assembly are definitely required to understand it easier. The gun does not run on 6ms dwell as advertised. Even at 8ms it has plenty of drop off. It does feel great in your hands with a loader and tank. Balances extremely well.

Sadly, this is a huge disappointment to me as a Dye Fan. Look for SEVERAL Dye NT's to FLOOD the used gun market very soon. If you must have a Dye gun, I still highly recommend the PM8 (best Dye gun ever IMO) and DM9. Save the cash and get a cool laser job, Rotor, Lap Dance, 12 pack of Keystone, new lenses, and still be able to order off the dollar menu.

Chances are you are reading this to decide between High end guns, please rate my review so others can know if it was useful


EDIT: After all the new 2010 upgrades and 40+ CASES .. I AM NOW IMPRESSED. It took me some major fine tuning, but the marker shoots amazing!!! Bye a used one for $600 range if you can!


EDIT 1/18/2012: I am finally selling my NT10 after it has won several tournaments. After I hit the 40 case mark, the NT just performs beautifully. Highly recommend, this marker in the $550 range.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Dye Precision NT I shot this for about 4 months. It was a good shooting gun and it was the Nexus edition. but it didn't like a little dirt or mud. was playing in a tournament that had a rough field that lost most of...
Report this review to a moderator   #12982
KidInfamous
There can only be One
KidInfamous's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Pittsburgh
KidInfamous plays in the PSP
KidInfamous donated to help Peyton Trent
KidInfamous supports Team VICIOUS
KidInfamous posts videos on PbNation
KidInfamous is a top reviewer
KidInfamous is Legendary
KidInfamous is Boss
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $999.99
Pros: good looking shoots well
Cons: doesnt like a little dirt or mud
I shot this for about 4 months. It was a good shooting gun and it was the Nexus edition. but it didn't like a little dirt or mud. was playing in a tournament that had a rough field that lost most of the grass and was replaced with a lot of dirt and it jammed the trigger and caused non stop issues. but on turf and non rained on field performed great. changing out the inserts was a light pain though on the bolt
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.2/5 stars.
Dye Precision NT the only problem I seen with my nt is when i have all the spacers in it, it feels like it does a drop in pressure when you start roping paint. Like it will do a drop like after 10 balls then go back...
Report this review to a moderator   #27387
Apoco 310
Oh Yeah!!
Apoco 310's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Corona
Apoco 310 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Apoco 310 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Apoco 310 supports Team VICIOUS
Apoco 310 supports DLX Technology
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $900.00
Pros: smooth/looks/performance
Cons: the spacers
the only problem I seen with my nt is when i have all the spacers in it, it feels like it does a drop in pressure when you start roping paint. Like it will do a drop like after 10 balls then go back to normal speed. It is flawless with just the body on it. I was using spacers because i would rock my 45/45. Now I just use my 68/45 and have not had any problems with it. I love this marker and have been happy with it ever since i picked it up. FYI, I also have a 08vego an 09ego.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Dye Precision NT I love my NT with all my heart. Since the day I bought it 3 years ago it has shot ropes and has only broke an O-Ring twice! The only Con is that I have a Black and Orange NT and it is very hard to...
Report this review to a moderator   #31098
Box Head
Sneaking down your snake
Box Head's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Houston,Tx
Box Head plays in the PSP
Box Head is playing at Living Legends VI
Box Head supports DLX Technology
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,000.00
Pros: Lightweight, Efficient, Reliable, Turns Heads
Cons: Hard to find replacement parts in certain colors.
I love my NT with all my heart. Since the day I bought it 3 years ago it has shot ropes and has only broke an O-Ring twice!

The only Con is that I have a Black and Orange NT and it is very hard to find orange replacement parts.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Add New Review