Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Airgun Designs USA - Automag Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Airgun Designs USA
401 Florine Court
Cary, IL 60090

Phone: (847) 520-7225
Fax: (847) 520-7848
Email: romanr@airgundesignsusa.com
Website: http://www.airgundesignsusa.com
AGD's entry level automag.
 Manual: Download the manual for Airgun Designs USA Download
 Release Date: 1988
 MSRP: $260.00
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.4/5 stars.
 Reviews: 16
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  50%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  44%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  6%
 Link:
Airgun Designs USA - Automag Reviews
Airgun Designs USA Automag Had several Automags, they all always worked. They aren't pretty but they do the job. They are tanks and you know it when you hold one. I love my AGD products
Report this review to a moderator   #43797
crazy_penguin85
What goes here again??!?
crazy_penguin85's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Kentucky (502)
crazy_penguin85 owns a Planet Eclipse Etha
crazy_penguin85 posts videos on PbNation
crazy_penguin85 has achieved Level 4 in PbNation Pursuit
crazy_penguin85 supports Empire
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $100.00
Pros: Reliable
Cons: Heavy
Had several Automags, they all always worked. They aren't pretty but they do the job. They are tanks and you know it when you hold one.

I love my AGD products
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Airgun Designs USA Automag I've owned multiple mags over the years, and they've all been great. The 68 automag is no exception; it's a mag, can take a beating and won't let you down. Performance - It's a mag. If you're...
Report this review to a moderator   #16639
k.rollin
VW Slayer
k.rollin's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Mount Vernon, WA
k.rollin helped look for balloons
k.rollin has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
k.rollin has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $100.00
Pros: dead nuts reliability, tough as nails durability
Cons: None to me; this is my favorite gun
I've owned multiple mags over the years, and they've all been great. The 68 automag is no exception; it's a mag, can take a beating and won't let you down.

Performance - It's a mag. If you're unfamiliar with mags it is incerdibly reliable and durable. The classic valve will get you decent efficiency, nothing earth-shattering, and is very consistent. It has a descent recharge rate and you can achieve low-mid teens as far as ROF goes with a little trigger practice and an upgraded gripframe. It will work well if properly setup on CO2 as well as HPA. It is a well balanced marker and feels very solid, it is hard to find a better quality marker than AGD.

Maintenance is very easy. One thumbscrew and the entire valve/bolt assembly can be removed to clean/lube. Another socket head screw and the gripframe/rail/body come apart. There isn't much that can go wrong with these, an o-ring is usually the only thing you ever see go bad over time in these.

Value - Mags in general have a pretty sturdy resale value and even if you buy one brand new, it will outlive you. I'd call that a worthwhile investment.

It should also be mentioned that there are a slew of aftermarket upgrades for any type of mag from bodies to gripframes to rails and valves so you can customize your marker to fit your own play style.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Airgun Designs USA Automag I love my mag. I've kept the classic valve in it because I like the look of it, and because it always works. Keep it lubed and it takes good care of me.
Report this review to a moderator   #22389
ladd_17
bA What?!?
ladd_17's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: The Nasti 'Nati
ladd_17 is a Supporting Member
ladd_17 plays in the PSP
ladd_17 plays in the APPA D3 division
ladd_17 is Boss
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $300.00
Pros: bombproof, light
Cons: underrated
I love my mag. I've kept the classic valve in it because I like the look of it, and because it always works. Keep it lubed and it takes good care of me.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Airgun Designs USA Automag I love this marker. The reason why there is a cult following (I am included in that group) because it does what it should every single time. Put the marker away for years. Oil it up and fires like...
Report this review to a moderator   #9776
peteralexander78
I am a Mag guy
peteralexander78's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Vancouver, WA
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $150.00
Pros: Will always shoot
Cons: On the heavy side
I love this marker. The reason why there is a cult following (I am included in that group) because it does what it should every single time. Put the marker away for years. Oil it up and fires like it did when you played last. Super easy to clean and I have no issues keeping up with all the newer faster markers today. It is worth every penny you pay and you can customize it with a lot of stuff that is out there. It is getting harder to find stuff but there is still a lot out there.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Airgun Designs USA Automag The first "high end" marker I ever bought was an Automag. That was almost 10 years ago and it's still going just as good as the day I bought it. Automags are famous for their ease of maintenance...
Report this review to a moderator   #2997
spwz99
 
spwz99's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: KCMO
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $250.00
Pros: Reliability, Versatility, Quality
Cons: Doesn't like CO2
The first "high end" marker I ever bought was an Automag. That was almost 10 years ago and it's still going just as good as the day I bought it.

Automags are famous for their ease of maintenance and reliability. All you have to do to keep it running for years is put a few drops of oil in your ASA before a day of play. You can also completely tear down the valve assembly (without tools) and have any o-rings replaced and back in the gun in less than 5 minutes.

The Automag also features a very light and compact single tube design. This makes the marker very easy to handle.

The only real downside to a classic Automag is running CO2 in the marker can be difficult. Automags are very sensitive to liquid CO2, so an expansion chamber and/or remote hose is handy. If you run HPA, all you have to do is run a single macro line to the back of the gun.

They are also a gun that hold their value well, not like many newer guns which depreciate every year.

p.s. the website listed for Airgun Designs is incorrect. It has changed to www.airgundesignsusa.com
While the old site still links to the new one, I don't know how much longer it will since, I believe, AGD sold their old domain name.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Airgun Designs USA Automag I got my Automag for $20.. and even though there are a few things wrong with it (it really needs the rebuild kit), it still performs like a solid, quality piece of equipment should. It really is a...
Report this review to a moderator   #3363
yettitheman
Wierd Science.. insane.
yettitheman's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Under a bridge
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $20.00
Pros: Extremely durable, simple to repair
Cons: Air hoggy
I got my Automag for $20.. and even though there are a few things wrong with it (it really needs the rebuild kit), it still performs like a solid, quality piece of equipment should. It really is a classic and a relic in the painball world, and is probably one of the oldest designs still seeing modern action on fields today.

ROF isn't great in stock form, but there aren't too many guns that can take mud puddles and still fire fine. Air is regarded to this marker like gas to an SUV; it doesn't sip it. But the valve and the parts associated with firing the gun are bulletproof and built like a tank.

The barrel system is pretty ingenious as well. Half twist, and your barrel pulls out. No more (twist twist twist "OH S--T I'M GETTING FIRED AT" twist). Makes swabbing fun! (almost )

A general summary of the Automag:

Good:
Heavy, durable construction. Makes a perfect baseball bat replacement should the need to hit someone in the head occur.

Reliable. 3 drops before you play, that's basically it. Can fire through mud/paint/water without griping.

Easy to access: One thumbscrew on the bottom of the rail pulls out the valve and bolt. Everything else is held in with common allen screws.

Feel. It feels like you are shooting a gun... almost.

Bad:
Heavy (well, to me being heavy is ok).

ROF. In stock form, it has a little to be desired on the speedball field. BUT, if you can own with a pump, then you shouldn't have trouble with a Mag.

Air hog. It likes to eat it by the pound when you fire. But nothing in this world is perfect, and air is primarily how the Automag functions. Without a lot of it, it's just a shiny toy.

Viewed to some inexperienced players as crap.
THIS can turn quickly from bad to good. Simply shoot everyone on the other team.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review