Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Smart Parts - Shocker NXT Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Smart Parts
100 Station Street
Loyalhanna, PA 15661

Phone: (800) 992-2147
Fax: (724) 539-2298
Email: customersvceast@smartparts.com
Website: http://www.smartparts.com
The field proven performance of the Shocker NXT, with its minimal weight, compact size, fast rate of fire and simple maintenance has accompanied some of the world's best professional paintball teams to the podium.
 Manual: Download the manual for Smart Parts Download
 Release Date: 2007
 MSRP: $599.99
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
 Reviews: 68
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  37%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  56%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  4%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  3%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  0%
 Link:
Smart Parts - Shocker NXT Reviews
Smart Parts Shocker NXT Price paid was for a broken used 08 NXT. The shocker is a fairly nice marker. Tuned right the shocker is ball on ball and quite fast. It is quiet as spool-valves go but also as unefficient....
Report this review to a moderator   #10629
DircheBag
 
DircheBag's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: NJ
DircheBag has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $175.00
Pros: fast, quiet, alot of available upgrades
Cons: heavy, efficiency, needs upgrades out of the box
Price paid was for a broken used 08 NXT.
The shocker is a fairly nice marker.
Tuned right the shocker is ball on ball and quite fast. It is quiet as spool-valves go but also as unefficient.
necessary upgrades would be
a CP reg (because adjusting on the NXT reg is kind of a pain especially if you ever lose the tool that is provided)
HE bolt (to help improve efficiency),
ASA because the stock one sucks and ruins the threads on your tank, feedneck also because the stock one sucks,
and optional would be a new board (especially if you want to play tournys due to the new max bps)
and a barrel (the AA barrel is good but a kit is better)
Overall the marker is good, wish it came out of the box with some better parts (eg ASA and feedneck and HE bolt)
Thankfully there are a ton of upgrades and private label parts, and currently as of 2011 the parts are still readily available and relatively cheap...
Although the aftermarket value/resell value is kinda low because PbNation is practically flooded with them. (unless you have a PL version)
I recommend getting a nice up'd used one especially a PL version making it even nicer.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Shocker NXT ^^ look
Report this review to a moderator   #6393
Draxxus5577
MillerJ
Draxxus5577's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Rainy ****ing washington
Draxxus5577 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Draxxus5577 supports Team VICIOUS
Draxxus5577 is for the Gunfight
Draxxus5577 supports DLX Technology
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $400.00
Pros: Everything this gun shoots ropes.
Cons: Bolt jammed twice and fill up after every game
^^ look
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Shocker NXT I picked one these up after hearing all the hype. I threw a hater board in it and it was an animal. Effient, fast, quiet. The only thing is keeping up with the maintenance and anno wear.
Report this review to a moderator   #18074
Evil_Paintball_freek
#No****sGiven
Evil_Paintball_freek's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Middle O Nowhere SE WI
Evil_Paintball_freek is a Supporting Member
Evil_Paintball_freek is one of the top 25 posters on PbNation
Evil_Paintball_freek is attending Decay of Nations VII
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $550.00
Pros: Light,fast,quiet
Cons: maintenance, anno wear
I picked one these up after hearing all the hype. I threw a hater board in it and it was an animal. Effient, fast, quiet. The only thing is keeping up with the maintenance and anno wear.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Shocker NXT I like this gun a lot especially for the cheap price nowadays. $600 for a high end marker?! That's pretty nice if you ask me. I bought mine in PbNation for $400, only used twice, and it works great....
Report this review to a moderator   #4781
gmanuelp
|\|/~ADP~\|/|
gmanuelp's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2006
gmanuelp posts videos on PbNation
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $400.00
Pros: No: kick, noise
Cons: Inefficient
I like this gun a lot especially for the cheap price nowadays. $600 for a high end marker?! That's pretty nice if you ask me. I bought mine in PbNation for $400, only used twice, and it works great. A lot people will say this marker is very unreliable, but I beg to differ. It might be they play in different weather than what I play in (in the heat, Arizona heat to be more specific), but either way I lube my gun after every day of play. I will admit that at first it's hard getting that one o-ring off to take off the bolt to lube it, you'll know what I if you get one, but I got used to it now. I actually think's it's easy to take the bolt assembly appart now.

As for the reg, I think it is consistent. I have not actually sat down and marked down every shot, but I am guessing that it was +/-5, give or take. As for the accuracy, it is unbelieveable ! The most accurate gun I've shot [but then again I haven't shot many guns]!! I use the freak back with a .691 insert and I just love it. I cannot longer blame my gun for missing shot. The fact that it has virtually no kick makes even more accurate.

Now for the paint-breaking. I will put this is as simply as possible: there is no such thing as breaking paint with this gun. I do not recall ever breaking a single ball in there, and if I did by break paint any scarce chance the accuracy was not affected.

There are only a few complaints regarding this gun, and I'm not even sure that the first two are actual major problems whatsoever. The first is the frame; if you don't have long fingers, or big hands, it might be troublesome for you to shoot consistently because of the fact that the portion from grip area to the actual trigger is relatively long if you look at it. I personally don't have much of a problem with this, since I have huge hands. That's why I question whether this is an actual problem or not, because none of my friends have played with it so I haven't heard any legit feedback from anybody else in my local area.

My second "complaint" is the trigger. Because it is a spring trigger, it's a bit tough walking this thing consistently. If you were to get a shocker and slowly push the trigger you'll kind of know what I'm talking about. At first, it is somewhat smooth. A little bit after half way there it gets pretty tense. This made walking out the trigger even harder. I have a solution for this, though. What I did is I took the trigger out and actually cut the spring in half. Be careful when doing this because the spring might uncoil, but if it does there is no problem. Just cut it off from where it started to uncoil. After cutting the spring you should be able to walk it out pretty smoothly and shoot consistent lanes.

Now this can actually viewed as a complaint: the innefficiency. I cannot believe I get so little air out my 68/45 tank. To make sure that I won't run out of air during a game I re-fill after playing every time. But then again, my local field will only fill the tanks up to like 1500 psi at times. Most of the times they go up to 2500 psi but that is still pretty low. It may be the fact that it is a new gun still. It has been used a little over 5 times, maybe?

Depending on what your preference is, you might not like the board. I like to play strictly semi with no bounce, etc. so this is not much of a problem with me. A virtue board would be appreciated, though, considering that the stock board does not allow you to change anti-mech stick, anti-bolt stick, and some of the other stuff a virtue lets you do.

Also, many people will mention changing the feedneck, and I honestly see no need to change it. I use a VLocity Jr. and I am very happy with it. My hopper has never fallen or twisted.


Recommended upgrades:
Board
Stinger V3 Bolt + Bolt mod
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Shocker NXT I love my NXT. As long as you take care of your shocker it'll return the favor and take care of you on the field. Great looking as well, with an amazing finish. Upgrades galore as well.
Report this review to a moderator   #22619
greenvertboy
 
greenvertboy's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: IUP
greenvertboy owns a Planet Eclipse Etek
greenvertboy is reppin' sidebar 4 life
greenvertboy has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
greenvertboy has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $300.00
Pros: looks, trigger, ergonomics
Cons: cold weather performancee
I love my NXT. As long as you take care of your shocker it'll return the favor and take care of you on the field. Great looking as well, with an amazing finish. Upgrades galore as well.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Shocker NXT If you are a tech savvy person, you will love this gun. For such a small price, when it's working at it's full potential, it is a very very good gun. I have had a few problems with mine but when it...
Report this review to a moderator   #12753
Happyfeet1030
El Señor Pingüino
Happyfeet1030's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Minnesnowta
Happyfeet1030 is playing at Living Legends V
Happyfeet1030 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Happyfeet1030 supports Team VICIOUS
Happyfeet1030 supports Team VICIOUS
Happyfeet1030 supports Team VICIOUS
Happyfeet1030 supports Pev's Paintball
Happyfeet1030 is attending Decay of Nations VI
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $250.00
Pros: When it works, it works great!
Cons: Maintenance is a PITA
If you are a tech savvy person, you will love this gun. For such a small price, when it's working at it's full potential, it is a very very good gun. I have had a few problems with mine but when it is up and running it can compete with any gun out there.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Shocker NXT the shocker is a great gun i used it for a few months, i love the design an how tight of a group it shoots. i would love to have another one of theses
Report this review to a moderator   #37911
hellcat08
Matt Black
hellcat08's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: carthage, nc
hellcat08 owns a Planet Eclipse Etek
hellcat08 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
hellcat08 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
hellcat08 supports Empire
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $500.00
Pros: shoots ropes, great looking gun,easy maintence
Cons: NONE,
the shocker is a great gun i used it for a few months, i love the design an how tight of a group it shoots. i would love to have another one of theses
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Shocker NXT i have never had a problem with this gun. shoots amazing.
Report this review to a moderator   #32894
Jealousy
Black Dust Shocker NXT
Jealousy's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Michigan
Jealousy is for the Gunfight
Jealousy has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Jealousy has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Jealousy has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Jealousy has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $200.00
Pros: great gun
Cons: none ever
i have never had a problem with this gun. shoots amazing.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Shocker NXT Great guns, wish gogg would come out with a new shocker. Some of the top markers out these days are spoolies. Love mine to death, just sold her, but going to be getting another soon. Get virtue...
Report this review to a moderator   #35121
kack
OG SINCE 03
kack's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: 850
kack plays in the PSP
kack supports Empire
kack is All In
kack is All In
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $250.00
Pros: quiet, cheap
Cons: inefficient, stock eyes suck, SP out of buisness
Great guns, wish gogg would come out with a new shocker. Some of the top markers out these days are spoolies. Love mine to death, just sold her, but going to be getting another soon. Get virtue everything, can't go wrong.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Smart Parts Shocker NXT I own 5 shockers (2 nxts, and 3 sfts) and even though Smart Parts has gone the way of the dodo, I still love shooting these guns. They are fast, accurate, quiet, light, inexpensive for how awesome...
Report this review to a moderator   #19061
kool_aid22
#1 Hater
kool_aid22's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Atlanta
kool_aid22 is BST Legit
kool_aid22 is one of the top 1000 posters on PbNation
kool_aid22 is Legendary
kool_aid22 supports Empire
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $300.00
Pros: light, quiet, fast, inexpensive, accurate
Cons: might have difficulty finding some parts
I own 5 shockers (2 nxts, and 3 sfts) and even though Smart Parts has gone the way of the dodo, I still love shooting these guns. They are fast, accurate, quiet, light, inexpensive for how awesome they shoot. The only con MIGHT that its somewhat difficult to find the parts you need. Really all you have to do is post a Want To Buy Thread in the Buy/Sell/Trade section and people will come to you. Shockers are classic tourney paintball guns and will be for years to come. My orange and black NXT is my go-to gun and she never lets me down. Love Smart Parts!

  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review