Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Smart Parts - Shocker NXT Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Smart Parts
100 Station Street
Loyalhanna, PA 15661

Phone: (800) 992-2147
Fax: (724) 539-2298
Email: customersvceast@smartparts.com
Website: http://www.smartparts.com
The field proven performance of the Shocker NXT, with its minimal weight, compact size, fast rate of fire and simple maintenance has accompanied some of the world's best professional paintball teams to the podium.
 Manual: Download the manual for Smart Parts Download
 Release Date: 2007
 MSRP: $599.99
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
 Reviews: 67
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  36%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  57%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  4%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  3%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  0%
 Link:
Smart Parts - Shocker NXT Reviews
Smart Parts Shocker NXT I baught the Shocker NXT right when it came out. when I went to my local pb store to pick up my gun i baught a new feed neck right away cause the stock one really isnt the greatest thing. Well when...
Report this review to a moderator   #4021
McLeezy
 
McLeezy's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2008
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $700.00
Pros: Fast &HE Bolt
Cons: Feed neck &Board
I baught the Shocker NXT right when it came out.
when I went to my local pb store to pick up my gun i baught a new feed neck right away cause the stock one really isnt the greatest thing.
Well when i got home with my gun i screwed my tank on and noticed the on off isnt so great eather but i could deal with it. Well i shot my gun an was pretty dam impressed. It shot accurate even with the stock 2 pice all american barrel and the gun was fast too.Didnt like the board that much so i baught a RL Virtue board and new Virtue eyes and i got a freak kit and now my gun shoots even more amazing. So many people say shockers break down all the time they suck blah blah blah. I never had a problem with my gun. All u need to do in change ur o-rings once and a while and lube ur bolt after a day of playing and to do that is really easy. The Shocker NXT is a great gun no matter what people say and you really dont need to upgrade it as much as i did for it to perform great.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Smart Parts Shocker NXT first off, the nxt looks alot better in person. i held it and was surprised about the weight. but when you play with it, i dont think you notice how heavy it is. SP made a mistake in designing this...
Report this review to a moderator   #3909
28dye
Asian Sensation
28dye's avatar
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orlando, Florida
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $400.00
Pros: quiet, new he bolt included, big trigger guard
Cons: inbalance of weight, feedneck, reg, board, trigger
first off, the nxt looks alot better in person. i held it and was surprised about the weight. but when you play with it, i dont think you notice how heavy it is. SP made a mistake in designing this gun i know that for sure, because the weight is terribly off balance. all of the weight leans towards the back of the gun, not good. but thats still ok. cause like i said you wont notice in the game.

my ratings:
barrel: 8/10 (they should've put a freak)
reg: 5/10
body/milling : 9/10
trigger: 7/10
feedneck: 3/10
asa: 9/10
bolt: 9/10
board: 6/10

pros:
he bolt included
break beam eyes

cons:
weight
inefficient

suggested upgrades i would get:
new board
new barrel (unless you like AA)
new FEEDNECK
new reg

i give the STOCK NXT a 7/10
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.7/5 stars.
Smart Parts Shocker NXT I would like to start off by saying that all newer high end markers are fast, accurate, and light weight and should not be counted as "pros" for the marker, that's expected. Since the major steps...
Report this review to a moderator   #5398
Soldier4TheOne
 
Soldier4TheOne's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Port Orange, Florida
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $500.00
Pros: Price, simplicity
Cons: ASA, maintainence
I would like to start off by saying that all newer high end markers are fast, accurate, and light weight and should not be counted as "pros" for the marker, that's expected.

Since the major steps taken in 2009 for the new NXT Shocker from smart parts, the shocker in my opinion is the best bang for your buck. The new '09 shocker comes stock with a clamping feedneck and a tournament grade board which is where most of the complaints about Shockers used to stem from. With the new price drop to $500 It's hard to go wrong.

I have owned SFT shockers in the past and my NXT shocker for 2 years and have never had a single failure at the field. The shocker takes a little more maintenance than some other markers because it is a spool valve marker and requires consistent lubrication. 90% of all Shocker problems I've seen are from little or no maintenance. The Shockers internals are simple to remove and can be taken out, cleaned, lubed and reassembled in under 2 minutes. If you clean and lube your Shocker after each day of play you will have little if any problems, but this goes with pretty much all markers.

The only notable "con" I see to the marker is the on/off ASA which is not truly on/off. The on/off does NOT depressurize the marker or release the pressure as you screw your tank in and out. I have found that my crossfire tank is very difficult to screw in and out once the gun is pressurized after threading it about half way in. I recommend changing this ASA to a true on/off from and aftermarket company like CP or New Designz because you will destroy o-rings and eventually begin to strip your tank threads.

The new '09 Shockers come with a clamping feedneck installed but if you have an '07 or '08 just take the stock feedneck off and throw it in the garbage. Buy a clamping feedneck, q-lock I believe is made by smart parts; they work great and you can likely get one to match the color of your marker, otherwise go with black (black matches everything).

The trigger is fairly light and easy to walk and has a spring return unlike the SFT shockers with the magnetic returns. This causes the trigger to have a stiffer, snappier feel that still feels smooth (of course it can be adjusted). I have had a little trouble walking the trigger if my fingers are coming back slightly angled because the trigger is thick and it sometimes has a slight hang on the side of the trigger frame. This does not affect my ability to shoot only that I have noticed it when I'm in a awkward position and my fingers are not hitting the trigger directly.

The board is simple to adjust but the grip frame must be opened to adjust the settings. Go to Smartparts.com and download the NXT Shocker user manual to read how to adjust the board.

The All American (AA) barrel in my opinion is tournament quality. I spent hundreds of dollars on freak kits, Evil pipes kits, pepper stickz kits, ect... and I have not notice any performance difference. Of course I live in Florida and the temperature is pretty consistent so if it's cold where you live you may consider on of these kits. The bore for the AA barrel is a standard .689 which performs just as well as any Freak barrel or other expensive barrel that I I've used. The stock barrel is the barrel I use at all my tournaments.

Air efficiency is good. I get about 700 shots from a 45ci tank with a 4000psi fill, about 900 shots from a 68ci with a 3000 fill and about 1300 shots from a 68 ci with a 4000psi fill. These number are good considering it's a spool valve marker and not a poppet system like an ego or fusion.

Over all the gun is very comfortable to hold, the new style grips cover the metal frame all the way around the front for a firm grip even with a little paint splatter on them. The marker feels and shoots as well as any $1000+ marker with virtually no kick, more like a slight vibration. If you buy this marker you won't be disappointed. The ASA is the only draw back I can think of but when compared to the competition and its $500 price tag it's hard not to give the NXT shocker a 10 of 10.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.7/5 stars.
Smart Parts Shocker NXT i bought one of the first nxts made and have had a couple since then. all of them have given me problems. if its not the gun chopping every other ball, its the bolt sticking due to it not been...
Report this review to a moderator   #17596
AdReNaLiN jUnKeE
Playoffs??? PLAYOFFS!!??
AdReNaLiN jUnKeE's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: CT
AdReNaLiN jUnKeE is a Supporting Member
AdReNaLiN jUnKeE has been a member for 10 years
AdReNaLiN jUnKeE plays in the PSP
AdReNaLiN jUnKeE is one of the top 250 posters on PbNation
AdReNaLiN jUnKeE is Boss
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $550.00
Pros: light, small
Cons: unreliable, heavy maintenance
i bought one of the first nxts made and have had a couple since then. all of them have given me problems. if its not the gun chopping every other ball, its the bolt sticking due to it not been slathered in lube or some phantom leak. now there are certainly ones out there that are fine, ive seen them myself. but personally i have never had much luck with shockers. they shoot straight and very flat and are kinda quick, but the maintenance is just too much for me to consider the gun a viable option. give them a shot, you can get one for right around 200 now, but just understand they are finicky
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.4/5 stars.
Smart Parts Shocker NXT Well I recived an NXT in a trade as stated before and Ive had experience with shockers for many years now so I whats what. Out of the package- I was impressed with the gun's comfort as it was a big...
Report this review to a moderator   #88
K-9
name's ryon. hi
K-9's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: khm
K-9 has been a member for 10 years
K-9 plays in the PSP
K-9 donated to help Peyton Trent
K-9 supports DLX Technology
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $475.00
Pros: Solid marker out of the box
Cons: Board lacks tuning
Well I recived an NXT in a trade as stated before and Ive had experience with shockers for many years now so I whats what.

Out of the package-
I was impressed with the gun's comfort as it was a big step up from the SFT's stock frame 3 years before.
It uses Impulse threads now opposed to the SFT's original Shocker threads.
Feedneck is not impressive at all. Similar to the ION's stock feedneck as it uses orings to hold the loader in place
Comes stock with a SP All American
Comes stock with an HE bolt

Out of the box replacement and what to buy:
Remember this is what I reccomend here.
1. ASA- SP's ASA lacks in the bleed department and over time metal shaving from the threads develop. If you dont want a new ASA, just unscrew the tank while shooting
2. Feedneck- You most likely want a clamping, not a oring holder.
3. Board- Adds more tuning options and can help fine tune settings.
*****Always buy an oring kit!!!!!

Overall:
I was satisfied with my NXT as the vision was spot on, the anno and metal was greatly improved, comes stock with an HE bolt kit, smooth shooting marker.
A- here
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.1/5 stars.
Smart Parts Shocker NXT Very Reliable just clean it and shoot. I have a 07 NXT and I have had it for 2 years. In 2 years I have only changed the 9 volt twice. I was cleaning it after every use but I noticed that the...
Report this review to a moderator   #5442
hawk_nh
 
hawk_nh's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NH
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $450.00
Pros: Reliable, High end
Cons: Feedneck, ASA
Very Reliable just clean it and shoot. I have a 07 NXT and I have had it for 2 years. In 2 years I have only changed the 9 volt twice. I was cleaning it after every use but I noticed that the Shocker lube was still pink so now I clean it every 3 times unless I shoot a Tourney. You have to change feedneck, It is weak and does not grab Hopper good enough. The ASA you can deal with but you will notice metal chips on the threads after screwing and unscrewing often. As far as the poor effiectantcy rumors.... You can adjust this under the grips by the battery.
To adjust: Take off grips, air marker up, turn marker on, push the lower button rapidly then pull trigger (dry fire)., listen to the sound, keep adjusting until you are at the lowest possible setting with a regular sounding shot (bump up a few more than you think is right). Now it is using the least amount of air as possible, Now I said to bump up a little extra because when the air level in your tank lowers your marker will not be able to shoot at fulll speed.
FIRE PROOF!!
I had a house fire and my NXT was in the closet next to the fuse panel which was the cause of the fire. My wife threw a pot of water on the gun and panel (**DUMB**) when my neighbor came over to help her he used the fire extinguisher to put the fire out (**SMART**). Well now my NXT has been exposed to high heat, 2+ gallons of water and a Fire Extinguisher. I took marker apart compleatly washed every thing with WD-40, lubed every thing back up changed batter (1st time). It it works as good as new.

over all A++ due to being inexpensive and very reliable. You will be shooting your marker while your friend is Teching his!!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Smart Parts Shocker NXT Out of the box the nxt is not that great of a marker, but with a few simple upgrades, it can preform as well as anyone needs. Sure I doesn't have all the bells and wistles, but for a semi serious...
Report this review to a moderator   #3076
LittleMan41
 
LittleMan41's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Louisiana
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $500.00
Pros: Light and compact, effortless speed
Cons: unefficant, a little kick, poor stock parts
Out of the box the nxt is not that great of a marker, but with a few simple upgrades, it can preform as well as anyone needs. Sure I doesn't have all the bells and wistles, but for a semi serious touny player, it is all you need. The first upgrades that is almost required is a new feedneck and an asa. The stock feedneck is not a clamping feedneck and the asa will strip out the tanks threads in a few weaks. A qlock and a cp asa will do the job perfect. The next upgrade i would recomend getting is a new board, but that is just my lazyness because i hate opening the grips. I would then recomend getting a nox bolt. The stock HE bolt is ok but the NOX almost eliminates kick and adds great efficency. What i like about the nxt is that it comes with the all american so if you want the freak, you can just buy the back. The last upgrade i would recomend is a new reg. The stock one is a good reg, but if you are looking for that extra edge, then a cp or a aka will be perfect.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Smart Parts Shocker NXT The shocker is a great gun. SP doesn't get as much credit for some of their guns and it's sad. I got this gun in a trade and I would say it was worth it. The first day I got the gun, I took it out...
Report this review to a moderator   #690
ipodpeter35
Jizzed in My Pants
ipodpeter35's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Washington (the state)
ipodpeter35 helped look for balloons
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $490.00
Pros: light, fast, good looking, HE bolt
Cons: Board sucks, feedneck
The shocker is a great gun. SP doesn't get as much credit for some of their guns and it's sad. I got this gun in a trade and I would say it was worth it.

The first day I got the gun, I took it out of the box and inspected it. The anno is good and I like the sleek lines. It's also a pretty light gun. Not the lightest but definately not heavy. I aired it up and started to shoot. The stock frame is much better than the old SFT. It doesn't have the same bulky feel and has a bigger trigger guard. The shocker is also fast. I put it on rebound to see what it could do and it didn't dissapoint. The stock on/off does its job but a new one wouldn't hurt.

The efficiency of the gun is good but not the best. I've never really had problems with it but I would call efficiency okay. The gun is also very smooth and just feels good in my hands.

One of the cons of the gun is the board. Let's face it, the stock board sucks. You can hardly to much with it and you need a table just to find out your ROF. It's basically the stock nerve board from 3 years ago. The stock feedneck also leaves something to be desired.

Another important aspect of a marker is maintenance. Most people ***** about how shockers are tough to maintain. These people have no idea what they're doing. The breakdown and lubing of the bolt takes a whopping 5 minutes if you take it all apart. The frame can be taken apart in 2 and the rest of the gun in 5. That's less than 15 minutes to COMPLETELY tear your marker down which rarely needs to be done.

Overall the NXT is a great marker for the money. It's fast, smooth as silk, sexy, small, light, and upgradable. If only smart parts got more respect the shocker would as well.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.6/5 stars.
Smart Parts Shocker NXT i love my shocker. it is very fast. the all american barrel as makes it very accurate and is a nice stock part. People complain about the board but im ok with it. the anno is nice and tuff. the gun...
Report this review to a moderator   #3689
dangerouspower76
 
dangerouspower76's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2008
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $450.00
Pros: fast,accurate,
Cons: sp was cheap in some places
i love my shocker. it is very fast. the all american barrel as makes it very accurate and is a nice stock part. People complain about the board but im ok with it. the anno is nice and tuff. the gun has like no kick at least none that i can feel. its not the lightest but definitley not the heaviest either. my only complaints about this gun is the crappy feedneck. i mean come one SP. u put a q lock on the eos and not ur more expensive shocker. and also the asa will strip ur tank threads cuse it dosnt have a bleed feature to release the pressure on your tank threads. so anyways i highly recomend this gun to everybody.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.5/5 stars.
Smart Parts Shocker NXT For it's price, the NXT is not a bad a gun at all. Despite the poor Smart Parts reputation, I would not say it's a crappy marker at all. Speed - It isn't the fastest of the high end market, but...
Report this review to a moderator   #875
touchdown235
 
touchdown235's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Virginia
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $300.00
Pros: Quiet, inexpensive, low kick
Cons: inefficient, poor reg consistency
For it's price, the NXT is not a bad a gun at all. Despite the poor Smart Parts reputation, I would not say it's a crappy marker at all.

Speed - It isn't the fastest of the high end market, but it's doubtful you will be able to outshoot it.

Efficiency - This is one of the gun's biggest weaknesses; my NXT was very inefficient, under 1000 shots to a 68/45

Looks/weight - I personally think NXTs look pretty nice. It's not too heavy either.

Kick - My NXT had a bit more kick than most other spool valves; even a bit more than my A1. Still, it had relatively low kick, and far less than an Ego.

Noise - It was very quiet, though not as quiet as a DM

Reliability - When I had mine, it never really broke. I had some o-ring related leaks, but they were generally fixed by re-lubing. I gave it 4 stars there because of it's o-rings and how often you need to re-lube and change them.

Value - The NXT is a good value, with overall high end performance at a reasonable price.

Chopping - Mine wasn't necessarily a blender, but it did chop more than my A1.

Overall Good: Low Price, pretty quiet, nice looking

Overall Bad: Inefficient, lame stock reg,
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.2/5 stars.
Add New Review