Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Did you know?
PbNation has an awesome Paintball Field & Store finder. You can check out Midway Paintball Facility's listing and find more fields nearby by clicking here.
Midway Paintball Facility Information
Field Information Field Description Edit
Midway Paintball Facility
4901 Midway Road
Vacaville, CA 95688

Phone: (707) 399-9400
NPPL airball field w/turf. PSP regulation field with on field air station. "Western" concept field. Hyperball field.
Year Established: Unknown
Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.6/5 stars.
Reviews: 28
Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  68%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  25%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  7%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  0%
Favorite
Revise Weather Discuss
Link:
Field Features
Paint CO2 Compressed Air
Wooded Fields Concept Fields Hyperball Fields
Airball Fields Indoor Fields Marker Rentals
Drinks Available Flush Toilets Accepts Credit Cards
Midway Paintball Facility Reviews
Midway Paintball Facility I have played at Midway for going on 6 years now. Many people have their own feelings about the place but I will continue to come here year after year. There are fields for everyone, speedballer or...
Report this review to a moderator   #37961
Bloodlust1279
 
Bloodlust1279's avatar
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Disco Bay, CA
Bloodlust1279 plays in the PSP
Bloodlust1279 plays in the APPA D4 division
Bloodlust1279 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Played here: 6+ times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Great Customer Service, Safety Enthusiast
Cons: No food
I have played at Midway for going on 6 years now. Many people have their own feelings about the place but I will continue to come here year after year. There are fields for everyone, speedballer or rec player. The field caters to beginner players with rental groups being divided by skill level. Staff is more than willing to help and are extremely focused on safety to ensure everyone has a good day.

Don't be afraid to give this place a try, you'll regret it if you don't
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Midway Paintball Facility This field is a very welcoming and loving field. Holli and Aaron (owners) are wonderful people. Much love, R.I.P. Midway All-Stars
Report this review to a moderator   #13229
DyeBalla182
DLX Sales Representative
DyeBalla182's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: |Bay Area, CA|
DyeBalla182 supports Bob Gurnsey
DyeBalla182 supports our troops
DyeBalla182 is one of the top 1000 posters on PbNation
DyeBalla182 is Legendary
DyeBalla182 is Boss
DyeBalla182 supports DLX Technology
Played here: 6+ times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Everything.
Cons: None.
This field is a very welcoming and loving field. Holli and Aaron (owners) are wonderful people. Much love, R.I.P. Midway All-Stars
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Midway Paintball Facility As a disclaimer and note, the Santa Clara University Paintball team is sponsored by California Paintball Supply and Midway. So we work closely with Aaron and Holli Smith, owners of CPS and Midway. ...
Report this review to a moderator   #7240
El General
 
El General's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: A dorm
El General donated to help Peyton Trent
El General owns a Planet Eclipse Etek
Played here: 6+ times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: See Below
Cons: See Below
As a disclaimer and note, the Santa Clara University Paintball team is sponsored by California Paintball Supply and Midway. So we work closely with Aaron and Holli Smith, owners of CPS and Midway. Perhaps there's a bias but at least I'm speaking from personal experience rather than hearsay.

Pros:

- Fields cater to both tournament and recreational players. Midway has four fields at the time of this review. One NPPL, one PSP, a Western and a hyperball field. Tourney players will enjoy the NPPL field which has turf and the PSP field has grass. Recreational players can play on all fields and have fun.

- Good rental gear. For those who are into playing with rentals, Midway has lots of Tippmann 98c's and chest protectors. Masks are the typical rental ones but well maintained from what I've seen.

- Great staff. The owners, Aaron and Holli Smith, are great people who work hard to make the field and sport enjoyable. The referees are fair and not at all abusive of their power.

- The field plays host to the NorCal Paintball Series (NCPS) so you know that there'll be a number of local teams who play there regularly. Most of these guys are friendly and more than willing to help anyone who has questions. It also means that these fields are well maintained. My teammates and I have helped work on the fields. They're always getting better.

Cons:

- Being in Vacaville, Midway is a long drive for my team. About an hour or so. But it's a solid field and well worth it for us. Perhaps it's also worth the drive for you if you're closer. But maybe not if you're further than an hour or so away. Nonetheless, if you're in the area on the weekend, drop by Midway for some excellent paintball experiences.

Other thoughts:

There are a lot of people who criticize either the field or the owners. I do not know what they base their allegations on. Our team has been working with them for years and it has been an excellent relationship.

Since the owners acquired the field in 2008, they have been working on improving the field.

Midway is undergoing a transitional phase as it slowly (but steadily) improves and changes to match the owners' vision. For now, what has been done is to improve the existing facilities. Midway has improved leaps and bounds from the time when Aaron and Holli took over. I am sure that in a few years, Midway will have advanced even farther.

Feb 2011 Notes:
The PSP grass field is a great improvement to the field and the addition of a pitting area has been a great boon. Ask anyone who participated in the recent Scrim Wars. A great field for both rentals AND tournament players.

Parking has been expanded far beyond the original lot. Lastly, Aaron and Holli have bought a lot of turf to (1) returf the NPPL field and (2) to make a second PSP sized field.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Midway Paintball Facility I've played here twice and both times I've had a very good experience. The first time I went it was a little busy and there were a couple of teams that were practicing. It took a little while...
Report this review to a moderator   #41839
Lucero
I Shoot People
Lucero's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: East Bay Area, CA
Lucero owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Lucero plays in the APPA D5 division
Lucero has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Played here: 2-5 times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Staff, Staging Area, Fields, Community
Cons: Can be slow to get games
I've played here twice and both times I've had a very good experience.

The first time I went it was a little busy and there were a couple of teams that were practicing. It took a little while getting games due to their group system that they were using and when I would finally get in a game I would usually get shot out some what fast because I was going against some of the more advanced players. The refs realized this was happening with a few players and were quick to make a new group for me and some other players. After that I ended up having much more fun, was getting more games, and actually winning some.

The staff here is super nice and really cool to talk to.
There were a couple groups of younger kids and there was one kid who was a little scared and didn't want to participate. Soon one of the refs came over and talked to the kid for quite a while, explaining the guns that they will be using, reassuring him that it wouldn't hurt bad at all, running over all the basics, and even offering the kid the option to just go out and shoot the gun and see if he likes it. The kid eventually agreed. I was sitting at the table next to their group and I could tell for the rest of the day the kid had a blast.

The fields seem very well taken care of. Not really much to say here. All the bunkers look to be in good condition and I believe they wash them off twice a day, (at lunch break and at the end of the day.)

Not much to say about my second day.
It was much slower and my buddy and I showed up just for the last couple hours of the day. The refs let us have an unused field to our selves so that we can practice some 1v1's, snap battles, and a couple misc drills.

The community here is awesome! Everyone is really nice, you can feel comfortable asking questions when you need to, and it's really easy to make friends here.

The only reason Fun/ experience didn't get a 5 star is because of how it can commonly be slow getting games.
This goes the same for value, the admission price is fine, its just you could probably get more games for the money other places.

Over all this is an awesome field and I know that this will be my field of choice for years to come.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Midway Paintball Facility Midway Paintball facilty has changed hands quite a few times in recent years, but the current owners, Aaron and Holli, are by far the best. Their customer service is bar-none in the North Bay. The...
Report this review to a moderator   #27078
o5pr3y
Watch out for Snakes!!
o5pr3y's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Vallejo, CA
o5pr3y plays in the PSP
o5pr3y plays in the APPA D4 division
o5pr3y has achieved Level 6 in PbNation Pursuit
o5pr3y is Legendary
o5pr3y is Boss
Played here: 6+ times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Great variety of fields, Great customer service
Cons: tends to get muddy and stay that way
Midway Paintball facilty has changed hands quite a few times in recent years, but the current owners, Aaron and Holli, are by far the best. Their customer service is bar-none in the North Bay. The staff will go out of their way to help in any issues you're having, and cater heavily to the new players who are here to grow our sport.

They have gear, food, and drinks for sale at fair prices, and they have self fill air stations set at 3,000 and 4,500psi.

The fields vary pretty well. From current PSP and NPPL layouts, Hyperball, and a huge field with hills and bases.

The NPPL field is currently turfed extremely well, so expect to dive and slide without effort. The PSP Field is on some very well maintained grass, but usually only set up for certain events, such as their popular Scrim Wars.

Their Hyperball field is one of the old fields left from the original owners. Decent in size, the layout has no need to change, as it's large center 50 or 2 snakes will excite any player. This field tends to get soaked in mud and puddles, so make sure to play here when it's been dry!

Arena is a newer field, and it set up as the classic junkyard speedbal court. Filled with barrels, boxes and crates. AANother victim of the weather, this place can get soggy and muddy, but still playable.

Battlefield is a great addition to the facility. It's an extra large wide trench warefare style field. One side has 2 large bases while the other has Tanks and tank jacks to hide behind. Making use of trenches and natural cover in it's low hills is the only way to advance on the 2 bases.

Western. A classic that has survived through all the Midway owners, and a staple to the players. As the name implies, Western is a large field, with 2 rows of house on each side, and 3 large buildings at certain intervals. Has a certain urban warfare charm to it that everyone loves.

Midway is usually fairly populated with a mix of players. On a couple times, I've been 1 of 4-5 other speedballers and was allowed to play with teh new kids, so long as I took it easy on them.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Midway Paintball Facility Midway paintball has become a home field for me. I used to play out at Antioch paintball park all the time back in 2008 before they got their new turf so I don't know how it looks now. Anyway,Midway...
Report this review to a moderator   #41770
riceboy927
Balling Since 08
riceboy927's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: San Francisco
riceboy927 owns a Planet Eclipse Lv1
riceboy927 plays in the APPA D5 division
riceboy927 supports Empire
Played here: Once
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Great people, great atmosphere/fields
Cons: Sometimes getting in games can take a little long.
Midway paintball has become a home field for me. I used to play out at Antioch paintball park all the time back in 2008 before they got their new turf so I don't know how it looks now. Anyway,Midway is a great little spot with A full NPPL field and an X ball field. Also are some hyper-ball fields and such. I love the park because of the people that go there, everyone is super friendly including the refs. Along with that the people that go there are all chill guys. in addition the local pro shop owner and techs are always around so if you have issues or need some help they usually are there to lend a hand.

The only thing about this field that sometimes sucks is getting games going. They usually are really good about it but because of the group idea (white group, blue group) sometimes it can take a little long to get a game near the end of the day.

Regardless the people will always have me coming back.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Midway Paintball Facility I'm not a huge fan of this field, the facilities are fairly small. I never really go here because there is a better field just down the road IMO
Report this review to a moderator   #12827
snkp360
ERMAHGERD
snkp360's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Napa, CA
snkp360 plays in the PSP
snkp360 supports Team VICIOUS
snkp360 supports Team VICIOUS
Played here: 2-5 times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: 4.5k Fills
Cons:
I'm not a huge fan of this field, the facilities are fairly small. I never really go here because there is a better field just down the road IMO
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Midway Paintball Facility
Report this review to a moderator   #38995
paintballer777
B Madison
paintballer777's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Northern California
paintballer777 donated to help Peyton Trent
paintballer777 is playing at Living Legends III
paintballer777 supports Team VICIOUS
paintballer777 posts videos on PbNation
Played here: Once
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Nice setup
Cons: distance
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Midway Paintball Facility This field is great. It is well maintained, the staff and owners are one of the friendliest. The refs care and seem like they love what theyre doing. They are helpful and their prices are fair. The...
Report this review to a moderator   #32017
510waffles
Call Me Maybe
510waffles's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: San Luis Obispo,CA
510waffles owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
510waffles owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
510waffles has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
510waffles supports DLX Technology
Played here: Once
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Very nice field, Very well maintained.
Cons: Air station cant keep up with traffic.
This field is great. It is well maintained, the staff and owners are one of the friendliest. The refs care and seem like they love what theyre doing. They are helpful and their prices are fair. The skill level of the players that come here beginners and all the way up to D1, so whoever you are, youll find someone to play with. They have an intercom system for a small field, which is great and makes things run smoothly. Their prices for drinks are reasonable. The only gripe that i have is that the whole day, the compressors only took the fill station to 2.8k even though they have 4.5k and 3k fill stations.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Midway Paintball Facility I have been going here for years and never have gotten bored. The refs there are great people and are always fair. The facility is good for beginners to intermediates but some advanced will enjoy. As...
Report this review to a moderator   #49345
anothercleverusernam
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Played here: Once
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Great refs and decent fields
Cons: no wooded fields
I have been going here for years and never have gotten bored. The refs there are great people and are always fair. The facility is good for beginners to intermediates but some advanced will enjoy. As a large woodsball player I have always been dissapointed by the lack of trees at midway.


Would highly recommend to a first time player.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review