Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Did you know?
PbNation has an awesome Paintball Field & Store finder. You can check out Whil's Paintball's listing and find more fields nearby by clicking here.
Whil's Paintball Information
Field & Store Information Field & Store Description Edit
Whil's Paintball
8984 Normandy Blvd.
Jacksonville, FL 32218

Phone: (904) 651-7520
Year Established: Unknown
Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Reviews: 8
Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  50%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  38%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  13%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  0%
Favorite
Revise Weather Discuss
Link:
Field & Store Features
Paint CO2 Compressed Air
Wooded Fields Concept Fields Hyperball Fields
Airball Fields Indoor Fields Marker Rentals
Drinks Available Flush Toilets Accepts Credit Cards
Whil's Paintball Reviews
Whil's Paintball Just played Whils for the first time Saturday, it was really fun. While my friend and I were the only ones there that didn't have rental gear we still had fun. The fields could use some...
Report this review to a moderator   #46169
vanilla_nick
 
vanilla_nick's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2007
Played here: Once
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Great staff, reasonably priced, great atmosphere
Cons: Fields could be improved
Just played Whils for the first time Saturday, it was really fun. While my friend and I were the only ones there that didn't have rental gear we still had fun.

The fields could use some improvement, but that's to be expected when you've only been open for eight months. Besides the airball, which took half the day to get set up, there is only one other field. It's a speedball/scenario hybrid field with buildings and bunkers that we played on most of the day, the ground has some obstructions that you need to be aware of, the field is set up kind of awkwardly also; one side has a clear advantage into the snake while the other has some wooded protection and better bunkers.

The crowd was OK, about 35 newbies and recballers came and went througout the day. Made for easy practice for someone getting back into the sport but it would be nice to see some better competition, they say their D4 and D5 teams practice on Sundays, I'll hopefully be checking that out within the next few weeks.

Overall, Whils seems like a great addition to the Jax Paintball scene, once they get another field or two set up and more of a following it will most likely be my go to field.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Whil's Paintball Great play built by a player for the players
Report this review to a moderator   #45713
chrisk2010
I AM THAT KID CHRIS
chrisk2010's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: JAX FL
chrisk2010 is reppin' sidebar 4 life
chrisk2010 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
chrisk2010 has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
chrisk2010 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Played here: Once
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: great place good players
Cons: no cons
Great play built by a player for the players
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Whil's Paintball Whil runs a great field, it has come a long way in the short time it has been open and it is always improving. He has a new Supair field, along with the 2014 bunker update. He also has one other...
Report this review to a moderator   #44794
sticky bandit
Jesse
sticky bandit's avatar
Join Date: May 2006
Location: 904
sticky bandit plays in the PSP
sticky bandit plays in the APPA D4 division
Played here: 6+ times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Recommend to others: No
Pros: Players, Whil, Location, Value, Bunkers
Cons: Air could be better
Whil runs a great field, it has come a long way in the short time it has been open and it is always improving. He has a new Supair field, along with the 2014 bunker update. He also has one other concept course with buildings, barrels and sandbag bunkers, with plans to expand into a 3rd course. The recreational crowd has more then sufficient numbers on Saturdays and if you want to start playing more competitively Whil's field can accommodate. He has a solid group of speedballers, some even traveling from Georgia.

I only gave 4 stars for "Quality of fields" because the grass on the airball field is new, give it a year and i think it will fill out.

Also the only other con i can think of is even though the capability is there to fill air tanks above 3000 psi most of the time it is regulated to 3000 because of the renters. If he could get a separate air station for the speedball crowd with more psi the field would be perfect.

I've been playing paintball for a decade and i can confidently say Whil's field is my favorite field all around.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Whil's Paintball So my wife, a friend and myself decided to go to Whils Paintball yesterday (07/20/2014). We usually play paintball over at Paintball Adventures speedball location. But figured it was time to give...
Report this review to a moderator   #49657
majorpayne36991
 
majorpayne36991's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2008
majorpayne36991 owns a Planet Eclipse Etek
majorpayne36991 plays in the APPA beginner division
majorpayne36991 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
majorpayne36991 has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Played here: Once
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 2.5/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Recommend to others: No
Pros: Customer Service, Fair Prices
Cons: Most everything else
So my wife, a friend and myself decided to go to Whils Paintball yesterday (07/20/2014). We usually play paintball over at Paintball Adventures speedball location. But figured it was time to give Whils a shot. I WILL NEVER GO THERE AGAIN TO HAVE A FRIENDLY GAME OF SPEEDBALL. Now here is why.
I have been playing paintball for about 12 years and I have played at many locations. This is without a doubt the worst field I have ever experienced in my life. Lets start off with safety. The net they use for their Speedball field IS NOT certified paintball netting. I am not sure what exactly they are using, but it is not the netting a paintball field is supposed to use. My wife was sitting next to our car putting her gear together (we hadnt even played yet mind you) and a paintball flies through the net and missed her eye by inches hitting the tail light of our car. Next there is NO REF watching people chrono their markers. The three of us went to chrono and we could have easily put our markers to 350FPS and played like that because the refs dont watch and arent around for the chronograph of a players marker. There should always be at least one refereee watching this happen to ensure players markers are shooting at reasonable speed. Another thing, I dont know for sure how long he keeps his paint stored, how he keeps it stored, or where he keeps it stored. But whatever it is, its not the right way. My group paid for the low grade paint, so its expected to have a decent amount of dimpled paint or hard paint. But the group next to us paid the extra money ($55) for the G.I. Sports 3 star paint (little much for 3 star but whatever). The three star paint was HARDER and way more dimpled than the practice paint that my group was using. I watched a player take a three star paintball on and kick it in the air with steel toed boots and all it did was dimple it more, real safe guys.
Ok so now lets talk about the gameplay. I understand the people get shot close when playing competitively, we have the term bunkering for a reason. I also understand that some teams take the game seriously in practice, just like they would in a tournament. You fight like you train right? But there is absolutely no reason as to why I was shot from the 50 Dorito to D1 (First Dorito on my side of the field, cant rememer how many doritos there were) and it putting a hole in my shirt and literally peeling the flesh off of my finger. If anyone wants pictures, message me and I will be happy to show you. On top of that as I raised my marker in the air to signify that I was out, I had 2 other players converge on me at the same time and proceed to shoot at me until I literally ran off the field. I understand that players get overshot sometimes and I understand that players sometimes get a few extra shots on them because they didnt leave the field quick enough. Thats perfectly fine, especially in a tournament. But in a practice where other players are just looking for a friendly game of speedball, that is completely unacceptable. I would even understand a little more if I had showed up with my entire team looking for a team to challenge. But no, it was just my wife, my buddy, and myself playing a couple other pepole we had never met before.
Before some of you ask, I did bring ALL of this up to the field owner before I left. (I left 45 minutes after being there and playing all of two games). As soon as I brought up my issues, he seemed to know exactly who overshot me at a much higher velocity than 300 FPS. That tells me that this has happened more than once. Which again is unacceptable. The field owner did go over to his group and inform them that some players had issues, but this led into all 5-7 of his players just yelling at me telling that I was being too unresonable and that this kind of things happens in every paintball event. Well no it doesnt, like I said, I have been playing for 12 years and I have never had an experience this bad anywhere!
Again I WILL NEVER GO BACK.............TO HAVE A FRIENDLY GAME OF SPEEDBALL!
I do however have one positive thing to say about this field. If you are new to paintball or are only interested in playing recball, then by all means go and have fun. The recball group that was there yesterday looked like they were having a blast and the prices arent ridiculous.
If you have questions or would like for me to explain more, feel free to message me.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Whil's Paintball Showed up at this field without knowing anyone several months back and now the place is like home. The owner is an awesome guy, the players are there to learn and have a blast. It's great to get back...
Report this review to a moderator   #49513
McMaster270
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Played here: Once
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: cheap paint prices, amazing customer service
Cons: Florida Heat!
Showed up at this field without knowing anyone several months back and now the place is like home. The owner is an awesome guy, the players are there to learn and have a blast. It's great to get back into the sport and I feel like I got back in at the perfect field.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Whil's Paintball I've been playing at Whil's for almost a year now and when I started going there i had never stepped foot on a speedball field. Within a few weeks of going there Whil spoke to me and asked if me and...
Report this review to a moderator   #52201
bmxerdude813
 
bmxerdude813's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Jacksonville, FL
bmxerdude813 owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
bmxerdude813 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
bmxerdude813 has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
bmxerdude813 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Played here: 6+ times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: customer service, prices, location
Cons: Only two fields
I've been playing at Whil's for almost a year now and when I started going there i had never stepped foot on a speedball field. Within a few weeks of going there Whil spoke to me and asked if me and one of my friends would like to join the team and the rest is history. There are a bunch of good people there all weekend. Tons of recballers are there all the time because of it's location. the other fields in jacksonville are at least 45 minutes away depending on where you live! We get fresh paint every week and have teams from all over north and central florida and even Georgia come to scrimmage us. So there is tons of fun to be had. The prices simply cannot be beat. My only complaint is there is only two fields. a speedball and a recball course and while both fields are extremely fun some variety would be nice. Since i primarily play speedball this isn't an issue for me though. The air conditioned lounge and store is incredible and every weekend there is a PSP tournament it is played in the lounge at no cost to the viewers! There is running water and a flushable toilet as well! Incredible field, great group of guys, I love this place!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Whil's Paintball Great place to go play paintball, whether it be rec-ball or speedball. Teams to practice with and lots of fun. Grass on the speedball field could be better, but that is it. Play here nearly every...
Report this review to a moderator   #52513
CronicKilla
J.R.
CronicKilla's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Jax,FL
CronicKilla owns a Planet Eclipse Lv1
CronicKilla has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
CronicKilla supports Empire
Played here: 6+ times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Fields, service, price
Cons: Grass
Great place to go play paintball, whether it be rec-ball or speedball. Teams to practice with and lots of fun. Grass on the speedball field could be better, but that is it. Play here nearly every other weekend and have tons of fun doing so.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Whil's Paintball I introduced my wife to paintball at Whil's, having never played here before. I assumed it was like any field where there is 15-30 minutes between games, choosing teams is a mess, etc. We played on...
Report this review to a moderator   #53426
seemlessstate
Resident Beekeeper
seemlessstate's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Flahridah
seemlessstate has been a member for 10 years
seemlessstate owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
seemlessstate has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
seemlessstate has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Played here: 2-5 times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Recommend to others: No
Pros: Cust Service, Prices, great refs, rapid points
Cons: grass is getting a little beat up.
I introduced my wife to paintball at Whil's, having never played here before. I assumed it was like any field where there is 15-30 minutes between games, choosing teams is a mess, etc. We played on their one year anniversary and were served a really good lunch.

The field as a whole is easily the best field on the east coast of Florida. I live in West palm and would almost rather drive the 5 hours to play Whil's than the 15 to my home field.

1. The refs and employees are super welcoming, very friendly, love paintball, and have become friends that we look forward to playing with.

2. The games come rapid fire. At many other fields I have played in FL, the refs are lazy and way too much time goes between points. The refs at Whil's organize well, points are run back to back with opportunities to play teams, Whil's team, and a mix of other team players and more serious walk ons. its the best field I've ever played in that respect)

3. Prices-- Maybe its because I live in South Florida and everything is more expensive, because my home field paint in West Palm is $60 a case for white box GARBAGE, and $20 for field fee. At Whil's, paint is $45 for decent GI or Valken, $55 for high grade, and $15 for air/field.

4. Buzzer. Its a small thing, but not having to guess when to break is HUGE! I don't see any false starts.

5. The staging area is well shaded and comfortable with picnic tables and an easy walk next door to a clean convenience store stocked with drinks, food, bathrooms, an ATM etc.

6. Bunkers are new and not in constant need of maintenance.

7. Whil will personally fix your gun free of charge if you have any issues. He is very friendly, laid back, and helpful.

Bad: The grass is starting to get worn in places that get heavily played like the snake, D-side, Home Etc, But honestly, I'm not sure what can be done about that. Its hard to keep grass nice in Florida in a lawn, much less a high traffic athletic field. It's not like you can have new sod behind bunkers. Sliding on a mix of rough grass and sandy dirt isn't comfortable, and its more of a dive than a slide, but I've never been to a field that hasn't had this problem.

I'm not sure what the other reviewer talking about the netting. The netting is standard regular paintball netting. sure, bounces go over the net sometimes and land on your car, but there are no holes in the net at all. And yes, overshooting does happen. there are teams that are known in the area for this (we all know who they are) and today it happened to me, and pretty much everyone on Whils team. It sucks, but its hard to blame that on the field. It's more of a problem with the other team, and in my opinion Whil handled it well today. His team is young, has two kids, and yet they are mature, respectful, and thankful to be playing for Whil.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review