Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Did you know?
PbNation has an awesome Paintball Field & Store finder. You can check out Paintball Explosion Park's listing and find more fields nearby by clicking here.
Paintball Explosion Park Information
Field & Store Information Field & Store Description Edit
Paintball Explosion Park
601 Dundee Avenue
East Dundee, IL 60018

Phone: (847) 426-2662
Email: sean@paintballbomb.com
Website: http://www.pbbomb.com
Chicago's newest paintball park located at the former Santa's Village amusement park. Come play on Nuketown!
Year Established: Unknown
Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.6/5 stars.
Reviews: 116
Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  60%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  33%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  4%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  2%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  1%
Favorite
Revise Weather Discuss
Link:
Field & Store Features
Paint CO2 Compressed Air
Wooded Fields Concept Fields Hyperball Fields
Airball Fields Indoor Fields Marker Rentals
Drinks Available Flush Toilets Accepts Credit Cards
Paintball Explosion Park Reviews
Paintball Explosion Park I usually play here every week or two (airball only). The indoor field is pretty nice besides the fact they dont clean off the bunkers. Other than that I love the field.
Report this review to a moderator   #11179
mmosspb1234
snakesniper
mmosspb1234's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Northern Illinois
Played here: 6+ times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: nice airball fields
Cons: do not squeegee bunkers
I usually play here every week or two (airball only). The indoor field is pretty nice besides the fact they dont clean off the bunkers. Other than that I love the field.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Paintball Explosion Park I've been playing for nearly two years now and this has pretty much been my home field since then, of course I came here many years ago when it wasn't a paintball park. The whole facility used to be...
Report this review to a moderator   #37478
MooKids
 
MooKids's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Hoffman Estates, IL
MooKids has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
MooKids has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Played here: 6+ times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: variety of fields, customer service, drainage
Cons: nothing major
I've been playing for nearly two years now and this has pretty much been my home field since then, of course I came here many years ago when it wasn't a paintball park. The whole facility used to be Santa's Village, and I remember parts of it when I came here as a child, such as the old train and the arcade that is now the concession area. Now that Paintball Explosion has taken over half of it, it is like reliving a part of my childhood again, seeing the old attractions and buildings, but in a new way. PBE has incorporated a lot of it to create some very unique fields, such as Biohazard which uses many of the old structures from Santa's Village.

The big thing, that most people don't notice, is that the site has good drainage! Because it is a former amusement park, it was already built in. What that means is that there is little stagnant water mixed with old paint (have you smelled that combination? )

As for the fields, Vietnam gives a more woodsball feel with several small structures and vehicles to use for cover with a small creek around the edge that can be used, just don't go down there when it is slippery. This is more of an uphill/downhill game.

Turmoil is my favorite, lot of structures to use with the "saloon" route useful for attempting to sneak up on the other side. Good combination of pavement and grass.

Biohazard, as I mentioned, used a lot of the old Santa's Village buildings and is divided down the middle, giving two routes, the high ground on the grass with cars and small bunkers for cover and the low ground, with the old games building and bumper car house divided up to give more of a challenge. In my experience, it is shoot them in the back or get shot in the back .

The parking lot fields are typically better for smaller groups of players. World at War has a bunch of mini-buildings with cars giving lots of cover.

Mutiny, while it looks cool when you are driving by, is typically one-sided, as whoever controls the ship has an elevated position against the other side who has some cover. This field is better for big games and scenario events.

Code Black is also fairly balanced with some small bunkers surrounding a large central structure which is divided into 4 sections internally.

Shipyard has been closed and is being remade at this time.

There are also two airball fields, one outside which is smaller and the other inside at the old ice rink. Both are well maintained and cleaned daily. These two fields are also used for laser tag for those who want the experience.

Customer service is also good, the staff are friendly and helpful with your needs, especially the owners.

One good thing is that they divide the players into two groups, the beginners who are limited to semi-auto, good for first timers and kids, and an advanced group where full auto is allowed.

Not to mention a big thing for me is that it is only 10 minutes away from my home, so I can play in the morning before I go to work!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Paintball Explosion Park Indoor field is super nice, Bunkers and turf well maintained. The pro shop staff was very nice. Reffing could use a bit of work but that is the only negative!
Report this review to a moderator   #41935
MSmags011
Jester of Tortuga
MSmags011's avatar
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Southeast WI
MSmags011 is playing at Living Legends VII
MSmags011 supports Team VICIOUS
MSmags011 supports Empire
Played here: Once
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Field, bathrooms, equipment,
Cons: Reffing
Indoor field is super nice, Bunkers and turf well maintained. The pro shop staff was very nice. Reffing could use a bit of work but that is the only negative!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Paintball Explosion Park great place for tournys and pratice i would come back here again and again
Report this review to a moderator   #21098
nookshooks
nookshooks's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: MidWest
nookshooks plays in the PSP
nookshooks owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
nookshooks supports Team VICIOUS
Played here: Once
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: compitition
Cons: refs and orginzation
great place for tournys and pratice i would come back here again and again
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Paintball Explosion Park Love this Place!!! Great scenario fields (woods, buses, a town w/church n cars, helicopter, forts, lots of space, quick games, food&drinks onsite, locker rooms, indoor psp field, and where else can u...
Report this review to a moderator   #12858
NotoriousCheech
Mr.Cheech Army
NotoriousCheech's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Chicago, IL.
NotoriousCheech is playing at Living Legends III
NotoriousCheech is playing at Living Legends V
NotoriousCheech is playing at Living Legends VI
NotoriousCheech posts videos on PbNation
NotoriousCheech plays in the APPA D5 division
NotoriousCheech is attending Decay of Nations VI
Played here: 6+ times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Field was created by players and construction guys
Cons: gets cold in the winter
Love this Place!!! Great scenario fields (woods, buses, a town w/church n cars, helicopter, forts, lots of space, quick games, food&drinks onsite, locker rooms, indoor psp field, and where else can u run through an old amusement park and shoot it up???

No question...BEST PARK in Chicagoland...
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Paintball Explosion Park
Report this review to a moderator   #37325
OG_Killar
 
OG_Killar's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Schiller Park, IL
Played here: 6+ times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: great staff, fields
Cons: wait can ge long between games
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Paintball Explosion Park this field is great. they offer multiple grades of paint, up to dxs silver which is the standard. There are always good crowds from Thursday through Sunday every week usually. Its currently only...
Report this review to a moderator   #25732
paintballistheshiz
Leggo My Ego
paintballistheshiz's avatar
Join Date: May 2006
Location: chicago
paintballistheshiz owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
paintballistheshiz is for the Gunfight
paintballistheshiz has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
paintballistheshiz has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Played here: Once
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: great lighting. amazing venue, friendly staff
Cons: a bit pricey, but its good paint
this field is great. they offer multiple grades of paint, up to dxs silver which is the standard.

There are always good crowds from Thursday through Sunday every week usually.

Its currently only indoor and they have one speed ball field, but they do a great job at getting rotations going.

Good group of beginners as well as advanced players, and even some pro's!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Paintball Explosion Park Went over a bachelor party weekend. Was surprised to see it connected to an amusement park. Was a little sticker shocked with paint prices but $15 for entry with your own gear wasn't bad. Field...
Report this review to a moderator   #44281
pat17497
 
pat17497's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Columbus, IN
pat17497 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Played here: Once
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Tons of people, great fields
Cons: Paint prices, Regular players are jackasses
Went over a bachelor party weekend. Was surprised to see it connected to an amusement park. Was a little sticker shocked with paint prices but $15 for entry with your own gear wasn't bad. Field choices were some of the best I have ever seen. (didn't get to play Nuke Town, too icy ) Played 2 games on the woodsball fields than switched to airball inside. Games rotated quickly and there was a great balance of beginner player games to more advanced players.

I guess its not necessarily localized to this PBExplosion but it seemed like some of the regulars (speedball types) thought there **** smelled like roses. Not really blaming the field for that.

Overall a great place, if you are in the Chicagoland area go check this place out!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Paintball Explosion Park Cons: Took a party of 8 here. Was turned off right away when the rental package for $58 didn't include pods or a belt which was another $15. I own my own gear, but I brought 5 renters who've never...
Report this review to a moderator   #51609
PBGriff
 
PBGriff's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: North of Chicago
Played here: Once
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.3/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Recommend to others: No
Pros: Great style fields, indoor speedball
Cons: PRICES. REFS.
Cons:
Took a party of 8 here. Was turned off right away when the rental package for $58 didn't include pods or a belt which was another $15. I own my own gear, but I brought 5 renters who've never played before with me. $73 for gun/mask/tank/500 balls/2pods/belt is PRICY. Add-on $10-$15 on food drink, and you fly thru paint on these fields so another $25-35 on paint. $125-$140 paintball experience.

I didn't get chrono'd ONCE. None of us did. I noticed some of the regular's would nod that they got chrono'd and when the ref walked away, giggled about how they haven't been. That seemed a little weak.

Then we noticed the QUALITY of balls was TERRIBLE. Even 2 of the employees(One Ref, One Staff) told me that it's a "custom blend". They bounce like crazy and shoot like crap.

The ref's weren't great. They did do a good job making sure shot players got out safely, and would hit check when asked more then once, but LOTS of times my whole party noticed people getting shot and kept playing and ref's ignored initial hit check.

No woodsball fields. They have 1 that they calls woodsball, but it has about 30ft/30ft square of woods, the rest is a parking lot with a huge bus and cars etc. Still cool, but no woodsball.

PRO'S:
The staff at first entry was SOLID. Cashier went quick, a friend of mine bought a gun/hopper/tank for over $700 and they moved quick to assist him to make sure he could get out and use it.
I also couldn't get my JT lava lens to fit on my mask, and a staff member helped me out. I tipped him $2 for some gatorade.

Fields are pretty awesome. Definitely worth trying once as long as you know the $$ you'll be spending. $85 for a case of what seems to be empire 3 or 4 custom blend crap. They are kept up pretty well too.

I'm fairly new to my gun, and have never filled my own air before, and the staff member went nice and slow showing me how to do it. Super easy. Very friendly.

The flow of the field was nice, music playing but great reminders and announcements for open and beginner games. All staff stayed on masks and barrel covers.

A/C indoor speedball area. Nice to sit and watch, and cool off if it's a super hot day out.


Conclusion: It's expensive. I get why. But it's expensive. As long as you're comfortable with that beforehand, it can be fun. The fields are worth checking out once a year for sure. Otherwise I'd skip it.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Paintball Explosion Park first off paintball explosion is my favorite park by far. Their customer service is great and all the staff members are really nice. The fields are amazing the have a replica field of nuketown from...
Report this review to a moderator   #41055
pbxballer25
 
pbxballer25's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2013
pbxballer25 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
pbxballer25 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
pbxballer25 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
pbxballer25 is attending Decay of Nations VII
Played here: 6+ times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: big feilds great design nuketown fun
Cons: have to use their paint
first off paintball explosion is my favorite park by far. Their customer service is great and all the staff members are really nice. The fields are amazing the have a replica field of nuketown from the game call of duty and its really great. They also have many other fields including indoor speedball. One thing that I don't like is that you have to use their paint, it is high quality biodegradable valken paint but I think you should have the option of bring your own paint and most of the paints on the market are biodegradable these days. Over all I would highly recommend taking a trip to paintball explosion.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review