Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Did you know?
PbNation has an awesome Paintball Field & Store finder. You can check out Paintball Explosion Park's listing and find more fields nearby by clicking here.
Paintball Explosion Park Information
Field & Store Information Field & Store Description Edit
Paintball Explosion Park
601 Dundee Avenue
East Dundee, IL 60018

Phone: (847) 426-2662
Email: sean@paintballbomb.com
Website: http://www.pbbomb.com
Chicago's newest paintball park located at the former Santa's Village amusement park. Come play on Nuketown!
Year Established: Unknown
Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.6/5 stars.
Reviews: 107
Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  63%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  32%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  3%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  2%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  1%
Favorite
Revise Weather Discuss
Link:
Field & Store Features
Paint CO2 Compressed Air
Wooded Fields Concept Fields Hyperball Fields
Airball Fields Indoor Fields Marker Rentals
Drinks Available Flush Toilets Accepts Credit Cards
Paintball Explosion Park Reviews
Paintball Explosion Park i really like the park because it is local and has many fields also is rellly clean
Report this review to a moderator   #28708
Kandeman25
 
Kandeman25's avatar
Join Date: May 2012
Kandeman25 owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
Kandeman25 is for the Gunfight
Kandeman25 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Kandeman25 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Played here: Once
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.5/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: really clean
Cons: nothing
i really like the park because it is local and has many fields also is rellly clean
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Paintball Explosion Park Haha yea im a speedball fan myself, but i do tend to play woodsball once in a while. They just need an outdoor speedball field again, otherwise nuketown is great but one speedball field is'nt enough.
Report this review to a moderator   #51385
KatoKim
 
KatoKim's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: IL
Played here: 6+ times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Indoor
Cons: Oudoor speedball
Haha yea im a speedball fan myself, but i do tend to play woodsball once in a while. They just need an outdoor speedball field again, otherwise nuketown is great but one speedball field is'nt enough.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Paintball Explosion Park The last few times I was there the customer service was not very good.
Report this review to a moderator   #20772
KIDDIEMIX
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Illinois
KIDDIEMIX plays in the PSP
KIDDIEMIX owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
KIDDIEMIX posts videos on PbNation
Played here: 6+ times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.3/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Recommend to others: No
Pros: Fun outdoor fields
Cons: Not a big fan in general
The last few times I was there the customer service was not very good.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Paintball Explosion Park refs are not friendly but are to those with nicer equipment
Report this review to a moderator   #42381
KristinAshley
Kill em' all
KristinAshley's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Chicago IL
KristinAshley plays in the PSP
KristinAshley plays in the APPA D5 division
KristinAshley has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
KristinAshley has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Played here: Once
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: very big lots of fields
Cons: people that work there are rude
refs are not friendly but are to those with nicer equipment
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Paintball Explosion Park this is by far the biggest, coolest paintball center i have ever seen/played at. its pretty huge and it has everything you may need - friendly helpful techs (that often charge nothing to do major...
Report this review to a moderator   #38601
madcityballer
 
madcityballer's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Madison, WI
madcityballer owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
madcityballer has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Played here: 6+ times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: awesome facilities/service
Cons: the drive, lol
this is by far the biggest, coolest paintball center i have ever seen/played at. its pretty huge and it has everything you may need - friendly helpful techs (that often charge nothing to do major save-the-day triage to your gun), 4500psi all-day every day (no excuses), bathrooms/lockers, decent food (even grilled burgers/dogs in decent weather), very well-stocked pro-shop...i won't go on much more except to say that i drive a couple hours just to play there every couple weeks. well worth the trip.

only downside is its not cheap (all those cool facilities and staff cost $) and sometimes the indoor fields are hard for noobs (like my 11 year-old nephew) to get action on b/c of all the next-gen pro's that dominate the timeslots. the scenario fields are a total blast to play on - keeps things interesting. overall, this place rocks and they reinvest in their fields (new one under-construction now)...
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Paintball Explosion Park this is a great field for everyone and has everything so check it out
Report this review to a moderator   #33957
MiDWeST KiD
Trade V2 Creed and Etek
MiDWeST KiD's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2012
MiDWeST KiD owns a Planet Eclipse Etek
MiDWeST KiD is for the Gunfight
MiDWeST KiD is for the Gunfight
MiDWeST KiD has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Played here: 6+ times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: staff, fields, customer service, store, food, tech
Cons: none at all
this is a great field for everyone and has everything so check it out
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Paintball Explosion Park nice clean fields professionally done can't wait to go back Iwish I didn't live so far... I need a job in the chicago area!
Report this review to a moderator   #19998
mikeshocksya
OG MW ARMY
mikeshocksya's avatar
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Quad Cities
mikeshocksya is a Supporting Member
mikeshocksya has been a member for 10 years
mikeshocksya plays in the APPA D4 division
Played here: Once
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: really nice facility
Cons: too far from me...
nice clean fields professionally done can't wait to go back Iwish I didn't live so far... I need a job in the chicago area!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Paintball Explosion Park I usually play here every week or two (airball only). The indoor field is pretty nice besides the fact they dont clean off the bunkers. Other than that I love the field.
Report this review to a moderator   #11179
mmosspb1234
snakesniper
mmosspb1234's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Northern Illinois
Played here: 6+ times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: nice airball fields
Cons: do not squeegee bunkers
I usually play here every week or two (airball only). The indoor field is pretty nice besides the fact they dont clean off the bunkers. Other than that I love the field.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Paintball Explosion Park I've been playing for nearly two years now and this has pretty much been my home field since then, of course I came here many years ago when it wasn't a paintball park. The whole facility used to be...
Report this review to a moderator   #37478
MooKids
 
MooKids's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Hoffman Estates, IL
MooKids has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
MooKids has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Played here: 6+ times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: variety of fields, customer service, drainage
Cons: nothing major
I've been playing for nearly two years now and this has pretty much been my home field since then, of course I came here many years ago when it wasn't a paintball park. The whole facility used to be Santa's Village, and I remember parts of it when I came here as a child, such as the old train and the arcade that is now the concession area. Now that Paintball Explosion has taken over half of it, it is like reliving a part of my childhood again, seeing the old attractions and buildings, but in a new way. PBE has incorporated a lot of it to create some very unique fields, such as Biohazard which uses many of the old structures from Santa's Village.

The big thing, that most people don't notice, is that the site has good drainage! Because it is a former amusement park, it was already built in. What that means is that there is little stagnant water mixed with old paint (have you smelled that combination? )

As for the fields, Vietnam gives a more woodsball feel with several small structures and vehicles to use for cover with a small creek around the edge that can be used, just don't go down there when it is slippery. This is more of an uphill/downhill game.

Turmoil is my favorite, lot of structures to use with the "saloon" route useful for attempting to sneak up on the other side. Good combination of pavement and grass.

Biohazard, as I mentioned, used a lot of the old Santa's Village buildings and is divided down the middle, giving two routes, the high ground on the grass with cars and small bunkers for cover and the low ground, with the old games building and bumper car house divided up to give more of a challenge. In my experience, it is shoot them in the back or get shot in the back .

The parking lot fields are typically better for smaller groups of players. World at War has a bunch of mini-buildings with cars giving lots of cover.

Mutiny, while it looks cool when you are driving by, is typically one-sided, as whoever controls the ship has an elevated position against the other side who has some cover. This field is better for big games and scenario events.

Code Black is also fairly balanced with some small bunkers surrounding a large central structure which is divided into 4 sections internally.

Shipyard has been closed and is being remade at this time.

There are also two airball fields, one outside which is smaller and the other inside at the old ice rink. Both are well maintained and cleaned daily. These two fields are also used for laser tag for those who want the experience.

Customer service is also good, the staff are friendly and helpful with your needs, especially the owners.

One good thing is that they divide the players into two groups, the beginners who are limited to semi-auto, good for first timers and kids, and an advanced group where full auto is allowed.

Not to mention a big thing for me is that it is only 10 minutes away from my home, so I can play in the morning before I go to work!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Paintball Explosion Park Indoor field is super nice, Bunkers and turf well maintained. The pro shop staff was very nice. Reffing could use a bit of work but that is the only negative!
Report this review to a moderator   #41935
MSmags011
Jester of Tortuga
MSmags011's avatar
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Southeast WI
MSmags011 is playing at Living Legends VII
MSmags011 supports Team VICIOUS
MSmags011 supports Empire
Played here: Once
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Field, bathrooms, equipment,
Cons: Reffing
Indoor field is super nice, Bunkers and turf well maintained. The pro shop staff was very nice. Reffing could use a bit of work but that is the only negative!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review