Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Did you know?
PbNation has an awesome Paintball Field & Store finder. You can check out Paintball Explosion Park's listing and find more fields nearby by clicking here.
Paintball Explosion Park Information
Field & Store Information Field & Store Description Edit
Paintball Explosion Park
601 Dundee Avenue
East Dundee, IL 60018

Phone: (847) 426-2662
Email: sean@paintballbomb.com
Website: http://www.pbbomb.com
Chicago's newest paintball park located at the former Santa's Village amusement park. Come play on Nuketown!
Year Established: Unknown
Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.6/5 stars.
Reviews: 106
Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  63%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  31%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  3%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  2%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  1%
Favorite
Revise Weather Discuss
Link:
Field & Store Features
Paint CO2 Compressed Air
Wooded Fields Concept Fields Hyperball Fields
Airball Fields Indoor Fields Marker Rentals
Drinks Available Flush Toilets Accepts Credit Cards
Paintball Explosion Park Reviews
Paintball Explosion Park went there for first time in November with the team and was great.
Report this review to a moderator   #43520
Falconpunch01
 
Falconpunch01's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Indiana
Falconpunch01 supports DLX Technology
Played here: Once
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: players,staff. fields
Cons: nothing
went there for first time in November with the team and was great.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Paintball Explosion Park awesome place to play at i go here once to twice a month. on thursdays they have 65 a case day which is awesome. sometimes it gets really crowded there like 70 plus players so reffing and calling...
Report this review to a moderator   #11570
feignfacade
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
feignfacade owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Played here: 6+ times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: indoor field, proshop
Cons: reffing can be bad at times.
awesome place to play at i go here once to twice a month. on thursdays they have 65 a case day which is awesome. sometimes it gets really crowded there like 70 plus players so reffing and calling games is kinda iffy. theres mostly only one ref to ref a 7 on 7 game. on slow days this place is amazing on busy days its kinda hectic.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Paintball Explosion Park Pros: 1.They have a wide variety of outdoor fields with a Chicago Ambulance, Amusement park, Vietnam with a helicopter, two houses with garages facing each other with a bus in between them, and one...
Report this review to a moderator   #43857
Firefly2153
Chicago's pretty great
Firefly2153's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Chicago, IL
Firefly2153 owns a Planet Eclipse Etek
Firefly2153 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Firefly2153 has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Firefly2153 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Played here: Once
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Variety of fields
Cons: Can't tell teams apart-red arm bands on one arm...
Pros:
1.They have a wide variety of outdoor fields with a Chicago Ambulance, Amusement park, Vietnam with a helicopter, two houses with garages facing each other with a bus in between them, and one indoor speedball field.

2. Reasonable price. $20 entry fee +$90 for a case of paint (cheaper paint available if you play speedball there). On your way out, sometimes you can ask for a free pass that will give you free entry if you come back within the next two weeks. If you ask to be sponsored, they give you free passes to hand out to people that haven't played at that location before.

3. The tech shop looks at guns and can help with quick fixes, just pay for parts. I got a macro line replaced for like $3 and he diagnosed a bad gasket in my Geo, though he didn't have my gasket in stock, only newer ones.


Cons:
1.You can't tell friendlies from enemies easily.

I've shot my own team and been shot by opponents I thought were on my team. They use one red arm band for a team and no arm band for another team (and people wear camo clothing... so people like me who are the most common form of colorblind, red/green/brown have a little trouble) on one arm and no armbands for the other team. If you look at a player with who may or may not have an armband on the opposite side, what are you supposed to do? Ask, if they can turn and let me know if you have an armband on the other side?

---I think helmets should have yellow caution tape on both sides so people are easily identified to a certain team. I'll even play on the team with yellow ribbon on our masks. I'd rather not shoot or be shot at by my own teammates since it happened WAY too often that last several times I went.

2. Games can be too spread apart. Sometimes there is 15 minutes between games. I'd prefer a quick air refill, reload, and out in 5. if I have to miss the next game, it's OK because they will be done in 20. I'm not there to wait and only play a few games. Rapid fire!

3. Their indoor speedball court is saturated in paint. I'm not sure how to clean it, but it looks covered in paint and grossly slick.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Paintball Explosion Park Zero Stars! A group and I paid to do their Zombie Safari Hunt at their East Dundee location in Santa's Village. The concept is an excellent idea, but it was poorly executed and a huge rip off....
Report this review to a moderator   #33915
Foxtrot32nd
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Played here: Once
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Recommend to others: No
Pros: There was nothing positive about the experience
Cons: It's a huge scam, be aware
Zero Stars!

A group and I paid to do their Zombie Safari Hunt at their East Dundee location in Santa's Village. The concept is an excellent idea, but it was poorly executed and a huge rip off. They gave us a minimal 50 paint balls in the gun (After what I had witnessed I'm not even sure if it was 50). Anyways, the staff urges and pressures you making you think you have to buy extra (150 paint balls for $15). Then they go and short everybody on the amount they purchase by more than 20 per a canister (we had time to count while standing in the lengthy line while the staff annoyingly blasted us with the megaphones from only a few feet away).

Once on the field, we had to stay on a path, the zombies stayed far away and with the poor lighting and junk masks that you couldn't see out of combined with the serverly weakened guns, it was unclear where our paint balls were going or if they were even reaching the target. The staff kept rushing us through the checkpoints (I think there was a total of 3 of them) only being allowed to fire for about 30 seconds at a time. The staff also failed to provide us with any kind of warning that we were about to reach the end of it, just "turn in your masks and guns and get out".

If you have paint balls left over, it's tough luck for you. There isn't anything set up to dump the rest of them on. You are forced in to 1 of 3 options, though, they only provided 2 of them to us.
1. You have to purchase another pass to go again so you can use what you have left.
2. Take them home with you (which they didn't even mention as an option until somebody had asked. It's just too bad they asked after most of the people had already turned in their things and exited)
3. Turn them in with the gun (which they then turn around and resell to some other schmuck).

I'm highly displeased with the whole ordeal, huge rip off! The owners/management and staff should be ashamed of taking advantage of the customers like they do.

It is a poor business model that only concerns itself to maximize profits and deceive the clientele.

Maybe there is a disconnect between the ownership and management. However, if the ownership truly has no idea with how their business is being ran, then they are still to blame and need to be more involved. If they are in fact well aware, then hopefully people catch on and the place is forced to close it's doors due to lack of revenue.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Paintball Explosion Park Awesome outdoor fields, great new improvements(bar, gaming, etc), and always other paintballers to play with. My only complaints are the cost (kinda high) and sometimes the staff being lazy or...
Report this review to a moderator   #44627
gameover157157
Bunny Patrol!
gameover157157's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Chicago, IL
gameover157157 is playing at Living Legends VII
gameover157157 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
gameover157157 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Played here: 6+ times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Great outdoor fields, close to home
Cons: Staff (at times), cost
Awesome outdoor fields, great new improvements(bar, gaming, etc), and always other paintballers to play with. My only complaints are the cost (kinda high) and sometimes the staff being lazy or uninformed. But this is my home field and I would not want anything different. Go nuketown!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Paintball Explosion Park We are blessed to have such a great field. Between this field and CPX, which have completely different MAPs you have the best state to play Paintball in.
Report this review to a moderator   #26957
GaryR1984
 
GaryR1984's avatar
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Chicago, IL.
Played here: Once
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Awesome Fields, real park! great location
Cons: None at this time
We are blessed to have such a great field. Between this field and CPX, which have completely different MAPs you have the best state to play Paintball in.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Paintball Explosion Park Like many others I've really enjoyed playing here because of the fields, refs and pro shop staff. Unfortunately there techs are bottom grade. I've used them twice and been very dissatisfied both...
Report this review to a moderator   #34486
geckx7
Ballin' out with blanks
geckx7's avatar
Join Date: May 2006
Location: United States
geckx7 supports Team VICIOUS
geckx7 supports Team VICIOUS
geckx7 has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
geckx7 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Played here: 6+ times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Easy to get to, great staff and fields
Cons: Techs
Like many others I've really enjoyed playing here because of the fields, refs and pro shop staff.

Unfortunately there techs are bottom grade. I've used them twice and been very dissatisfied both times. The second time I used them i brought my board in for them to simply re-attach a LED. without my knowledge they sent it out for repair (could have done that myself), lost my board, gave me and someone else the same ticket number and took 3 months to right everything.(the short story) For my troubles they offered me 25 bucks off on a new gun, tank and barrel back combo. GARBAGE! do not use their techs. absolutely horrible.

But def play there.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Paintball Explosion Park PBE is a fun place because of its variety of fields, and how one has a MG. Now i know that I put workers in Pros and Cons and I did that because the workers like staff inside were friendly and chill....
Report this review to a moderator   #34181
GhostHawkeye
 
GhostHawkeye's avatar
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Illinois
GhostHawkeye has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
GhostHawkeye has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Played here: Once
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Workers, Fields,
Cons: Price, Workers,
PBE is a fun place because of its variety of fields, and how one has a MG. Now i know that I put workers in Pros and Cons and I did that because the workers like staff inside were friendly and chill. The refs are different, some just don't care and do whatever. They don't watch that often so if you hit someone, expect them to wipe and refs won't even see. Now some refs pay attention, chill, and funny.

Their inside store is a bit expensive, I can find things cheaper. I bought a exalt swab and it was around $150 I'm pretty sure. I can find a good one for $5 but i needed one so I bought it. Somethings were well priced while others were a nightmare. Their food was pretty cheap and good.

Even though the cons, PBE is a really fun place and if you go with you kids, there is Santa village which is alittle amusement park. Pretty cool how its together. So if your looking for a wide variety of fields, playing style and good/funny refs than you should check this place out! :0
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Paintball Explosion Park this is a very fun place to go! definantly the only field ill only go to in the chicago land. some employees could take care of customers a little more better but its very rare. all in all a very...
Report this review to a moderator   #37663
Hellfiregroup
 
Hellfiregroup's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Chicago
Hellfiregroup is playing at Living Legends VI
Hellfiregroup owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Hellfiregroup supports DLX Technology
Played here: 6+ times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: very fun fields
Cons: some employees
this is a very fun place to go! definantly the only field ill only go to in the chicago land. some employees could take care of customers a little more better but its very rare. all in all a very well made field!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Paintball Explosion Park I had a great time as a first time to the place. Lights are great inside. There was a ref getting games ran through quick and making calls on people trying to play on. Only con was the pricing but...
Report this review to a moderator   #11633
illikilla
Leo
illikilla's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chicago
illikilla plays in the PSP
illikilla plays in the APPA D4 division
illikilla supports DLX Technology
Played here: Once
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Indoor speedball, well lit, and ref on field.
Cons: distance
I had a great time as a first time to the place. Lights are great inside. There was a ref getting games ran through quick and making calls on people trying to play on. Only con was the pricing but that is still nit picking because it is not that bad for everything you get compared to other locations so that is not even a con. Personal con is the distance since it is kind of out there for me.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review