Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Did you know?
PbNation has an awesome Paintball Field & Store finder. You can check out Paintball Explosion Park's listing and find more fields nearby by clicking here.
Paintball Explosion Park Information
Field & Store Information Field & Store Description Edit
Paintball Explosion Park
601 Dundee Avenue
East Dundee, IL 60018

Phone: (847) 426-2662
Email: sean@paintballbomb.com
Website: http://www.pbbomb.com
Chicago's newest paintball park located at the former Santa's Village amusement park. Come play on Nuketown!
Year Established: Unknown
Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.6/5 stars.
Reviews: 118
Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  60%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  32%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  5%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  2%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  1%
Favorite
Revise Weather Discuss
Link:
Field & Store Features
Paint CO2 Compressed Air
Wooded Fields Concept Fields Hyperball Fields
Airball Fields Indoor Fields Marker Rentals
Drinks Available Flush Toilets Accepts Credit Cards
Paintball Explosion Park Reviews
Paintball Explosion Park Cons: Took a party of 8 here. Was turned off right away when the rental package for $58 didn't include pods or a belt which was another $15. I own my own gear, but I brought 5 renters who've never...
Report this review to a moderator   #51609
PBGriff
 
PBGriff's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: North of Chicago
Played here: Once
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.3/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Recommend to others: No
Pros: Great style fields, indoor speedball
Cons: PRICES. REFS.
Cons:
Took a party of 8 here. Was turned off right away when the rental package for $58 didn't include pods or a belt which was another $15. I own my own gear, but I brought 5 renters who've never played before with me. $73 for gun/mask/tank/500 balls/2pods/belt is PRICY. Add-on $10-$15 on food drink, and you fly thru paint on these fields so another $25-35 on paint. $125-$140 paintball experience.

I didn't get chrono'd ONCE. None of us did. I noticed some of the regular's would nod that they got chrono'd and when the ref walked away, giggled about how they haven't been. That seemed a little weak.

Then we noticed the QUALITY of balls was TERRIBLE. Even 2 of the employees(One Ref, One Staff) told me that it's a "custom blend". They bounce like crazy and shoot like crap.

The ref's weren't great. They did do a good job making sure shot players got out safely, and would hit check when asked more then once, but LOTS of times my whole party noticed people getting shot and kept playing and ref's ignored initial hit check.

No woodsball fields. They have 1 that they calls woodsball, but it has about 30ft/30ft square of woods, the rest is a parking lot with a huge bus and cars etc. Still cool, but no woodsball.

PRO'S:
The staff at first entry was SOLID. Cashier went quick, a friend of mine bought a gun/hopper/tank for over $700 and they moved quick to assist him to make sure he could get out and use it.
I also couldn't get my JT lava lens to fit on my mask, and a staff member helped me out. I tipped him $2 for some gatorade.

Fields are pretty awesome. Definitely worth trying once as long as you know the $$ you'll be spending. $85 for a case of what seems to be empire 3 or 4 custom blend crap. They are kept up pretty well too.

I'm fairly new to my gun, and have never filled my own air before, and the staff member went nice and slow showing me how to do it. Super easy. Very friendly.

The flow of the field was nice, music playing but great reminders and announcements for open and beginner games. All staff stayed on masks and barrel covers.

A/C indoor speedball area. Nice to sit and watch, and cool off if it's a super hot day out.


Conclusion: It's expensive. I get why. But it's expensive. As long as you're comfortable with that beforehand, it can be fun. The fields are worth checking out once a year for sure. Otherwise I'd skip it.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Paintball Explosion Park first off paintball explosion is my favorite park by far. Their customer service is great and all the staff members are really nice. The fields are amazing the have a replica field of nuketown from...
Report this review to a moderator   #41055
pbxballer25
 
pbxballer25's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2013
pbxballer25 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
pbxballer25 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
pbxballer25 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
pbxballer25 is attending Decay of Nations VII
Played here: 6+ times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: big feilds great design nuketown fun
Cons: have to use their paint
first off paintball explosion is my favorite park by far. Their customer service is great and all the staff members are really nice. The fields are amazing the have a replica field of nuketown from the game call of duty and its really great. They also have many other fields including indoor speedball. One thing that I don't like is that you have to use their paint, it is high quality biodegradable valken paint but I think you should have the option of bring your own paint and most of the paints on the market are biodegradable these days. Over all I would highly recommend taking a trip to paintball explosion.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Paintball Explosion Park Lets just start off with Nuketown! It was hands down total greatness playing on one of my favorite maps from Call of Duty. The staff was great. communication was there especially when a play was...
Report this review to a moderator   #40902
Pb_88
 
Pb_88's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: midwest
Pb_88 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Played here: Once
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Friendly environment
Cons: none at all
Lets just start off with Nuketown! It was hands down total greatness playing on one of my favorite maps from Call of Duty.

The staff was great. communication was there especially when a play was hit or called themselves out the ref was letting us know the player was out.

I will be going back for sure.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Paintball Explosion Park ive been to almost all local fields in illinois and this one takes the cake. great staff and reps. if you have a chance to experience this place do not hesitate, it will definitely convert first...
Report this review to a moderator   #28721
redfury1187
 
redfury1187's avatar
Join Date: May 2010
Location: San Antonio, Texas
redfury1187 owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
redfury1187 supports Team VICIOUS
redfury1187 has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Played here: 6+ times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: great staff and customer service
Cons: none noticed
ive been to almost all local fields in illinois and this one takes the cake. great staff and reps. if you have a chance to experience this place do not hesitate, it will definitely convert first timers into paintball lovers.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Paintball Explosion Park Paintball explosion is my favorite field to go to, because of the great variety of fields, and the support that the staff gives. Plus it is close to the chicagoland area, so you don't have to waste...
Report this review to a moderator   #39134
richardb1200
 
richardb1200's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Evanston, IL
richardb1200 is playing at Living Legends VI
richardb1200 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
richardb1200 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
richardb1200 supports DLX Technology
Played here: 6+ times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: great staff, many fields!
Cons: not any i could think of.
Paintball explosion is my favorite field to go to, because of the great variety of fields, and the support that the staff gives. Plus it is close to the chicagoland area, so you don't have to waste much gas money going out there. great park, great refs and staff, good service.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Paintball Explosion Park great field. I play here almost every weekend and i'm not going to change that.
Report this review to a moderator   #53169
SASLIZARD
SAS WOODSBALL
SASLIZARD's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Naperville IL
SASLIZARD owns a Planet Eclipse Lv1
SASLIZARD has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
SASLIZARD has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Played here: 6+ times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: good fields awesome refs
Cons: need to clean indoor turf
great field. I play here almost every weekend and i'm not going to change that.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Paintball Explosion Park Ive been to paintball explosion once and i can say i am definitely going back again and again. Their outdoor themed fields (8 of them) are alright of you like woodsball/"town"ball. Ive only played 2...
Report this review to a moderator   #31802
severepaintball
Empire Mini
severepaintball's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Chicago
severepaintball is for the Gunfight
severepaintball has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Played here: Once
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: A lot of themed fields. Indoor/outdoor speedball
Cons: Field paint only.
Ive been to paintball explosion once and i can say i am definitely going back again and again. Their outdoor themed fields (8 of them) are alright of you like woodsball/"town"ball. Ive only played 2 games on the outdoor fields and i realize i would much rather be playing speedball. They have 2 speedball fields, one inside and one outside. Not very many people who are inside playing speedball so you can play as many games as you want and however you want to play them, 1v1, 2v2, 4v2, and the list goes on. The rental equiptment is in okay condition, the markers are in better condition than the masks. The staff and refs are very friendly and give you tips if you want them. Overall PE is a great place to go paintballing.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Paintball Explosion Park It has a great staff, great facilities, a bar, and great prices and paint.
Report this review to a moderator   #19897
Side-Swipe
Sensei
Side-Swipe's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chicago
Side-Swipe is playing at Living Legends III
Side-Swipe is playing at Living Legends V
Side-Swipe is playing at Living Legends VI
Side-Swipe posts videos on PbNation
Side-Swipe has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Played here: 6+ times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Awesome Fields
Cons: None great place
It has a great staff, great facilities, a bar, and great prices and paint.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Paintball Explosion Park
Report this review to a moderator   #38801
TactuhCarl
 
TactuhCarl's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Chicago
TactuhCarl has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
TactuhCarl has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Played here: 2-5 times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Great people.
Cons: I really cant complain
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Paintball Explosion Park Overall the field is pretty fun, I think in terms of overall facilities, pro shop, etc. it's probably better than CPX. Availability of food, selection of equipment and rental gear (ETEKs, really?),...
Report this review to a moderator   #48177
TheAZN
I'm Going To Disney World
TheAZN's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: 312, 949, 248
TheAZN has been a member for 10 years
Played here: Once
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: speedball, quality of facilities
Cons: prices, mediocre fields
Overall the field is pretty fun, I think in terms of overall facilities, pro shop, etc. it's probably better than CPX. Availability of food, selection of equipment and rental gear (ETEKs, really?), computer registration waivers, etc. the place is really about as top notch as I've ever seen at a paintball field. The big plus is really the easy availability of an airball field for walk-ons to use; that's something that CPX really lacks.

On the negative side, I don't think many of their main fields are all that fun. Vietnam, Nuke Town, Turmoil...they're not all that great. I don't think I really had any particularly memorable games in any of those fields. On the other hand, World at War has been a ton of fun. After a long span of recball games, gun battles from the snake on the airball field were great, especially not in the sun.

Additionally, I had a terrible experience with the refs at PB Explosion. Despite specifically reminding them to make sure teams were evenly split, they specifically kept all the speedball players together against the rental groups, and did this for multiple consecutive games. That kind of action prevents new people from entering the sport after getting lit up by 15 bps ramping from some punk with a new GEO.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review