Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Did you know?
PbNation has an awesome Paintball Field & Store finder. You can check out Paintball Explosion Park's listing and find more fields nearby by clicking here.
Paintball Explosion Park Information
Field & Store Information Field & Store Description Edit
Paintball Explosion Park
601 Dundee Avenue
East Dundee, IL 60018

Phone: (847) 426-2662
Email: sean@paintballbomb.com
Website: http://www.pbbomb.com
Chicago's newest paintball park located at the former Santa's Village amusement park. Come play on Nuketown!
Year Established: Unknown
Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.6/5 stars.
Reviews: 107
Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  63%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  32%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  3%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  2%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  1%
Favorite
Revise Weather Discuss
Link:
Field & Store Features
Paint CO2 Compressed Air
Wooded Fields Concept Fields Hyperball Fields
Airball Fields Indoor Fields Marker Rentals
Drinks Available Flush Toilets Accepts Credit Cards
Paintball Explosion Park Reviews
Paintball Explosion Park the kids that go there are little dicks, and the refs dont call out shots and hits. if you ask them to paint check on the opposite team, they ignore you!
Report this review to a moderator   #27177
aliciaSTFU
CUBANA
aliciaSTFU's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Wheaton
aliciaSTFU owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
aliciaSTFU is for the Gunfight
aliciaSTFU has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
aliciaSTFU has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Played here: Once
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Recommend to others: No
Pros: the bunkers are never deflated
Cons: refs suck!
the kids that go there are little dicks, and the refs dont call out shots and hits. if you ask them to paint check on the opposite team, they ignore you!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Paintball Explosion Park I've been playing at this field since it opened, and just about every week since. If you're in the area you will definitely want to check this place out! It is a top notch facility.
Report this review to a moderator   #11620
HKARMYBALLER
777
HKARMYBALLER's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: 847 IL
Played here: 6+ times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: AMAZING fields and friendly staff
Cons: Can't think of any
I've been playing at this field since it opened, and just about every week since. If you're in the area you will definitely want to check this place out! It is a top notch facility.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Paintball Explosion Park This field is Great!! Lets start from entering the property. They have a beautiful parking lot with plenty of room. There is a paved path all the way to the front doors where you will find an air...
Report this review to a moderator   #31025
jsnp8nt
Gathering Storm
jsnp8nt's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: *262*
jsnp8nt owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
jsnp8nt owns a Planet Eclipse Lv1
jsnp8nt has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
jsnp8nt has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Played here: 6+ times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Great Staff, Great Refs, Great Owners
Cons: Only check for Hydro dates during Big Games
This field is Great!!
Lets start from entering the property.
They have a beautiful parking lot with plenty of room.

There is a paved path all the way to the front doors where you will find an air conditioned registration and pro-shop.

They have everythig computerized and after your first time registering, you will only have to submit a new waiver 12 months later.

They use Draxxus Paint, and I have sworn by this paint for the last 3 years.
This is a FPO field so they do not allow outside Paint.
It's a custom Paint with a thick fill.

Once you have registered and purchased your paint, you have a choice of where you want to stage your gear.

1. Lockers!, yes lockers. They are not big enough for the Pro sized bags, but if you wanted to lock up your phone, wallet, andy extra paint then you have a secure place to do so.
2. Rental building. There are about 12 picnic tables inside to give plenty of space to keep your gear out of the beating sun. It is NOT air condition, so it can get warm in there. The plus side is that there is Staff on either side of the room. One side is for rental pick-ups and drop offs, and the opposite side is for the Tech that they keep on staff. They are not responsible for anything lost or stolen.
3. Upper outside staging. There is an area right around the corner from the rental building that has 3 picnic tables to set up your gear. That area tends to be taken early because of it's central location to all of the other buildings and restrooms.
4. Lower staging area. There is an area just below the rental building that has lockers and about 16 picnic tables to be able to stage your gear.
It's located just steps from the Chrono area and the netting to get on some of the fields. This area does get a lot of sun, so make sure you drink water and maybe bring some sun screen.
5. Netting leading to the Parking lot fields. There are 4 picnic tables just on the path to the Parking lot fields, just outside of the outdoor airball field.
I do not recomend these tables unless you either have someone staying at them the whole time or you are playing the outside airball most of the day.

Next is the Bathrooms, yes more than one, and they are not portapotties!
They have bathrooms in the main building that houses the Proshop, and they have bathrooms just outside the field of Nam. This is the only field that has bathrooms in a short walking distance in the chicagoland area.
CPX has them, but if you are in one of the far fields, it's a really good walk.

Now the fields

Nam, this is a arge field meant for 20 on 20 or even more.
It is on a hill and is steap at some points.
It has a Fort at the to of the hill that has both an upper and lower level. That allows you to be able to see pretty far down the field. There is also a gut turret in the top of the fort that if you dare, you can mow down oncoming playes with a twin tippmann setup withits own scuba for air. Warning, you may go through an entire case of paint in the matter of a minute, but it is fun. There is also an old Military Helicopter, Military troop transport truck and a series of small huts throughout this field. and wrapping around the lower end of this field is a revine that allows you to get the drop on the oncoming forces from time to time.

Biohazard, This field is fun field and probably my favorite.
You have a castle at both ends to mark your starting points.
Through the middle of this field you have an old carnival midway where you can play the game of shooting the hiding apponent. There is also another building akin to a haunted house feel. Not many windows, but there are many twists to it and many entry points. scattered about are plenty of trees and shrubs to keep the feel of nature alive.

Turmoil, This field has a strong post apacolyptic feel to it.
At one end they have a base with sandbag bunkers arranged in front.
They also have another Military Helicopter for cover.
There are 4 Medium sized buldings on either side of the field to give you the feel that you are hiding out in run down houses or buildings. in the miidle of the field is a CTA bus. You can actually get in the bus and use it for cove, shooting out the windows at the other team.
At either end is a tower to be able to snipe runners as they try to get closer.
And at the opposit end from the military base there is a castle for the other team to start from. This field also adjoins the back staging area with Nam where you can find the Far bathrooms.

the Parkinglot fields. These fields are not huge and do realistically max out at 20 on 20, but you can use all 4 fields together for a great Big Game.

World at War is Great. There are between 6-8 buildings to give a town feel to this field. There are also a few cars between them to give some additional cover. All the buildings have 2 doorways and many windows to allow for some great fire fights.
Mutiny, this field has a pirate feel to it. Not in the disney lame way, but it has an actual pirate ship that has both an upper deck and lower cannon portholes. Through the rest of the field you will find waves and other bunkers that are painted light blue to give the feel for being at sea.
Code Black, This field has the appearence of a missle silo with parimiter checkpoints for additional cover. This field is pretty great, but not when it's over 80 degrees and in full sun. The sunlight and heat reflects off of everything.
The Shipyard. I have not played this field yet. It is new to this year and I have missed out on all the iopen play opportunities. It looks really cool with some shipping trailers staged and same additional bunkers in play.
I can't wait to get a game in on this one.

Outdoor Airball, This field is on the smaller side but is perfect for 3on3 up to 5on5. it gives a great breat from the larger fields.

Indoor Airball. This field id unique. It's Air Conditioned and is set up in anold Hockey rink. The Turf is maintained and there is a grandstand for viewing games. The downside is that it is just a little too small for regulated PSP filed play. It is a great field.

New Fields Coming soon!!
ZombieLand, From what Romeo told me, this field will probably be an attendees favorite. and there are 4 additional fields that they are working on now to hopefully have open by Fall.

Rentals:
They have Tippmann 98's, X7 phenoms, Crossover, and TiPx.
The also have jumpsuits and upgraded masks for rent also.

Those are Some of the Pros and a lot of embelished Facts.

Here are the only Cons that I have come up with.

They do Not check Hydro dates on open play.
I see this as a huge safety risk.
They do check them on Big Game days, which I was very happy to see.

During special event days they use a different paint than what you would purchase for an open game day. This paint can be used after that date, but only on the indoor field.

They do offer Memberships to this field, but they are so expensive that you are only going to get your moneys worth if you are playing 2 or more times a month (meaning at least 24 visits a year)

This is my Favorite field in Chicagoland and I have Played Multiple time at the following fields.

CPX
BadLandz
Action Territory
the Siege
Planet Extreme (Gone)

So if you are in the Chicagoland area and you are looking for one of the best fields in the World, then come Out to Paintball Explosion and Check It OUT!!

I give this Field a 9.8 out of 10

  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Paintball Explosion Park Played here for a tournament a while back. It was a lot of fun. Looked at some of the fields and the looked really sweet. Only played on one field which was indoors. When you start playing it is so...
Report this review to a moderator   #38141
rjsonne54
Best Coast is no Coast
rjsonne54's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Mount Vernon, SD
rjsonne54 posts videos on PbNation
rjsonne54 is an NCPA player
rjsonne54 plays in the APPA D4 division
rjsonne54 is a top reviewer
rjsonne54 is Legendary
Played here: Once
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: good pro shop, good service
Cons: indoor air field is loud
Played here for a tournament a while back. It was a lot of fun. Looked at some of the fields and the looked really sweet. Only played on one field which was indoors. When you start playing it is so loud that it is hard to communicate with team members. The field was a little narrow but good enough for 5 on 5. Still had a blast and it was a great tournament. Would go there again anytime!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Paintball Explosion Park Really a great field for biggners to pros. And yes, many pros have been here. I play speedball, and for the money, the indoor and outdoor speedball courses are amazing! The outdoor one is a little...
Report this review to a moderator   #12094
T9Ranger4Life
College PaInTbAlLeR
T9Ranger4Life's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: IOWA STATE
T9Ranger4Life owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
T9Ranger4Life owns a Planet Eclipse Lv1
T9Ranger4Life is an NCPA player
T9Ranger4Life plays in the APPA D4 division
T9Ranger4Life is Boss
Played here: 6+ times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Field, staff, store, food, bathrooms, area, etc
Cons: None.
Really a great field for biggners to pros. And yes, many pros have been here. I play speedball, and for the money, the indoor and outdoor speedball courses are amazing! The outdoor one is a little small, but that's what makes it fun. The inside is nicely turfed and cleaned often. They always try to have a new setup every so often and it is everything any player could want.

A++++ field

Thanks
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.7/5 stars.
Paintball Explosion Park I want to start off by saying that I'm a pretty big fan of this field. A huge reaon being that it is close to my house. Their fields are kept very clean. They have an excellent staff that will always...
Report this review to a moderator   #31338
sharpshooter141
 
sharpshooter141's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Schaumburg, IL
sharpshooter141 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Played here: Once
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Field/Staff
Cons: Very expensive
I want to start off by saying that I'm a pretty big fan of this field. A huge reaon being that it is close to my house. Their fields are kept very clean. They have an excellent staff that will always try to help you whenever you have a problem. Also the owner is a very nice guy. He comes to the field to check on everything and sometimes play. What I don't like about this place is that its not BYOP. You have to shoot their field paint which in my opinion is not very good paint. Also their paint is $85 per case! For mid grade paint $85 is WAY over priced. Overall though PBE is a very fun time every time when I go there and I always meet new people.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Paintball Explosion Park went there for the first time today and i have to say i was impressed! the refs know what they are doing , you can fill your own tank, and the overall atmosphere was positive. i talked to the...
Report this review to a moderator   #10447
tonycon
Knuckleheads Paintball
tonycon's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Chi-Town
tonycon owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
tonycon owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
tonycon owns a Planet Eclipse Lv1
tonycon owns a Planet Eclipse GSL
tonycon supports our troops
tonycon is Legendary
Played here: Once
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: reffing, customer service
Cons: none...
went there for the first time today and i have to say i was impressed! the refs know what they are doing , you can fill your own tank, and the overall atmosphere was positive. i talked to the management for a while and they asked our opinion and actually listened to what we had to say. i was extremely happy to see two groups of open play... noobs separated from the experienced players... that is a very good thing. can't wait to exercise my new membership! great place to play and i have a feeling it will only get better!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.2/5 stars.
Paintball Explosion Park Best field I have ever played at, awesome staff, owner, field, pro shop. really well done, nothing was built or done half ***. Great facility!!!!
Report this review to a moderator   #10895
Dineenandrew
 
Dineenandrew's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Oconomowoc, WI
Dineenandrew is BST Trusted
Dineenandrew is playing at Living Legends VII
Dineenandrew owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
Dineenandrew owns a Planet Eclipse Lv1
Played here: Once
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: fields, staff, owner, pro shop
Cons: none really except for me 2 hr drive
Best field I have ever played at, awesome staff, owner, field, pro shop. really well done, nothing was built or done half ***. Great facility!!!!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Paintball Explosion Park The indoor paintball is great outdoor is fun realitsic settings on nam makes you fell pretty cool, pirateship field with little town is awesome and i don't think i'll ever forget flanking that team.
Report this review to a moderator   #11022
ExoticFart
 
ExoticFart's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Illinois
ExoticFart is playing at Living Legends V
ExoticFart owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
ExoticFart supports Team VICIOUS
ExoticFart supports DLX Technology
Played here: Once
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing
The indoor paintball is great outdoor is fun realitsic settings on nam makes you fell pretty cool, pirateship field with little town is awesome and i don't think i'll ever forget flanking that team.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Paintball Explosion Park Great field. I'm there nearly every weekend. It's a perfect place for any level of play and it has great employees.
Report this review to a moderator   #14965
thetab5492
#TYBG
thetab5492's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: 630, IL
thetab5492 plays in the PSP
thetab5492 owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
thetab5492 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
thetab5492 supports DLX Technology
Played here: 6+ times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: great fields, great staff
Cons: bit expensive, but not too bad
Great field. I'm there nearly every weekend. It's a perfect place for any level of play and it has great employees.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Add New Review