Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Did you know?
PbNation has an awesome Paintball Field & Store finder. You can check out The Swamp's listing and find more fields nearby by clicking here.
The Swamp Information
Field & Store Information Field & Store Description Edit
The Swamp
2735 George Washington Memorial Highway
Hayes, VA 23072

Phone: (804) 642-8778
Open weekends, $15 covers your play and air. Field paint only for Rec ballers. Come out and try the field we have something for everyone, I'm sure you will have a great time.
Year Established: Unknown
Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Reviews: 19
Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  63%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  21%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  5%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  11%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  0%
Favorite
Revise Weather Discuss
Link:
Field & Store Features
Paint CO2 Compressed Air
Wooded Fields Concept Fields Hyperball Fields
Airball Fields Indoor Fields Marker Rentals
Drinks Available Flush Toilets Accepts Credit Cards
The Swamp Reviews
The Swamp I went on Vacation to Williamsburg, and my friend took me there on one of my last days. It was very fun, minus it being 900000 degrees that day. Grass was a little high, but it wasn't too terrible....
Report this review to a moderator   #10791
Brutal1tY
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Played here: Once
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Friendly people everywhere, good prices,
Cons: Very Grassy fields. But none other than that
I went on Vacation to Williamsburg, and my friend took me there on one of my last days. It was very fun, minus it being 900000 degrees that day. Grass was a little high, but it wasn't too terrible. Everyone was very friendly, and welcoming. Definitely going to recommend this to others =D
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
The Swamp I've played at this field 20+ times and it's great. Awesome concept field complete with a castle. A town. A dockyard. And multiple woods fields. The refs are always there to help and change the games...
Report this review to a moderator   #22156
Gui
 
Gui's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: 757
Gui owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Gui supports Team VICIOUS
Gui plays in the APPA D5 division
Gui has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Played here: 6+ times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Great concept field awesome refs
Cons: Woods ball is a little thick
I've played at this field 20+ times and it's great. Awesome concept field complete with a castle. A town. A dockyard. And multiple woods fields. The refs are always there to help and change the games up often. The fields are always changing for the better. The pro shop is great and the people behind the counter can always help get you whatever you need
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
The Swamp The field has come a long way through everything it has been through. There is not a week where something is not being improved upon. Sova's senario games are bringing a whole new element to this...
Report this review to a moderator   #17509
J03LT3H
Team Capital Offense
J03LT3H's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: VA
J03LT3H owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
J03LT3H owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
J03LT3H owns a Planet Eclipse Lv1
J03LT3H supports Pev's Paintball
Played here: 6+ times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Massive fields always keep things different
Cons: Woods are still a tad thick but being worked on.
The field has come a long way through everything it has been through. There is not a week where something is not being improved upon. Sova's senario games are bringing a whole new element to this field as well which as a player I highly enjoy, and would recommend for anyone to try even if they are not fimaliar with senario paintball.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
The Swamp I've been playing at this field for a few weeks now. the staff is friendly an knowledgeable on various markers. they offer military discounts an a weekend pass. there are plenty of fields so you get...
Report this review to a moderator   #35815
jhndrtxn
 
jhndrtxn's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Fort Eustis
jhndrtxn plays in the APPA D4 division
jhndrtxn has perfected Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Played here: 2-5 times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Various different field to play on
Cons: sometimes not enough people
I've been playing at this field for a few weeks now. the staff is friendly an knowledgeable on various markers. they offer military discounts an a weekend pass. there are plenty of fields so you get a variety of experiences with each different field. AND if you can get there for one of thier events the GATOR BURGER is amazing
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
The Swamp I have been playing at the swamp over ten years, and they are the reason i stayed with paintball. I strongly recommend the swamp if you are in the area or visiting. PROS The swamp has woods ball...
Report this review to a moderator   #10862
LEPRECON4
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Played here: 6+ times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Great Fields
Cons: grass a little high at times
I have been playing at the swamp over ten years, and they are the reason i stayed with paintball. I strongly recommend the swamp if you are in the area or visiting.
PROS

The swamp has woods ball which has improved so much the last couple of years, open wood fields with objects, towers, bridges, garage doors and much more. Great for capture the flag games.

Speed ball is there if you ask them to set it up for you. but there are plenty of small fields to set your own speed match on, which can be very fun.

The best part of the Swamp is the concept field. A open field with many buidlings, RV, Vans, and new school bus, bunkers of all types, perfect for rec-ball ballers. There is also a two story castel which you can plan attack and defend on.

The Swamp is very organized! The owner Tommy is a really nice guy. The head ref "Batman" or joel is super nice and will help you with any problem you can ever think of. He gets game going, every 10 minute a new game, more games for your buck.

GO TO THE SWAMP IT IS WORTH YOUR WILD (DONT COME IF YOU CHEAT)

CONS--
The grass can be to high at times
The paint prices are a little high, but not to bad for a field.
Games run a little slow when Batman the head ref is not there.
SOVA

Side notes--

The swamp has a places to eat, sometimes they grill out for big days,

The Swamp also hostes a scenario team called SOVA. They are a rec-team who help the swamp host big game and play on a daily weekend. I really hate playing with them, they think they are all tough and good. Don't be scare if you see them with their fancy jersey and try to be on their team. Be strong and play with confidence.

COME TO THE SWAMP!!!!! TONS OF FUN!!!! DONT CHEAT!

GOD SAVE THE QUEEN
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
The Swamp the fields are nice and well taken care of. the staff value safety and fun. great for players of all skill and ages. had an issue with my tank kept blowing due to bad orings in the reg. they lent me...
Report this review to a moderator   #8086
LifeMage
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
LifeMage owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Played here: 6+ times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Staff worked well and helped with tank issues
Cons: needs more speedball
the fields are nice and well taken care of. the staff value safety and fun. great for players of all skill and ages. had an issue with my tank kept blowing due to bad orings in the reg. they lent me a tank so i could play and told me what was needed to get the tank working again. overall A+ for their service and they take time to know the people that play there and make it more enjoyable.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
The Swamp This is more of an update of the field than a review. I am a employee of the field, Joel Krenzer. If you have any comment, questions, or suggestions that you would like to express, feel free to PM...
Report this review to a moderator   #8000
XxTehpandaxX
Custom User Title
XxTehpandaxX's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: SevenFiveSeven
XxTehpandaxX owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Played here: 6+ times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Great atmosphere, great for beginners and veterans
Cons: Woodsball field is a bit crowded, fixing now
This is more of an update of the field than a review. I am a employee of the field, Joel Krenzer. If you have any comment, questions, or suggestions that you would like to express, feel free to PM me, I am on here quite often.

First off the paint issue.
We now have quality paint in stock, it is inspected before every player receives their case by our shop workers to insure there are no breaks in the bags/massive dimples. If any customer is dis-satisfied with the paint they receive we will exchange it.

The woodsball issue.
We have been trying for a while now to clear out our woods fields. We have begun to make progress on this issue, clearing out the small trees, twigs, bushes, and setting up new bunkers that can be played. Next Saturday we will be doing a renovation of the woodsball field as well.

The reffing issue.
This is the most important issue of all to me personally. We have our old head ref, Joel "Batman" Gelken back. I can assure you that he DOES NOT tolerate cheating of any form.
With that he also teaches our newer refs to spot for it and instantly pulling any player who even dares to do so.
I can also say in the 4 years of working here we do not favor regulars, nor do our regulars want to be favored. All the refs we have had complaints about have been let go as well.

As I said before this is an update of the field, I work here and would not want this to be seen as a biased review. We are a field that listens to its players, they are the lifeblood. All complaints have been noted and are being worked on as I type this. Once again if you have any sort of comment please PM me. We are working very hard to make this one of the most enjoyable fields in the area.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
The Swamp Sorry to have to amend my review of these guys, but when I went there in the summer of 2008 it was run with a better refing staff then it is now. So lets be specific. One I run and ref a field far...
Report this review to a moderator   #7332
shockerairmail
 
shockerairmail's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Madison Hts
Played here: 2-5 times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 1.5/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Recommend to others: No
Pros: Good concept field and pro's shop
Cons: Woodsball is terrible, refing left me wanting
Sorry to have to amend my review of these guys, but when I went there in the summer of 2008 it was run with a better refing staff then it is now.

So lets be specific. One I run and ref a field far away from these guys, so I'm not competion, and I don't like start mud slinging contest, nobody wins. This is one experience I hope my review will help them improve stuff.

+Christ the girl that seems to run stuff was very nice.

+Stuff is reasonably priced in the pro's shop with good selection

+They have a very large and nicly laid out concept field.

-They lef everyone self Chrono and never spot checked anyone. Clearly some people had their velocity turned up. One guy chrono'd in front of me at 330, 329, & 279. Since his last shot was under he said "good enough for me". I told the ref, he did nothing. Someone should have been spot checking people during the game.

-Woodsball needs to be trimed up a lot with more bunkers added. Not worth playing, no real strategy. Defenders have a big advantage.

-The ref clearly favored the regular players that he knew. He allowed several players to go out of bounds only getting on them when I yelled my head off. The players should have been called out and asked to leave the field. They were clearly doing something they knew was cheating. It could not have been more blatant/obvious.

-Refs were out of position. Three refs would be in the middle of the field talking rather then spread out over the field. At one point there refs were telling the other team were one of our guys were at?!?!?!?! The only paint checked people when you asked, they should have been on top of people were the action was at. Instead when I called for a paint check the ref I believe ignored me. After I'd say 2 minutes he walked over and made a half hearted effort to look at only one of the players I had shot at.

To top it off when I expressed my views to Christy, the owner interjected "we don't pull people for going out of bounds". So what is someone's incentive to play fair? I was baffled by that one. Clearly he needs to think over his logic on that one.

The head ref is the main problem at this field. Get someone who cares enough to not tolerate the cheating. Cheating in paintball is killing the sport and it's killing this field. You won't see us here again. This was one fo the worst experiences I've had & I've had some bad ones.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
The Swamp Not really sure where to start. At first glance everything seemed to be in place for a great day of paintball. My friends and I drove three hours to play, and it was a hook-up to me because the...
Report this review to a moderator   #7335
PBFreak82
2 FAST 4 YOU
PBFreak82's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Amherst, Va
Played here: Once
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 1.5/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Recommend to others: No
Pros: Awesome staging area, Great concept field.
Cons: Horrible REF staff! Terrible Woodsball.
Not really sure where to start. At first glance everything seemed to be in place for a great day of paintball. My friends and I drove three hours to play, and it was a hook-up to me because the owner of my local area field/store got it set up so we had no entry fee's we just had to purchase field paint(not really a problem...YET)
Cue the first issue of the day.
They had stacks and stacks and stacks of paint called STINGER by RPS. Now when I asked about the paint the lady (who was very nice) told me that this paint was a mid level paint but we were getting it for the entry level price of $50.00. (55 for mid, and 60 for high end paint) now I didnt see any other cases of paint so it must have been in a building hiding from sight not being sold that often. The first case we purchased was opened by the lady at the counter and did an inspection for breaks in the bag (awesome) did not really say anything about the balls looking like mini golf balls. One of my friends asked for a new case which she kindly exchanged. Now it was a little on the cold side but not freezing by any means and not windy at all. I played all day the day before with my mini with my local fields mid level paint (DXS basic training) and no breaks, straight flight. I could not get that junk to shoot more than 25 feet without wild turns and breaks. Enough about that I think you get the idea.
-The REF I aked about the paint said he used once and it was ok. But it was most likely been sitting in a wherehouse for who knows how long. Not to mention that guy was more interested in playing with his friends than REFing a game.
-The head REF although a nice guy was not interested in fair gameplay or even really teaching his "new first time ref" how to really run a field.

overall had a good time playing with my guys. didnt care much for the lack of attention for guys getting shot and not calling out, playing through shots and overall just have a group of guys that are regulars that have no idea what paintball is all about.

not to happy. hope they take some of our complaints to heart and this place may turn into a great place to play.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
The Swamp I've been coming here for a couple weeks now and i love the fields and have had a great paintball experience here! I will be buying a annual membership!!!
Report this review to a moderator   #36361
aftorres
 
aftorres's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: VA
aftorres owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
aftorres owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
aftorres posts videos on PbNation
aftorres has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
aftorres has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
aftorres has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
aftorres supports Empire
Played here: 2-5 times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Great fields,friendly refs, great owners
Cons: it gets a little messy when it rains haha
I've been coming here for a couple weeks now and i love the fields and have had a great paintball experience here! I will be buying a annual membership!!!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review