Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Did you know?
PbNation has an awesome Paintball Field & Store finder. You can check out Breakaway Paintball's listing and find more fields nearby by clicking here.
Breakaway Paintball Information
Field Information Field Description Edit
Breakaway Paintball
4700 County Highway K
Raymond, WI 53126

Phone: (262) 912-0080
Located just 20 minutes north of the WI/IL boarder and 1.5 miles off I94. Over 100 acres of varying terrain. Currently 5 fields with more on the way. Corporate outings, private parties, and birthday parties welcome. This is the former Paintball Sams.
Year Established: Unknown
Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Reviews: 11
Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  45%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  45%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  9%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  0%
Favorite
Revise Weather Discuss
Link:
Field Features
Paint CO2 Compressed Air
Wooded Fields Concept Fields Hyperball Fields
Airball Fields Indoor Fields Marker Rentals
Drinks Available Flush Toilets Accepts Credit Cards
Breakaway Paintball Reviews
Breakaway Paintball I've played here more than a few times, and each time, the place is improved. Whether it's a new field, or an older one has been repaired/rehabbed, the place keeps getting better. The management...
Report this review to a moderator   #9129
anporras
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Brookfield, IL
anporras has been a member for 10 years
Played here: 6+ times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Good field sizes! Refs are active!
Cons: Mosquitos
I've played here more than a few times, and each time, the place is improved. Whether it's a new field, or an older one has been repaired/rehabbed, the place keeps getting better.

The management and refs truly care about the players having fun and being safe. You can have both. No, they can't stop the wipers, but they have taken them out of games before, I've seen it.

They now have 10 fields and I think they have at least a few more planned.

Price per case of paint at $80 is in line with most FPO places, but it's $10 less if you are a member of the field. Memberships are worth it ($75 if you don't find a way to get a membership free) because they get you in free and give you that $10 discount per case.

Bottomline, I always have a blast there, the people running the place are cool, and they care enough to work hard so you have a good time. You definitely get a good bang for your buck (no pun intended)!

Tony
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Breakaway Paintball Customer service: The customer service at Breakaway paintball is good to an extent. The lady that runs the front desk is extremely nice, as is the guy who fills the air and get the tanks. The one...
Report this review to a moderator   #24974
iquadra
BucK NastY
iquadra's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: K-Town, WI
Played here: 2-5 times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.5/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Recommend to others: No
Pros: Close to Kenosha
Cons: Muddy, Huge Fields
Customer service: The customer service at Breakaway paintball is good to an extent. The lady that runs the front desk is extremely nice, as is the guy who fills the air and get the tanks. The one horrid ref (from what I hear a pot head that is now fired and no longer working here) seemed to be the problem here as he didn't seem to be friendly at all and made jokes that the lady screwed up by not making me and my friend show our IDs when clearly we are older then 18. He also got mad at the guy who fills air, for not reading the rules of the field word for word out of the rule book. I understand rules are important, but clearly we are not five and have common sense, the guy's shortened version would have worked just fine. There are a few good refs at this field who know what they are doing, and a few terrible ones that shouldn't be reffing. This field would of got the extra two stars if the owner put forth the little extra effort in being kind to his customers and to making sure his refs were as well. Reffing has now improved but is is woods-ball so there are some cheaters.

Quality of fields: The fields here are HUGE. This is great for a woods-ball player but not so much for a speed-ball player such as myself. There is a ton of brush, thorns, etc. in your way as you attempt to run through the paths. Bring a bad pair of pants, mask, jersey, etc. to play with because your good one will get ripped/scratched from the brush. Another problem with the fields is that they are located at a ton of low points, so they are extremely muddy (BRING BOOTS). This doesn't allow for you to play low in certain ares unless you want to get all muddy and risk getting mud into your gun. Even the smaller fields here could be better as most of the bunkers seem ancient and are broken up pieces of wood or rusty metal cans, not exactly something that you want to snap-shoot up against.

Fun / Experience: For it being my first time playing woods-ball, I thought it was alright. To many people sit in the back and do nothing but camp and wait for you to walk onto a path. MY BIGGEST COMPLAINT (other then the owner being unfriendly) is that you do not get to pick which field you want to play on... The refs pick, which sucks because I had planned on playing just the hyper-ball fields all day. The next thing I know I am going in to the woods... The HUGE games of 30 on 30 are too big for some of the fields and two small for others. In my mind one woods-ball and one hyper-ball field would be plenty of fields. Breakaway gets three stars here just for the fact that I love paintball and they do have a few smaller fields that are somewhat fun to play.

Value: They had a special when I went for free admission ($15 value), as well as a case of paint on sale for $60 rather then $80. Admission includes all day air/co2 which is a plus. Prices on regular days could be cheaper though which is why I give Value four stars.

I would recommend this field to woods-ball players, but tell speed-ballers to stay away unless you want to scratch up your gear/clothing. Should I happen to go back ever I will keep the thread updated.

Edit: I went back about a month ago to get rid of a free admission card and extra paint I had left over from my prior time here and the owner was in a much better mood . I got to try out the Hyperball field and it is a ton of fun!!! Now if only you could choose to spend the entire day playing this...
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Breakaway Paintball Started going to Breakaway in 2009. The staff and refs were very friendly and fair, even for a noob like me. Over the past year, I have visited some larger places around Chicago, with fancier bunkers...
Report this review to a moderator   #7830
U-p_q-U
 
U-p_q-U's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Des Plaines
Played here: 6+ times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Firendly staff and refs are safe and fair
Cons: Unpaved drive....mosquitos
Started going to Breakaway in 2009. The staff and refs were very friendly and fair, even for a noob like me.
Over the past year, I have visited some larger places around Chicago, with fancier bunkers and such, but I think this is the best overall place to go. The people (staff and other players) make the difference !
Thank you Breakaway for introducing me to a fun new sport
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Breakaway Paintball After reading some of the reviews I thought I'd come and stick my 2 Cents in. Yes I gave it a 5 Star rating but that's because I work here and am Biased. :] Didn't give any Pro's or Con's because...
Report this review to a moderator   #31359
Harry J
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Saint Francis, WI
Played here: 6+ times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: xxxxx
Cons: xxxxx
After reading some of the reviews I thought I'd come and stick my 2 Cents in.

Yes I gave it a 5 Star rating but that's because I work here and am Biased. :]
Didn't give any Pro's or Con's because I'd rather you came and made those yourself. :]

I've been playing and reffing paintball for 25 years now, and 99%+ of my playing time has been on these fields. I watched it grow, expand, & improve for over 15 years till the previous owner just got tired and didn't care to keep it up anymore. :[ I stuck it out for another 6 years after that because of my love of this game. I've been with Breakaway since it opened up 4 seasons ago.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
So. Here's my thoughts.

Someone made the statement that we were "Only in it for the $$$$$".
FYI This "IS" a business. If you know of any Not for Profit paintball fields, please send me the link and info so I can go play.

Fields too big: Some fields are big, yes. But for smaller groups we can shorten up the play area. Our Nicaragua field is approx 170yd long and almost 80 yd wide. But we can play it 4 different ways depending on the size of the group playing, so even if it's just a 10 player party, they can still play the village.
The Fort field has 2 2-Story forts about 250yds apart and the field is almost 300yd wide. Awesome game for groups of 30+ on a side. For smaller groups we play it as Near Fort, White Fort, & Bush Field.
Same thing with the Barrel Field, play the whole thing or split it into 3rds.

Paint is expensive: We use ONLY Marballizer which any experienced player will tell you, it's one of the Best. And Mark don't buy a semi load and let it sit around the shop till it's used so you know the paint you buy will be fresh and up to standard.

Private Parties: Yes. We host a lot of them. Occasionally as many as 4 in a day. The days of everyone playing with a pump or slow firing semi-autos are, regretfully, long gone. Electronic's firing 12+ per second on semi-auto mode can be very intimidating to new players. Private parties allows them to compete against their friends using the same type of equipment.

Only need 1 woodsball & 1 Speedball field: I'm sorry but if there were only 2 fields, I'd be bored after a couple hours and looking for someplace else to play.

Why can't I choose the field I want to play on?: As stated above, we host a lot of private parties, so we have to take turns on the more popular fields. Even the Private Parties can't stay on 1 field all day long because other people want to play on it. Depending on the layout and field configuration, we have 15 fields & that isn't counting the splits for Barrels & Nic.

This one I heard last week.... "Too many dumb rules": The majority of our rules deal with Safety & Safe Play. The old saying of "It's only fun till someone loses an eye" is nowhere more truthful than on a paintball field.
I'll admit that I lose all "Political Correctness" when someone lifts their goggles and I'm screaming in their face till they're back on and that player is off the field. My opinion if that if you don't like me screaming at you, KEEP YOUR GOGGLES ON!!! This is also why we don't allow smoking, eating, or drinking on the field. You have to raise those goggles in order to do that!
Now you'll see me on the field carrying a cigar, but it's not lit, cause I don't smoke out there, either. But if I put it down I usually forget where it is. (CRS Strikes again)
The rest of the rules deal with Fair Play. This game is SOOOO EASY to cheat at, but is that how you want to win? Biggest forms of cheating is wiping off a hit, playing on till the player that shot you is also hit, THEN calling yourself out, and talking to other teammates after you get hit, telling them where enemy players are.
As I will tell everybody... I Despise cheaters. If you want to cheat at your gameplay, sit at your computer, search for GAME CHEATS, then DL some and cheat to your hearts content because then it's only you that is affected. But when you play paintball and you get hit, call yourself out, exit the field and think about what you did wrong and try to correct that for the next game. This game is the most fun you can have with your clothes on, but not when someone ruins everyone's time by cheating.

I guess that was a bit more than 2 Cents worth but I'm done for now.

Harry
Head Ref
Breakaway Paintball
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Breakaway Paintball Maybe it was first timers bad luck at this field but I had my worst experience at a paintball field ever at Breakaway. Biggest gripe is not the fields themselves but how you have no heads up as to...
Report this review to a moderator   #44881
madpropz
 
Join Date: May 2014
Played here: Once
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Field Variety
Cons: Layout, Refs, Paint
Maybe it was first timers bad luck at this field but I had my worst experience at a paintball field ever at Breakaway.

Biggest gripe is not the fields themselves but how you have no heads up as to what to do when you play on them. You're led to them through random paths through the woods and you have no map to look at and strategize. As a new person you're severely handicapped. I never played a field more than once either so learning/adjusting is not achievable. Also, when you do get hit you're forced to leave the area completely. There isn't a staging area/dead man's area to talk to your other dead teammates or watch/wait for your friends to come off the field. Most of the fields have no wayfinding at all so even finding your way back to the parking lot is a challenge itself.

Speaking of the parking lot - plan to spend a lot of time here. Never have I experienced such lack of organization and timeliness from the operators/refs. Games had almost a half hour in between them and considering all the walking to and from the fields - it's a real boring place to play.

When you start a game, you have no clue as to where the other team is or where the objective is. On one field my team started on the edge of the woods in a ditch with no direction given by the ref.

Speaking of refs, one was great, the other was terrible, others were randomly found walking around the woods for who knows what reason. They had us play at the hyperball course (as walk-on's we were never given an option) and had us play a regeneration game to use up our brittle as hell paint. The ref (didn't get a name) combined both hyperball fields because there were about 16 of us. Problem is, he had us start in the corners of the 2 fields... so the bunkers don't work at all in your favor. He stacked the teams (regulars vs first time walk-ons) and my team gets pinned at the respawn 'corner'. As a team we slowly decided either we didn't want to spawn in because they had us trapped, or we were out of paint. The ref didn't reset the game nor ask the other team to back up, but called my team 'pussies' for not spawning back in. The spawn was accomplished by touching an 'oil drum' with no cover except for the oil drum if you decided to duck behind it. The ref thought this advantage for the 'regular' and I'm assuming friends, was hilarious and kept ridiculing us (some of us younger girls who wouldn't even get a shot off before being drilled by 8 on the other team).

I had a talk with the ref afterwords and he said it was 'just a game' with a chuckle - not a fun one. Neither was my experience here. If you're into camping behind a bunker for 15 minutes waiting by the objective and spending 80% of your day sitting in the parking lot waiting for the ref to stop eating/smoking/doing whatever he's doing in the trailer; this place might be for you.

I'll stick to Siege for my outdoor fix where I can actually play fair, fun and timely paintball.

Also, I've heard they store their paint alllllll year round in those 'trailers'.

Expensive as well for Marballizer.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Breakaway Paintball One of my favorite places due to the fact it is so cheap! Cant beat $15 for Entry, Air, and 500 Paintballs. The location of the field is a bit further then I would want it to be but beggars cant be...
Report this review to a moderator   #31736
grodo
The One & Only
grodo's avatar
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Chicago, Illinois
grodo is playing at Living Legends V
grodo has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
grodo has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
grodo is attending Decay of Nations VI
Played here: 6+ times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Awesome Staff! ExpireCheap! Best Bang for the buck
Cons: Mostly all woodland -- Needs Landscaping
One of my favorite places due to the fact it is so cheap! Cant beat $15 for Entry, Air, and 500 Paintballs. The location of the field is a bit further then I would want it to be but beggars cant be choosers. Customer service is Second to none. I broke a feed neck / dented barrel on a rental (my marker was temperamental) they didn't even charge me for the repair. Rules are fair and geared towards safety. Cheers to the guy with the pink hopper!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Breakaway Paintball If you're into woodsball, this is the field to be at. Large area for plenty of action.
Report this review to a moderator   #37002
MeŠiCX
Boneyard Paintball
MeŠiCX's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Plymouth, WI
MeŠiCX owns a Planet Eclipse Etha
MeŠiCX owns a Planet Eclipse GSL
Played here: Once
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.5/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Lots of land
Cons: Thick brush
If you're into woodsball, this is the field to be at. Large area for plenty of action.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Breakaway Paintball this is easely the best woods ball field in a 100 mile radus!
Report this review to a moderator   #20243
rdpb196
 
rdpb196's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: hawthorn woods il
rdpb196 owns a Planet Eclipse Etek
rdpb196 plays in the APPA beginner division
rdpb196 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
rdpb196 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Played here: 6+ times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: nice refs clean fields
Cons: hard to see entrance
this is easely the best woods ball field in a 100 mile radus!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Breakaway Paintball This field is great. Its the best field for anyone starting out to go to, or a speedballer transitioning into woodsball, or an experienced woodsballer. I started going in the beginning of the 2011...
Report this review to a moderator   #11452
robot0ninja
 
robot0ninja's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Kenosha, Wisconsin
Played here: Once
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Owner, Staff, Harry
Cons: Lots of rental players, fields are a bit overgrown
This field is great. Its the best field for anyone starting out to go to, or a speedballer transitioning into woodsball, or an experienced woodsballer. I started going in the beginning of the 2011 season and loved it. I bought a gun from Mark's (owner) store, discount paintball and got a free membership. The owner is awesome except for one thing, he doesnt like to higher players as refs. So whenever a new ref comes in, they usually suck for the first month or two. The field is a little bit on the expensive side unless youre a member (almost cpx price). The fields get a little bit overgrown at the end of the month, but then Mark goes through with his staff and they clear it out (they have some nice industrial equipment). The head ref named Harry is awesome. Hes very old school and likes to yell. You know hes having a bad day when he doesnt have a cigar in his mouth. But he definitely is the best ref you will ever have, you will feel perfectly safe even with the worst of renters. Speaking of which, there are a lot of people that rent, i mean a lot. But i guess that can be a good thing, because i havent gone once (biweekly during the 2011 season) when there was less than 20 people for walk on play. I think they cater a little too much for the renters and private parties, but hey, they gotta make money too. Over all, the field is awesome, the staff is awesome, and the usual players are awesome, wait till you meet skeletor.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Breakaway Paintball Our group of 7 played as walk-on's on April 14, 2012. The last time I had been there was when it was under previous ownership, Paintball Sam's. They have improved a lot since then. Pros: - The...
Report this review to a moderator   #27084
Tselanne
 
Tselanne's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2005
Played here: Once
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Fields, refs, rentals, service
Cons: if any, cost per case
Our group of 7 played as walk-on's on April 14, 2012. The last time I had been there was when it was under previous ownership, Paintball Sam's. They have improved a lot since then.

Pros:
- The fields/pathways/trails were cut down a lot from several years ago. This greatly improved your ability to walk/run through the brush and offered a much better 'field play' experience.
- The management at the front desk (sign-in, rentals) were super friendly and efficient. I'm always frustrated when you bust your butt to get there on time, only to wait 30 min because there's only one kid behind a desk. This was not the case, it was very efficient.
- The refs were great. Friendly, knowledgeable, organized, consistent, helpful, and didn't bend the rules for people. They actually booted one of our players for one game because they found non-field paint in his hopper. They managed the games well - gave everybody advanced notice of game times, and kept the teams even.

Cons:
- Paint was $80 per case. Not bad, I understand fields make most of their money from paint sales. However, other local fields charge less (one is $55/case, another is $65). It should be noted that paint quality was excellent. No old and brittle crap like the previous management used to sell.

There is no question. I will go there again.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review