Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Did you know?
PbNation has an awesome Paintball Field & Store finder. You can check out Black River Paintball's listing and find more fields nearby by clicking here.
Black River Paintball Information
Field & Store Information Field & Store Description Edit
Black River Paintball
2500 Carson Gregory Road
Coats, NC 27501

Phone: (919) 567-9977
Over 55 acres of playing excitement. With 8 courses to choose from our castle field, Hyperball Field, Amazon, Air Ball fields or perhaps you can jump in The Barn Yard and Jungle Jr. Field. The addition of Ghost Town has also been a crowd favorite. PRO SHOP on site.
Year Established: Unknown
Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.1/5 stars.
Reviews: 41
Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  20%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  61%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  12%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  7%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  0%
Favorite
Revise Weather Discuss
Link:
Field & Store Features
Paint CO2 Compressed Air
Wooded Fields Concept Fields Hyperball Fields
Airball Fields Indoor Fields Marker Rentals
Drinks Available Flush Toilets Accepts Credit Cards
Black River Paintball Reviews
Black River Paintball I have been playing 17yrs and seen many changes in the Black River Field and Staff. Getting to the field is interesting, do not use MapQuest! You Google Maps! If you think you are lost, you are...
Report this review to a moderator   #9661
FeWolf
 
FeWolf's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Fayetteville,NC
FeWolf has been a member for 10 years
FeWolf donated to help Peyton Trent
Played here: 6+ times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Large Field
Cons: Staff
I have been playing 17yrs and seen many changes in the Black River Field and Staff.
Getting to the field is interesting, do not use MapQuest! You Google Maps!
If you think you are lost, you are there, very poor road side marking, G_D Bless GPS, if I did not play there so much I would be lost.
Filed has a Store, Rental, Food Items, rest room. Usually a large turn out everytime I have been there. Several Large Games a year.
They Take Credit Card, Check card and Cash, leave the checkbook at home.
Refs, hmm need alot of work in this area, not enough of them.
Woodsball, while a large area and some nice buildings, they are not used to as they should be, I have been going there for sometime and I still have not got to play in the buildings.
Food, you are out in the sticks, bring your own, they are pretty pricey at the field.
Lots of parting area and camping, I setup a table and a mini grill for the Noon break for Lunch.
Woodsball is enmass vs enmass, too many choke points, which really kills play, and it becomes stale. And always use the same area, they try and change it up by changing the name, but it all the same.
They have what it takes to be a good field they just need some good leadership to get it in gear. If you are 18 or above not a bad place, lower ages, I would say go to the Fayetteville Field. Cussing and behavoir by players is pretty bad, and cheating is really bad on the players part,( more Refs), I had to drill several people at close range before they called themselves out, I do not enjoy doing it.
Chrono, they need new ones or battery, I could not get my marker under 275 for the life of me, and well I got alittle miffed at my marker.
Lucky a friend of my had a chrono, it read 125! rechronoed it to 275, field speed. Went back to Chrono samething, hmm, turned the chrono around and wiped it down, worked fine, they need alittle PM on the gear.
air Field Station, one of the best, several line for 3000 and 4500, refill took about 1 min.
On a scale of 1 to 10, I would give it an overall 7 to 8.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Black River Paintball I have played here twice and enjoyed it. If you are looking for a fun time and not competitive everyone here is nice and will assist new players. Great local field.
Report this review to a moderator   #31406
newjerseynick99
newjerseynick99
newjerseynick99's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: North Carolina, U.S.A.
newjerseynick99 owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
newjerseynick99 plays in the APPA D5 division
newjerseynick99 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
newjerseynick99 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Played here: 2-5 times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Friendly fun field
Cons: No cons
I have played here twice and enjoyed it. If you are looking for a fun time and not competitive everyone here is nice and will assist new players. Great local field.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Black River Paintball Great staff and great field, come out and play for a day of fun.
Report this review to a moderator   #35226
OG-Eclipse
Ego 11 f/s/t pm me
OG-Eclipse's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Charlotte
OG-Eclipse is playing at Living Legends VI
OG-Eclipse supports Team VICIOUS
OG-Eclipse posts videos on PbNation
OG-Eclipse has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
OG-Eclipse is attending Decay of Nations VI
Played here: Once
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: nice fields, friendly
Cons: none that I know of
Great staff and great field, come out and play for a day of fun.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Black River Paintball Black River Paintball is the best paintball field i have been to. Friendly and helpful staff, well thought out fields, Marbalizer is their field paint. Great Feild
Report this review to a moderator   #43264
Pantie Dropper
I LIKE WOMEN
Pantie Dropper's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Cary, North Carolina
Pantie Dropper owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Pantie Dropper has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Pantie Dropper has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Pantie Dropper supports Empire
Played here: Once
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Staff, Fields, Paint,
Cons: Distance
Black River Paintball is the best paintball field i have been to. Friendly and helpful staff, well thought out fields, Marbalizer is their field paint. Great Feild
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Black River Paintball VIP membership pays for itself if you go 7 times and buy a case each time..Ive played there awhile now and it has always been fun. The speedball field was down for more than a month but now its back,...
Report this review to a moderator   #45489
pbplayer149
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Played here: 6+ times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Air Fill, Tourny Paint
Cons: lackluster referees
VIP membership pays for itself if you go 7 times and buy a case each time..Ive played there awhile now and it has always been fun. The speedball field was down for more than a month but now its back, and the air problem got fixed after the last big game. Will fill to 4.5k now. 64$ for a case is expensive, but with a membership you get it for 45. Most of the referees are good but some don't care to paint check everyone and will walk allowing some players to wipe. Overall it is a fun place to play and with a groupon, affordable to everyone.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Black River Paintball This place is great, its the kind of place I WISH I could have had my first paintball experience at. The woods ball fields are hands down incredible all types of scenario games can be played and as a...
Report this review to a moderator   #16185
Porkins McClarin
HAVOC
Porkins McClarin's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Fayetteville, NC
Porkins McClarin owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
Porkins McClarin posts videos on PbNation
Porkins McClarin has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Porkins McClarin has perfected Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Porkins McClarin has perfected Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Played here: 6+ times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Fields, staff, overall experience
Cons: none to mention
This place is great, its the kind of place I WISH I could have had my first paintball experience at. The woods ball fields are hands down incredible all types of scenario games can be played and as a speed ball player I find myself wanting to return to the woods when I play here.

They host many events such as big games and tournaments, as well as offer up their field for the COFA, ACTS, and the NCXL.

The staff are super friendly and i have seen them go out of their way many times to assist new players, and even help players who have bought their own gear and are still learning the ins and outs of it all.

I highly recommend this field if you are thinking about playing here.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Black River Paintball Alright, this is the place where I started getting somewhat serious about paintball about two years ago, and I've played off and on there up to this very date, so this is accurate and true. When I...
Report this review to a moderator   #8666
Greg!
✔ Verified Brony
Greg!'s avatar
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: 910
Greg! plays in the PSP
Greg! is an NCPA player
Greg! plays in the APPA D3 division
Greg! is Legendary
Greg! supports DLX Technology
Played here: 6+ times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Recommend to others: No
Pros: Fort field, airball field, lots of people
Cons: Look at the review, too many to list
Alright, this is the place where I started getting somewhat serious about paintball about two years ago, and I've played off and on there up to this very date, so this is accurate and true.

When I first started playing at this field, I knew nothing about any other fields in the surrounding area. Not because I didn't search for them, but because I was told, by the owners, that there was NO OTHER paintball field in the area. Now I had been driving at least 45 minutes every other weekend to go to their field, and being new, I honestly believed them. However, now that I'm older and have half a brain, I realized that this was merely a tactic used by the owners to siphon as much money out of my pocket as possible.

The refs at this field range from those that are incredibly lenient (To a point of obliviousness) and those that are incredibly stubborn. I've witnessed a snake player take a shot to his mask, get back in the snake, call a ref over, and point at the blotch in his lens, yelling that it came from under the snake, and that it shouldn't count. The ref simply said "Oh...okay." and wiped it off, shell and all. For $60 a case for whitebox, I don't think that I want to waste my paint on people when refs won't even legitimately call them out.

I'll give Black River one thing. They have a nifty fort field, and a nice set of bunkers for speedball. However, the quality of what they have doesn't outweigh the negative aspects of the atmosphere that you're in, the refs, some of the players, and the management that is overlooking everything.

All in all, I'd be happy to point other paintball players in a different direction than Black River, there are several fields within a reasonable driving distance that will provide a much nicer environment, honest people who aren't going to overshoot a recball player because it's 'Agg.' With this being said, I will NEVER return to Black River.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Black River Paintball I have to say i had fun because hey its paintball and any field im at as long as im slinging paint its fun but i got there before opening hours with my buddya and 3 hours after opening hours the...
Report this review to a moderator   #28810
TheHK
 
TheHK's avatar
Join Date: May 2012
Location: North Carolina
TheHK owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
TheHK has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
TheHK has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
TheHK has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Played here: Once
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Recommend to others: No
Pros: there was music and lots of people
Cons: horrible safety and horrible customer service
I have to say i had fun because hey its paintball and any field im at as long as im slinging paint its fun but i got there before opening hours with my buddya and 3 hours after opening hours the speedball fields bunkers were still not up they had horrible customer service and their ref's had alot of attitude problems i disliked. nothing against black river in general its just the people who work there do not know how to please customers.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Black River Paintball I really enjoy playing at black river and would recommend it to anyone
Report this review to a moderator   #51201
Moloto
#2
Moloto's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2014
Moloto owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
Moloto has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Moloto has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Played here: 6+ times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: great staff, great feilds, and players of all skil
Cons: sometimes games are slow to start
I really enjoy playing at black river and would recommend it to anyone
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Black River Paintball good place to go and have a birthday party or whatever. Dont go if your looking for the tournament experience
Report this review to a moderator   #12787
Pr1m0
Givin' um the Switch
Pr1m0's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: TN
Pr1m0 plays in the PSP
Pr1m0 plays in the MiLP
Pr1m0 is one of the top 1000 posters on PbNation
Pr1m0 supports DLX Technology
Played here: 6+ times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: good friend, lots of players
Cons: not alot of talent playing there
good place to go and have a birthday party or whatever. Dont go if your looking for the tournament experience
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Add New Review