Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Did you know?
PbNation has an awesome Paintball Field & Store finder. You can check out ICU Paintball's Indoor Battle Arena's listing and find more fields nearby by clicking here.
ICU Paintball's Indoor Battle Arena Information
Field & Store Information Field & Store Description Edit
ICU Paintball's Indoor Battle Arena
2220 East Ovid Avenue
Des Moines, IA 50313

Phone: (515) 282-9089
Heated indoor paintball field located in Des Moines, Iowa
Year Established: Unknown
Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Reviews: 28
Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  18%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  75%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  7%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  0%
Favorite
Revise Weather Discuss
Link:
Field & Store Features
Paint CO2 Compressed Air
Wooded Fields Concept Fields Hyperball Fields
Airball Fields Indoor Fields Marker Rentals
Drinks Available Flush Toilets Accepts Credit Cards
ICU Paintball's Indoor Battle Arena Reviews
ICU Paintball's Indoor Battle Arena This place is sooooo awsome. Everyone is so nice and helps you out with any problems. It's only an xball field but it's my personal favorite. I've been shopping at their store since i started playing...
Report this review to a moderator   #7522
alpinetraxxx
DSM Detox
alpinetraxxx's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Iowa
alpinetraxxx plays in the PSP
alpinetraxxx owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
alpinetraxxx owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
alpinetraxxx supports Team VICIOUS
Played here: 6+ times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: refs and owner are super cool, tournements, indoor
Cons: NOTHING
This place is sooooo awsome. Everyone is so nice and helps you out with any problems. It's only an xball field but it's my personal favorite. I've been shopping at their store since i started playing in sixth grade all the way until now (in tenth) lol. They are really loyal about everything. They are also very competive with prices of paintballs and field fee I believe is only 12$ (that also pays for the air or co2 all day)
ICU =

link to the website: http://www.icupaintball.us/
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
ICU Paintball's Indoor Battle Arena ICU paintball's newest field has become a very popular place for recreational players looking for a Des Moines-local field to play. They cater to first-timers and vetrans alike, without mixing the...
Report this review to a moderator   #11300
Castro #66
Not a Moderator*
Castro #66's avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Castro #66 is a Supporting Member
Castro #66 is playing at Living Legends VII
Castro #66 supports Bob Gurnsey
Castro #66 is one of the top 500 posters on PbNation
Castro #66 is Legendary
Castro #66 is attending Decay of Nations VII
Played here: 6+ times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: High value, great staff, climate control
Cons: Sawdust, lighting, hard floor
ICU paintball's newest field has become a very popular place for recreational players looking for a Des Moines-local field to play. They cater to first-timers and vetrans alike, without mixing the two uncomfortably.

Great staff on hand are always helpful, and safety-minded. They keep things moving along at a good pace for rental groups, though occasionally busy days bog game turnaround down. Paint quality is good, and at only 270 fps, it has to be. The floor is wood with sawdust, which provides a solid running surface for anyone not wearing cleats, but it can hurt to take a dive on if you forget your knee pads. The rental gear is always clean, and they even have hats, jackets and pants on loan to anyone ill-prepared. They even rotate the field layouts at least twice a month!

ICU's biggest fault right now seems to be the lack of extra fields, but I'm sure they are working to solve this issue.

I will continue to play ICU through the cold season, as I have since they opened 3 years ago. I can't wait to play this weekend!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
ICU Paintball's Indoor Battle Arena I was in the area on business, and needed to get my paintball fix, ICU was close, so I thought I'd try them. First off, ICU is in an old rollerscating rink, so don't expect magic. On the other hand,...
Report this review to a moderator   #7500
cowboy_dan
 
cowboy_dan's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Racine, wi
Played here: Once
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Good sized field, large staging area
Cons: Less than ideal lighting, staging floor uneven
I was in the area on business, and needed to get my paintball fix, ICU was close, so I thought I'd try them.

First off, ICU is in an old rollerscating rink, so don't expect magic. On the other hand, I was 50% suprised to NOT see a disco ball above the field.
The refs were good, and seemed fair when I was there.

The floor was suprisingly easy to run on. It's made of OSB (Oriented Strand Board) with the rough side up, so it doesn't get slick fast like concrete does. Between the roughness of the OSB, and some wood pellets, I didn't have any problem with traction.

The staging floor was uneven due to it having been a skating rink previously. Once you remember that, it's not bad. Just that first step toward the field can be a suprise.
One nice thing about the staging area is that they kept the carpet. Since it's a really tight weave it doesn't get paint shell tangled in it, or absorb as much paint as regular carpet. It also cuts down a LOT on the noise in the building.

I did like their queueing system. It worked well with the groups at each of the spools in line to the field entrance.

Most of the rules are done via a video, which I thought was a little over the top. It is a good idea for larger groups or new players, but all I need is a quick overview and I get it the first time. No need for the constant repetition in the video for me.

All the bunkers were good condition and reasonably clean. All the bunkers are the inflatable kind.

Prices were fairly reasonable I thought. IIRC, $12 entrance included all day air, then $17 for 500 balls.

The lighting could be a little better, but after a few moments on the field your eyes adjust and it's ok. Could still be better, but definately playable.

The group I played with were good guys. In fact, all the players I saw were pretty well behaved. No major roughhousing or fights.

One oddity is that since the ends of the field are curved, it can bounce the sounds (calls or marker noises) around and make them sound like they're coming from somwhere that they aren't.

Overall, I'd play there again.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
ICU Paintball's Indoor Battle Arena love that its indoor so your out of the elements and can play when its raining, but the floor here sucks, its so slippery. also they change the field almost everytime you play, so you never know what...
Report this review to a moderator   #29197
buford
gunwhore
buford's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Fairfield, Ia
buford is for the Gunfight
buford posts videos on PbNation
buford supports Pev's Paintball
buford has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
buford has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
buford has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
buford has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Played here: 2-5 times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: indoor, good price
Cons: floor sucks
love that its indoor so your out of the elements and can play when its raining, but the floor here sucks, its so slippery. also they change the field almost everytime you play, so you never know what to expect...sometimes great field, sometimes its just ok...depends on the setup! overall happy with it!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
ICU Paintball's Indoor Battle Arena Having an indoor field in the area is awesome. Unfortunately though the lines can get almost unbearable (our last visit was play 5 mins, wait 40, not ideal). Maybe if they could force minimum game...
Report this review to a moderator   #14565
dgusa
 
dgusa's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Des Moines, Ia
dgusa donated to help Peyton Trent
dgusa supports Team VICIOUS
dgusa supports Team VICIOUS
dgusa has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
dgusa has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
dgusa has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Played here: 6+ times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.3/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Heated indoor field
Cons: lighting, long lines at times
Having an indoor field in the area is awesome. Unfortunately though the lines can get almost unbearable (our last visit was play 5 mins, wait 40, not ideal).

Maybe if they could force minimum game sizes during busy sessions (tell groups of 4 or 6 that they need to combine to speed up time between games).
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
ICU Paintball's Indoor Battle Arena Our Team practices there in the winter, they have a amazing staff, and the over all i say its a great field for rec players to the pros with a pro shop and its indoor its the best indoor field in...
Report this review to a moderator   #26836
madhogspaintball
Mad Hogs!
madhogspaintball's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Des Moines, Iowa
madhogspaintball is playing at Living Legends V
madhogspaintball owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
madhogspaintball has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
madhogspaintball has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Played here: 6+ times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Great Staff, indoor, and store
Cons: slick floors, not perfect lighting
Our Team practices there in the winter, they have a amazing staff, and the over all i say its a great field for rec players to the pros with a pro shop and its indoor its the best indoor field in Iowa period.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
ICU Paintball's Indoor Battle Arena The field is located indoors which makes it great for playing on rainy/snowy days. The refs are really cool and nice and they make sure everyone is there to have a good time. Todd is the owner and...
Report this review to a moderator   #21806
Vegas_210
I'm kind of a big deal...
Vegas_210's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: MW FTW
Vegas_210 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Vegas_210 plays in the APPA beginner division
Vegas_210 has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Vegas_210 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Played here: 6+ times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Indoors, Great staff, Good refs
Cons: smaller field
The field is located indoors which makes it great for playing on rainy/snowy days. The refs are really cool and nice and they make sure everyone is there to have a good time. Todd is the owner and he can answer any question you have. The employees there are very well informed. A+ field I recommend it to anyone who wants to have a great day of paintballing!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
ICU Paintball's Indoor Battle Arena If your looking for a place to play in the winter, this is the place to go.
Report this review to a moderator   #25543
jnpballer
Go hard in the Paint
jnpballer's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ames
jnpballer has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
jnpballer has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Played here: 2-5 times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: indoor, friendly staff
Cons: saw dust and hard floors
If your looking for a place to play in the winter, this is the place to go.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.5/5 stars.
ICU Paintball's Indoor Battle Arena this is a great field to go play on the cold days in the Winter you just have to watch out for the floors
Report this review to a moderator   #13933
Da Griz
WINTHROP MAFIA
Da Griz's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Iowa
Da Griz is playing at Living Legends VII
Da Griz posts videos on PbNation
Da Griz plays in the APPA D5 division
Da Griz supports Empire
Played here: 6+ times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Indoor for Iowa Winters
Cons: slick floors
this is a great field to go play on the cold days in the Winter you just have to watch out for the floors
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
ICU Paintball's Indoor Battle Arena ICU gives the players of Central Iowa a place to play either when it's during the dead of winter or a scorcher in August. Todd and Diana are great!
Report this review to a moderator   #21115
dodgeballers_ia
 
dodgeballers_ia's avatar
Join Date: May 2006
Location: IOWA
dodgeballers_ia is BST Legit
dodgeballers_ia supports Team VICIOUS
dodgeballers_ia supports Team VICIOUS
dodgeballers_ia supports Team VICIOUS
Played here: 6+ times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Well informed staff as well as great selections!
Cons: 1.5 hr drive time
ICU gives the players of Central Iowa a place to play either when it's during the dead of winter or a scorcher in August. Todd and Diana are great!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Add New Review