Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Did you know?
PbNation has an awesome Paintball Field & Store finder. You can check out Santa Clara Paintball's listing and find more fields nearby by clicking here.
Santa Clara Paintball Information
Field Information Field Description Edit
Santa Clara Paintball
2542 Monterey Hwy
San Jose, CA 95111

Phone: (408) 288-6855
Largest Bay Area Paintball field that easily accommodates beginners, intermediates, and tournament teams. Walk-ons and rentals can play on any of our many fields and teams can practice on either our NPPL or XBall fields. (There is a $10 outside paint fee)
Year Established: Unknown
Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.2/5 stars.
Reviews: 52
Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  33%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  52%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  10%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  2%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  4%
Favorite
Revise Weather Discuss
Link:
Field Features
Paint CO2 Compressed Air
Wooded Fields Concept Fields Hyperball Fields
Airball Fields Indoor Fields Marker Rentals
Drinks Available Flush Toilets Accepts Credit Cards
Santa Clara Paintball Reviews
Santa Clara Paintball this is my favorite speedball field it the area. it is a friendly enviorment for everyone from beginners to pros the play in. There r two speedball fields. one nppl and one psp which are both nice....
Report this review to a moderator   #33429
mojoadobo41
 
mojoadobo41's avatar
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Califoria
mojoadobo41 is playing at Living Legends V
mojoadobo41 owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
mojoadobo41 supports Team VICIOUS
mojoadobo41 supports DLX Technology
Played here: Once
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: almost everything
Cons: turf..
this is my favorite speedball field it the area. it is a friendly enviorment for everyone from beginners to pros the play in. There r two speedball fields. one nppl and one psp which are both nice. the only thing thats not so great is the turf is just layered and a little un even.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Santa Clara Paintball I drive over 2 hours to play at CEPP, when I live 10 minutes from SCP. That should tell you all you need to know.
Report this review to a moderator   #22610
morote
 
morote's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, CA.
morote has been a member for 10 years
morote is playing at Living Legends V
morote has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
morote has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Played here: 6+ times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 1.3/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Recommend to others: No
Pros: Location
Cons: Price, refs, paint
I drive over 2 hours to play at CEPP, when I live 10 minutes from SCP. That should tell you all you need to know.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Santa Clara Paintball SCP isn't my home field, pretty far from it (about 1½ hr drive). But i've got friends & family that are local. My first time here was actually for a tournament, PFOA. Ample staging area for it,...
Report this review to a moderator   #10681
nerdcore
Radical!
nerdcore's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Crashville
nerdcore has been a member for 10 years
nerdcore is playing at Living Legends VII
nerdcore is a top reviewer
Played here: 2-5 times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Recommend to others: No
Pros: Good fields, decent facilities, good turn-out
Cons: Prices may deter some
SCP isn't my home field, pretty far from it (about 1½ hr drive). But i've got friends & family that are local.

My first time here was actually for a tournament, PFOA. Ample staging area for it, just the ground under the turf was rock hard on the field it was hosted on.

Fast forward 2 yrs to 2011, i've been there for recball twice this year, the last visit in June.

As you may have read, SCP divides players by skill. Rentals only play other rentals. Self-equipped play only other self-equipped, either as Intermediates or Advanced (Advanced usually being team scrims). Intermediates is actually pretty varied, and should be divided further, worth suggesting if you visit (i'll sure suggest it now that i've thought about it).

I've played Intermediates both times and had a great time, coming across just enough equally skilled players to make it worthwhile, or just running against my fam/friends who are on a similar level. There were 2 airball fields up both times, and we were able to switch between the two. One is the turf fields i played during the tourney, and it's still rock hard, but the other turf field is nice (usually claimed by teams on sundays for half the day).

Refs could bear to be a little more involved, and they could split the teams a little more evenly, but they've got good attitudes and are pretty friendly, so they're not opposed to team requests. The field doesn't appear understaffed at all, and they run games often enough for us old guys, typically turning games around right away, going 2-3 games before heading back to the staging area.

Prices are pretty high but they've got a membership program that drops the price of entry $5 and paint by $5 as well, and the membership itself is a one-time price of $5. Makes it worthwhile even if you only go once. A $10 fee for byop is steep, but many people can get paint under $40 a case, still making the price cheaper than field paint even with the fee. Some people should understand the cost of running the field - the county fairgrounds isn't a low-cost location, and they've got a well-maintained facility.

Only gripe i have is the location of the bathrooms. You better go before you get there, and hold it til the end of the day. The field is located in the fairgrounds, and the bathrooms are the fairground's own, which aren't exactly right next to the field. The equivalent of walking a block or more, i'd say.

Overall, it's a quality field, and one of the few fields in the area. It's also conveniently located near a freeway exit (convenient once they finish construction) and quite a few common city elements (food, stores, gas stations). It's far from being my regular spot because i live nowhere nearby, but i'm not opposed of visiting once in a while.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Santa Clara Paintball Santa Clara Paintball is one of my favorite fields. They base their business off the customers. There is a reason SCP is one of the most popular fields in the Bay Area. There are at least 5...
Report this review to a moderator   #25523
Nomahsib
 
Nomahsib's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 206/408
Nomahsib is an NCPA player
Nomahsib is one of the top 500 posters on PbNation
Nomahsib is Boss
Nomahsib supports DLX Technology
Played here: 6+ times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Everything
Cons: Price
Santa Clara Paintball is one of my favorite fields. They base their business off the customers. There is a reason SCP is one of the most popular fields in the Bay Area. There are at least 5 fields, including a full sized NPPL and PSP field. This field attracts good competition and you will find many teams practice here. The only negative things I have to say about the field are price. The field is reasonably priced, but still hits the wallet hard. Paintball is expensive though, but I had to list a con. Overall, I would recommend the field to anyone regardless of their experience.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Santa Clara Paintball
Report this review to a moderator   #42683
PBshooter2013
 
PBshooter2013's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Bay area
PBshooter2013 plays in the PSP
PBshooter2013 plays in the APPA beginner division
PBshooter2013 supports DLX Technology
Played here: Once
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: feilds for everyone
Cons: only 2 air stations
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Santa Clara Paintball Pricey, but good service and fields!
Report this review to a moderator   #44552
poorballer900
Axe + CASH!!???
poorballer900's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
poorballer900 owns a Planet Eclipse Etha
poorballer900 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Played here: Once
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: 10 fields
Cons: Price
Pricey, but good service and fields!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Santa Clara Paintball I've been playing there for a while now and SCP has been great! They have great refs and a variety of fields. The staff are pretty nice and helpful. We've been bringing our church's youth group to...
Report this review to a moderator   #22767
pr0file
Deaf Guy
pr0file's avatar
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Bay Area, CA
pr0file owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Played here: 6+ times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Awesome refs and variety of fields
Cons: Motocross track nearby
I've been playing there for a while now and SCP has been great! They have great refs and a variety of fields. The staff are pretty nice and helpful. We've been bringing our church's youth group to SCP every summer for the last 4-5 years and they really love it there as well!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Santa Clara Paintball Best field ever I play here every sunday.
Report this review to a moderator   #32927
Rivermanochio
SCP EDGE KIDS
Rivermanochio's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2012
Rivermanochio owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Rivermanochio plays in the APPA beginner division
Rivermanochio has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Rivermanochio has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Played here: Once
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Awesome field with a awesome comunity
Cons: .....
Best field ever I play here every sunday.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Santa Clara Paintball Good place for beginners. Great place for scrims. You can get discount on groupon.
Report this review to a moderator   #20810
sandman512
Don't sweat the technique
sandman512's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: San Francisco, CA
sandman512 has been a member for 10 years
sandman512 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
sandman512 has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
sandman512 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Played here: 6+ times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Fun envoriment
Cons:
Good place for beginners. Great place for scrims. You can get discount on groupon.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Santa Clara Paintball Overall this is an okay field. I reccomend to all players who live close by.
Report this review to a moderator   #24439
SeanTanTellEm
 
SeanTanTellEm's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: San Jose, CA
SeanTanTellEm has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
SeanTanTellEm has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
SeanTanTellEm has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Played here: Once
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Dirty, No close bathrooms
Cons:
Overall this is an okay field. I reccomend to all players who live close by.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review