Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Did you know?
PbNation has an awesome Paintball Field & Store finder. You can check out Santa Clara Paintball's listing and find more fields nearby by clicking here.
Santa Clara Paintball Information
Field Information Field Description Edit
Santa Clara Paintball
2542 Monterey Hwy
San Jose, CA 95111

Phone: (408) 288-6855
Largest Bay Area Paintball field that easily accommodates beginners, intermediates, and tournament teams. Walk-ons and rentals can play on any of our many fields and teams can practice on either our NPPL or XBall fields. (There is a $10 outside paint fee)
Year Established: Unknown
Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.2/5 stars.
Reviews: 50
Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  34%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  52%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  8%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  2%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  4%
Favorite
Revise Weather Discuss
Link:
Field Features
Paint CO2 Compressed Air
Wooded Fields Concept Fields Hyperball Fields
Airball Fields Indoor Fields Marker Rentals
Drinks Available Flush Toilets Accepts Credit Cards
Santa Clara Paintball Reviews
Santa Clara Paintball Background: I've been playing at this place for a long time. Since it opened in Jan. 2003 to be more exact. I have been a beginner there, a rec-baller, a tournament player, and even ran scrimmages...
Report this review to a moderator   #23338
711clerk
 
711clerk's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: San Jose, Ca
711clerk is a Supporting Member
711clerk has been a member for 10 years
711clerk is BST Legit
711clerk is attending Decay of Nations VI
Played here: 6+ times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 2.8/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Plenty of parking, convenient air facility
Cons: Prices, bathrooms, game quality for walk-ons
Background:

I've been playing at this place for a long time. Since it opened in Jan. 2003 to be more exact. I have been a beginner there, a rec-baller, a tournament player, and even ran scrimmages there. I have to admit, to be able to run a paintball facility of all places in the world they do it very well in the most strict county in all of United States (Santa Clara).

Customer Service:

It's good and there always room for improvement, they heavily cater to new and young people which is very good (we have to grow the sport of paintball to keep it going). Walk-ons and tournament players, you get a ref to pretty much baby-sit your group or team and your pretty much on your own, even with chrono checks its done either on your own or the ref will randomly out of no where will check everyone, fair enough I guess, back in the day it was done before every game guess not anymore.

Quality of Fields:

I'm led to believe its pretty good in today's terms. Sadly, I have not been able to experience all of their rec-fields, even when I tried to rent one day, I was not allowed to join the rentals based them being private groups fair-enough, but I had my beginner stepson with me and I think it was a bad call on their part. Air ball fields they are different from weekend to weekend so that's excellent and you may get a chance to experience both kind of a coin toss on that (possibly can get stuck on one field all day if your in the intermediate group).

Fun/Experience:

When I was there in the beginning to about 05' at the height of my tourney days, it was a blast. Walk-ons and tournament players alike had ran the whole place for a while it seemed and we were the ones catered to. Those were good times. Since then till now, it is the exact opposite and that is to be expected with this economy. As a business owner myself, I would cater to the bigger crowd and that's just good business (yes bigger crowd being new players rentals and b-day groups). For us lone wolfs, self-equips, unless you have a team to do guess walk-ons with, sorry to say your screwed (specially for the price you end up paying to play).

Value:

It is expensive for walk-on self-equip people as bring your own paint has its own fee to use. But if your renting you can find it fair prices and you will get the experience of excellent customer service and will get a blast for playing there. Plenty of tables and cover except on over crowded days better be there first.

Conclusion:

I know Mike runs a sharp field and is making the business work for his family. I would not do it any different as the way he runs it. As a beginner player (I recommend it) you probably will have a good time here with a group or as long as they put rental players together as walk-ons (hopefully not being thrown in with the intermediates like I experienced with my stepson). As an ex-tournament player and now self-equipped lone wolf player, I don't recommend playing here. Even thou the field is minutes from where I live, I actually drive hours up north to davis or if I want to try woodsball I go to Los Gatos Pursuit even.

Sometimes I ventured to watch the turn outs on the weekends. On Saturday, the intermediate group is almost non-existent at times and if I did pay to play the games are way too slow to turn it around. Sundays, if your not on a team your pretty much left out and if there is an intermediate group that day, get ready to play one on ones or 2's or just sit and watch sadly the teams scrim.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.5/5 stars.
Santa Clara Paintball I moved to San Francisco not too long ago from Southern California, and was looking at a decent place to play. Since SF doesn't have any fields, I chose to go to this field which is only about...
Report this review to a moderator   #9071
KappY!
 
KappY!'s avatar
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: San Francisco
KappY! supports Team VICIOUS
KappY! supports Team VICIOUS
KappY! has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
KappY! is attending Decay of Nations VI
Played here: Once
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Read Below
Cons: Read Below
I moved to San Francisco not too long ago from Southern California, and was looking at a decent place to play. Since SF doesn't have any fields, I chose to go to this field which is only about 30-45 minutes away.

The field was relatively easy to find, located at the fair grounds, you can see the fields from the main street. When I arrived, I was kind of excited cause I haven't played paintball since I moved, and the fields looked pretty nice.

It was my first time playing speedball, but to my surprise, they separate players into skill level, which is great for me cause I am not new to paintball, so I played with the intermediates. Was great fun to be matched with people at your skill level and not against those who just completely obliterate you right as the game starts.

Since I arrived there, the referees, proshop, and cashiers were just amazingly nice compared to some other places I've played at. They were happy to be there and are not those people that find it as "just another job." Very helpful to a first-timer at the field, and I didn't get frustrated by long wait times like at other fields.

From the time I arrived to the time I actually go to start playing was about 10 minutes; from paying, to getting air, to chrono-ing my marker, to the field. Super fast for what I am used to.

One thing I liked, that I didn't know about ahead of time, was the "SCP Player's Club". For 5 bucks extra, they keep your waiver on file, and you get a bunch of discounts (I think it was 5 bucks off air, 5 off entry, and 10 off paintballs). Was such a great deal for 5 bucks.

Pros: Friendly staff, nicely upkept fields, comparable prices, just... easy and fun, which is what paintball should be.

Cons: The non-speedball fields have rocky gravel instead of turf or dirt, not sliding friendly.

In my opinion, one of the better fields I've played at. Overall, a very happy customer.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.3/5 stars.
Santa Clara Paintball They have a great facility, hyperball and airball, in "downtown" area, so there are lots of options for food and lodging. Staff is a bit undersized for the size and number of fields, price is a bit...
Report this review to a moderator   #7609
berzerker
It's Benderin Time!
berzerker's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: 530...916...510...415...
berzerker supports Bob Gurnsey
berzerker supports our troops
berzerker has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
berzerker has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
berzerker supports DLX Technology
Played here: 2-5 times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.3/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Lots of fields and lots of players
Cons: lotso f people
They have a great facility, hyperball and airball, in "downtown" area, so there are lots of options for food and lodging. Staff is a bit undersized for the size and number of fields, price is a bit high too. lots of solid parking.
The only grip, is that there are usually a ton of players, so some of the fields can get very crowded. I played rec ball and 2 tournies here, as well as spectated a USPL event here.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Santa Clara Paintball This place is an awesome place to bring new players and friends. Lots of great fields, staff, and fun. For those of you who play Race-To and NPPL, there is a field for each however the PSP field...
Report this review to a moderator   #20944
chrispydct
SLO AZN
chrispydct's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: San Francisco
chrispydct plays in the PSP
chrispydct supports Cereal Killerz 2
chrispydct owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
chrispydct plays in the APPA D3 division
chrispydct is one of the top 1000 posters on PbNation
Played here: Once
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Good refs
Cons: Field Size Not Regulation
This place is an awesome place to bring new players and friends. Lots of great fields, staff, and fun.

For those of you who play Race-To and NPPL, there is a field for each however the PSP field isn't wide enough so they just cut off the sidelines a little which isn't a problem.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Santa Clara Paintball This field is one of the best ive been to and is very well maintained. They did not decide to skip out on anything. The turf is good quality, the bunkers are nice. The refs enforce the rules. The...
Report this review to a moderator   #31798
510waffles
Call Me Maybe
510waffles's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: San Luis Obispo,CA
510waffles owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
510waffles owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
510waffles has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
510waffles supports DLX Technology
Played here: Once
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Very nice field, Very well maintained.
Cons: Price
This field is one of the best ive been to and is very well maintained. They did not decide to skip out on anything. The turf is good quality, the bunkers are nice. The refs enforce the rules. The people at the front desk are nice. It is is a good facility and very well managed and run. The place is small(compared to places with woodsball), however it is one of the best places for airball. The prices could be better, but its nothing too bad. Overall, if you want a good place to play, go to SCP.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Santa Clara Paintball Has PSP, and NPPL reg fields, active with advanced players on the weekends, largely populated with rentals, who get first picks of the fields, so little to no play will occur on the rec ball fields...
Report this review to a moderator   #44467
a43
Fight to Win
a43's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: San Jose
a43 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
a43 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Played here: 6+ times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Many fields, relatively cheap air/paint
Cons: Rentals are given priority
Has PSP, and NPPL reg fields, active with advanced players on the weekends, largely populated with rentals, who get first picks of the fields, so little to no play will occur on the rec ball fields during day light hours for self equipped people. atmosphere is friendly and players take care of each other. and if teams are lopsided, people will self handicap.

3 tiers of player skill:

First timers: rental equipment, standered rental behavior

Intermidate: brings own equipment, Intermediate skill level, kinda knows what they are doing (no bunkering) slower games due to camping.

Advanced: tourney BPS, bunkering, fast paced games, VERY aggressive maneuvers.

FPS Cap is 290.

Wide selection of GI and Valken, Draxxus depending on what they buy. all fresh paint, 10$ outside paint fee per box, and no Pink, red, or blue fills.

5$ for all day air. 4500 and 3000 psi fill stations, not in the best shape.

has food/ drinks for sale.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Santa Clara Paintball Always played at USPN, then decided to take the extra drive to a "more popular" field. It was well worth it. The fields were super nice, nice turf, good bunkers that were properly inflated. Only...
Report this review to a moderator   #22411
americigerm
Punchin Nerds in the Dome
americigerm's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Monterey, Ca
americigerm owns a Planet Eclipse Etek
americigerm has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
americigerm has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
americigerm has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Played here: Once
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Lots of players, nice fields
Cons: Paint prices to high for quality
Always played at USPN, then decided to take the extra drive to a "more popular" field. It was well worth it.

The fields were super nice, nice turf, good bunkers that were properly inflated. Only complaint was there was one one ref for the field, and a paint check was super hard to get.

Everything was clean, benches and tables were available. I wish the air station wasn't so far from the the field, but it did give you time to take a break.

As for paint a case of basic, was $50, and the balls were like bouncy balls. They wouldn't break when you threw em onto the ground. Feels like you're getting hit with a rock on the field.

All in all, bring your own paint and pay the fee. This field is my new home. Sorry USPN.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Santa Clara Paintball They have about 5 different fields here, two being speedball with turf. They have an XBall field with recent psp bunkers, and they have a 7man NPPL field. The other 3 fields are for new players....
Report this review to a moderator   #17343
BabyFace
 
BabyFace's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
BabyFace supports DLX Technology
Played here: Once
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Xball Field and NPPL Field
Cons: Pricey
They have about 5 different fields here, two being speedball with turf. They have an XBall field with recent psp bunkers, and they have a 7man NPPL field.

The other 3 fields are for new players.

The people there are pretty friendly and will let you jump in their games. It can get busy in sundays so youll have to wait and find a line to play with like everyone else, but overall there is some pretty good paintball here.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Santa Clara Paintball I started playing at SCP back in 2006. They used to have about 3 airball fields at the time, and 2 hyperball fields. Now they have 9 fields total, including an NPPL, and PSP field which is maintained...
Report this review to a moderator   #29819
ChaChuShady
Outburst United
ChaChuShady's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Nor*Cal
ChaChuShady owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
ChaChuShady owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
ChaChuShady has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
ChaChuShady supports DLX Technology
Played here: 6+ times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: NPPL, PSP, 9 fields total, astroturf
Cons: 1 Chrono check, fee for outside paint
I started playing at SCP back in 2006. They used to have about 3 airball fields at the time, and 2 hyperball fields. Now they have 9 fields total, including an NPPL, and PSP field which is maintained regularly. The hyperball fields are all different and a ton of fun! Refs are all pretty chill guys/girls, but the only thing I would hate on them for is not chronoing every time new players walk on. My only concern is that there are a fair amount of kids that play.

Overall the field is great. Private parties have the most priority, and weekends have great competition.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Santa Clara Paintball Well i go there every weekend, its a great place. All the staff are cool and after a few times of you going there they might remember you. They HAVE hired a ref that has NEVER played paintball, has...
Report this review to a moderator   #10950
cityfrags
Live Long And Wang Chung
cityfrags's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Yo Mama's
cityfrags owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
cityfrags plays in the APPA D5 division
cityfrags supports Empire
Played here: 6+ times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Great airball fields, good rental gear/fields
Cons: Employees are kinda lazy, paint prices outrageous
Well i go there every weekend, its a great place. All the staff are cool and after a few times of you going there they might remember you. They HAVE hired a ref that has NEVER played paintball, has no idea how to play, and is always a dick on the field. They do enforce some rules for rec ball like no bunkering, 15 ft surrender rule, and some other rules which are reasonable. Probably one of the most unnoticed rule is the blind man rule. So once upon a time i was playing with the rentals having a blast. I was about to move from the so called "snake" to the castle wall when 3-5 people just let loose on their triggers. I didn't notice that i ran right infront of the ref when they started shooting. the ref kinda spazzed out so his mask fell off. He dropped to the ground, covered his eyes and screamed blind man. I screamed with him hoping that the rentals had been listening to the ref prior to the game. I dropped my tippy, sprinted to the ref while getting shot all on my right side, and put his mask back on. He thanked me and later i ****ing screamed at the rentals for not listening. they all had red faces of embaressment even though half of them were ****ing koreans who didnt speak a lick of english. So there, scp is a great place. The fields are always packed on the weekends with helpful, nice, relatable, paintball players. Over all im in love with the fields.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review