Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Did you know?
PbNation has an awesome Paintball Field & Store finder. You can check out Behind Enemy Lines Paintball's listing and find more fields nearby by clicking here.
Behind Enemy Lines Paintball Information
Field & Store Information Field & Store Description Edit
Behind Enemy Lines Paintball
100 Wolf Pack Road
Gastonia, NC 28056

Phone: (704) 867-2694
Fun place to get together with fellow woodsballers, on our strategic woodsball field...complete with our very own Hamburger Hill, bunkers and a huge creek... every week there's an improvement to the field, so you never get tired of playing here!
Year Established: Unknown
Average Rating:
  • Currently 3.7/5 stars.
Reviews: 13
Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  8%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  62%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  8%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  23%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  0%
Favorite
Revise Weather Discuss
Link:
Field & Store Features
Paint CO2 Compressed Air
Wooded Fields Concept Fields Hyperball Fields
Airball Fields Indoor Fields Marker Rentals
Drinks Available Flush Toilets Accepts Credit Cards
Behind Enemy Lines Paintball Reviews
Behind Enemy Lines Paintball I have played at belp for years, i hate to say it but it isn't the same place it used to be. I took a year break from PB and all of a sudden got that itch to play again so i figured alright Belp is...
Report this review to a moderator   #36159
Complexity21
 
Complexity21's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Gastonia, NC
Complexity21 owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
Played here: 6+ times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 2.5/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Cheap, but that is it.
Cons: No speedball,same gametypes refs suck
I have played at belp for years, i hate to say it but it isn't the same place it used to be.
I took a year break from PB and all of a sudden got that itch to play again so i figured alright Belp is right down the road let's go and play Saturday.
When saturday finally came i headed down there and i found this.
Shop was empty, the only things on the walls were 98-customs.
Only 2 types of paint.
Only 2 refs at the start of the day, eventually a 3rd one joined. Didn't much care for him (he had a terrible attitude)
And for years there i heard of talk of them eventually having a speedball field....
well that **** ain't happening, because they have been talking about it for 4 years.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Behind Enemy Lines Paintball Let me start off saying this is a negative review, I'm going to do my best to reiterate the day (and the things I disliked) my two friends and I spent at BEL paintball, then list the pros and cons at...
Report this review to a moderator   #8038
jacobd
 
jacobd's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: NC
Played here: Once
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 2.3/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Recommend to others: No
Pros: See review.
Cons: See review.
Let me start off saying this is a negative review, I'm going to do my best to reiterate the day (and the things I disliked) my two friends and I spent at BEL paintball, then list the pros and cons at the bottom. (so skip down if you don't feel like reading)

We pull into the parking lot and get out of the car, there's a group of about 5-6 walk ons that looked to be around 12-15 years old, and two older men with them, one looked maybe 40-50 and the other 50-60.

One of the two refs that was sitting on a nearby wall asked if we were playing, we said yes and started to walk in the store to get paint, we walked in and the owner? (he looked like he was in charge) asked us how old we were, we said 16,17 and 21 then he asked us for waviers, we filled them out and gave them to him, then we eatch bought a bag of paint.
We go back to the car and get our guns to chrono them and as we're waking over to the chrono he tells us we can't use barrel plugs, my friends were using my loaner tippmann 98s (with barrel plugs) and I was using a classic Minimag (I had a bag) and he says he only allows barrel bags, so I ask him if he has any we can borrow or rent and he says no he used to loan them out but people walked off with them, he tells us he sells them new for 6 bucks eatch (we needed two) but he'd sell them to us for 5 eatch.

Call me cheap but I really didn't want to pay $10 for a couple of barrel bags so I asked the group that was already there if they had any extras I could borrow or rent from them, they said "no sorry we had to buy them too" and remember this is AFTER we bought paint and while there are LOTS of signs that say "no returns on paint, no exceptions" and "no returns on merchandise store credit only" (they're even posted in the bathroom ) there are no signs that say "barrel bags only" or anything in fact the only place they metion "barrel bags only" is in the rules section of their website but of course I missed that, it's not that I disagree with their rule barrel bags probably are safer the problem I have is they make almost no effort whatsoever to tell you about it, they can post pleanty of signs about their prices and "no returns" but not one about "bags only", as I'm paying he says "sorry man that's my bigest rule" gee you'd think he'd try to tell people about it, maybe I'm paranoid but I think that's borderline dishonest.
We did end up scoungeing 9 bucks which he took for the bags.

Anyway moving on we get the gus chronoed and the refs call over everyone that's going to play, one of them gives us a saftey lecture and then they tell us to pick teams and that we're going to play attack and defend the fort, a log cabbin named "fort howard" "cool sounds fun" I think, we're defending so we start in the fort and wait for the attackers to come to us, I see one of the older guys and long story short I ended up (accidentally of course) shooting him in the, um, "private area" from real close, then one of the refs instantly yells at him to "get out of the bunker if you're out" he just yells back that he got shot in a bad place and he'll get out when he wants.
So we win the match, rest for a while and everyone's ready to go again, the refs tells us we're playing attack and defend again "ok" I'm thinking "whatever atleast it's a different base and we get to attack this time" one of my friends asks if we can just play team deathmach and the ref says "no we've played enough of that already" we played the next match uneventfully and afterword the walk ons we were playing with left so it was just us three, a ref, and some guy that was a friend of the refs.

The ref tells us we're going to play (notice a pattern here?) headshots only and his friend says "now that those guys (the walk ons) are gone I'm gonna pull out my full-auto" he goes and gets some e-griped A-5, dry fires a few times and says "you guys ok with me using this?" I said "sure", that was a mistake, for whatever reason (lazyness, he was buddys with the ref who knows) he doesn't (and the refs don't make him) chrono the thing...I wish I would've pointed that out... throughout the game I took a few hits from it and it HURT! he had said something earlier about his paint being left in a hot car but still, he ended up shooting me in the back of the head and, of course, I wasn't wearing a hat.
We left after that.

One last thing I want to point out is on the website they advertise
"A Full size Log Cabin aka Fort Howard, creeks, bridges and more...
Hamburger Hill approx 500 foot elevation from the creek below with a variety of trails and bunkers."

But I'll tell you a secret..come closer...closer....THE WHOLE FIELD IS FREAKING "HAMBUGER HILL"!!! and it sucks since you can tell they've done alot of work on it it has some cool forts but they're really just "throwing their pearls before swine" as they say because nearly all the ground is giant freaking hills!

So... pros and cons.

Pros.
Reasonably priced I think, paint starts at $12+tax per bag (Field paint only), a 20oz co2 fill is 5 bucks but they offer all day co2 for $12 and all day air for $10 if you use your own tank or $15 with a tank.
They have alot of bunkers and forts, some of which are pretty cool.

Cons.
The refs are lazy, (I mean I know the field's all hill and it's 85 outside, but it's their job) they seem to think they get to pick what style of game the customers are going to play, and they are ,or atleast the one I saw was, uneducated (the one that was watching us chrono didn't know how to use the rear velocity adjuster on my friends tippmann, and he kept pointing out how my Minimag was really old and said he was surprised I "still had one in good condition", it's not rare and it's only from the 90s dude come on)

Apparently they have a "barrel bags only rule" but other then one sentence metioning it it in the rules section of their website they make no attempt to inform people of it, they also sell barrel bags for 6 bucks, I don't know if they're trying to cheat people of if it's just no one shows up without one but either way they should really put up a sign or two.

And last but not least (infact I think it's the biggest problem) the field is huge hills, huge hills and more huge hills, I could look past the other stuff but this just really breaks it for me.

Anyway thanks for reading this I hope it helps.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.3/5 stars.
Behind Enemy Lines Paintball BEL paintball is a quality field for woodsball players. the field is fun the bunkers they have built are solid and the prices at the shop are pretty good. There is no entry fee, always a plus....
Report this review to a moderator   #30437
BobbyDanger
Hold my beer watch this
BobbyDanger's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Ft Bliss Tx
BobbyDanger is BST Trusted
BobbyDanger is attending Decay of Nations VII
Played here: Once
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: shop is well stocked, good prices, refreshments
Cons: lack of airball
BEL paintball is a quality field for woodsball players. the field is fun the bunkers they have built are solid and the prices at the shop are pretty good. There is no entry fee, always a plus. Personally I like airball more than woodsball so that is a negative in my book, at one time i talked to the owner he said they were going to implement it eventually but this was about 2 years ago. I suggest you bring a large party with you because you cannot count on there being other patrons at the field every week.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Behind Enemy Lines Paintball This is not all that bad of a place. Me and my team played here a number of times. When playing at a field we do not share who we are, because we have seen teams get better treatment then every...
Report this review to a moderator   #8753
Digitalhour
GOT SCAMMED!
Digitalhour's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: North Carloina
Digitalhour owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Digitalhour plays in the APPA beginner division
Played here: 6+ times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.3/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Customer Service is outstanding
Cons: Main field seems to be one sided
This is not all that bad of a place.
Me and my team played here a number of times.
When playing at a field we do not share who we are, because we have seen teams get better treatment then every other players. so when Me and my friend first went to the field it was in the middle of the week, we first walked in to the pro shop and got to know the men who were running the field.

They were outstanding for the first time we walked in.
We asked if we could walk the field to get a look at what they had to offer, they were glad to show us around as well as give us a map of the layout.

My team and I felt very welcome playing here and really enjoyed the proshop.

HOWEVER: after a few times playing we started to see most games were one sided. the Field is about 80% on a hill. witch made games a pain in the butt.

after playing for a while the crew who ran the field would ask for a vote on what game to play nexted and we almost all the time ended the day with a Game Called BORG "Awsome game"

Never in any time did me or any memebers of my team feel they were unfair. they treated everyone the same.

I do and untill i see other wise, Always recommend people to this field, This field is outstanding for anyone who is looking to get started and me and my team do plan on playing here again.
there was talks at one point for a speedball field, as well as an urban field. however I have not gone back this year yet so I am unsure.. "2010 yr"
Iv played at this field since 2008-2009.


Pros: heavy woods, well layed out field, Proshop is nice and well stocked, and the Customer Service I got was outstanding..
Cons: Lack of players. "all the times i played you were lucky to have 15 people show up". Huge hill!

on a personal note.
I Do recommend this field to others, it is a good place if your starting out.
HOWEVER, if you are just starting out "noob" Place let it be known, the people who play here are nice and will show you the roops..
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Behind Enemy Lines Paintball This place is great for woodsball, no field fee, good prices on air and friendly staff. The people in the pro shop are experts with tippys and BT's, they have a great selection of guns and gear and...
Report this review to a moderator   #23331
donttry34
Team_Atomic_Paintball
donttry34's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: North Carolina
donttry34 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
donttry34 has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
donttry34 is attending Decay of Nations VI
Played here: 6+ times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: new field add-ons regularly
Cons: Field Paint Only
This place is great for woodsball, no field fee, good prices on air and friendly staff. The people in the pro shop are experts with tippys and BT's, they have a great selection of guns and gear and have premium paint. I always have a great time playing at BELPB, i would definitely recommend it!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Behind Enemy Lines Paintball Good place to take some beginning players, very cheap,.
Report this review to a moderator   #39252
dperry1414
 
dperry1414's avatar
Join Date: May 2013
Location: north carolina
dperry1414 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
dperry1414 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Played here: Once
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Good place, nice people, cheap
Cons: NO airball!!! at all
Good place to take some beginning players, very cheap,.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Behind Enemy Lines Paintball Alright, to start with. I mind all of you reading this review to eliminate any negative ideas the above reviews have given you. I started playing at this field 2 years ago and i have been there at...
Report this review to a moderator   #27521
eman11500
 
eman11500's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Kings Mountain, NC
eman11500 owns a Planet Eclipse Etek
eman11500 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
eman11500 has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
eman11500 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Played here: 6+ times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Friendly Owners, Great friends, Open field, Flanks
Cons: None really?
Alright, to start with. I mind all of you reading this review to eliminate any negative ideas the above reviews have given you. I started playing at this field 2 years ago and i have been there at least 30-40 times ever since.

Prices- The prices are amazing at this field, Hands-Down. I personally know almost everyone that works there, this still doesn't do anything to my prices so don't think they choose favorites. A box of paint will normally go for 45$ up to 60$. The field fee is NOTHING!!!!!! They no longer fill or sell CO2 tanks here which is bad for any speedball gun anyways. Anyhow, you can rent a airtank for 10 with free refills.

So say you are a complete noob. You show up and they speak to you as if you play there all of the time. A rental will be around 20$ and you get a Tippmann 98, pod pack, and a chest protector (seriously if you can't take a hit to the chest then you shouldn't play the sport), 10$ for the air tank rental, and 2 bags of 500 paintballs for around 22$. You just played a full day of paintball for 52$. That is about as much as some people pay just to enter at a local speedball field.

The games you play at the field usually revolve around the 2 major forts at opposite ends of the field. Howard and Mar. Yes, i know there is a mid base (Hamburger Hill) on a huge hill, but seriously, you shouldn't even play if you complain about a hill for god's sake. There is plenty of bunkers, wooded areas, flank routes, and small structures. For games, all you have to do is mention it to the refs or Tony (Owner with long grey hair). It's not that hard, he is open to almost any ideas. Also for players, now that it is 2012, MORE THAN ENOUGH PEOPLE COME. No need for thinking you will be alone. Also, you can check BELP's facebook every day to see if they are open even! No need to call or even drive all the way there!

To end, i strongly suggest you try this place out. It's a fun, cheap field. If you see a tall, brown haired guy with a DP fusion fx, that's me! My name is eric, come over and greet me!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Behind Enemy Lines Paintball great prices but the staff is terrible.
Report this review to a moderator   #35223
OG-Eclipse
Ego 11 f/s/t pm me
OG-Eclipse's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Charlotte
OG-Eclipse is playing at Living Legends VI
OG-Eclipse supports Team VICIOUS
OG-Eclipse posts videos on PbNation
OG-Eclipse has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
OG-Eclipse is attending Decay of Nations VI
Played here: Once
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 2.5/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Recommend to others: No
Pros: cheap prices
Cons: the staff here are smart alics
great prices but the staff is terrible.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Behind Enemy Lines Paintball Went out on a sunny Saturday, only 10 people showed up the whole day One good thing was the paint was Fresh and the woodsball fields are alot of fun, not to mention Clean
Report this review to a moderator   #28437
one2follow
I'm on nation to much!
one2follow's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: SeVeN o 4
one2follow helped look for balloons
one2follow is playing at Living Legends III
one2follow is playing at Living Legends V
one2follow supports Bob Gurnsey
one2follow supports our troops
one2follow is reppin' sidebar 4 life
one2follow is Legendary
Played here: Once
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Clean fields, Fresh paint
Cons: Price, People, turnout
Went out on a sunny Saturday, only 10 people showed up the whole day One good thing was the paint was Fresh and the woodsball fields are alot of fun, not to mention Clean
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Behind Enemy Lines Paintball Great place to go to have fun with the family, Having a birthday party? you can do it with this field. Field is only woodsball, with a huge hill so be careful
Report this review to a moderator   #43794
PBL0ver
Pop a Squat
PBL0ver's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: York, South Carolina
PBL0ver has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
PBL0ver has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
PBL0ver has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Played here: 6+ times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Great People, Great Prices
Cons: ONLY WOODSBALL, they never added a Speedball Field
Great place to go to have fun with the family, Having a birthday party? you can do it with this field. Field is only woodsball, with a huge hill so be careful
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review