Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Did you know?
PbNation has an awesome Paintball Field & Store finder. You can check out Yankee Paintball's listing and find more fields nearby by clicking here.
Yankee Paintball Information
Field Information Field Description Edit
Yankee Paintball
Quaker Farms Road
Oxford, CT 06478

Phone: (203) 906-9622
Our fields include 3 woods fields with a fort, castle and village, as well as 2 new recball fields. We welcome groups of all sizes (with reservations) as well as the individuals. Experience paintball in the scenic hills of Oxford, CT.
Year Established: Unknown
Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.9/5 stars.
Reviews: 9
Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  100%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  0%
Favorite
Revise Weather Discuss
Link:
Field Features
Paint CO2 Compressed Air
Wooded Fields Concept Fields Hyperball Fields
Airball Fields Indoor Fields Marker Rentals
Drinks Available Flush Toilets Accepts Credit Cards
Yankee Paintball Reviews
Yankee Paintball They have a couple speedball fields set up, one with pallets, one with airball. They also have a bunch of woods fields with castles, forts, bunkers, etc. One thing I liked about their woods fields...
Report this review to a moderator   #10386
Chemlab
art.culture.work.
Chemlab's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: San Jose, CA
Chemlab has been a member for 10 years
Played here: Once
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Lots of walking uphill
They have a couple speedball fields set up, one with pallets, one with airball. They also have a bunch of woods fields with castles, forts, bunkers, etc.

One thing I liked about their woods fields was they had nice netted off areas on them so if you got shot out you could go in there and take your mask off in between games.

It was a little wet due to the two straight weeks of rain we had but the fields were all nice.

The Valken Redemption was in great shape. Round and consistent. Both my Viking and Phantom were shooting +/-1fps on the chrono.

Had a great day and met some nice people, will definitely go back.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Yankee Paintball I had the pleasure to play at Yankee Paintball this past Sunday! Please note that I only had time to play a couple of their fields which left me hoping to get back there soon! MY BACKGROUND: I have...
Report this review to a moderator   #8131
Decoy Tank
 
Decoy Tank's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Port Chester, NY
Decoy Tank owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Played here: Once
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: helpful staff & well designed fields
Cons: wish it was closer to me
I had the pleasure to play at Yankee Paintball this past Sunday! Please note that I only had time to play a couple of their fields which left me hoping to get back there soon!

MY BACKGROUND: I have been playing weekly recball for the past 5 years preferring woods to speedball, before that I had played occasionally since 1993 with college buddies or office parties.

TOPOGRAPHY: The filed is located on beautiful in typical New England woods & farm land, with some flat areas, some hills and some rock outcroppings with topography that ranges from ground level to approximately 40 feet higher with a nice variety of 20" plus diameter trees and under. With some grapefruit to pumpkin sized rocks strewn about, most small tree stumps removed and random branches picked up, for a field easy and safe to move around but not manicured to the point you lose the woodsball charm.

FIELDS: The several fields span the full range from speedball, hyper pipes, junkyard, castle to large woodsball fields. A broad variety of bunkers from tree trunks to plywood fences to boulders make for fun and diverse fields. The hills allow for sneaking around and surprise attacks. Best of all it is obvious that the fields were created by players who love the sport and so the fields I played felt balanced and very playable from all sides.

STAFF: The staff was friendly and attentive and real concern over how much fun everyone was having. As a new player to the field i was treated like a regular. Not the usual clickiness of some places. I had never seen ref.'s like these, who not only kept the games incredibly safe but made sure to separate the new players from the old and balance teams so everyone is having the best day of paintball they can.

SAFETY: I can't remember the last field where any ref actually went down the full list of playing rules at the beginning of the day. These ref.'s did it and made sure everyone understood that safety makes for great ball. They also chronoed everyone before every couple of games which kept things safe and surprisingly fast moving.

PAINT: As a weekly paintballer I tend to steer clear of any non BYOP places because it can get pricey to buy field paint every weekend although luckily at YP you can order partial cases. However at this field what I usually perceive as a con actually turned out to be a plus. The excellent and fresh valken field paint seemed to make people shoot less and seek out better positions. More precise shooting and honorable play made for a great day.

This field seems to be the best kept secret in CT, I can't wait to visit again and drag my buddies out there.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Yankee Paintball I began playing paintball 12 years ago in my backyard woods with my friends. Went to a field a few times and stopped playing a year or so later. Now I am in my late 20's and going to play paintball...
Report this review to a moderator   #31016
joncarlos5
 
joncarlos5's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: New Haven, CT
joncarlos5 plays in the APPA D5 division
joncarlos5 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
joncarlos5 has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
joncarlos5 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Played here: 6+ times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Staff, players, variety of fields
Cons: would like to see a larger air-ball field
I began playing paintball 12 years ago in my backyard woods with my friends. Went to a field a few times and stopped playing a year or so later. Now I am in my late 20's and going to play paintball again as brought up. I jumped at the idea and Yankee Paintball was the closest field to play.

So a fiend, my sister, my girlfriend, and I went one Saturday to get that adrenaline rush again. We got there, registered, got paint and air and sat down for the rules. The refs do a great job making sure everyone knows safety is the number 1 priority and fun is number 2. So we get out on the field chronograph our guns, me not having played with my ion before had some trouble and the refs were there to help with any questions I had. Teams were split up to make sure the skill level was even and we had a bunch of great games on the lower speed-ball fields and the upper woods fields.

The thing that stuck out the most from the day is how helpful the staff at Yankee is. At other fields the refs only talk to each other, don't help new players, and really seem like they don't want to be there. At Yankee all the refs were very friendly and constantly asked if we were having a good time. They were also quick to give us tips before and during play to help the game progress. I had an amazing time and have been back to play every weekend since.

Highlights of the following weeks:
  • My girlfriends gun wasn't working one day so one of the refs (one we just me that day) let her use his gun (invert mini) and set up (rotor, pod pack, extra mask) no questions asked (thanks Jason and Shadow).
  • Big woods-ball games - About 30 people in a great scenario woods-ball game. Went from the bottom fields all the way up the the top woods-ball field and then back down with different objectives along the way.
  • Hopper ran out of batteries with a few hours to play. Ref let me use his for the rest of the day, all I had to do was ask.


This is a great field for the first timer or the experienced player. I will be back to play at least twice a month until it closes for the winter.

Summary: Great place to play paintball. New and experienced players welcome and both treated the same. Best referees of any field I have been to. Safety and fun are guaranteed.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Yankee Paintball I have played a few times over the years. This weekend i had two birthday parties, one saturday and one sunday. I couldn't have had more fun. I had a gun and had no idea how to fix it and a staff...
Report this review to a moderator   #39479
seanrichard24
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Played here: 6+ times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: great staff
Cons: nothing significant
I have played a few times over the years. This weekend i had two birthday parties, one saturday and one sunday. I couldn't have had more fun. I had a gun and had no idea how to fix it and a staff member spent all day helping me fix it and eventually it worked!. All of the staff is very nice and helpful, and always stress safety. Also at the same time I was there, there was a party of younger kids. I noticed that the staff, the field, and over-all sport was youth-friendly. I have not played anywhere else, and the only reason i would is to compare yankee to them. It would be cool if yankee had a store, but it's not a necessity.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Yankee Paintball Let me start by saying that I have only played at Yankee once and it was my first game back after a long hiatus from paintball. Once you have arrived at the staging area after trekking up the long...
Report this review to a moderator   #42712
BrianD123
 
BrianD123's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Fairfield County, CT
BrianD123 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
BrianD123 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
BrianD123 supports Empire
Played here: Once
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: friendly staff
Cons: long uphill walks
Let me start by saying that I have only played at Yankee once and it was my first game back after a long hiatus from paintball.

Once you have arrived at the staging area after trekking up the long and steep hill to get there you will find everything centrally located. The staging area, small shed where you purchase paint etc., refill station and Porto potties. The airball field and recball field are right next to the staging area which is nice. I've been to places where you would have to walk 10 minutes to get to the field. So this 15 second walk was nice to get too and from fields and staging area. I enjoyed the layout of the recball field, good lanes. The airball field left something to be desired, not maintained too well but never the less it was enjoyable. The one woodsball field I played was accompanied by a long uphill walk. The field itself seemed kinda thrown together, definitely enjoyed the airball and recball fields more.

Overall, very good experience at Yankee paintball. Friendly staff, nice paint (could upgrade to premium for a couple bucks more), nice fields, 45K fills. Definitely plan on playing here again. If you live near Yankee and haven't checked it out yet what are you waiting for?!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Yankee Paintball Played here twice last fall and again this spring, I love Yankee Paintball. The fields are awesome and the refs are super. They're into paintball so badly that they can't help but help you tinker...
Report this review to a moderator   #39501
Verywary
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Played here: 2-5 times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Sweet set up
Cons: Inertia
Played here twice last fall and again this spring, I love Yankee Paintball. The fields are awesome and the refs are super. They're into paintball so badly that they can't help but help you tinker with your marker when you should be on the field.
Only con I can think of is that sometimes it takes a little time to get a game going when there are large private parties, but I don't think that's the field's fault, more just the effort of corralling or herding a huge mass of inert people a few hundred yards uphill into the woods.
-Ryan
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Yankee Paintball Iíve played at Yankee Paintball many times this year in scenarios and in groups etc. We did speedball/airball, speedball w/ wood barriers, castle woodsball and straight up woodsball. MY BACKGROUND:...
Report this review to a moderator   #9146
Moby127
 
Moby127's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: CT
Played here: 6+ times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Fields, paint, staff, full service
Cons: Parking is a little walk
Iíve played at Yankee Paintball many times this year in scenarios and in groups etc. We did speedball/airball, speedball w/ wood barriers, castle woodsball and straight up woodsball.

MY BACKGROUND: I started playing when in 1990 or so. I took some time off but have recently begun playing again with upgraded equipment (mostly because Iím older, slower and have more money than the ďkidsĒ so I need the advantage.) I prefer the woods over speedball/airball but Iíll do it if thatís the event. Iím currently trying to get friends to go a day at Yankee Paintball so itís definitely my go-to destination.

TOPOGRAPHY: Decoy Tank is rightÖ the filed is on perfect piece of land consisting of woods & farm land with some flat areas some good hills and some rock outcroppings with great New England topography. You get the nice large trees along with trees laying down naturally and some with manmade bunkers. There are your fair share of rocks around and some are large enough to use as the only cover. The staff goes through the woods and takes down most of the branches under six feet so you donít get a branch in the face while your running/dodging balls through the woods that could jab you or pull off your mask during the game. Very good thought on their part. It isnít manicured to the point you lose the woodsball feel as Decoy Tank said and plays very safe but very natural. You really couldnít make a better field if it was in your own backyard and Iím dead serious about that.

FIELDS: There are several fields with speedball, air bunkers speedball, pipes, junkyard, castle to many small and large woodsball fields. There are a countless variety of bunkers from tree trunks to wood fences and rock which make for a variety of angles of defense and attack. There isnít one lopsided field where the defense or offense has the advantage and can hold the ground. There are some nicely deceptive angles which, once you get there, really arenít as good as you originally thought. So youíve got to watch what your doing. It really makes for a ton of fun.

STAFF: The staff is well trained, very safety oriented and attentive before and during the game. Goggles and safety are the number one priority always. They wonít ghost players and they donít get themselves in the line of fire or used as bunkers. Theyíre all over paint checks when you call for them (on you or other players) and they are as fair as you can get. Iíve never has or seen a problem arising from a ref there.


SAFETY: Iíll quote Decoy Tank here because heís right. They go through all of the rules at the beginning of the day. They make sure everyone understands the safety rules because theyíre their for your safety, not theirs. They also chrono everyone before every couple of games which kept things safe and surprisingly fast moving. The staging area is well netted and has many benches and is in the shade which is a great plus.

PAINT: Iíve used other field paint this year and for the price, you canít really beat it. Iíve used over seven cases of paint from Yankee Paintball and I found it to be super consistent. Round, good fill, good colors and breaks well.

Overall, I know of other fields in CT but I have no desire to try them out for the heck of it. I drive 35-45 minutes to get to Yankee Paintball because of all of the pluses theyíve got there. If youíre really a woodsball kinda person, you honestly have to check the place out. Iíd seriously be shocked if you could say you found a better woodsball field in CT (or anywhere else for that matter).

They do sell some snacks and some paintball gear right near the staging area. I know you can even buy gear and place orders for markers etc from them as well as Iíve done it myself. They have two outhouses which are bar-none the cleanest ones youíve ever been in. They even put hand sanitizer in there.

Go check it out. You will NOT be disappointed.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.7/5 stars.
Yankee Paintball Today was my first day playing at yankee and I couldn't of been happier to spend my money there. The staff and refs were great all really friendly and young. even gave me and my boy some free pizza...
Report this review to a moderator   #46665
mattdk82692
 
mattdk82692's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2013
mattdk82692 is playing at Living Legends VII
mattdk82692 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
mattdk82692 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
mattdk82692 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Played here: Once
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: great staff, cool scenario fields
Cons: no airball or shop.
Today was my first day playing at yankee and I couldn't of been happier to spend my money there.

The staff and refs were great all really friendly and young. even gave me and my boy some free pizza at the end of the day haha.

The fields were pretty fun to play on. I wish they had at least one air ball field instead of the hyperballish field they had. western village was probably the most fun to play at.

I would totally recommend playing here if your just getting into the game. the regulars that play there all seem really cool. Can't wait to go back and ball out again.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Yankee Paintball
Report this review to a moderator   #52745
mrmike7822
 
mrmike7822's avatar
Join Date: May 2008
Location: CT
mrmike7822 is reppin' sidebar 4 life
Played here: 6+ times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Great Woodsball Field
Cons: None!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review