Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Did you know?
PbNation has an awesome Paintball Field & Store finder. You can check out TAG Paintball's listing and find more fields nearby by clicking here.
TAG Paintball Information
Field Information Field Description Edit
TAG Paintball
2120 San Benito Street
Hollister, CA 95023

Phone: (831) 244-0950
Established in 1984, Over 10+ Courses (some are unique to Northern California), most rental gear available for beginners. We specialize for the beginners (not really geared for electros or experts).
Year Established: Unknown
Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.1/5 stars.
Reviews: 9
Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  44%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  33%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  11%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  11%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  0%
Favorite
Revise Weather Discuss
Link:
Field Features
Paint CO2 Compressed Air
Wooded Fields Concept Fields Hyperball Fields
Airball Fields Indoor Fields Marker Rentals
Drinks Available Flush Toilets Accepts Credit Cards
TAG Paintball Reviews
TAG Paintball I have been playing at TAG since 1995 and it is still my field of choice. It has moved several times and each new location has its own pros and cons. I think this field gives the best overall value...
Report this review to a moderator   #7216
emsplatt
 
emsplatt's avatar
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Santa Cruz, CA
emsplatt donated to help Peyton Trent
emsplatt supports our troops
Played here: 6+ times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Field variety, great staff, family atmosphere.
Cons: No airball fields, longer drive than it used to be
I have been playing at TAG since 1995 and it is still my field of choice. It has moved several times and each new location has its own pros and cons. I think this field gives the best overall value of any field I have ever been to.

The current and hopefully final location is a great one. The staging area has plenty of benches and a covering armed with misters for those hot Hollister Summer days. The rental equipment is by far the best of any field I have ever seen anywhere.

It is a little more expensive than other fields I have been to, but you get what you pay for in this case.

No CO2 is allowed, HPA only. This is a HUGE plus for safety as there is a much larger degree of control on the FPS markers shoot at.

There is a wonderful variety of different playing fields so there is no repetitive feel.

My favorite thing is the overall atmosphere of the field. It almost always maintains a great family friendly atmosphere with parents and siblings hanging around to support those that are playing. There really is not a hotheaded tourney group or mentality and the only serious speedball players that are there consistently are the refs and they are a great group of people that keep the day moving.

I think I played almost 20 games last time I was there, not counting the 1v1 fun we had at the end to use our remaining paint.

If you are looking for tourney type action on airball fields, then this is not the field for you. If you are looking for a place to go and have some fun with friends or hold and event such as a bachelor or birthday party then I fully recommend it 100%
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
TAG Paintball decent field but many problems including late starts, they advertise 4.5k fills but never fill beyond 4k, they give priority to the airsofters that go there on field use, but the worst offense is...
Report this review to a moderator   #30657
CGriff19
[]D [] []V[] []D [] []\[]
CGriff19's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Cali
CGriff19 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
CGriff19 has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
CGriff19 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Played here: 6+ times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 2.8/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Recommend to others: No
Pros: Nice refs, play paintball
Cons: Few fields, give airsofters priority on all fields
decent field but many problems including late starts, they advertise 4.5k fills but never fill beyond 4k, they give priority to the airsofters that go there on field use, but the worst offense is that most of the time they wont even let you use your own gear! like your electronic hopper and they have no problem saying no before you even walk out on the field whether you shoot fast or not

this is an ok place to go, the prices are high middle of the road, they dont put up their airball field and they usually only play most of the rounds on the three closest fields 2 of which are almost identical and the rusted out barrels will jack your gear up

i went here quite a bit but got good reviews from uspn and decided to try it out and i wont ever be coming back as uspn is cheaper more diverse and most of all they let you use the gear you paid for!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
TAG Paintball ive been playing at TAG for about 1 year now. everytime i go do not regret it. staff is really friendly, field has the safety issues locked down, great rental gear for beginners, misters for hot...
Report this review to a moderator   #10728
actualfigure
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Played here: 6+ times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: good staff, great enviornment, really safe
Cons: hot weather, pricy at times
ive been playing at TAG for about 1 year now. everytime i go do not regret it.
staff is really friendly, field has the safety issues locked down, great rental gear for beginners, misters for hot days.

TAG does a great job balancing the teams. if you havent played before they will put u with a group of beginners instead of putting u in a group of self-equip pros. TAGs staff members are friendly and have always had a good modd when i went.

GREAT fields for the most part. scenario and speed ball fields are great. all fields at tag are dirt fields. no turf no grass all dirt. the fields are great to play on either way. my preferred play style is speed ball and i like there fields.

You must buy there paint there. which is 60 dollars for a case. 1000 paintballs comes in at 35. 500 paintballs goes for 20. they need to use eco friendly paintballs since they are next to wild life and river but there paint is great! might get a few bounces here and there but for the most part GREAT PAINT

i highly recommend this field. the owner Roland Chick is a great guy who really cares about the sport and how much fun u can have if its played the right way.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
TAG Paintball Lots of diverse Fields, including new fields being added. Staff is great. There is a strong pump following with the regulars which results in some very interesting games. If you are looking to...
Report this review to a moderator   #32501
lone_eagle
 
lone_eagle's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: California
lone_eagle is playing at Living Legends VI
lone_eagle has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
lone_eagle has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
lone_eagle is attending Decay of Nations VI
Played here: 6+ times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Great Beginners Field, Friendly Staff
Cons: Expensive
Lots of diverse Fields, including new fields being added. Staff is great. There is a strong pump following with the regulars which results in some very interesting games.

If you are looking to start playing playing paintball I would recommend it!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
TAG Paintball I decided to get back into paintball after a break of many years, so I was very nervous about jumping back into the game. Fortunately, this field is one of the friendliest I've ever been to, and...
Report this review to a moderator   #42889
r0y7h31n4n3
 
r0y7h31n4n3's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Central CA
Played here: Once
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Nice staff, good discounts, friendly atmosphere
Cons: Expensive, lack of variety, lots of dirt
I decided to get back into paintball after a break of many years, so I was very nervous about jumping back into the game. Fortunately, this field is one of the friendliest I've ever been to, and they are extremely oriented toward newer players having fun. I suppose it might depend on who shows up, but the whole day never felt like a competition, just a bunch of people hanging out and playing paintball.

Their military discount is really excellent, $15 off their $50 admission. If you're bringing your family and paying for everyone without that discount though, things get expensive quickly.

They heavily advertise their policy of separating people based on their experience and their setup, but I never saw that during my trip. Although to be fair, there was only one electric hopper present and there wasn't really any way to separate him from the rest of the group, so there's that.

The air fills were 3k max when I went, but the self-service fill stations were extraordinarily convenient. The fields lack variety, they're all just bunker-fields with different types of piled-up junk. One course is bunkers made out of water tanks, one course is bunkers made out of barrels, one course is bunkers made out of trailers... It's fun, but I was hoping to get some woods play in and it never happened.
The only other problem I had with the fields were that they're just packed dirt, and while they're not rocky, they're pretty rough. I was wearing my paintball gear, so I didn't have a problem sliding through it, but anyone who shows up in sweatpants is going to have some holes torn in their knees.

Overall, great family place, perfect for bringing your beginner friends to have a good time. I'll probably be visiting again at least a few more times before I start looking for other fields, it's a really great spot to get comfortable with the sport again.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
TAG Paintball I've played at tag a few times. It's a great field to step away from competitive paintball, and just have fun. If I'm going to introduce someone to the sport for the first time I take them to tag....
Report this review to a moderator   #18895
Red Chief
Necks, Backs, & Packs
Red Chief's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: DC/Baltimore
Red Chief has been a member for 10 years
Red Chief plays in the PSP
Red Chief owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Red Chief owns a Planet Eclipse Lv1
Red Chief plays in the APPA D4 division
Red Chief has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Red Chief supports DLX Technology
Played here: 6+ times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Staff, covered staging
Cons: only 3k psi
I've played at tag a few times. It's a great field to step away from competitive paintball, and just have fun. If I'm going to introduce someone to the sport for the first time I take them to tag. AMAZING staff, fun diverse fields, clean and safe area. Great place to get back to your roots and just have fun with out the bad attitudes of tournament focused fields.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
TAG Paintball The single most fun thing ive ever done is played paintball for seven hours strait. and i found that experience at tag. the extremely helpful staff coached me and i found myself liking the game more...
Report this review to a moderator   #30017
tagplayer
 
tagplayer's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2012
Played here: Once
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: helpful staff, fun fields
Cons: expensive
The single most fun thing ive ever done is played paintball for seven hours strait. and i found that experience at tag. the extremely helpful staff coached me and i found myself liking the game more than ever. not only are the staff very cool but they have 10 + fields and are building even more. thats how i feel about tag. ive been to other fields and they pale to the overall status of tag. i severely suggest it to anyone in norcal. if you go tell roland mason said hi
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
TAG Paintball Roland is a fantastic guy who would bend over backwards for anyone who needs it, not all the fields are setup for regular play, some fields are very friendly to new players, the closest youll get to...
Report this review to a moderator   #12763
Tracker
Demigod
Tracker's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Las Vegas NV
Tracker is a founding member
Tracker has been a member for 10 years
Tracker helped look for balloons
Tracker has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Played here: 2-5 times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Great staff. great environment
Cons: no airball
Roland is a fantastic guy who would bend over backwards for anyone who needs it, not all the fields are setup for regular play, some fields are very friendly to new players, the closest youll get to regular speedball is the hyberball field. last time i was there was before the RAP4 scenario game, so i cant say what the changes to the field have been like

not going to be your usual tourney player hangout, but if your looking for a nice, relaxed day of new to intermiediate level players, this is a great place to go
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
TAG Paintball Although the field is nice paint is expensive and not BYOP. Other than this it is very nice.
Report this review to a moderator   #34018
tvise
USPN Hollister CA
tvise's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: California
tvise owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
tvise owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
tvise posts videos on PbNation
tvise has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Played here: Once
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Good Fields
Cons: Very expensive paint
Although the field is nice paint is expensive and not BYOP.

Other than this it is very nice.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review