Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Did you know?
PbNation has an awesome Paintball Field & Store finder. You can check out Paintball Explosion's listing and find more fields nearby by clicking here.
Paintball Explosion Information
Store Information Store Description Edit
Paintball Explosion
4866 West Dempster
Skokie, IL 60077

Phone: (847) 674-0678
Low prices and great customer satisfaction. Won't let you down. If you buy from us, installation and maintenance is free for life! You will find out that we are as much into playing paintball as you are!
Year Established: Unknown
Average Rating:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Reviews: 7
Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  43%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  29%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  14%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  14%
Favorite
Revise Weather
Link:
Store Features
Paint CO2 Compressed Air
Wooded Fields Concept Fields Hyperball Fields
Airball Fields Indoor Fields Marker Rentals
Drinks Available Flush Toilets Accepts Credit Cards
Paintball Explosion Reviews
Paintball Explosion This is such a nice field. They have a huge store located at the field, they have alot of awesome themed fields and 1 indoor speedball field. They have a snackbar and a bar. The refs are really cool...
Report this review to a moderator   #34483
Dep
its paintball.settle down
Dep's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Chicago'ish
Dep is BST Trusted
Dep is playing at Living Legends VII
Dep owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
Dep owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Dep is for the Gunfight
Played here: 6+ times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: everything about this place
Cons: nothing
This is such a nice field. They have a huge store located at the field, they have alot of awesome themed fields and 1 indoor speedball field. They have a snackbar and a bar. The refs are really cool and mostly everyone that plays there are alot of fun
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Paintball Explosion Zero Stars!! A group and I paid to do their Zombie Safari Hunt at their East Dundee location in Santa's Village. The concept is an excellent idea, but it was poorly executed and a huge rip...
Report this review to a moderator   #33916
Foxtrot32nd
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Played here: Once
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Recommend to others: No
Pros: There was nothing positive about the experience
Cons: Everything about the place
Zero Stars!!


A group and I paid to do their Zombie Safari Hunt at their East Dundee location in Santa's Village. The concept is an excellent idea, but it was poorly executed and a huge rip off. They gave us a minimal 50 paint balls in the gun (After what I had witnessed I'm not even sure if it was 50). Anyways, the staff urges and pressures you making you think you have to buy extra (150 paint balls for $15). Then they go and short everybody on the amount they purchase by more than 20 per a canister (we had time to count while standing in the lengthy line while the staff annoyingly blasted us with the megaphones from only a few feet away).

Once on the field, we had to stay on a path, the zombies stayed far away and with the poor lighting and junk masks that you couldn't see out of combined with the serverly weakened guns, it was unclear where our paint balls were going or if they were even reaching the target. The staff kept rushing us through the checkpoints (I think there was a total of 3 of them) only being allowed to fire for about 30 seconds at a time. The staff also failed to provide us with any kind of warning that we were about to reach the end of it, just "turn in your masks and guns and get out".

If you have paint balls left over, it's tough luck for you. There isn't anything set up to dump the rest of them on. You are forced in to 1 of 3 options, though, they only provided 2 of them to us.
1. You have to purchase another pass to go again so you can use what you have left.
2. Take them home with you (which they didn't even mention as an option until somebody had asked. It's just too bad they asked after most of the people had already turned in their things and exited)
3. Turn them in with the gun (which they then turn around and resell to some other schmuck).

I'm highly displeased with the whole ordeal, huge rip off! The owners/management and staff should be ashamed of taking advantage of the customers like they do.

It is a poor business model that only concerns itself to maximize profits and deceive the clientele.

Maybe there is a disconnect between the ownership and management though I seriously doubt it. However, if the ownership truly has no idea with how their business is being ran, then they are still to blame and need to be more involved. If they are in fact well aware, then hopefully people catch on and the place is forced to close it's doors due to lack of revenue.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Paintball Explosion This is my home field and i would recomend it to anyone. It has a wide array of fields as well as inddor fields. My only complaint is the price 18$ admission and air and 85$ a case.
Report this review to a moderator   #16110
goopers
"Do I aughta GOOP U"
goopers's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: 60192
goopers is playing at Living Legends V
goopers is for the Gunfight
goopers supports Pev's Paintball
goopers has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Played here: Once
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: alot of fields indoor and outdoor
Cons: pricey
This is my home field and i would recomend it to anyone. It has a wide array of fields as well as inddor fields. My only complaint is the price 18$ admission and air and 85$ a case.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Paintball Explosion Went for the big game and started out super fun, minus not enough people to check crono and such needs more people to check when you have 200+ people needing cronoed and 3 refs checking. Did not...
Report this review to a moderator   #35130
Kweis123
 
Kweis123's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Illinois
Kweis123 is playing at Living Legends VII
Kweis123 supports Team VICIOUS
Kweis123 posts videos on PbNation
Kweis123 has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Kweis123 supports Empire
Played here: Once
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 2.3/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Recommend to others: No
Pros: Big fields, Unique, Big turn outs
Cons: Bad organization, poor ref skill, not clear rules
Went for the big game and started out super fun, minus not enough people to check crono and such needs more people to check when you have 200+ people needing cronoed and 3 refs checking. Did not explain rules well. My team pushes a team to starting point 6 times in one round and did alot more stuff and still lose at end of day becasue the final round points for capture the flag were super high. The ref did not go and paint check that much if at all. They stood there and did nothing when asked to paint check someone they walked over and did not take an interest at all.


Not going again
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Paintball Explosion I first played at this field at an airsoft event, then came back with a group of co workers to play paintball. I really liked the layout of the outdoor fields and the indoor field has really nice...
Report this review to a moderator   #35192
Paintgerbil
 
Paintgerbil's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Joliet, IL
Paintgerbil has been a member for 10 years
Paintgerbil is playing at Living Legends VI
Paintgerbil is playing at Living Legends VII
Paintgerbil plays in the APPA D5 division
Played here: 2-5 times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: alot of fields to choose from
Cons: Prices
I first played at this field at an airsoft event, then came back with a group of co workers to play paintball. I really liked the layout of the outdoor fields and the indoor field has really nice spectator viewing.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Paintball Explosion great store. you get a free membership to their field (save $18 on admission) if you spend a certain amount at their store. Friendly workers
Report this review to a moderator   #31803
severepaintball
Empire Mini
severepaintball's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Chicago
severepaintball is for the Gunfight
severepaintball has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Played here: Once
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Low prices. helpful managers
Cons: limited selection
great store. you get a free membership to their field (save $18 on admission) if you spend a certain amount at their store. Friendly workers
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Paintball Explosion This is by far my favorite field! They just celebrated their 1 year anniversary this summer and already they have become a fan-favorite for the Midwest. Paintball Explosion has some of the...
Report this review to a moderator   #32810
WolfstrikePB
 
WolfstrikePB's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Chicago, Illinois
WolfstrikePB has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
WolfstrikePB is attending Decay of Nations VI
Played here: 6+ times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Great fields and Staff!
Cons: Paint $85
This is by far my favorite field! They just celebrated their 1 year anniversary this summer and already they have become a fan-favorite for the Midwest. Paintball Explosion has some of the friendliest staff, and the owners are always around. Yes the paint is $85 and yes admission is $18, but you get what you pay for. PBE has several fields, I believe 38+acres, with actual structures, and they are always expanding and adding new things.

For those of you who are hesitant because of the price, I suggest you become facebook friends with them or at least check out their web page (www.pbbomb.com) every once in a while. They do a lot of free weekends. For 9/9/2012 they had free admission, free rentals, and $65 cases of paint, $5 of which went to the wounded warrior project.

There is also something to be said about a field that the owners are always around. The staff has control of the fields and crowd at all times, and although they are sticklers for safety, in no way do they hinder your experience. The best part about this place is the staff, extremely friendly!

I would recommend this paintball facility to everyone and anyone who wants to give paintball a try, or is already an avid paintballer.

Side note, in addition to an indoor speedball field, an outdoor speedball field, and several woodsball and scenario fields, PBE offers laser tag that utilizes the same markers and air as used with paintball. They also offer a $25 special that includes entry, air, rentals, paintballs, and 2 games, perfect if you just want to see what paintball is like.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review