Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Did you know?
PbNation has an awesome Paintball Field & Store finder. You can check out Matt's Outback Paintball's listing and find more fields nearby by clicking here.
Matt's Outback Paintball Information
Field & Store Information Field & Store Description Edit
Matt's Outback Paintball
677 Riley Mountain Road
Coventry, CT 06238

Phone: (860) 742-0201
Family owned and operated where you’re a friend, not a customer. Fun & safe place for all new & experienced paintball players. Featuring a tire field, 2 netted grass X-ball fields, and 23 acres of woodsball fields complete with a 2 story castle, meat grinder fort, & many other 2 story forts!
Year Established: Unknown
Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.6/5 stars.
Reviews: 45
Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  71%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  24%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  2%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  2%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  0%
Favorite
Revise Weather Discuss
Link:
Field & Store Features
Paint CO2 Compressed Air
Wooded Fields Concept Fields Hyperball Fields
Airball Fields Indoor Fields Marker Rentals
Drinks Available Flush Toilets Accepts Credit Cards
Matt's Outback Paintball Reviews
Matt's Outback Paintball I have been playing at Matt's Outback for quite sometime. Recently, I find myself up there at least 2 to 3 Sundays a month. A year or so back, I went there periodically. Every experience there has...
Report this review to a moderator   #11314
Somebody Shoot Me
Aggressor
Somebody Shoot Me's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Connecticut
Somebody Shoot Me owns a Planet Eclipse Etek
Somebody Shoot Me posts videos on PbNation
Somebody Shoot Me has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Somebody Shoot Me has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Played here: 6+ times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Safety, Friendly, Helpful, Atmosphere is great
Cons: None I have run into
I have been playing at Matt's Outback for quite sometime. Recently, I find myself up there at least 2 to 3 Sundays a month. A year or so back, I went there periodically. Every experience there has been positive.

From what I remembered, their woodsball field has expanded quite some bit from when I originally started playing there. Centered in the front of the field is the Meat Grinder - A two story fort. They took off the netting at the top of it which definitely has taken away the total advantage the defenders had. Still, 4 good players can hold it down against swarms of attackers. Lately the most popular game has been attack and defend the Castle which looking down on the field is located to the right of the Meat Grinder.
Luck had it a couple of visits ago I got to attack the Satellite Castle which is located in the back of the woodsball field by the Tire Field. I heard from a few players and workers at Matt's about how it was difficult to attack. I was given some very sound advice from a very well respected individual there on course of action to approach it. Turned out to be a great time trying to attack a position that holds every advantage against attackers. It is very possible to take the Satellite Castle if you can get a group of people working together. It is even better when the group of Rentals that was attacking with our group got really into it and made one of the biggest differences in winning the game.

Matt's is also a great place for first timers to our sport. They are very protective of rentals/first timers and with the various types of players that come to Matt's this is good practice. We don't want to scare off potential people from our sport because some Douchebag wants to over shoot and out shoot the rentals there. They don't take kindly to this and it is not accepted here. Not only the owners and workers watch out for this, most of the players also do.

Having trouble trying to figure out a tactic, you can easily ask anyone you are playing with and get some solid advice. Having trouble with your marker, they have a service shop and store. I had an issue with my A-5 about a month ago. I take care of my equipment and know it pretty well, so I went in there and discussed the issue. Turned out to be an O-ring on my Bolt, but decided to buy a replacement kit for the A-5 which was in stock. They lent me the tools needed to fix my marker because I did not have my tools on me that day.

Everyone will find a friend or two at Matt's. Everytime I meet new people there and have made some important bonds within our community there. Plus, Free Hot Dogs, Free Air all day long. You can't beat Matt's Outback!

I been to a lot of fields in Connecticut and coming from Stamford it would be easy to go to Yankee or Hogan's all the time. Both are also great fields in Connecticut, but Matt's always has me coming back. It is my home away from home.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Matt's Outback Paintball First off, I have to say that I have NOT played the woods fields here, only the tournament field. With that in mind, I have to say that Matts consistently has the best competition in CT. Rotations...
Report this review to a moderator   #12027
stingi17
Stay Ruthless.
stingi17's avatar
Join Date: May 2009
Location: 8.6.ohhhh.
stingi17 plays in the PSP
stingi17 supports our troops
stingi17 is an NCPA player
stingi17 is reppin' sidebar 4 life
stingi17 plays in the APPA D4 division
stingi17 is Boss
Played here: 6+ times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Recommend to others: No
Pros: Great competition, good guys at the field!
Cons: paint isn't stellar sometimes, muddy after rain
First off, I have to say that I have NOT played the woods fields here, only the tournament field. With that in mind, I have to say that Matts consistently has the best competition in CT. Rotations are picking up again, and if the field can get back to the level it was at a couple years ago, it will be one of the most popular fields in New England. A must-visit for serious players in CT, well worth the drive if you're within an hour to an hour and a half. The fields can get a bit beat when there isn't any grass, but it's a minor thing and doesn't affect the games at all. Paint can be hit-or-miss sometimes, but they usually have a higher-grade paint available for those who want it. For practices, their paint works fine!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Matt's Outback Paintball Matt's is the BEST field in Ct, hands down. Brand new field, all grass fields, a sports dome, free hot dogs. the staff/reff's are great. the proshop is on top of it.
Report this review to a moderator   #20987
tatersalad113
**** All You Hoes.
tatersalad113's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 8sixOH
tatersalad113 supports Team VICIOUS
tatersalad113 supports Team VICIOUS
tatersalad113 posts videos on PbNation
tatersalad113 is reppin' sidebar 4 life
Played here: 6+ times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: brand new fields
Cons: the field is on a slight hill
Matt's is the BEST field in Ct, hands down. Brand new field, all grass fields, a sports dome, free hot dogs. the staff/reff's are great. the proshop is on top of it.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Matt's Outback Paintball ive been playing at matts for the last 8 years or so and its always the same deal there. great competition, friendly staff, and a general good environment. it is a bit of a drive since its tucked up...
Report this review to a moderator   #17590
AdReNaLiN jUnKeE
Playoffs??? PLAYOFFS!!??
AdReNaLiN jUnKeE's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: CT
AdReNaLiN jUnKeE is a Supporting Member
AdReNaLiN jUnKeE has been a member for 10 years
AdReNaLiN jUnKeE plays in the PSP
AdReNaLiN jUnKeE is one of the top 250 posters on PbNation
AdReNaLiN jUnKeE is Boss
Played here: 6+ times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: largest field in ct, great competition
Cons: a hike from almost anywhere in ct
ive been playing at matts for the last 8 years or so and its always the same deal there. great competition, friendly staff, and a general good environment. it is a bit of a drive since its tucked up in the northeast corner of the state by uconn. but if you go to uconn, its perfect for you. only about 10 minutes from campus there. they are now running 2 xball fields along with a spool field and a couple massive woods fields. paint and air are readily available, and they can fix most gun issues on site. this is definitely a place to check out if youve never been to it
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.7/5 stars.
Matt's Outback Paintball Tom, the owner is a great guy. His staff are all helpful and friendly people. I've never had a single problem there. I haven't played anything but their tournament fields. They're usually pretty...
Report this review to a moderator   #11657
sumorai
FRENCHIE
sumorai's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: New England
sumorai is a Supporting Member
sumorai plays in the PSP
sumorai is playing at Living Legends VII
sumorai supports our troops
sumorai has perfected Level 5 in PbNation Pursuit
Played here: Once
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: plenty of talented players great owner
Cons: long drive for me, field paint can be iffy
Tom, the owner is a great guy. His staff are all helpful and friendly people. I've never had a single problem there.

I haven't played anything but their tournament fields. They're usually pretty nice, although sometimes the grass is a little destroyed. Their pits and fit setup are top notch. Playing tournaments there is a great time.

Pricing is great. It's FPO now, and sometimes the paint they have is hit or miss, but they've usually got multiple grades of paint available.

Bring back the dome!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Matt's Outback Paintball If you're not on a team or a rotation, prepare for slow turnaround. I've waited 20+ minutes often, just to play one game. The staff is great. Very personable and helpful. There could be a better...
Report this review to a moderator   #19865
GivenRandy
 
GivenRandy's avatar
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Manchester, CT
Played here: 6+ times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: woods
Cons: slow turnaround
If you're not on a team or a rotation, prepare for slow turnaround. I've waited 20+ minutes often, just to play one game.

The staff is great. Very personable and helpful.

There could be a better attitude about safety. Sure, you may want to walk around the field with your mask off and not mind getting your eyes shot out, but I don't want to be the one that has my gun go off accidentally and blinds you.

The parking lot can get muddy and bogged down. I've seen several cars stuck in the muck and had to be pulled or pushed out. Don't even think about ice on the hill.

Overall, though, it's still recommended.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.2/5 stars.
Matt's Outback Paintball Easily the best field in Connecticut, and one of the best in the nation. I played at this field and it literally blew my mind. It was an amazing experience and I played with TNN, their Division 3...
Report this review to a moderator   #11460
CTHUSKIES14
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Played here: 2-5 times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Variety of fields, awesome people, and XBALL
Cons: Nothing at all
Easily the best field in Connecticut, and one of the best in the nation. I played at this field and it literally blew my mind. It was an amazing experience and I played with TNN, their Division 3 team that is going to Division 1 team. They were very helpful and TNN was awesome and helped us with our equipment problems, such as Rotor jams. Amazing experience and awesome place for a great day of play.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Matt's Outback Paintball my team went to this field a couple times for practice. the practice field was pretty much worn out, but it looked like they had some real nice grass on the tourny field. there were a bunch of real...
Report this review to a moderator   #20080
tex_mania
BSA Support
tex_mania's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: ΠΚΑ
tex_mania plays in the PSP
tex_mania owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
tex_mania owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
tex_mania plays in the APPA D5 division
Played here: 2-5 times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 2.8/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: good competition
Cons: pricey
my team went to this field a couple times for practice. the practice field was pretty much worn out, but it looked like they had some real nice grass on the tourny field. there were a bunch of real solid groups out there to play against every time, which is nice if you are trying to get in some decent practice.

my only complaints are that it seems a bit pricey, but i guess everything is in Connecticut. also, it seemed like some of the 'gun techs' they had in the office weren't all that good at the job, but other than that, good fiel.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 1.3/5 stars.
Matt's Outback Paintball 10 year olds with rentals should not be in games with players using full auto and ramping in a woodsball game. Unsafe. Stay away.
Report this review to a moderator   #19302
mandiesbaby483
 
mandiesbaby483's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Massachusetts
mandiesbaby483 has been a member for 10 years
mandiesbaby483 has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
mandiesbaby483 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
mandiesbaby483 supports Empire
Played here: Once
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Recommend to others: No
Pros: Cheap
Cons: poor safety
10 year olds with rentals should not be in games with players using full auto and ramping in a woodsball game. Unsafe. Stay away.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Matt's Outback Paintball Matt's Outback Paintball is a great place for everyone, from never played- to novice- to pro, to play paintball. There are 2 x-ball fields for rotations, and the turn-around time has improved...
Report this review to a moderator   #33099
677PB
 
677PB's avatar
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Willimantic, CT
Played here: 6+ times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: RegulationSizePSPfield&HostngSponsrdWdsbl League
Cons: @ the end of a dirt road.
Matt's Outback Paintball is a great place for everyone, from never played- to novice- to pro, to play paintball. There are 2 x-ball fields for rotations, and the turn-around time has improved significantly. There's tons of new bunkers and 2-story buildings in the woods. They've launched an all out attack on unsafe practices so that's a plus. Business seemed to slow down for a bit but now they're running tourneys again and even hosting a woodsball league sponsored by Valken!! I gotta say though, my all-time favorite is the free lunch everyday... Can't beat that. Matts Outback is a great place for all!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review