Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Did you know?
PbNation has an awesome Paintball Field & Store finder. You can check out Urban War Zone Paintball's listing and find more fields nearby by clicking here.
Urban War Zone Paintball Information
Field Information Field Description Edit
Urban War Zone Paintball
2315 Telephone Road
Houston, TX 77023

Phone: (281) 892-1148
The ONLY paintball field inside loop 610. Conveniently located 1.5 miles from the University of Houston. Great fields, superior service, and fair prices make Urban War Zone a fantastic choice for those of you who live in the city.
Year Established: Unknown
Average Rating:
  • Currently 3.2/5 stars.
Reviews: 12
Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  42%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  42%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  17%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  0%
Favorite
Revise Weather Discuss
Link:
Field Features
Paint CO2 Compressed Air
Wooded Fields Concept Fields Hyperball Fields
Airball Fields Indoor Fields Marker Rentals
Drinks Available Flush Toilets Accepts Credit Cards
Urban War Zone Paintball Reviews
Urban War Zone Paintball I used to live pretty close to this field, so I went often. The friendly staff and the owner was the main reason I kept coming back.
Report this review to a moderator   #33873
debit
 
debit's avatar
Join Date: May 2012
Played here: 6+ times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.5/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Friendly Staff
Cons: Number of Fields
I used to live pretty close to this field, so I went often. The friendly staff and the owner was the main reason I kept coming back.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Urban War Zone Paintball First time going to this field it was an ok place the staging is too small for the amount of players going there, could be bigger. There is only two fields, a Hyperball field and a Spool Field they...
Report this review to a moderator   #10551
olegarza
Texas Outlaws
olegarza's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Texas
olegarza has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
olegarza has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Played here: Once
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.5/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Price is Alright, Owner is a Great guy
Cons: 2 fields, Refs, Staging Area
First time going to this field it was an ok place the staging is too small for the amount of players going there, could be bigger. There is only two fields, a Hyperball field and a Spool Field they are not that big about half a football field but they are great. The owner is a great guy he was great to talk to! Some Refs are a little disrespectful they were getting on to us for having melted paintballs and accusing us of picking them up off the ground and putting them onto their rentals when it was more than 100 degrees outside! I wouldn't even call them refs they just start the game and did nothing. Other than that it a great field and i would go back there.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Urban War Zone Paintball Let me start off by saying that I consider this a home field. Now I will provide actual feedback that I think will be useful for most. I will try to highlight some items that have been mentioned in...
Report this review to a moderator   #41630
tido_29
I dream paintball
tido_29's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Houston
Played here: Once
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Close to downtown; great for rentals
Cons: Not a 'tourney' player field
Let me start off by saying that I consider this a home field. Now I will provide actual feedback that I think will be useful for most. I will try to highlight some items that have been mentioned in other reviews.

1) Size: The field IS inside the 610 loop. If you have any doubts, please use google maps and you will see for yourself. The unfortunate drawback is that finding large lands is tough. So trying to compare a field from outside Houston (and I mean 40 minutes away) is not fair. Thus the fields will be a bit smaller than those. I personally think this is not so bad as it allows players to engage one another instead of trying to find each other during a game.

2) Airball: This field does not have an airball field. Given that about 99% of the people on here probably love airball then this field may not be your first choice. However, that is no reason to bash it in my opinion. They cater to rentals and focus all their energy on making their time as present as possible. So for us “tourney” players, this really isn’t the ideal field for us.

3) Staff: I know the owner personally and I can say that guy is one of the nicest guys I know. He does try to go out of his way to help the customers with any concerns. The actual staff could maybe use a little help but keep in mind that there might be a high turn-over ratio. The staff falls in love with paintball and then focuses on playing. So the new hires have to learn the sport and may be a bit new. Not sure how common this is for other fields but I have seen this happen a lot. Guess part of the game.

4) Recommendations to other: I honestly feel the “NOs” are based on a “tourney” player perspective and I would agree. This is not the place for someone who is expecting to get tourney type games in. I would however say it is a nice place for the non-tourney player. 90% of the clients are rentals and thus would make it a comfortable place for new players.

5) Price: I would say they are on par with some other fields around the area. While other fields outside of Houston may be able to offer better paint prices, they also may not have the same expenses. Now I know UWZ does try to help by allowing outside paint in non-rental equipment but I understand this may not be enough for some.

6) Air fills: The now have a compressor which has helped a lot for the compressed air users. I think they only fill up to 3K but given the size of the fields and type of clients, it should be no problem for running a game or two.

7) Area: The field is located in SE Houston (inside loop). I grew up not too far from the field and will say, it is no Katy or River Oaks. But at the same time, it is not that bad and it is more appearance than actual crime. Also, the field is just a block or two from the freeway. You aren’t going far into the neighborhood.

Well hope this provides a bit more feedback for those looking for a nice field to start playing at. You can sometimes find team Devastate there just hanging out and having fun. Feel free to come up and say hi. We love helping new people fall in love with the sport like we did.

Fausto - #29
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Urban War Zone Paintball Went twice with no luck. Little to no quality comp. Most players used rentals. Good for first timers or young players that's about it.
Report this review to a moderator   #22499
BHPitts
BioHazard
BHPitts's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Burleson Tx
BHPitts has been a member for 10 years
BHPitts owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
BHPitts posts videos on PbNation
BHPitts has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
BHPitts supports Empire
Played here: 2-5 times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 2.8/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Recommend to others: No
Pros: Friendly staff
Cons: Inexp. Staff, two small fields, field quality
Went twice with no luck. Little to no quality comp. Most players used rentals. Good for first timers or young players that's about it.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Urban War Zone Paintball Dont go here if ur new to paintball, i only go cuz its close to my house.
Report this review to a moderator   #28747
branowafflz
 
branowafflz's avatar
Join Date: May 2012
Location: houston, texas
branowafflz owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
branowafflz is for the Gunfight
branowafflz has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
branowafflz has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Played here: Once
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.3/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: cheap
Cons: fields, rude service
Dont go here if ur new to paintball, i only go cuz its close to my house.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Urban War Zone Paintball Me and my friends have played here a few times. Some other Pros: if you are in a small group they will let you take the field as a small party to play a match, one of the few fields that has not...
Report this review to a moderator   #44246
Captain Money $hot
Aim Low
Captain Money $hot's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Houston, TX
Captain Money $hot is playing at Living Legends VII
Captain Money $hot has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Captain Money $hot has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Captain Money $hot has perfected Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Captain Money $hot supports Empire
Played here: 2-5 times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.3/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Short wait times between matches
Cons: Only 3 Fields all small
Me and my friends have played here a few times. Some other Pros: if you are in a small group they will let you take the field as a small party to play a match, one of the few fields that has not switched over to field only paint. The only real downside is a little pricey for people who have their own gear and only need air.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Urban War Zone Paintball Been playing at UWZ since they opened. ..yes there field selection aint that great. ..but I have never had a bad experience. Urban has given a lot of young people there first job and have also given...
Report this review to a moderator   #41615
ghostr3
 
ghostr3's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: HOSTON
Played here: 6+ times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: great owners and staff
Cons: field selection
Been playing at UWZ since they opened. ..yes there field selection aint that great. ..but I have never had a bad experience. Urban has given a lot of young people there first job and have also given new players a great start, ...I also have been to few other fields. ..Zone south, explosive, GI paintball Tank's, and a few out of town fields from Victoria TX to Dallas and San Antonio. Urban is also where team Devastate was created. Urban has been my teams home field since we started And still will be.
Will recommend anyone to come out to urban
Ps my Company has even came out to urban for some team buildin, one of my co worker has played divisional Paintball with John from pro edge and he had nothing but good comments about Urban, even saying that this place is great for beginners.
I invite you to at least to check this place out before passing up a great opportunity.
Mono
Team Devastate
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Urban War Zone Paintball I went & the refs were complimenting some guy on his gun (Shooting full auto) & i went again and i had an invert mini on PSP. The guy tests my gun, shoots like half my hopper, and says to change it...
Report this review to a moderator   #25396
Is This Name Taken?
 
Is This Name Taken?'s avatar
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Houston, TX
Is This Name Taken? owns a Planet Eclipse Etek
Is This Name Taken? is for the Gunfight
Is This Name Taken? has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Is This Name Taken? has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Played here: 2-5 times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 2.8/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Recommend to others: No
Pros: Good Seating Area
Cons: Refs, Field Size, Number of Fields
I went & the refs were complimenting some guy on his gun (Shooting full auto) & i went again and i had an invert mini on PSP. The guy tests my gun, shoots like half my hopper, and says to change it to semi, that they don't allow PSP. I change it, he unloads practically half my hopper again, then says im good. I go reload again, & the refs don't even see the cheaters! People run to the back with paint all over them, wipe, then come right back. Horrible experiences. Never want to go again.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Urban War Zone Paintball i only went to this field once that was because i wanted to try a different field out.i went here HOPING it would be fun....Its in a dangerous part of town so i was already watching out.I had these...
Report this review to a moderator   #30430
Normal Phantom
 
Normal Phantom's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: houston,texas
Normal Phantom has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Normal Phantom has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Normal Phantom has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Played here: Once
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Recommend to others: No
Pros: good refs
Cons: two small room sized fields and rip offs
i only went to this field once that was because i wanted to try a different field out.i went here HOPING it would be fun....Its in a dangerous part of town so i was already watching out.I had these tickets for free rentals(which includes field pass)i called them a day before asking them if i could use this for a field pass and they said yes.i got up there and the guy said i couldn't use it.He charged me a field pass,and air.so that knida ruined most of it.I played a couple games on these room sized fields which lasted about 3 minutes each and this is when i had an carver one.there also wasn't many people there.In my opinion go to paintball zone way better service,fields,people,and prices.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Urban War Zone Paintball So I have played this field a few times? I actually worked here. The fields are honestly not that bad. My problem with the place is that when I was there, they had an entire air all field sitting...
Report this review to a moderator   #27600
ShadowFiend
pH Squared Clothing
ShadowFiend's avatar
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Vermont
ShadowFiend has been a member for 10 years
ShadowFiend plays in the APPA D5 division
Played here: 6+ times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 2.8/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Recommend to others: No
Pros: Close to downtown Houston
Cons: Bad refs, big egos
So I have played this field a few times? I actually worked here. The fields are honestly not that bad. My problem with the place is that when I was there, they had an entire air all field sitting on top of their "shop" (rented shipping container) and wouldn't bring it down for the speed ballers who show up.

Refs don't do their jobs just sit around and make sure you don't pick up paint to run through their Tippmann's. Pretty good for beginners that's about it though. Go to Zone if your looking for competition.

Also, whoever from UWP thinks you are "inside the 610 Loop" best to brush up on your geography.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review