Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Did you know?
PbNation has an awesome Paintball Field & Store finder. You can check out GatSplat Paintball's listing and find more fields nearby by clicking here.
GatSplat Paintball Information
Field & Store Information Field & Store Description Edit
GatSplat Paintball
582 SH 121
Lewisville, TX 75057

Phone: (972) 956-5500
26,000 square foot indoor facility in Lewisville in. Featuring Atomix Astro Turf, and all day air. Games are turned fast, and we group by level of ability.
Year Established: Unknown
Average Rating:
  • Currently 3.1/5 stars.
Reviews: 20
Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  15%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  20%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  35%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  15%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  15%
Favorite
Revise Weather Discuss
Link:
Field & Store Features
Paint CO2 Compressed Air
Wooded Fields Concept Fields Hyperball Fields
Airball Fields Indoor Fields Marker Rentals
Drinks Available Flush Toilets Accepts Credit Cards
GatSplat Paintball Reviews
GatSplat Paintball FIELD REVIEW AS OF 3/26/2011 GatSplat is one of the worst fields I've ever visited in the DFW Area. Field Classification: For beginners who are looking to spend $90 for a day of paintball. (DON'T...
Report this review to a moderator   #9528
Alex4108
The real alex.
Alex4108's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Dallas, TX
Alex4108 posts videos on PbNation
Alex4108 supports Pev's Paintball
Alex4108 has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Alex4108 has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Played here: 2-5 times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Recommend to others: No
Pros: Air conditioning
Cons: Everything imaginable.
FIELD REVIEW AS OF 3/26/2011


GatSplat is one of the worst fields I've ever visited in the DFW Area.
Field Classification: For beginners who are looking to spend $90 for a day of paintball. (DON'T COME HERE)

Overall rating: -3/5

Check-in and Arrival
As I walked into GatSplat today, the first thing I noticed was a horde of beginners, and one of my friends I noticed from xDrenalin last weekend. I set my stuff down on a table with my friends who have never played paintball before. I figured I'd show them GatSplat, a field I used to halfway enjoy as a beginner. As we checked in, Brooks recognized me, and high fives me saying he remembers me. Me and him chit chat, only to figure out that I still hate this field. He told me I have to go watch the orientation video again, even though he knows I've played at this field, and the rules haven't changed. He said he didn't care, and that I'm to watch the video. Whatever. Biggest waste of time I've had at that field before.

Also asking Brooks about using my own equipment (Dangerous Power G4 w/ a GRAVITY HOPPER and 68/4500), I was told not to touch it, and not to bring any of my gear onto the field. Well **** you, I payed near $700 for my g4, rotor, and 68/4500, and I'm not allowed to use any of it. Well then, someone being mucho friendly. May I also add, that there is someone with a spyder electra 2009, with one of those $20 force feed walmart hoppers ramping at 15bps in beginner, yet I'm not allowed to 1 ball with a g4?

Before I get flamed for being a lazy *** hole and not wanting to watch the video, I will emphasize that I have played at the GatSplat field before, I remember the rules, and rules haven't changed.
Check-in rating: 1/5

Paint + Playing
The field paint is still garbage. They are now shooting Imperial paintballs, whatever those are. Apparently they're more round than other paintballs, but they still bounce left and right. And for $65 a case, I don't think I'm coming back anytime soon.

The fields are still the fields. Air conditioning actually works now, and it's not incredibly humid. They finally fixed one of the little problems! Now to fix everything else..
Overall there were about 60 bunkers on the front field, making it incredibly hard to see anybody. And to top it off, theres still paint everywhere, except for the home bunker. So now I just get covered in paint if I leave home... awesome. When confronting Brooks about having 60+ bunkers on the field, and there not being more than 2 square feet of uncovered turf at any time, and it being incredibly hard to get a shot off, I was instructed to "shut up and quit whining." Well then, your being very friendly.

MAY I STRESS THE HAZARDS ON THE FRONT FIELD. There are patches where the turf has come up off the ground, revealing concrete. This caused me off the break to slip with my cleats, and fall into a bunker, instead of a coordinated dive. AGAIN, THIS CAN CAUSE SOMEONE TO SLIP AND HIT THEIR HEAD ON CONCRETE.
LARRY: IF YOU ARE READING THIS, PLEASE CHECK THIS ON THE FIELD NEXT TIME YOU ARE THERE. YOU WILL SEE WHAT I'M TALKING ABOUT.


Overall field + playing rating: 2/5

Staging Area and Waiting
The staging area is still the normal staging area, except that they moved the 4500psi fill station. Nbd, as I'm not allowed to use my own tank anyway. The person at the door was good about watching for barrel socks, as any paintball player who has been shot by a gun in the staging area knows how bad it sucks to be shot. So the staging area, I'll give a 3.

Staging Area and Waiting: 3/5

Refereeing (NOT THE REFEREES)
At most fields, the refs usually accept a little bit of help. So a friend and I (both advanced players) ask the refs if they're okay with me and him helping with checks and calling outs, as they had alot of people going on with one round. They gladly accepted our extra help.
After about an hour of reffing, Brooks comes onto the field, and instructs anybody not playing needs to get off. He meant my friend and I. The referees know better than to argue with their boss, and my friend and I just had to walk off and be quiet. Very upset with Brooks.

Refereeing experience: 4/5
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.2/5 stars.
GatSplat Paintball Played here with a group of friends and while good for beginners there is not much for advanced players. The two fields are fairly small and when you combine that with 20+ kids it can be difficult to...
Report this review to a moderator   #37623
Wakemaker89
I Wanna Go Fast!
Wakemaker89's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: DFW, TX
Wakemaker89 owns a Planet Eclipse Lv1
Wakemaker89 has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Wakemaker89 supports DLX Technology
Played here: Once
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Indoors, Great for Beginners
Cons: WAY OVERPRICED, Very Slippery, FPO
Played here with a group of friends and while good for beginners there is not much for advanced players. The two fields are fairly small and when you combine that with 20+ kids it can be difficult to get a good game in. Still a fun place to get out of the heat and play though.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
GatSplat Paintball Gatsplat is horrible. It is wayyy too expensive, the staff doesn't care, he refs don't care, they don't talk or anything. everyone wipes, and no one does anything about it. I like the fact that it is...
Report this review to a moderator   #8984
Legacy Paintball
Ball Till I Fall
Legacy Paintball's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Texas
Legacy Paintball owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Played here: Once
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 1.5/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Recommend to others: No
Pros: good fields
Cons: everything else
Gatsplat is horrible. It is wayyy too expensive, the staff doesn't care, he refs don't care, they don't talk or anything. everyone wipes, and no one does anything about it. I like the fact that it is air conditioned, but i would much rather play at xdrenalin. xdrenalin is cheaper and has a better crowd. Gatsplat may possibly be the most over rated paintball places in the DFW area.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
GatSplat Paintball I played there back in December It was HORRIBLE the Refs were rude they charge to much for Paint and the other team WIPES the REFS didnt stop them either it was a waste of money & time i will stick...
Report this review to a moderator   #7397
Texstar01
Fixedit
Join Date: Jan 2010
Played here: 2-5 times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Recommend to others: No
Pros: indoors
Cons: Too many to list
I played there back in December It was HORRIBLE the Refs were rude they charge to much for Paint and the other team WIPES the REFS didnt stop them either it was a waste of money & time i will stick with Fun On the run and DFW AP & Cousins When i play in Dallas Ft Worth Area Awful the first 2 times were ok had fun but then something changed
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.3/5 stars.
GatSplat Paintball upon driving at gatsplat i thought it could be promising but after a while i realized this place sucks the refs are clueless and don't care about the rules. they don't have anyone to help you out...
Report this review to a moderator   #29035
Oonlo
STOP DONT TOUCH ME THERE
Oonlo's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Oakton DC Virginia
Oonlo is playing at Living Legends V
Oonlo owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Oonlo supports Pev's Paintball
Oonlo has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Oonlo is attending Decay of Nations VI
Played here: 2-5 times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 2.5/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Recommend to others: No
Pros: indoor
Cons: refs suck, expensive, no advanced, field smells
upon driving at gatsplat i thought it could be promising but after a while i realized this place sucks the refs are clueless and don't care about the rules. they don't have anyone to help you out they won't touch your gun if its got a problem. THEY DONT EVEN HAVE O-Rings. the field smells gross and is very slippery without cleats. i DO NOT REMCOMEND THIS TO ANYONE. NEVER GO HERE! the paint is way to overpriced for the crap they give you. WORST FIELD IN DFW AREA!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
GatSplat Paintball This field overall is okay, It is indoors and a great place to play during the summer. It can be very expensive because they do not allow other paint than what they have for sale.
Report this review to a moderator   #12643
paintballblk13
►Kyle◄
paintballblk13's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: TEXAS
paintballblk13 owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
paintballblk13 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
paintballblk13 supports Bob Gurnsey
paintballblk13 posts videos on PbNation
paintballblk13 is Legendary
Played here: Once
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Indoors
Cons: No Variety
This field overall is okay, It is indoors and a great place to play during the summer. It can be very expensive because they do not allow other paint than what they have for sale.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
GatSplat Paintball tsu-money's Review Upon arriving at the facilities, I noticed how well kept everything was. It was nice to see that the field owner took pride in his business. Registration was a snap since the...
Report this review to a moderator   #6939
tsu-money
♫ In the Navy
tsu-money's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Guantanamo Bay, Cuba
tsu-money supports Cereal Killerz 2
tsu-money donated to help Peyton Trent
tsu-money supports Bob Gurnsey
tsu-money supports our troops
Played here: 2-5 times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Great staff & refs, good fields & paint, indoors
Cons: None really
tsu-money's Review


Upon arriving at the facilities, I noticed how well kept everything was. It was nice to see that the field owner took pride in his business. Registration was a snap since the website already had the form on it. The entry fees and the cost of paint was also very reasonable. The shop was full of high-end paintball products with a knowledgeable staff to meet your needs. Other amenities include vending machines full of snacks and drinks to help a paintballer stay energized throughout the day.

The field was quite possibly the greatest thing that I've ever seen. Please remember that this is coming from a guy who lived in West Texas his whole life. This was my first experience playing at an indoor field. The turf was great. The ability to slide around and not worry about rocks, brush, dirt, or anything else like that was quite a change from my normal field.

There were more than enough refs there to keep the games running smoothly and to clear up any problems that may have arrived on the field. They were a hard working group of guys who knew what they were doing. Safety was always a key issue for them. This was also a big plus in my book.

Since it was a very nice day there weren't a ton of people playing but there were enough for me. There were two groups that day: beginners and the intermediate/advanced group. I played with the intermediate/advanced group. They were a great bunch who just wanted to play and have fun. Everyone was flexible and we were able to play several games before the store closed at 8:00.

I guess my only complaint would be that there seemed to be a bit of miscommunication during some of the games about the bunkering rule. Depending on who would be playing, it seemed that the refs would state that we could bunker people or that we couldn't bunker people. Yet it seemed that there was more than one occasion where it wasn't clarified what rule was in effect. I'm sure that they changed this rule to accommodate those people who did not want to be bunkered, but it did yield a few moments of confusion while on the playing field.

This may seem like a minor one but I would like to point it out. The lack of a water fountain made obtaining a drink from the faucet a hassle but could easily be overcome with a cupped hand.

Overall this was a very positive experience. All of my expectations were met and I would love to return anytime to improve my own skills. 9/10
  • Staff & Refs 10/10
  • Field Layout 8/10
  • Safety 10/10
  • Value 8/10
  • Overall 9/10
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 1.9/5 stars.
GatSplat Paintball I was just there this last weekend, and had the best paintball experience ever. The staff was great,they answered all questions, had great gear, took care of their facility, and they were excellent...
Report this review to a moderator   #7294
Reef 223
 
Reef 223's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Texas
Reef 223 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Reef 223 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Played here: Once
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
I was just there this last weekend, and had the best paintball experience ever.

The staff was great,they answered all questions, had great gear, took care of their facility, and they were excellent on safety.

I highly recommend that anyone should play here.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 1.8/5 stars.
GatSplat Paintball I've played at gatsplat dozens of times over the last few years...The facility itself is fantastic for what it is (Small field with aging turf and almost always poor bunker layout), but those are...
Report this review to a moderator   #11998
Ieo
Out of your element
Ieo's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: TX
Ieo supports Team VICIOUS
Ieo is one of the top 1000 posters on PbNation
Ieo is Legendary
Played here: 6+ times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: GREAT facility, air conditioned
Cons: crowded, small field, competition hit or miss
I've played at gatsplat dozens of times over the last few years...The facility itself is fantastic for what it is (Small field with aging turf and almost always poor bunker layout), but those are tradeoffs I'm willing to make in order to play in an airconditioned facility (105 degree summer days SUCK to play in, end of story) with an awesome staging area.

The refs are usually hit-or-miss (Many are good, attentive refs....but many are also your typical teenagers who don't care. Same as any other field). The other players are usually semi-serious rec ballers who are for the most part fun to play with. Once in a while you'll get a team who thinks they're pro and the trash talk begins...ruins the whole day but that's the same as every other field, no fault to gatsplat.

This field is THE PLACE for newer players though: they treat their newbie groups very, very, very well and the safety and cleanliness of the facility can't be beat. Experienced players are sort of treated as second-class when there is a big group of new players, but hey...the new players are the ones who keep the place open. Same story as every other field, but gatsplat just happens to have a LOT more newer players because it really is a good facility.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
GatSplat Paintball great for begginersgreat for begginers
Report this review to a moderator   #37632
keepreloading
1000100100111000101010101
keepreloading's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Rutgers University
keepreloading owns a Planet Eclipse Etek
keepreloading has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
keepreloading has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Played here: Once
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: great for begginers
Cons: its in texas
great for begginersgreat for begginers
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Add New Review