Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Did you know?
PbNation has an awesome Paintball Field & Store finder. You can check out Velocity Paintball's listing and find more fields nearby by clicking here.
Velocity Paintball Information
Field & Store Information Field & Store Description Edit
Velocity Paintball
1350 Warnock Drive
Ramona, CA 92065

Phone: (619) 871-8504
Very friendly environment. We have NPPL Super 7 air ball field. Many wooded fields and two hyperball fields. With 3 stores serving San Diego since 1994. Bonita and El Cajon.
Year Established: Unknown
Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Reviews: 18
Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  61%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  33%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  6%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  0%
Favorite
Revise Weather Discuss
Link:
Field & Store Features
Paint CO2 Compressed Air
Wooded Fields Concept Fields Hyperball Fields
Airball Fields Indoor Fields Marker Rentals
Drinks Available Flush Toilets Accepts Credit Cards
Velocity Paintball Reviews
Velocity Paintball I've been a long time user of Velocity Paintball's field in Ramona for two reason, the best customer service in the San Diego area, and the pure amount of fun I have every time I play. Velocity's...
Report this review to a moderator   #6916
AirSin2000
Tengoungato?
AirSin2000's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: San Diego, South Cali
AirSin2000 has been a member for 10 years
AirSin2000 supports Team VICIOUS
AirSin2000 posts videos on PbNation
AirSin2000 supports Empire
Played here: Once
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Great prices, great staff.
Cons: Bad netting on some fields
I've been a long time user of Velocity Paintball's field in Ramona for two reason, the best customer service in the San Diego area, and the pure amount of fun I have every time I play. Velocity's referees are great, they keep cheating to an absolute low and maintain the family oriented atmosphere I love to much. The prices are great, $40 a case for great shooting paint, $20 entry and $5 dollar all day air. The Refs split the groups up evenly, and make sure we get to try any of the fields we want to play on.

The downside to Velocity is some of the netting on the fields need to be redone, and the ground could use some work. Even with pads, my knees and elbows still tend to get banged up on the rock hard ground.

Overall it is a friendly, family oriented field with great customer service that makes it the best field in the SD area.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Velocity Paintball Velocity is geared towards beginner and intermediate players, with fields balanced between scenario/woodsball and concept fields. For field types, they have: hyperball (black tubes), speedball...
Report this review to a moderator   #26231
8765
 
8765's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2011
Played here: 6+ times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Ideal for beginners, variety of fields
Cons: Airball field is dated
Velocity is geared towards beginner and intermediate players, with fields balanced between scenario/woodsball and concept fields. For field types, they have: hyperball (black tubes), speedball (wooden spools), hybrid hyper-speed, woodsball (with log-wall), a trench field, and airball. 4 of these fields can combine for big games, and a number of fields can combine for large party games.

The value of Velocity comes from the above variety of fields. The value is further enhanced by the fair entry price, BYOP, and fair-priced paint. Private groups of 10 or more can play any day of the week, and the cost per player is the same or less as walkons, and less cost than other parks. The real fun lies in the private groups. Nothing brings friends closer together like shooting each other with paintballs.

Plan for the weather! Ramona is kinda of in the mountains, so when it rains, there can be a fair amount of flowing water. If you like mud, no problem. But some people simply don't like to get muddy and wet. Private groups can be rebooked, within reason, due to forecasted weather.

Their airball field is somewhat lacking. The bunkers are quite old and is on dirt. Thus it's subject to the rain as well. However, most people know to simply go to the Camp Pendleton Tournament Park for airball (they have 4 astroturfed fields).

The main field type they are currently lacking is urban-style field. You can go to other local fields for that (but you'll miss out on the number of fields that Velocity has).

Bottomline, if it's your first time or still new to paintball, play at Velocity!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Velocity Paintball I have been playing here ever since 2007 when I wanted to get back in the game. Ever since the first time I went there I have played there ever since. They serve drinks which is a plus, and people...
Report this review to a moderator   #7250
Panda the Paintballa
Triple Threat Cpt.
Panda the Paintballa's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: San Diego, CA
Played here: 6+ times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Friendly Service
Cons:
I have been playing here ever since 2007 when I wanted to get back in the game. Ever since the first time I went there I have played there ever since. They serve drinks which is a plus, and people come and prepare hot dogs and hamburgers every time I go which is a major plus for me because hey everyone gets hungry. Overall it is a great place to go, everyone is friendly, play goes as scheduled and we sometimes get to play Airball as much as we want which I love and I will continue coming here. But some nets need to be fixed and the ground can leave you a little battered but hey it happens. But I love this park.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Velocity Paintball
Report this review to a moderator   #28938
dmc999
 
dmc999's avatar
Join Date: May 2012
dmc999 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Played here: 6+ times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Many experienced players
Cons: Some fields overgrown
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Velocity Paintball Havent been here since 2005
Report this review to a moderator   #36225
kilo619
 
kilo619's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: SD
Played here: Once
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Games are set up
Cons: Far and middle of no where
Havent been here since 2005
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Velocity Paintball Place is very well taken of, great woodsball fields, staff is very friendly and sticks to the rules well. Air station is kept up well and the fact that you can bring your own paint is a added bonus.
Report this review to a moderator   #37075
mattbrace
Dr. Isotope
mattbrace's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: So Cal
Played here: Once
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: BYOP, Great Woodsball
Cons: No Speedball
Place is very well taken of, great woodsball fields, staff is very friendly and sticks to the rules well. Air station is kept up well and the fact that you can bring your own paint is a added bonus.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Velocity Paintball I love this park! Denise is great to work with and she puts on a lot of fun events. The field has a wide variety of field types and sizes which is great, and there is always enough parking! Only...
Report this review to a moderator   #16415
Ricky1833
Class Act Captain
Ricky1833's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: San Diego, CA
Ricky1833 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Ricky1833 has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Played here: 6+ times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Several types of fields, great staff
Cons: poor fields when it gets wet
I love this park! Denise is great to work with and she puts on a lot of fun events. The field has a wide variety of field types and sizes which is great, and there is always enough parking! Only downside is several of the fields can become mud pits after the rain and occasionally you get the downwind smell from cows. All in all it's a great experience!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Velocity Paintball So let me start by saying I've been in the game for years and years and years. I've played coast to coast at dozens of established fields with some of the most popular people in the paintball...
Report this review to a moderator   #42759
Rockyboarder
So Long Gay boys....
Rockyboarder's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: San Diego
Rockyboarder owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
Played here: 6+ times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: Big Games, Paint quality, Normally good turn out..
Cons: SAFETY, REFFING, Rules to Games, Staff, Fields...
So let me start by saying I've been in the game for years and years and years. I've played coast to coast at dozens of established fields with some of the most popular people in the paintball community. What I say is honest. I know how a field should be run. So that being said, here is my review.

I have played here about 8 - 9 times now. A few walk on games and many big games (their style of big game is 100 on 100...I've played 500 on 500 3 times a year at my old field so it's not huge). The location is easy to find. The players are NORMALLY good about getting hit and leaving though the Velocity team is known for ditching hits (because I continuously shoot them) as well as a few of the regular punks.

Safety: The safety at this field is absolutely horrendous. Horrible. Terrible. Complete and utter ****. I keep my mask on from my car to the field and back to the car. I can not tell you how many times I've been in the staging area with a barrel point at my face and have seen accidental shots. The chrono is used once the entire day...I don't know if you know this Velocity but as it gets warmer, paint swells and gets tighter in the barrel making higher velocity. YOU SHOULD CHRONO BEFORE GOING OUT ON THE FIELD EVERY TIME. I see players bumping their regs / adjusters on the field. I will say that Velocity doesn't allow bunkering which is fine except for one instance involving a tank at a scenario in which I got bunkered...Way to enforce the rules.

Reffing: Horrible, ****, horrendous, disastrous. The refs are scared to get hit. You're a ref, suck it up. I ask you to check a player for a hit, you better do it, or I will shoot you. Not to be an *******, but to get you in line to go get it done. The refs have favorites on the field and ditch their hits, talk to them, let the team know where the other team is, when to shoot...This isn't X-ball / PSP. It's rec ball. Also, the refs don't know the rules to the scenarios / big games. For instance, a no bunkering policy was aligned. A tank (that can't get out by being shot) tried to bunker me and yelled surrender in which I kindly turned him down. He ran up on me, thusly, he is out. THe refs called me out even with no shots. Figure out your rules and get your refs trained. THere are maybe 2 good ones on the staff...The rest suck. That is what I'll say. Let me know if you want me to train them.

Paint choice and Quality: Very good actually. The paint is a smidgen expensive but, excellent quality. I'll say that easily.

Fields: Ehhhhh. The fields are ok. I like the woodsy fields more than the large open fields. The hyperball really brings me back to the earlier days of playing and those are fun as hell. There is no real urban / town style field but, i don't care about those.

Level Of Play: Decent. Like I said, every field has hit ditchers and this field is no different. Thats why I shoot extra. Obviously not on some 12 year old kid but, if I feel I hit you and you look like you are in the game for a while, I'll let you know not to do it again.

Big Games: The games are alright. The lunch break on the most previous one was 2 hours long. Is that a joke? The first game was hours long and the 2nd game was half of that maybe. It's December, the sun goes down early. We don't care about lunch or stupid sprints, push up challenges, advertising, and retardation. Make a raffle, pick the ticket, get some food in peoples stomachs and get them on the field. If I am not shooting paint, you're not making money.

Facilities: Porta-potties. They are normally very clean which is nice.

Parking: Decent. Californians just suck at parking.

So let me end by saying this, the field is alright. The field is very established. Everyone knows about it but, I am going to tell you that there is a lot of work to be done. Fix your refs and fix your safety. And do it NOW. I come here for the play and the turn out. It's normally a few good people that play every Saturday and Sunday. I like the Big Games. I like the Pro Shop. I like the style and atmosphere.

But the 2 most important things at an established field are the worst I've ever seen in the industry.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Velocity Paintball use to reff there for about 2 years. played there for about 5 years. they use to be my favorite cause they had 2 airball fields and good hyperball and speedball fields. but i went there a month ago...
Report this review to a moderator   #36969
dredog77
aka clancy7757
dredog77's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: San Diego
dredog77 plays in the PSP
dredog77 posts videos on PbNation
Played here: 6+ times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: good players. cool fields
Cons: not good airball.
use to reff there for about 2 years. played there for about 5 years. they use to be my favorite cause they had 2 airball fields and good hyperball and speedball fields. but i went there a month ago and they only have 1 airball setup and its not even theres. and they take it down kinda early to. but overall its a great place for walk on woods ball n speedball. cool people and good reffs. this is where alot of good people started playin. would recommend it for all new and woodsball players.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Velocity Paintball this is one of the first fields i played at . its just pretty far but overall had a great time!
Report this review to a moderator   #32610
MikeHawk619
SD
MikeHawk619's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Sunny Diego
MikeHawk619 owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
MikeHawk619 owns a Planet Eclipse Lv1
Played here: 2-5 times
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Customer service:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Quality of fields:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Fun / Experience:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Recommend to others: Yes
Pros: great fields
Cons: pretty far
this is one of the first fields i played at . its just pretty far but overall had a great time!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review